Rent Secret Service for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Secret Service

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
4.1

2285 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Budget Title Done Quite Well & Gameplay

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Nov 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

184 out of 199 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I recently had the opportunity to play this game and it's overall a fun game with its involvement of decent storyline, the feeling of being an actual secret service agent. It pulled me in rather quickly, but there are some flaws I've come to find. For 1: The aiming to taking down your enemies/controls are not strong, but I cant say weak either. The sniper rifle is very accurate, but to take down 1-3 enemies with your sub-machine gun takes nearly half a clip or more.
That alone, can be tiring and frustrating to the gamer.

The story is actually good. I was suprised to enjoy it as much as I had. I won't give out any spoilers, it's worth renting to see & play. The graphics are done very well. Nothing outo f this world amazing, but it's realistic to how the government really pushes the envelope to take take of its own & the president. It gives you that sense of feeling I've come to find.

The levels are not long. Each mission didn't take me no more than an hour each & at the longest. You do have a good selection of weapons. Your primary pistol, sub-machine gun, sniper, magnum & so on. I would recommend this game for a good shooter, but I will also bring out of very much so of how repetative the game is overall. Your doing nearly the same objectives over & over, diffrence is, you have diffrent targets and ways of getting to the targets to take down for elimination for protection of yourself & the secret service. Hence the name of the name.

I'll give this a good 8 out of 10. It's worth the rental. If you like it enough, then I'd suggest keeping it. It's cheaper thru Gamefly to keep games anyways! Thank you for reading my review. I hope you found it helpful. Enjoy Gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A budget title that deserves some attention.

posted by GAMEFISH (OOLTEWAH, TN) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

67 out of 73 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

The game was not promoted at all. In fact, the debut trailer wasn't made available until 2 weeks before its release. Now I wouldn't go so far as to call it a sleeper hit, but it's definitely worth a rent for shooter fans. Unlike many budget shooters out there, Secret Service gets the formula right. The controls area bit on the stiff side, but it's totally playable and enjoyable as well. Just don't come away from Call of Duty right before you play it.

At first the game feels a little cheesy, but it gets more challenging the further you get into it. And shooting in many of DC's familiar settings is definitely a perk. Give it a try! I'm certainly enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better and worse

posted by LtDrum (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

25 out of 28 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

All in all not a terrible game. It is not a Call of Duty but it was not all that bad. It kinda reminds me of 007 for the N64. The shooting mechanic worked fairly well. Head shots meant kills and shots in the legs made the enemy AI stumble. The in game dialogue is funny at times (In a good way). If you are thinking "This might be an interesting game"... Go ahead and rent it, At worst you don’t like it and send it back. The only big problem I had is that it ... as always ... was a somewhat short game. Good luck with POTUS Detail!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by GamerinPA (SCRANTON, PA) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game will take about 4 days to beat (playing 1-2 hours a day). Graphics are fine, sound is fine, the game play is fine. It's your basic bargain bin level game. It's no Call of Duty or Halo (obviously) but its a good enough game to waste 4 or 5 days with. Enemy AI is basic but challenging. I'm not some video game freak who appreciates playing awful games so why not take a chance on this surprisingly entertaining game. I have played some games that are much much worse than this. Try it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Standard shooter

posted by darren004 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is average in every sense of the word. Game play is average, storyline is average, graphics are average and so on. It is not bad, just average. There are fun levels and annoying levels, especially the one where you enemies have automatic rifles and you are only allowed a stun gun. I played on the easiest level and that is probably the best way to go. It is sort of challenging, but you are allowed to get hit an unbelievable amount before you die. The aiming feature is worse than anything in the game. Other than the sniper rifle, you are better off not trying to aim if you want to hit anything. And the turrets in the game are really annoying. Most of the game takes place in an underground tunnel between the Capital building and the White House, and the story is you trying to get to the White House. The graphics of those buildings is pretty cool, but for the most part, it is just tunnels and hallways. Overall, not a bad game to rent, you should be able to beat it in a couple of days and there is minimal replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok for the price

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

19 out of 33 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This game is a very basic FPS with a basic storyline and a lame GPS/map system. But for the price it's only worth buying if you really need this game, otherwise just rent a copy. Don't get me wrong the game is fun, but it doesn't have any replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not very good

posted by tga243 (VERO BEACH, FL) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

So I rented this game thinking it would be pretty good. I was wrong. The weapons suck, they shoot to fast, andhalf the missions our so unreasonable. If I was you I wouldnt waste my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by CBRGUY412 (GILROY, CA) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

at first when I saw this game at the gamestore I was like what a ridiculous game. Then I read reviews on it and people said it was a good game. I decided to rent to see if I liked it. This is quite possibly one of the worst FPS I have ever played. Takes so long to aim and the weapons are ridiculously underpowered or overpowered. would not suggest to anyone to rent this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucked

posted by joepro01 (BILOXI, MS) Oct 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

game sucked graphics sucked achievements sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

terrabad

posted by whi7ee (LEBANON, ME) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 19 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

the kid who said that it looks like call of duty is a complete idiot. cod4 has the best campaine mode ever. my n64 jamesbond owns this game like it the n64s dayjob

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What the heck?

posted by jxbox1 (WACONIA, MN) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 16 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

This game has to be the worst game i have ever played on the xbox 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Run away

posted by anubis105th (DUBLIN, OH) Feb 28, 2013

Member since May 2012

This game was so bad it made cleaning my apartment fun.
They also manage to find the most aggravating people possible to bug you about your objective every 20 seconds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Secret Service

posted by Soldierman (SWAN POINT, MD) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

Secret Service isn't really a bad game, its just not a good one.

I'll start with the pros
-Great graphics.
-Mini-Games (See Below)

Now the cons
-Jumpy aiming
-When you aim down the sights, you often freeze there allowing your enemies to kill you.
-Terrible story line
-Voice acting could be better
-The mini-games, this is both a pro and a con.

The mini-games are sometimes decent. They mean well, but I just see them as pointless. They are meant for you to have a bit more fun in the game (The instructions even tell you to "Have Fun.")

Over all, I give it a 4/10 because it needs A LOT of work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

AMAZING

posted by Casey24 (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game was great... well except for the fact when you are hacking a bomb or computer and it freezes and you lose time... and when you get killed by a turet you cant shot... and when you shot a guy with a shot gun 2 feet away and they don't die... ok mabey I was wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

could of been worse

posted by family_graves_7 (SAINT ROBERT, MO) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

The graphics where ok, but the gameplay was not what I was expecting. You can see that the game is from activision so I was hoping for somthing like call of duty, but it was not one of those games. I beat it in 48 hours which should tell you right away that the campaign is short. All and all the game is just there to burn time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

secret servise review

posted by xboxgamer420 (COLONIA, NJ) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

i waited about a week total mabey um i had expected way more than what i got the graphics desent but game is not that fun had it for bout 2 day and i sennding back dissiponted

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by matt278 (KINGSPORT, TN) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game is so horrible. If you are the type of person who can get past a poor aiming system, bad game physics, having no cover, and can stand awful bomb mini games that make you want to pull your hair out, than this is your game. I am guessing that the creators didn't even play this game before they said it was all done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A solid campaign

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jan 15, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

Playing this game now it's clear how out of date it is, and it feels like PS2 generation, but it's a solid rental if you have a few hours to burn. I've never heard of it before, but saw Activision's name on the title. It felt a lot like another one of their title's called Soldier of Fortune, to compare it to something.

The worst part of Secret Service, and truly what absolutely kills this game, is the terrible aiming. The unresponsive, jagged, and slow aiming is so unpolished it's laughable. I can tolerate the bad graphics and lack of anything but a single player campaign, but a shooter with bad shooting is the worst. I had to move the sensitivity to the max and it was still awful.

I did somehow enjoy the campaign though. The premise of being secret service to protect the president really hasn't been done like this. It's a good change of pace from crazy world war games with over the top explosions and set pieces. The variety of guns is poor and they don't feel real at all, but I enjoyed it for a quick rental. The achievements were also pretty fun to get, but playing on the hardest difficulty is headache inducing fun.

If you're looking to score like 500 easy achievement points, just put the game in your Q and turbo blast through the campaign in 4 hours, and then send it back. There is nothing but a single player campaign, but you can replay all the missions (less than 8 missions) to get things you missed. Other than that, there's a reason you've never heard of this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by kyle14840 (HAMMONDSPORT, NY) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

this game did not live up to be what i thought it would be, it was so stupid and a waste of a few days to have it, i went through it in a matter of a day, its nothing like what it should have been

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CHALENGING

posted by BROSKI (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

FIRST GAME I PLAYED THATS HARD 2BEAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok but not very good

posted by 2400 (BENSON, AZ) Oct 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

The game is ok but not very good. A good rent but not a good bye it will go back monday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ugh

posted by brandon227 (VALENCIA, CA) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is ok u dont even do what a secret service person does its all solo not the best game ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

whack

posted by star322 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

the overall game is corny
the storyline is good
its too hard to find enemies

great gun sound dynamics
if you are up to date with new gun technology
DON'T BUY IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Secret Service

posted by Osney12 (LELAND, NC) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

When I first put this game in I didnt really have any expectation about this game. What I did find was a game that was on a budget, but very well put together.There was a pretty interesting story in this game. This game could be be difficult at times in combat and the occational puzzle that didnt feel like one. But I must say i enjoyed this game alot. I dont exactly say this should be a buy, but definitly worth a rent.
PROS:
Challenging gameplay
Great story
Good weapon variety

CONS:
Challenging gameplay (yes it is both for a reason)
Not many character models
Annoying enemy AI

Till next time, Osney12 signing out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT

posted by googoowow (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

The other people are not true this game has like 5 wepons there is no multiplayer mode and the graphics SUCK you can try it out
BUT IT WOULD BE A WASTE OF YOUR TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse