Rent Scribblenauts for DS
view large frontback

Scribblenauts

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

GF Rating
7.0

2151 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Creative, awesome, parents buy it for your kids!

posted by Destroy (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2004

31 out of 32 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Not just kids will love it. ANYONE. This is easily the best DS game this year and a must have title for any DS owner.

One thing is certain, everyone must try it. I'm going to click on "keep" right after I finish this review.

It's a thinking game. Those with good "thinking outside the box" skills will love it.

The amount replayability in this game is tremendous. There are I think about 160 to 200 levels and a humongous dictionary of objects you can write into the game. And it has a level editor and you can share the levels (online I believe and locally). Also, you can replay the levels again to use different items and master the level. There are unlockables and secret areas.

And parents, this game will promote and feed the creativity of your kids when they play it. And they will learn. They will ask you for help. "How can I get the cat off the roof?" And you'll say, a "ladder". And they'll ask again, but how else can I do it. And you'll say "fireman". And they will also learn new words this way and see what they are and how they interact with things.

And they will learn how to draw letters (you can also use a keyboard) but you can ask your kids to draw their letters instead.

You're even rewarded for finding peaceful solutions to the problems in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Scribblenauts is sweeeet!

posted by Link00 (LITTLE VALLEY, NY) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A unique title that I found very interesting but also quite challenging. The ability to type in almost anything you want and use it in the game is very addicting. But after a little I found myself using the same items over and over again to get places. First it was the jetpack, then the pegasus (because of the conveniance of the constant flying), then the reindeer (same as the pegasus but more manlier). This game is great and has a wide variety of levels. You can even build levels and purchase soundtracks + avatars with the money you earn. Overall:

====
RENT
====

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Straypuppy (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I love this game, I bought it and alot of words i wouldnt think worked...worked! By the way, you can use some interesting, helpful items to beat hard levels that SEEM impossible (like shrinking a penguin down to size, puting him in a bag and carying the bag)

Shrink ray
Invisibility cloak
Grappling hook
Lasso
Dragon (use him to kill your enemies, then delete him)
Santa
Submarine
Scuba/Flippers/Diving suit (for underwater levels)
Sun (make lots of Suns for dark levels)
Fire extinguisher
Mind control gun (to make enemies like dragons rideable)
or even a Teleporter/Time machine! (to take you to secret levels)

Theres alot of fun in this game, no level is impossible (trust me, maybe you need to use a rope?) and there are miny Achievements in the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun Game

posted by Sinfamous (TRENTON, NJ) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Some people have mentioned the control scheme. Yes this can sometimes be a problem as you spend time setting up a complex solution and then end up jumping off a cliff or into an enemy. Though on the other hand, usually a complex solution isn't the answer. That's where this game shines. Completely out of the box thinking will get you far in this game. Right off the bat I was flying through levels, using the same general objects for all of my solutions. Then I hit the tornado stage... What stops a tornado? I tried everything until I came upon one of those "AHA!" moments... A black hole!

Just an example of the breadth of the objects that can be created in this game.

(Warning, black holes are not only violently destructive, but will suck up anything in range, including the starite hehe)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by jcpmk2x (GENEVA, IL) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is the most perfect game for the DSi that I have ever played. Can't put it down, and free play on the title screens is awesome. Great for kids to practice on their vocabulary and spelling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but not quite there

posted by Leonide (WELLMAN, IA) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is one of my first games from gamefly, and I wasn't sure how the DS games would work with the cartridge saving system. To my surprise I got the game with a file that was already completed, so my experience with a bit jaded from the get go.

But this game is fun, can be addicting, and frustrating. Certain things just won't work, or don't end up like you would think they would. I conjure a bridge, and it sinks down into the water, and is almost useless. But the system behind the game, and that it can recognize so many words is impressive. [Even roflcopter comes up with something.]

For me this game just got boring as the levels got harder, if I couldn't figure it out and had to ask for help or go online just to get further, It just isn't worth my time. I want a game that I can still figure out with a couple tries, not have to ask someone how they figured it out.

But overall the game is good, but not something I would want to buy or keep, so thank goodness for gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great idea marred by braindead controls

posted by IceBurner (ISSAQUAH, WA) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Scribblenauts is a wonderful, wonderful idea with an unfortunately flawed execution. The gameplay concepts work very well; you really can invoke just about anything, solve things very imaginatively, be very impractical, or very ingenious. The issue is with the controls.

You invoke and manipulate objects with the stylus. You also move Maxwell (your character) with the stylus. The camera can be moved away so that you can keep out of danger or from being in the way to solve puzzles more efficiently, but it likes to auto-scroll back to Maxwell. Beginning to catch onto the problem? Mis-touch once and Maxwell is all too happy to careen right into the solution you were carefully trying to set up, or to his death. This issue is exacerbated by the auto-returning camera and small size of commonly used items such as ropes, cords, chains, etc. The alternative of button controls for your character are not a tall order and are an incredibly stupid omission.

After pitching himself to his death and the wait to restart a level for the umpteenth time, I was finally fed up to the point where I couldn't justify >>trying<< to play any longer; it was just wasting my time. This is so ludicrously unfortunate because Scribblenauts had all the potential to be game of the year -- the core elements of the gameplay are solid gold fun. It's a shame the user interface is so poorly thought out as to literally stand in the way of what could have been the single most fun & replayable game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost a great game.

posted by Chargolith (HILLSBORO, IL) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is still worth renting, but there are two things that hurt it.

One is the controls. For instance, if you go to touch an object, and miss it (some objects are small) your character will go running to where you just touched. I've died many times because of this.

The other is the physics engine. Things don't always behave the way they should. For instance, I attached a "huge boulder" to a tiny witch, and the witch was walking around throwing the boulder from side to side.

You'll die many times for silly reasons, not necessarily because you made a mistake.

However, if you have patience, you can still enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fanstatic but a few problems

posted by Spartan654 (NORCROSS, GA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

im just gonna list the pros and cons and u can decide for ur self.

Pros:
1.You can almost write anything,except trademarks and mature stuff
2. Its alot of fun seeing who would win in a fight
3.Levels are extremely fun puzzles and actions alike.
4.Alot of replayablity to be had here with
5. The title screen is awesome 2 hrs. of gameplay there.

Cons:
1. Scribble nauts ingores most adjecteves (e.g. Giant zombie)
2. Some levels are impossible to complete
3. Everything relies in money and the Par for objects is sometimes impossible to match.
4. getting Mind block sucks you dont know what to write
5. No close spelling check espically with long word like Invisblility cloak so bring a dictiornay.
6.Controling Maxwell with stylus is hard espiceally with no stylus and can be a pain
7.Some words have multiple avatrs for it (e,g. Wyrm is the same avtar for Dragon)
8. Sometimes when you want a freeze gun they'll give u a gun instead.

Overall good game with some Minors con hopefully there Console titles will rock the house :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unique

posted by nocrnflake (LANTANA, TX) Sep 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a very unique game. I've not played anything like it. The levels go from very easy to hard quickly. There were several levels I could not work out in my head! At least try it, even if you cannot finish the whole thing because the concept is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

All I think is what could have been.

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

So it's easy to see where all the focus was on this game. While it's unique, inuitive, quirky appeal makes you want it the actual play of the game makes you wish you hadn't wasted the money.

Let's make this easy

Positive:
Fun and straight forward.
Write anything to create weird solutions to problems.
Amusing when you're bored.
The middle ground is the graphics, it's DS so it's not expected to be great but they do make good use of the graphics available.

Negative:
Controls! Let's say you want a rope and it appears over a ravine or a monster. You try to click on this rope but somehow the game misreads your drag as a tap and suddenly you go running to your death. Start over! Annoying when this happens more than 3 times.

Item placement. You can't place items where you always think you should be able to. Ropes and chains don't attach to everything they should and glue does not work on some things.

Size means nothing. Bridges are smaller than cars. Flagpoles are larger than bridges. There is no way to build something to cover a gap. "truck" has less power than "supercar" and equal to "car".

Hints? More like what a single developer thinks are hints at 4am when they ran out of energy drink 13 hours earlier.

Let me give you the moment when I hated this game. A dinosaur is walking away from its egg. Hint: Hatch the egg before mom returns. So you figure just hatch the egg but when you go over there mom ALREADY RETURNED. Now how about we lead her away. Yay! Nope she goes right back. How about blocking her off from the egg. That works! Now how about we just tap the egg? The dinosaur hatched! Then it killed me. Try Again. Same thing but with a hammer! The dino baby killed me again. How about a gun! Still killed me. How about we start trees on fire and just leave it at that. Wait, that hatched the egg? Wait you have to hatch the same egg twice? What?! How did that get me the star?

Now take that scenario and make nearly 75% of the puzzles exactly that complex and vague.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mixed bag

posted by Play3r (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I like this game a lot. It's very addictive. But at the same time, it generates a lot of frustration. After a few hours, I had to put it down. I can either see giving this another shot or skipping it forever.

I played maybe 30-40 puzzles and felt clever for coming up with a lot of objects and ideas.

Good
- You feel clever coming up with solutions based on objects you insert
- The puzzles are really challenging.
- It has a huge vocabulary -- though things doing always work how you want them to. If you want a little red wagon, "wagon" doesn't get you that -- it gets you an 1800s version of a pioneers' wagon.

Bad
- Some puzzles are ideal for 3 year olds -- "What kinds of objects would a cook use? A pan? A spatula?"
- The graphics are horrible. The fun of inserting objects is tempered by your imagination trying to imagine that's what they actually look like drawn crudely in a 2D side scroller.
- Sometimes you spend untold time trying to position objects and they crash on you so you spend more time setting them up. A few ladders don't stack up so you spend time trying to rotate them and stack them again. Not fun.
- Without proper names, it takes away some promise. It should have Batman, Superman and other WB characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A missed opportunity

posted by ryoga777 (ROANOKE, VA) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great idea poor execution.

Pros:
lots of words
puzzle and action levels
level editor
Cons:
items are to small, you should be able to change their sizes
control problems
some puzzles are childish "Get the cat out of the tree right in front of you?"
more glitches than you can count
guns have 3 bullets
If this game gets a sequel they need to fix these problems

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is it fun? Well??? :-(

posted by gameguy14 (WATERTOWN, NY) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Scribblenauts might be fun at first. But then you get stuck and can't figure anything out any more. I love i idea of the game, yet again everything is not perfect in the world. You get to unfocused with writing down words like book, monkey, lemonade, and angel.

If you like games like Scribblenauts, get it. But I would rather rent it and go on with my life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun at first, but very quickly fades

posted by Majora108 (LA CROSSE, FL) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was cool maybe the first hour of trying out stuff and laughing, but then it quickly gets boring. Some of the puzzles are fun, but most of them are vague and unclear. The controls are extremely sloppy and messy since everything is done on the touch screen.
Overall, this game is fun to rent for a few days but that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not is good as I hoped

posted by lmiller (WALTHAM, MA) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked this game at the beginning very creative in nature. However, after completing the first three levels I had trouble of thinking of new items or idea to help me solve the puzzle. I was getting frustrated because couldn't have certain things created or figure out the exact point of the mission to retrieve my star. I think children will enjoy this game a bit more; however, they need to be old enough to spell and think of creative things on their own. Overall the game was entertaining, but not enough user help or suggestions to finish missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sounds great in theory, not so much in real life

posted by globetro (SUNNYVALE, CA) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game's features sounds great on paper... over 20,000 different words, completely open-ended way to solve the puzzles, etc. However, this game just isn't very fun.

All of the puzzles can pretty much be solved by using the same few words.

Also, a lot of the objects pretty much serve the same purpose. For example, sure you can type either "gun" or "magnum" or "ray gun" or "SMG", etc, but at the end of the day, they all do the same exact thing... they kill stuff. Or, you can type "helicopter", or "hot air balloon", or "jet"... but they all do the same thing... just a different graphic.

So essentially, the main "fun" part of the game is being able to type in just about any object and seeing if it's in the game. Most of the time it is, but none of the objects are very interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

meh.

posted by loto128 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Had such potential... but the horrible play control made even the simplest tasks rediculously difficult. Great idea, poor execution.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEET!!!

posted by coolio2525 (WYLIE, TX) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is an awesome game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC!

posted by hello5673 (EAGLE MOUNTAIN, UT) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

IF YOU LIKE DRAWN 2 LIFE THEN YOU WILL LOVE THIS. MAXWELL IS AWESOME, THE AVATARS ARE AWESOME, AND YOU CAN MAKE ANYTHING YOU WANT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game

posted by annecy6 (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2008

This game was really fun. At least the first three wordls. On the fourth world some of the levels got kinda hard. Actually, I couldn't figure out any. This game was still fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST.GAME.EVER.

posted by splatmasta (BELLE, WV) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

I know people say this but really.... Type in " Zombie " Then Type in " Brain " and make a zombie happy! Thats good cus ur still alive and zombies are full.... MMMMM BRAINZ

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

O.K

posted by darthsonic (FORT SMITH, AR) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

I used to play it, but now Super Scribblenauts is out and i play Super now. It's still fun...but it can't pop out 'purple wall' or 'friendly enemy' or 'huge giant' or 'invincable rope' .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome (I can tell you a glitch)

posted by Weby123 (LOUISBURG, KS) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I love the game. Ok here is the glitch. First, go on challenge mode. Then, type in TELEPORTER. Drag it to you. When it turns yellow let go. Boom! You are at 5th Cell Staff Room. There is a race car you can touch it to drive it (I ran into the group of people) :)

Have Fun Creating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

it was really good

posted by ctg122 (LEWISVILLE, TX) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

i liked it exept for some parts that confused me and are difficult!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse