Rent Secret Files: Tunguska for Wii
view large frontback

Secret Files: Tunguska

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
5.0

201 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

File this in the Rental cabinet

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nina goes off to see her father in his office in a museum only to find that he’s vanished under mysterious circumstances. So, naturally, it’s up to her to find her papa and get to the bottom of his disappearance.
And so begins Secret Fuiles: Tunguska, a point and click adventure that … pretty much sticks with the standard point and click formula.
The story is divided up into several sections, and in each section the player has to solve several puzzles. The most common way is using items littered over the locations in the section, combining the items together and using the combined items on other objects. Solving the problems gives your more item(s) which you need to solve the later puzzles in each section.
This game also asks you to find out codes to unlock a locker, a computer and to extend a bridge across a span.
And just like with any other point and click adventure, the game makers try to make the puzzles complex and thrilling. Sometimes it works, sometimes it does not; some of the puzzles get so tough that it can frustrate players - which brings the game to a halt.
Which is why there’s Google, a place where you can find all the answers you need to get through this game. (This game is the Wii version of a PC game that came out several years ago.)
As for the story about the secret behind the 1908 Tunguska catastrophe, it didn’t thrill me very much. With all the answers, I got through the game in about six hours - a good run time for the genre.
But there is one detraction Secret Files has from the standard point and click game; if you hold down the 1 button, you can see all the objects you can interact with; there’s no more annoying pixel by pixel searches. This is one feature I’d like to see in future point and click games.
Secret Files: Tunguska will thrill some point and click enthusiasts, but it doesn’t rise above the standard set by other games in the genre. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

if you like games like monkey island

posted by wcgbraves (KATHLEEN, GA) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

then this is a game you will enjoy it has the best story of yet with a game like this. The basic of the game is solving puzzles by combining items in your inventory. This game unlike other point and click games helps you by letting you know where an item might used. The game does not have you going around in circles trying to find where the item goes so it is unlikely you will get stuck on any level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Overall

posted by Jat380 (UNIONTOWN, PA) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Bad writing, bad acting, and bad recording. Several times the audio level drops as if the actors turn away from the microphone. More than once I swear I heard stuff moving! The epilogue was totally cheesy and they somehow managed to make the lines here worst than the rest of the dialog. Then there's the autopilot scene at the end, which is immediately surpassed in horribleness afterwards by the fake outtakes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More please

posted by jewel5 (JENNINGS, LA) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

If you love classic adventure games, you will really like this one. The story is very good, along with the gameplay. The only mild complaints I have is the voice acting is not great and sometimes you have to combine some ludicrous things together. But I really enjoyed this, and I will be looking for more of these type of games for the console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Plot captured me in the beginning but disappointed

posted by AliKH (BREMERTON, WA) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

To start the plot captured me in the beginning but went down hill from there. Its like they wanted to make a mystery/science fiction game but they didn't really work out what ending plot device would be.

Good: The plot was good until they decided to added science fiction plot devices. Some of the background images are nice looking and some of the puzzles are even fun.

Bad: The Voice acting is a big one for me. I found Nina voice high pitched and very annoying at times during the game and some of the other charters voice tones made them come across as robots. Besides the disappointing ending, no real direction and no auto save the games might be a good one time rent but only if you have a day to kill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wii game

posted by icecreamman (MOBILE, AL) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

i got this game today was hopin to play it and didnt even work i tired to reset my wii a few time and didnt even work keep savin cant read the disc i was disppointed i wish yall would test it before shipping it off so wont waste my time or anyone else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I do not recommend this game.

posted by amee79 (RED BLUFF, CA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2005

First you need a walk-through for this game or you will be very lost. You have to collect items and then combine them with other items to accomplish things. Without a walk-through I never would of been able to figure it out before I threw the game out of the window. Second there is more dialogue then there is actual game-play I found myself just skipping over it to get to the game-play. All in all this game is slow and boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A little predictable, but fun!

posted by olorin (CRANSTON, RI) Jan 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

In the same vein as many other games in the "point & click adventure" genre, you wander the planet searching for clues and building improbable devices to solve riddles and get to the next clue.

Lot of fun and solid controls.

Voice acting was fairly annoying towards the end.

Well worth the rent for the 7 hours it will take you to finish this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Engaging, but buggy and unsuited to the Wii

posted by CheezPants (OAKLAND, CA) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

It's an old-school point-and-click adventure; that much you know. The problem with this is, despite the interface, it's a bit clunky on the Wii - getting your Wiimote over the exact portion of the screen to click can be a bit of a chore. I'd have also appreciated if Nina moved a little faster.

But the worst part was the lack of any sort of autosave - the game crashed on me, and I would have had to start again from the beginning. I'm sending it back and checking out the DS version instead; if I have to start over anyway, I think the DS will be better suited to the material.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by LADYNESS34 (NEWBURGH, NY) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

SECRET FILES WAS THE WORST GAME EVER YOU CAN'T GO NOWHERE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jul 6, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

i waited so long for this game to come out from gamefly it reminds me of trace memory but trace memory is better then this game collected the items but have a hard time figuring stuff out plus i think this game is very old computer like mystery game don't buy this game let alone not rent this game secret files gets 1 boring game out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »