Rent Sega Bass Fishing for Wii
view large frontback

Sega Bass Fishing

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.1

555 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Nice for Relaxing

posted by wonderboy2 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a game for those that like to just be lazy and relax. It is not very extensive, you have some selections on locations where to fish, then you have some selections on what lure to use. Just throw the wii remote and reel it in, not a whole lot more to it. It simulates real fishing by moving the wii mote like a rod. You can compete in a tournament mode to gain additional lures.

This game has been great for just chilling out and not having to think when playing a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dreamcast Anyone?

posted by esc0bar (HOMESTEAD, PA) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure what I was expecting when I picked this title up, but what I got surely wasn't it. That being said, this is not a bad game by any means, it will surely kill the time on a lazy afternoon, when nothing else is peaking your interest.

The graphics look almost identical to the Sega Dreamcast version from years again, most of the spots are the same and they added a few new game modes. The Wii remote and nunchuk are OK, but a far cry from the fishing reel controller on the Dreamcast.

The best part of the game is that there is an alert when you are doing what your supposed to be doing with the lure. This is a nice addition for people who really don't like to fish or know what lures are for what, they just want to try the game. The fish are cooperative for the most part and they keep the game interesting by offering plenty of action.

Another disadvantage (sort of) is the lack of other species. That being said, the game is called Sega Bass Fishing, so it's only fitting that you can only catch bass. A few more species tossed in there to break up the monotony would of been nice though.

All in all, I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys fishing and wants a game that is relatively easy to pick up and play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good port of a Classic game

posted by Quikmerc (AURORA, IL) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Sega Bass Fishing is a classic Arcade/Dreamcast game that has been ported to the Wii. The reviews have been fairly low because people are comparing the graphics and overall experience to todays games. The graphics have seen little update since it was originally released almost 10 years ago. This however does not make it a bad game, Sega Bass Fishing is a classic and the Wii does a good job of capturing the fun of the original with the motion controls. I wouldn't say this game is necessarily worth owning (unless you were a big Dreamcast or fishing game fan) but it is definitely a fun rental and deserves to be in your Queue. It is a budget title, as it should be, with dated graphics, but it is still alot of fun.

--Quikmerc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not fun at all

posted by ilovewii (LONG BEACH, CA) May 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When i rented this game and saw the bad scores everyone gave this game i thought it was because it is a fishing game and its boring ect. but when i played it I couldn't belive it had gotten that high of a score. the graphics suck, the game play sucks, and the tornament mode is bad. the whole game is bad. I was thinking of buying this game at one time and im really glad i didn't. Its a game that i recamend not even renting, rent a better game and save yourself some time. 2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Damaged Game

posted by sleepeone (ROTONDA WEST, FL) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

THe Wii Sega Bass Fishing is scratched and would not play, would another game disc to be sent out to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay for fishing

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

If you ever played the fishing game on Playstation 1 Then you might like this game. It has good graphics and you can catch a lot of fish, but there is no real challenge here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

TACKLE OPS.

posted by mouse12 (SURPRISE, AZ) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

NEED TO HAVE A CHOICE OF LINE TO USE, SEEMS THE LINE IS BREAKING ALL THE TIME. VERY BAD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by warman27 (EUBANK, KY) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

the worst game i have EVER played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bass

posted by baylegend7 (TRAVIS AFB, CA) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

this game want that great it was alright to hook the big one but it was a little bit rediculas because of how boreing it was i dont give it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was eh..

posted by Cellian80 (TAMPA, FL) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Good game to kill like an hour or so...The Tournaments lasted SOOO LONG...And some of the mechanics in the game are iffy...The reeling is fun for the first 48 fish than after that you get tired of it and the same 7 stages they give you..Same menu's same menu music..nothing switches it up..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sega Bass Fishing

posted by Joy2149 (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

Sega Bass fishing is a fun game it is the same game they made for the dreamcast and i loved it back then wish they would made one like the playstation 2 duel where you can drive the boat and move to different locations and have 2 players still a fun game i lost interest fast because i had already played it on the dreamcast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

After A Few Trial & Error Runs It Was Fun

posted by momplayer (MARION, NC) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

At first this game seemed a little stagnant. You couldn't move the boat around and were limited to a set area to fish in. And then there was the frustration of the constant line break! Well, after I figured out how to keep the fish from breaking the line (hold both A&B button down most of the time and move the remote around to change the tension)it was kind of fun. You do have enough areas to fish in to keep it interesting and if you feel you have enough fish and don't want to wait for the clock to run out, you can simply weigh in. The graphics are ok. It is hard to see some of the fish shadows sometimes though to see where the fish are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

do not buy or rent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by scooter478 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

i read all the reviews and still thought i would give it a shot. well let me just say this, i was impressed with graphics and that's about it. if you do get a big fish to bite almost always the line will break, and if you try to baby the fish it will throw the hook back at you. i'm still looking for a good fishing game for the wii. if i were you i'd pass this game over and would not look back!!!!! please someone come up with a playable fishing game for the wii!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sega Bass Fishing

posted by dtheobald (UPPER DARBY, PA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

For those of you looking for a good fishing game this isn't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great for winter

posted by goodgirl28 (CARLISLE, IN) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

this game has wonderful grafics. And a very good bases for preformance. real close to real life. the only draw back is it was to easy to win the game. It took us three days to beet it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lame

posted by Jenifa3282 (ROANOKE, VA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I did not enjoy this game at all. With no manual it was impossible to figure out how to reel in the fish (meaning how to loosen or tighten rod tension). There are no in game tutorials or instructions. I played it a few times and then returned it because I couldn't figure it out. I'm sure there are real "gamers" out there who would have no trouble. But for a novice like me it was close to impossible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kind of boring

posted by amyliz421 (OMAHA, NE) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The game was good, however not to exciting. I played this back on the original Playstation and it was MUCH better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sega Bass Fishing

posted by JCD3boys (NORTH POTOMAC, MD) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

We got this game for our 3 young boys to play. It was too hard for them, and it was too hard to us to figure out how to play. There really needs to be a "help" function--or the game needs to come with the manual. In 3 days of "fishing" none of us ever landed a fish--just got very frustrated.
I would only recommend this game to experienced gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not like real fishing!!!

posted by jondecke (HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

True, you get to cast the wii-mote, and real in with the nun chuck, but that is as close to fishing as it gets. In previous fishing games you at least got to drive a boat around to pick your fishing destination. This game you pick from preset parts of the 15 lakes. Once a fish was caught I was expecting some vibration from the wii-mote, none. I was also able to just reel in as fast as I could and get the fish in without breaking the line. The only time I broke the line was when I tried to follow the on screen directions and move the rod left, right, up, or down. Played the game for 30 min and promptly returned it. VERY DISSAPOINTED.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »