Rent Scribblenauts Unlimited for Wii U
view large frontback

Scribblenauts Unlimited

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

460 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid

posted by tpmeads (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was an enjoyable game and perfect for something like gamefly. I enjoyed it thoroughly for almost 2 weeks and was done. It is a unique game and amazes me at how large the database is. You can have a lot of fun with it, but unless you fancy yourself as being creative you might get a bit bored. It is not a difficult game, but they do a good job of mixing up the levels. What I liked best about it is the ability to just play it using the gamepad. There really isnt a reason to even have the tv on so feel free to throw the game on, or whatever your into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Badlands' Review

posted by Moobal (COTOPAXI, CO) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game appeals to most people of the age between 8-38 in my studies.This means this is a fun, family oriented game that most can get the hang of, help family, and just joke around when bored, or during gatherings,family time,sleepovers, and events.

The game starts and you are Maxwell. You played a trick on a wizard and he made your sister, Lilly into stone. Your goal is to collect star shaped items called Starites. These are obtained from doing good deeds. These starites will reverse the curse put on her.

Challenging puzzles await you and your friends. Teaming up and having a good time is one of many fun ways to play this game. Not to mention, the new item creator/editor that doubles the game's base fun!

If you choose to rent/buy this game, Take your magic notebook, a pen and get to work saving your sister, hero!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

one of the best wiiu games this is a fun game some parts of it i don't understand but overall it's fun i give scribblenauts unlimited 5 stars out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining but simple.

posted by MrFantsypants (HEMET, CA) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is cute and fun. You play as Maxwell that creates things to satisfy peoples needs. These are all simple and may not be challenging for the older folk. But this game is probably not geared towards adult gamers. This game is unique and really is a pretty cool idea. After a while the game just starts to be a little boring as the challenges don't really get any harder. I stopped about half way through as I have had enough. This game would be great for a child, but not too young! I rate this game a good 8 because it is unique, has great graphics, can inspire us to draw just about anything you can imagine to solve problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simple, but fun puzzle game

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Scribblenauts Unlimited is a puzzle game based on writing words to solve basic puzzles. Example: guy wants to catch a fish, you write the word "fishing rod", then "worm". And thats pretty much all there is. Puzzles are very basic, although they do get a little tougher as you progress.

Positives: Very colorful world, nicely drawn artwork, nice implementation of the Wii U gamepad, humorous, some out of the box solutions

Negatives: Puzzles too basic, no story, some solutions to puzzles make no sense, sometimes a solution that that should work doesnt, can get repetitive

Overall: This is a great utilization of the Wii U, shows off the gamepad functionality (in fact, I mostly played it only on the gamepad, while watching football). Puzzles can be too easy and repetitive, but the nice visuals and light mood keeps you coming back. A good launch game for the Wii U.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An OK Game

posted by pepsi200666 (DUNDEE, MI) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had a fun game expirience with Scribblenauts Unlimited. The levels flow and creativity is always showing. The only thing it lacks is a sandbox mode where you can test the amount of things you can make. Sandbox would make up for the easy levels. and make achievments easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not bad

posted by AdidazZombie (KENT, WA) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Very interesting game. It's not as interactive as I thought it would be, plus I never received my game from Gamefly so I had to rent it from Blockbuster, but it was worth it for a couple days. All and all, it's cute and suitable for younger kids with lots of imagination.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Crazy Fun!!!

posted by jonny5isalive (FREDERICKSBURG, TX) Aug 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

At first i thought i was going to get to draw stuff
and i was kinda disappointed, Then i started playing and
this game is amazing i have so much fun with it
i can make almost anything i can think of
its not worth the 60 bucks it cost when it came out because of the games simplicity but definitely worth a rent
and keep, or buy new for 20.
for sure this is a must play and i cant wait for the DC unmasked version, my vision of a pregnant robot zombie batman will be realized!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

scribblenauts, pros and cons

posted by kenny123144 (SICKLERVILLE, NJ) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

scribblenauts unlimmitted is very fun and i like how the puzzles work. i think the game gives almost complete creative control to the gamers. best part is, you can do pretty much anything you want, even summon nintendo characters. unfortunatley after the first day, the game loses its charm. it got more boring everyminute untill i simply just stopped playing. overall this game is decent but is only fun for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Glad I didn't buy this game

posted by aaustinite (HIGHLAND, IL) May 14, 2013

Member since Sep 2006

Not up to my standards, The fun gets sapped out by sluggish gameplay. Not a fan of this game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Perfect to Rent

posted by LadyGemini1 (POCATELLO, ID) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Like several other reviewers said, this is a perfect game for Game Fly. I played through it once, it was fun, and now I'm done with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Puts the Wii U on Track

posted by Fobmuska (TUSTIN, CA) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I heard many good things about Scribblenauts and decided to try the New Wii U Version.

Write off the bat I was blown away at the level of Imagination one can use to play this game.

Can't Get up to that Ledge? Create a ladder? naw too boring, why not create Gargoyle Wings and fly up.

Medieval warrior needs a weapon? Give him a traditional sword? Nope! Why not give him a Bazooka or Laser Gun?

Toxic Barrels causing problems? Create a black hole and suck them into non existence.

Literally this game will create almost everything you want. It does restrict Profanity and Copyright material so no immature nonsense. There are also plenty of cameos and throwbacks in this game, such as a Jurassic park themed level.

The Game is great for the family or to play by yourself when your not shooting Vox Populi or taking down crime organizations. This game is a definite start in the right direction for the Nintendo Wii U.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its fun for adults and older kids

posted by danih1607 (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

we got this because we thought it would be fun for the entire family but unfortunately we didn't know this was a game you had to spell out the words to create them. we thought we would be drawing out the objects and thought the kids could join in. so a fun game was not so fun for the family. but if your looking for a game for your kids to practice spelling this would be a good one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

scribblenauts unlimited

posted by toadstinks (ARLINGTON, VA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this is a great game I love it a lot this game has a cool object editor to mess around with, and you can spawn Nintendo characters but unfortunanly you cannot add adjectives and edit them or take control of them with 2 player mode all an all this is a great game being able to choose from spawning just about anything and add adjectives, edit objects and send to your friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I love it

posted by jffrywad (CLIFTON, NJ) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

My 10 year old loves it and I love that my 6 year old does too. I like it so much because it is a fun way to make him become a better speller in school in a fun way. I never never get tired of hearing him ask how to spell shovel or ladder because by the fifth time he usually has it. A great puzzle game and a great word game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

would not buy more for litte kids

posted by masonmaurer (NASHVILLE, TN) Mar 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

to easy for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Making and describing objects can be fun

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

Sbribblenaughts Unlimited is one title that doesn’t quite describe this game. There’s no scribbling in this game, nor are there unlimited choices on what you can create.
In this game, you play as a boy who has the power to create a lot of objects. In order to create such an object, all you have to do is select “Use Notepad” then “Create Object.”
After that, you type in the name of the object you want to create, and presto – you have made something.
The goal in this game is to solve many puzzles mostly by creating an object to do something – like cook a steak, remove a boulder, tow a car, and so forth.
Another way to solve puzzles is to “add adjective” (that’s after you select the “Use Notepad”). Here, you can modify something on screen – make a person more buff, larger, or scarier – depending on what the puzzle is.
Each area has these simple tasks, and one or two complex tasks where you have to solve a group of three to five simple tasks to complete. There’s a lot to do in this game, and the puzzles are very inventive.
Some of the resulting scenes are funny (like seeing a guy get zapped by the Ark or seeing a prince turn into a toad). This is the best part of the game for me.
Your reward for these tasks are star like things you collect to save the main character’s sister from being turned to stone (sorry, sis). Even after you save her, you can still continue doing these tasks.
But this game has it’s limit on what objects you can create (though you can create a lot of different things), and sometimes there are puzzles that you might come up with a solution to that doesn’t work because it’s not a solution that the programmers put into the game.
And if you are not thrilled after an hour into the game, then you should get out – you’re going to get the same style of gameplay throughout the game.
Which is why I say you should rent Scribblenaughts Unlimited and give it a try before deciding if you want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not to Bad

posted by fadedkarma (HOUMA, LA) Dec 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

the creativity of the game was fun but the puzzles were more for my kids than me to easy for the adults i find

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

solid pc version is better.

posted by ManalandMe (WOODSIDE, NY) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

this is an ok game but there are minor glitches unlike the pc version so if you want the game it is totally worth a rent. If you want to buy this then buy the pc version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Scribblenauts

posted by cerulliulliulli (GAINESVILLE, FL) Dec 17, 2012

Member since May 2011

It's more Scribblenauts with the superior version making an appearance on PC thanks to Steamworks and custom content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Innovative, but gets boring fast

posted by Squisheep (SPRING, TX) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Completing all stage-based shards/starites takes 4-6 hours. Innovative "open" puzzle solving concept marred by too-specific solutions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Scribblenautic. Fun for kids.

posted by VampyrM (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

Nice educational game for kids where you could write and create something to help you on your quests. At first I thought it would interest me by drawing stuff and making it appear, but that's not the case. Still a good game. 7/10 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »