Rent Scene It? Bright Lights! Big Screen! for Wii
view large frontback

Scene It? Bright Lights! Big Screen!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.9

296 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Turn off the host and enjoy!!

posted by Chakotay (AMARILLO, TX) Dec 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What I love most about this game was how many different types of questions there are. Listening to a line of dialogue, guessing a movie from the credits, guessin movie posters as one piece is added at a time, funny cartoons that depict the name, as well as the arbitrary questions they pop on you after watching a clip (like how many pillows were on the couch behind the characters). Funny funny!! (and so many more.)

With so much variety, it was interesting and fun the whole way through. Several times through for each sitting.

My dad got frustrated at one point when you had to push different directions on the + pad to put things in order. Once he realized what he was doing wrong (still trying to point/click) he stopped threatening to throw my remote.

So my advice is Pay attention to the controls for each type of questions. They are all different.
Then sit back and have a BLAST!! (Don't forget to turn off the Host, he is just annoying)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A decent rental for movie buffs

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like trivia games and I'm quite a movie buff, so I was interested in giving this game a go (I've never played any of the Scene It? board games). From what I've played of it, it seems to have a good variety of categories and lots of questions. The control interface is good as well. It's not very much fun to play by yourself, however. The game doesn't even provide you with AI opponents; if you're playing by yourself, you're really playing by yourself, so try to get some friends in on this. Take note, too, that this edition of "Scene It?", is very up to date (it includes questions related to films as recent as "Quantum of Solace", "Cloverfield", and "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"), but it seems to restrict itself largely to movies released within the past fifteen years. Thus far, I have not come across anything pertaining to Humphrey Bogart, John Wayne, or "Lawrence of Arabia". Some more emphasis on the classics would have been nice. Also, the so-called "host" is really annoying, but you can turn him off, so that's not really anything worth complaining about.

All in all, you'll probably find this game to be a fun little diversion if you enjoy movies and have a couple of friends or family members who share your enthusiasm. I'd only recommend it as a rental, however, as buying the game and playing it repeatedly will inevitably exhaust the supply of fresh, new questions the game is able to challenge you with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lights! Camera! Fun!

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 13, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For anyone that loves movies and celebrities, this game is for you. There are many movie-related puzzles to solve. You may see kids' drawings and guess what movie. Or you may see pixel animations that look like an old video game and guess that movie. There are word scrambles and picture anagrams to solve. Finally, you will see movie clips and answer three questions about that movie. The only thing that bugged me was that many movie clips were from older movies, almost never more recent movies. I seldom got clips from movies that I like, such as Night at The Museum 1 and 2 or Pirates of the Caribbean movies or Lord of the Rings. Nonetheless, I spent 11 years working at a movie theater, so I know many movies and had lots of fun with this game. I am considering clicking that keep it link.
Action!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

scene it

posted by rocknraff (SHARPSBURG, PA) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS HAS TO BE THE WORSE GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED, NOT FUN IN ANY WAY, THE AVATARS ARE TOO GOOFY, GAME DOESNT MAKE SENSE, AND DOESNT REALLY SHOW YOU HOW TO PLAY... I RATE IT A 1 AND THATS BEING NICE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

scene it

posted by joonbug06 (PASS CHRISTIAN, MS) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

aweful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not as great as expected

posted by Jrman52 (HUNTINGTON PARK, CA) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I've played the scene it board games sold at stores, and the DVD content is more exciting than this version. I'm very disappointed, I expected more from a game console version than the DVD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring.

posted by nattonline (NORCROSS, GA) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game is boring. I put it back in the envelope the same day I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »