Rent Section 8 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Section 8

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.9

3343 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game- A few problems

posted by Steelspawn (COLUMBUS, GA) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

60 out of 71 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Section 8 extensively since it was released on the 1st, and I can say that I love it.

The Campaign is lacking, it is basically just a practice to get you into multiplayer. Which is fine, this is a multiplayer driven game.

Now on to the important part of the game. The multiplayer is amazing. Looking for a game is easy, simple do a quick search or a custom one with a few more options and bam you are in a game. It can be hard to get together with friends but if its just you and 1 or 2 other people it should be no problem.

Now I have seen some people complaining about how sniper shots dont 1 shot and such and those people obviously are expecting this game to be like Halo. This game isnt designed so that there are 1 shot kills. You can snipe very effectively even with having to use multiple shots to take an enemies shields down.

The game is designed around teamwork and completing the dynamic combat missions,(DCMs), that activate based on what weapons and feats your team is getting. Kills and deaths are unimportant compared to completing these missions.

Overall this game is great. Sadly it was released at a bad time, with MW2 and ODST coming out soon I don't see much of a player base, however it is a very fun game. Just don't go into it expecting it to be like Halo.

Campaign 4/10
Graphics 7/10
Multiplayer 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Section 8 aka Tribes

posted by DarkDream (BRATTLEBORO, VT) Sep 9, 2009

Member since May 2009

33 out of 53 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Section 8 is basically a attempt to re-make the PC game "tribes" it fails in most respects. While what Tribes did was original and fun Section 8 just seems to copy and paste the format add a few fun bugs here and there and give the game some cut scenes and better graphics.

Something that needs to be made VERY CLEAR to all interested in this game. If you do not have Xbox Live do not bother even trying this game. Its supposed to be played online and if you just play for single player you will beat the story in 1 hour flat and after that its pure bot fights....little to no fun to be had there.

This games real redeeming factor is the online is actually really fun. It has clan support, in game squads so you have 4 other people can know where each other are at all times. Plus the huge map selection and overall fun "capture this location to gain points" format is used really well in this game.

Sadly with this being a new game however the servers are kinda laggy, there are some annoying bugs here and there...such as getting stuck on close to everything that sticks out of the ground, and you get a overwhelming feeling that every single gun that you use is very weak. It even takes 3 head shots with a sniper rifle to down someone.

Overall id say give this game a month or so and hope a patch comes out, the online can be really fun at times but the single player is a joke.

Gameplay: 7/10
Sound: 7/10
Graphics: 6/10
Single player: 1/10
Multiplayer: 8/10
OVERALL: 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by FireHatch (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

31 out of 51 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun...I like the customizable aspect of everything...this game struck me as a Halo type game but is MUCH different by ways of customization and gameplay...this game is a great FPS...I wouldn't say that you get it if you don't have Xbox Live because for me it got pretty repetitive and I only played the first level lol...but all in all it was an awesome game great online play great customizable character features and over all I love the controls and how you respawn...the little details in the game were done very well... it was obvious that they knew what they were doing when they made this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Different FPS

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Section 8 is a group of people in robot suits that have to capture certain points and keep them in order to gain points. Which is basically just Headquarters on Call of Duty. This game has a really short campaign, multiplayer, and instant action against bots. First off is the campaign though. I beat the campaign in about 4 hours. I was playing on easy and all, but i still beat it pretty fast and i was shocked when i saw it end so abruptly. A really nice thing especially for harder difficulties is that when you die, you just respawn and you dont have to start over at all. And ill get into respawning in a bit. Next is multiplayer which is basically instant action, just with real people instead of bots. Its pretty good, but theres basically one game mode, which is headquarters, and it can get old after a while. The biggest difference from this game to other first person shooters is that you spawn getting shot from your ship above the battlefield in the sky. And you can change your direction on the way down. And theres no loading screen once you get into a game. But, since this game is made off of the Unreal Engine, it can take a while for the graphics to get fully loaded up. Overall this game isnt too bad and its different from others. You should try it out, but you prouble shouldnt buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Well... it LOOKED good...

posted by KHMDark (COVINGTON, GA) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

26 out of 47 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Section 8 is NOT a great good, nor a good game. The graphics are pretty good, but that's about it.

The story is... well, I don't know. Yeah, it's THAT bad. All I got really out of it was that some guy on the Arms side killed Coran's whole squad by sending in a big robot, which you WILL die from when it first arrives. The way it starts out is just too sudden, too quick. There's about a minute cutescene when you start a new game, and then you fight, with pretty pitiful trutrual. And, what's worse, you can beat the game in one sit down...

The gameplay is BELOW average. The button set up is so weird, you will spend about five minutes fixing it in the options. Example; to use grenades is the Right Bumper. Jump is Left Bumper, hold it down for the jetpack (o.k, the jetpack IS prettycool, but it lasts only two seconds and takes a bit to reharge). Oh! This is a good one; the game is pretty hard EVEN on easy! Even if two enemies are against you, you WILL get owned. Good thing is, you have infinite lives and you just land in the level again.

And... wow, driving the tank is nearly IMPOSSIBLE! You will have a terrible time tryin to drive it and to control it. And, what's worse, the FIRST time you drive it (WITHOUT any insructions), you are TIMED.

It looked like a great game, I was exicted about it, now, it's a disappointment.

Don't buy, or even RENT, this game. To me, it's just another game which tried to beat Halo and Gears of War but failed so bad, I can barely play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty good, could use some work

posted by bre3zy (MONUMENT, CO) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

13 out of 24 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

they just need to make you move faster and and add some more creative weapons and this game would be gold imo. i like getting a squad of players that i know like my rl friends and going to infiltratte a base. also, to make this experience better change your sensitivity settings higher. overall, must rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just skip it.

posted by 777Kilo (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This is one of those games that could have been good but just didn’t have the skills to be on the top. I can surly say that this is going to be one of those games that almost no one is going to remember or would want to.
First off all I can say is that if you had not played the demo at all, and try to jump into a multiplayer match. That is going to be your last match unless you’re a hardcore kind of gamer that needs to play and just see if it can get better over time.
The controls are a bit out of place and you will tend to hit the wrong buttons, try to burst run and it seems to take forever, try to jump and end up flying wasting your boost therefore wait for some X amount of seconds that seems to take forever.
The gameplay seems to have a lot of flaws;what I mean is by the sniper seems to take for ever to kill someone even with the lock-on and well place headshots. In a one on one fight it takes awhile to kill someone, especially if they have the repair tool, or run around the corner. It would be like playing halo with everyone having X7overshield. You can mod your guy with different weapons and power up but the best one is just the machine gun;every other weapon in that game is just not worth carrying around. I also forgot, but if your team does not get the lead within the first 5 minutes then your chances of winning are slim to no being that if the game decides to team balance and it does that a lot. (During ranked; that means one minute your on the winning team next poof your on the losing, or visa versa.)
The story is not all that, it just really boring; run here do this; run here do that. Plus you don’t even get to use your custom guy.(Not to my knowledge anyway.) Really don’t even bother unless you want the achievements, but no real challenged.
PS: Last couple of online ranked matches i try to play, not a soul was on.

Graphics:7/10
Gameplay:6/10
Controls:5/10
Story:3/10
Online:4/10
Overall:5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I wanted to really like this game

posted by Disipher (WESTLAND, MI) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has a good concept, intersting features. But first off when i got online with it there was not a soul on. I don't want to battle bots!

I like the jetpack and pretty much all the features the game has to offer. Except for the fact that I feel the weapons are pretty unbalanced, the only weapn worth wild to carry around is the machine gun, all the others just don't feel right. Even the rocket lancher, for instance you shoot someone once with the rocket and have to reload, also you did not kill them in this one shoot, in the mean time while you are reloading, this gives them enough time to unload there whole machine gun clip ( that's how much it will take to kill you) So some real balancing issues in my opinion. This game could have been great if the weapons were acctually balanced.

I have payed attention to this game for a long time before it's realease, I was really excited for it! I'm sad to say that it was a bug dissapointment. I wanted to like it so much that i tryed to force myself to like it if that makes sence. But all in all it's just not that good. I know that it's not halo but i still think a rocket to the body should kill you same with a sniper head shot. And the campain sux!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If This game so bad why'ed still on low?

posted by Gennousake (LORAIN, OH) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I liked about this game because you have to work to get vehicles. It's not like halo 3 where you can run around in circles and poof there it is! And better yet you have missions to do and have turrets protect those objects. Spawn anywhere i want not worry about spawn-campers. I don't have to edited a private match so we can run at top speed. I can custom my loadout for what is needed in the battle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just rent this

posted by cueball217 (MCKINNEY, TX) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the single player campaign is short.....2-3 hours total. not even worth the effort. the multiplayer game is good but could be better. it should have a better selection of weapons. your choices are the assault rifle, machine gun, missle launcher, pistol, sniper rifle, and shotgun. manual targeting is better than auto targeting....apparently you have to build up energy in order to use the auto targeting system. also, the auto targeting system doesn't last very long. also, did not like the fact that you have to build up speed to sprint. the graphics are good. wish there was an option to pilot fleet ops....good have gotten a better score. the story is decent but doesn't explain how you got to the start of the game.

if you're looking for some easy xbox achievement points and you have some time to kill.....rent this game. be prepared to be disappointed as it doesn't last very long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WOW!! So boring...

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Sep 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

16 out of 38 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

The game is a mix between Halo and Unreal Tournament. The cut scenes are good, but that's about it. The single player campaign is incredibly dull and unimaginative. It's just a run and gun type map after map. Objectives are usually destroy this or capture that and along the way it's just a constant firefight. You'll wind up getting killed repeatedly because you get shot from all angles and by the time you can focus on the enemy your dead, you respawn and try again, and die again. The action is forced and the plot doesn't do much at all for the game. The weapon selection is alright, but it takes a good deal of bullets to kill a single enemy because everyone has shields. Even with a Missile Launcher or Sniper Rifle. Control is very sluggish, you walk slow, run slow. The only time you run fast is when you sprint and it takes a few seconds for that to kick it. It takes a while to get form point A to B especially when you have to run around all the time. You can customize your load outs in Multiplayer and you can buy field items like Supply Points, Tanks, Walkers, etc.. Sounds cool but it really doesn't help the game much. MP is laggy on most servers, and if you're lucky enough to find a good server there usually aren't many players and nobody believes in working together everyone runs off doing their own thing. The weapons aren't very creative either, shotgun, rifles, missile launcher, grenades, etc. Typical ho hum selection which doesn't fit considering the advanced suits and stuff you're equipped with. If you're a hardcore MP fan you'll probably tolerate the games short comings. If not, stay away.

THE GOOD
Cut scenes

THE BAD
Dull plot
Dull weapons
Sluggish controls
Bland gameplay

THE UGLY
You get stuck on small, ankle sized objects and have to jump over them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What is wrong with you people?

posted by bowcaster7 (WEST LEBANON, NH) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

17 out of 43 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I preordered Section 8, and for some reason my local Gamestop gave it to me early so I knew how awesome it was before it came out. Because of that I was expecting this game to have an average rating of about 9.3, or at least 8.5. But what do I see, I see an average rating of 6.3! 3 whole points lower than I expected! But I think I know why. People that don't have XBox Live are just saying: "Hey, this game looks good, I think I will rent it." Hello people, this games single player is not that good. The only reason to get it is for the multiplayer, so if you don't have XBox Live, don't rent the game, play the single player, find that it is horrible, then complain about is here by giving it a low score. PLEASE ONLY GET THIS GAME IF YOU HAVE XBOX LIVE. If you do I promise you it will become one of your favorite shooters of all time. I promise that its multiplayer is better that CoD 4, better than Halo 3, and better than almost all the other games you own. Another thing is the gameplay may be a little confusing at first with all the DCMs, the deployables, and the burning in. So when you rent the game, please don't return it right away if you don't get it immediatly. That is the problem with Gamefly, the games don't come with the instruction booklet unless you buy them... So go online if you have to, to research all the features (though you shouldn't have to)

Also the game deserves a 9.3, like I said above, I just rounded it to 10 instead of 9, to try to counteract that crazy 6.3 it has been given.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Like a cross between Unreal, Halo and a concussion

posted by joker13 (FENTON, MI) Sep 4, 2009

Member since May 2006

12 out of 31 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

I was really disapointed in this game, the movment controls are unresponsive, the weapon changes are too slow for this type of game and the objective isn't always clear, plus in a game were it's not very easy to run up and suprise some one a shotgun blast to the back of the head or a head shot with a sniper rifle seem to have pretty weak effect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Awful

posted by Irishy (WATERTOWN, CT) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

You want to sprint? No problem, just wait the 3 seconds it takes to "charge up" before you can sprint. Drive a tank? No problem, as long as you don't mind that the controls are non-responsive and completely frustrating. The missions are boring, everyone looks the same, blah, blah, blah. This game is not worth it at all. Very disappointing. I thought this was going to be a good game. I thought wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Most Disappointing game I played this year

posted by downphenix (BONNE TERRE, MO) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I saw the trailer for this game, I was amazed. It looked awesome. The graphics were quite pretty, although a little basic, think Halo 3 graphically, and it has that simple, but beautiful style to it. The soundtrack for the game is actually quite good, and the sound effects are nice. And it blends elements from some of my alltime favorite FPS games, such as Tribes, Battlefield, Halo, and Quake, and has some of its own great and nifty ideas.

That's where the good ends. First of all, the controls are not good. The configuration is fine, but your characters move too slow. You CAN make them move faster, but when you do this, you have to let go about 3 seconds before you wanna stop running fast, and no, its not lag, it does this in the single player component too. Explosives are literally a joke in this game, unless you get a direct hit, it does virtually no damage, for once a rifle does more damage than an explosive? Good sign that this game's a joke.

The vehicles are terrible, they control poorly and just aren't much fun. You'd think a game with a freakin' MECH would be good, but alas, chalk one more up for adding as much cool stuff as possible, then not actually tweak or beta test the thing. This is the worst multiplayer experience I've had in a shooter all year, and I played Bionic Commando, and despite all that game's glitches and broken multiplayer gameplay, the multiplayer is still more fun than this because the game actually PLAYS like something you'd want to play.

And the backbreaker to top it off is that there's literally NOONE playing online, the game has only been out about 3 or so weeks, and people have already stopped playing it, only games I could find were games with BOTS.

Stay far away from this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Campaign/Multiplayer

posted by mdias814 (ERIE, PA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The campaign is relatively easy on lower settings. I am working on playng through hard but keep getting sidetracked, it lacks alot of movement and the lock on is quite poor, you get one or two shots which miss most of the time. Some eniemies are too powerful. Achievments are relatively poping up alot.

Multipler: Sucks but can get addicting as long as there is actually people playing and not bots, plus if someone leaves causing the lobby to drop under a certain number of Human players its no longer ranked and pretty much just time wasting.

If your a achievment collector go for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Section 8

posted by williams26 (EL PASO, TX) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

A good game if u like going on line if u like playing the story not worth it. The story is short and easy even on hard. only 4 hours thank god for game fly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME SUCKS

posted by kodiac (FORNEY, TX) Sep 3, 2009

Member since May 2007

8 out of 31 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. It was one of the worst FPS I have ever played. the graphics are great...but thats about it. The story line is weak, the gun choices are mediocore. The biggest problems with this game is (1)The character moves about as fast a snail.(2)There is very little cover for you to hide behind, and since the character moves snail speed this is a BIG problem.(3)But the biggest problem of all is you will spend over have your time respawning, because you KEEP DYING....and why you ask do you keep dying.....your guy moves like a snail and there is very little cover to hide behind. So if you want to raise your blood pressure, and possible throw your controller at the TV/wall, the by all means play this game. Other wise you have been warned

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool Cover, Bad game

posted by BlackVamp (LYNWOOD, CA) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game sucks, im sorry, played the demo & thought it would be better but i was dead wrong, its really terrible, im sending it back 2morrow, the graphics are mediocre, you can tell they didnt put a lot of effort into making this game, Watching The cut scenes is better than playing the game. Its a complete waste of time, The guns suck, the graphics suck, the gameplay sucks, there is really no story at all, i guess its suppose 2 be a multiplayer unreal championship type of game but its too chaotic, its too much going on in the game for you to have the patience to try to figure out whats going on. Please Dont Rent this game, it really sucks.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Biggest Disappointment in Gaming History!

posted by PhRoZyN311 (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I gave Section 8 a 1 rating because of the hype with absolutely no delivery!

I downloaded video after video after video, stoked out of my mind about this game. When the demo came out I was a bit disappointed, yet most of the demos disappoint me but the game turns out great (i.e. Batman Arkham Asylum).

Section 8 had so much potential but did not deliver. Typical, repetitive missions; horrible controls; and boring gameplay. The run in this game is absolutely pathetic. Having to wait nearly 5 seconds to run, and your character is slow as molasses when they walk around. Lame Guns, Lame Enemies, Lame Game!

Sent back after a few good hours of playing, then I finally realized there was no good in this game.

SKIP SECTION 8, GET BATMAN OR DIRT 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waste of time...

posted by LucianC (ROCHESTER, MN) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

The last mission is impossible to win (even on easy level). The tank is also impossible to drive. Nice air drops; other than that not much to like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is awful

posted by iPUNCHfish (CAMPBELL, CA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

It breaks the evolution of FPSs in the worst way possible. This game is definitely a pass.

The core of the game is multiplayer and even that is not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AAAAAAAAAAA

posted by xboxfreak9 (OVIEDO, FL) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

11 out of 58 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

This GAME IS TOTALY AWSOME NOTHING COMES CLOSE TO IT. For me anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sorry but no

posted by Logoto (RALEIGH, NC) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Ok i came into this game thinking it should be fun. But to no avail. The single player was about 20 minutes long and i soon found out that that was the main thing about this game. It was the multiplayer. which is a real turn-off to me since a game that is based solely on multiplayer just doesnt go over well with me. So i beat the game and then i try the multiplayer, but sadly that was also bad. Confusing to say the least. And for some reason i was killed in three seconds by one person who was using the same gun as me. I dont know if it is always like this or just that i had a bad experience with it but i just couldnt get the hang of it. so i will sadly have to suggest to people to avoid a rent if possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Almost

posted by shidowdawg (PORTAGE, IN) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

wow so pretty but so week graphic good character look nice but the game play is horrible it seem to have potential but just fail apart oh well at least i have codmw to fall back on and halo will be out soon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse