Rent Science Papa for Wii
view large frontback

Science Papa

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.6

186 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting game

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Aug 13, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Worth a rent to see if you like it or not. Fairly monotonous in the first level as all you do is make the same four mixtures again and again. But this is what you really do when you work as a tech or scientist level in an analytical lab - you do the same thing every dayy.

What really kills the game was the 'boss' or challenge sections. The 'person' you were playing against is just too fast and I knew I would never be able to beat him, no matter how much I played. So I only did the first level then sent it back but if I can find it for under 15, I'd buy it just to mess around with it.

From a chemist point of view, I didn't like the idea of pouring a solid into a beaker to measure it. You measure solids by weighing them, not by measuring them in a beaker which out of all the volume measuring tools has the largest error. More accurate would have been pouring into a weighing dish which would be on a scale and you would need to pour in to reach a specific weight/mass. That was my only big gripe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by china52780 (WORCESTER, MA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was boring, you follow the on screen instructions and make mixtures, same steps over and over. It may have been a little more interesting if I had the full set of directions (the ones that come when you purchase a game) inorder to know how everything came together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this game is great

posted by gamema5ter (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

this game is great for little kids. they'll learn about science and everything while having fun with the little charecters and the nice plot they'll have a lot of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun and fairly entertaining

posted by keygemm (NASHVILLE, TN) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

1 player was too short. my wife beat this game in a little less then a week. would have loved more challanges. 2 player was cool and pretty fun, but to get everything unlocked my wife beat the game, then since she was now good at it, she beat me like a rented mule. then it sucked getting stomped into the dirt, so then i made her play mario kart on the wii!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Short game. Definitely a rental!

posted by thericky (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I beat this game in about a day. It was pretty fun except I didn't know what I was making most of the time. Add this to this and add that to that but I didn't know what I was adding because it's a timed challenge. You can look at what you're adding but it takes time so usually I just added stuff and didn't know what it was. There are 5 challenges (bosses) and they were fairly easy. I didn't like that you can't skip the dialogue. If you have to retry a level you have to sit through the conversation again. All in all it's a fun game for about a day or two. Definitely a rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT deserving of its "E for Everyone" ra

posted by bionic74 (FREDERICK, MD) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The FIRST challenge in 2-player mode was building a BOMB...nuff said.

I had extreme difficulty playing Science Papa alongside my 7-year-old daughter due to the mature theme of the first challenge. In this day & age, NO ONE needs to be spoon-fed a bomb recipe through a "harmless" video game. She was fascinated by the novelty of the characters & format, and would have naively continued further had I not pulled the plug.

Majorly disappointed in the lack of moral judgment on the part of these game designers! :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Science Fun

posted by JellyBean30 (SHELBY, MI) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

I love science so this game was a must for me! I love the experiments BUT on the first level you have to do them over and over again to get the points to move on... I found this very irritating, and since I have a very short attention span and games don’t hold my interest very long I only played it for a short time then shipped it beck... Which is not against the game, Most games I only keep overnight then back they go, the main reason I have game fly is if by chance I find one that holds my attention I can purchase it... ANYWAY lol this game was not one of those games but I did come back to it and got past the first level and after that it was a good and fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very motion intensive

posted by bratty (HELENA, MT) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If you bought the wii because you like the motion aspect, then this is a good game to rent. I repeat, RENT! The game is tons of fun to get the hang of, and then it's just repetative. Lots of motion stuff though, which is fun. The kids loved being able to control the test tubes and how the different speeds affected the quality of the experiment. You twirl the spoon around and pour components and even lift the test tubes of burning flame. Also has a nice note (which you only pay attention to if you're a parent) that says not to try these at home without supervision. But after we beat a couple competitions, the kids weren't even enthused enough to keep going to finish the game. Was just too repetative for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun.

posted by Jetson (ALTOONA, PA) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Fun in the same way as Cooking Mama, however it does get a bit repetitive when you have to re-do experiments just to raise money to buy more experiments/tools to move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

where are the instructions?

posted by alfiechat (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

The one thing I would like to say is, this game came with no instructions. at least in other games, you were able to see how to play them. This was not helpful so we returned the game without even trying anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sounded so interesting...

posted by DaffyFan (MOBILE, AL) May 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game only lasted about ten minutes in our Wii. The controls were giving my daughter problems and she was no enjoying it at all. I tried it and managed a bit better but could see that at its best the game got old very fast. Might be decent as a DS game, but definitely not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »