Rent Scores International: BAJA 1000 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Scores International: BAJA 1000

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, PS3
GF Rating
3.7

824 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

About 7 Hours for 1000 GS - Not Bad

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jan 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a budget arcade racer. If you are looking for a sim racer, just pass this one by. You can easily get 1k of gamerscore in less than 8 hours if you have any skill at driving games/track memory. It took me just shy of 7 hours to 1k the game, but I could have done it faster if I had waited to re-run some of the races after I had won the upgraded MX Motorcycles. MX Motorcycles are THE vehicle to race if you want to win and beat this game quickly.

Last gen graphics and incredibly stupid AI drivers, but this one never got frustrating and you are never stuck trying to win an impossible race. Just look for the shortcuts and you'll be winning in no time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not the worst

posted by cruzinho (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) May 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i rented this title thinking it was going to be a horrible game , and althought its not that good its not the worst game i had played , my biggest complain would be the handling of the cars , but once you get used to it its an ok game ,(and it has some easy achievements)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent racer, better than EOC

posted by IvanXSmith (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Short and sweet, I like this better than Edge Of Control. I love racing the bikes, and knocking other motorcycle riders off with my trophy truck.

The vehicle graphics are better in this game, but the environments look pretty bad. The amount of dust in the air can be really fun when you are blinded in a dust-storm.

The whole game has a better sense of style than EOC, and has more of a fun arcadey feel to it. It isn't a great racing game by any standards, but I enjoyed my time and got my money's worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This is an Arcade style game - not a simulation!

posted by JohnyUte (EAGLE MOUNTAIN, UT) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is an Arcade style game - not a simulation. Stop comparing it to a simulation game! I found this game very entertaining.

If you are looking for a realistic car simulation then this is not a game for you. If you are looking for a wild, crazy arcade type racing game Scores International Baja 1000 is definitely it!

It took about 30 seconds to learn the controls and the wild jumps and immense dust clouds made this game a hoot. Another great aspect of this game is that each of the different classes of cars/vehicles handle completely different, which brought a lot of variety to the game.

On the downside, the only way to even compete is to keep the booster button down most of the race. Which gets a bit old. Also, the crashes don't have enough damage, so you smash into a rock and you might see a panel get thrown off, or you might not. This was definitely a bit of a disappointment to me, since the game is more like an arcade game, I expected more destruction than the game gives.

Overall I would recommend at least renting this game to give it a try. I had it for nearly two weeks before I decided to try some other racing games.

I give this game a STRONG 6 - 6+.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BAJA 1000

posted by sthigpen82 (BRANDON, FL) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I thought the racing on this game was fun and entertaining. The vehicles each responded a little different from the others which was nice. Really the only complaint I had about this game was in relation to the graphics. More detail on the vehicles and tracks would have been nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretty bad

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jan 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I played Baja Edge of Control when it came out a while back and that game really had some unike things about it and was a good game. This game is about as far away as you can get from that. It has the same idea since its Baja and everything and the idea was so much similar that Activison copied the game cover and THQ, the makers of the other Baja game ,sued them because of that. But as for this game it has about 80 vehicles and all of them have major problems with handling. The graphics arent terrible but about average. The online mode is pretty weak and boring. The story mode is pretty boring and wont keep you attached for more than 15 or so races. So if your looking at renting this game and you havnt played Baja Edge of Control, first try that game. Its MUCH better than this game and has some cool features like free mode where you can drive around and not be in a race. And then after you try out that game you prouble dont want to try this game out because its really just wasting your time on a mediocre game. Try out Baja Edge of Control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth the energy it took to put the disc in

posted by thisiswar (HIGHLAND, NY) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've never written a review on this site before, and I told myself I wouldn't until I found something of worth...but this game is so bad, that I feel like I needed to warn everyone ahead of time.

Where to start? Oh, i have it...

The physics...ARE YOU SERIOUS? The vehicles (every one of them) feel like they are sliding on jelly, or something equal. You will swerve side to side in an attempt to actually control these things without looking like a drunk , inept 10 year old, but chances are, you won't get a feel for it, especially if you enjoy racing games where the vehicles are actually ENJOYABLE to drive.

The graphics, and track designs are also miserable. Graphic wise...this game would be up there with something the original Xbox/Ps2 could handle, since none of the vehicles or tracks are detailed what so ever. Everything is bland, ugly, and just kind of sits there against an equally ugly background.
Track wise...its hard to explain...they tried to say this game was a "true" experience...but I wasn't aware that the baja 1000 had giant wooden ramp jumps and the ability to put the drivers asleep.
OH , That's another thing, this game has ZERO sense of speed. You could do 180mph in this game, and you don't feel like you're going ANYWHERE.

What a wasted rental...save your rental for something that's actually enjoyable.

ps- this isn't even worth the achievment hunting, if anyone asks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Oh my goodness. How did this get released?

posted by bugwump (EL CAJON, CA) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the first time I have ever scored a game a "1". And I was hesitant at first...but I decided it definitely deserved it. Look - I am an off-road enthusiast. I do it as a hobby and when I am not in the desert, I play it on my Xbox360 (previously my PS2 and even my PS1 back in the day).

This game is junk. I literally spent LESS than 10 minutes on this game before I sealed it back up to put in the mail. I was excited for another baja game to buy - but I guess I picked the right one the first time with the new Baja game that recently released (in comparison I rated that an "8").

In the seven to ten minutes I played this game here is what I found:

1. Sub-par graphics...for a PS2...let alone that is was on a next-gen console like the 360!!

2. Ridiculous physics. I mean ridiculous. I was on a dirtbike and hit a "stalled" trophy truck - t-boned it at 65mph and the truck FLIPPED into a roll and I FELL off my bike....Like... FELL. Didn't fly....FELL. What the?!?! My 350lbs of bike and man FLIPPED a 3000lb or more trophy truck. Impressive.

3. Handling is kind of like playing Road Rash all over again, very stiff, rigid handling.

4. The tracks are very linear, not like baja at all, it is like being on a giant supercross track with obstacles. Stupid.

5. Since when did we go back to old school racing and add a turbo button? This is like old Excite Bike where you can boost but you can overheat from it. Come on - it works great in Excite Truck for the Wii - but that is an arcade style racer. Don't make a racer built on a real event and sponsored by real event coordinators and add stupid stuff like turbo boost.

6. Why did my dirtbike only got 60-65mph WIDE OPEN?? And only 80mph WIDE OPEN on TURBO? That's the slowest Baja bike I've ever seen.

Don't rent it. Don't buy it. Heck - if I had bought it I'd even ask Activision for a refund (or at least write them an email and call them mean names, LOL). It is THAT bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW THEY MISSED THE MARK

posted by DrMoonshin (CYPRESS, CA) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Compared to the other Baja game out. This is not even close to its level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Did I Get Your Attention"

posted by GhostBlade (ESCONDIDO, CA) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Is this game really a ten? No by all means not. But it is not fair to this game to rate it a one neither. I am trying to balance the scales. In all fairness it desrves at least a 7 in my opinion. Put the thought away that this is a simulation game fellows, you will be sorely dissapointed. This game is for those guys who enjoy the arcadic realm. This is the game you play when you could care less about the intense graphic design of a freakin' blade of grass or a boulder. EXCUSE me if the artistic back drop does not appeal to your senses. I thought you wanted to play this game for the thrill of the race. That being said, if you like sliding in the dirt, soaring over terra firma, and kicking up dust then you will get some satisfaction from this game. No it is not "DIRT" but nor are they trying to be. So stop making the mistake of comparing. If "Metal Storm" and "Fuel" are anything to your likeing then this is right up your alley. Play it for what it is and I am sure you will agree that it can be entertaining. For the "FORZA" fans or any of you who like to modify, modify, and modify again, well this may not be your cup of tea. This game has its audience, and it is for those who can enjoy an arcade game now and then. If you try it and end up liking it well consider yourself the lucky few, then check out "Baja Edge of Control" if you have not already, I think it might be a step up but that is just my opinion. It is a definite rent before you buy for sure. The controls are very easy to learn and the boost button when used in the right measure can make for an exciting race. The sounds are not as well tuned like "Grid" and neither are the explosions, but that is not what this game is about. So just keep that in mind and don't cheat yourself out of what might be a cheap thrill because someone else who demands perfection in their gaming is disgruntled.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by waaaaaaaaw (Prosperity, SC) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a good game.I think this is the best game renting websit.The good part about it is wene the post ofeses get it they have a scaner that tells you that the game is in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

baja 1000 not quite!

posted by rktman (PLEASANT HILL, CA) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the worst racing sim I have ever played!! Its too bad the game designers for the 360 are producing nothing other than f.p.s's. If you are looking for dirt dont look at this game. the controls are very poor at best! I thought the rating on this game was so low as racing games are not as popular as they once were. I was wrong, the ratings on this game are way too high for the poor gameplay. Great idea baja 1000, maybe another design team will tackle this genre and do it some justice!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Very Good

posted by FrankP (LODI, CA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game feels like a copy of MotorStorm with the boost feature, one I'm not very fond of. The whole game is based on how well you can ride the meter so you don't overhead, not very much fun if you ask me. Baja: Edge of Control is MUCH better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game Bites

posted by Banana1 (MORONGO VALLEY, CA) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Horrible cant even believe a company would put there name on a piece of junk like this i feel like i am playing the first nintendo who ever made this should just quit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful.

posted by trak421 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This has the possibility of being one of, if not the, worst game of all time. Controls are sloppy. The gameplay is pathetic. Quite frankly, whoever approved this for release must have been drunk. Please do not waste your time with this steaming pile of garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

garbage

posted by thrill (PELL CITY, AL) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

save gamefly the postage on this one. its complete garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not what I was expecting....

posted by wolfsong (POST FALLS, ID) May 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I was expecting more of a realistic aspect but this game doesn't have it at all. I'm not saying it's a bad game it's just not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DON'T RENT

posted by mehame17 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

imagine baja edge of control with a mental problem this game was horrible i sent it back same day!there is no way to change transmission just a few types of cars no upgrade system just a bunch of races with turbo and a set speed you have to be a pro racer to do anything and i mean a pro!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible graphics

posted by Garuda1 (MANCHESTER CENTER, VT) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

horrid game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

glad i didn't buy it

posted by bigtipton (ATASCADERO, CA) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is c r a p compared to the other baja game thats out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Baja 1000!! what.

posted by conkerer (BURKBURNETT, TX) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I think the only 1000 on this was the budget thay spent making it... This was by far the worst game I have ever played on the 360. I think the old pole position was more fun.. You have crud for graphics and realism.. I think, unless your 5 years old.. Dont rent this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by whiteyyyy (WESTERVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I have to say this is officially the worst racing game I've ever played in my life. I recommend this game to no one. HORRIBLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by mrkavanagh (BRANDON, MS) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This game is just down right horrible. It was the first game I ever rented from here and what a bust it was. I sent this game back the same day it arrived in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

JUNK GAME

posted by Lonewolf1 (MONROE, MI) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

The WORST baja game I've ever played. There's absolutely NO control with the vehicles. If you're racing against the computer in the head to head events, and you make the computer crash, it will catch up quicker than you can blink, and beat you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Good but not as Bad as it could be

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Nov 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

While this game isnt good it isnt nearly as Bad as EOC which in my Opinion was pretty much Unplayable. I do have to ask the Programmers if they had ever driven a car? Or Have they ever Riden a Motorcycle or ATV? I dont think so because in this game all the vehicles Handle exactly the same. As far as the Graphics go sure the Graphics in EOC were great but great graphics without a game thats Playable isnt very good. Wish someone that has actually driven a car of anykind on any surface other then Clean dry Perfect Pavement would program a racing game. And I also wish just once a racing game would be programmed where the AI vehicles were not trying to hit you that they actually tried not to hit you like in the real world But i guess thats asking to much from Programmers that the only vehicle they have ever been in is a Metro Bus!
Rent this game only if you dont expect very much aqnd if you think EOC was good then you need to Avoid this game because it isnt anything Like EOC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse