Rent Scene It? Bright Lights! Big Screen! for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Scene It? Bright Lights! Big Screen!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
5.6

902 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

WOW what a LET DOWN

posted by whitey2043 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So let me get this straight. The last game you could use your avatar bring a party in and alot of the questions were up too date. Now you give us this game where no AVATAR no party system and questions that are still from the 70's and 80's. Not to mention that all the cool graphics are gone and replaced with ones that could be from SEGA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What Happened?!?

posted by PooEater (ARLINGTON, TX) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I love the Scene It games.... LOVE them! I have the little buzzer controllers from the first one and enjoy these games immensely! However, when they decided to make this one it seems like they just pushed it out the door. The fun and excitement of the old games is gone, there are no longer any cool backdrops for each round. Every round is just in front of a swirly blue background. The announcer is way off this time and they removed Avatar support! Why would they do this?!? They should have just taken these questions and threw them into a DLC for "Box Office Smash"

This game is NOT worth your time unless you are really hard-up for new questions.

Stay Classy Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by wilsoj21 (LINCOLN, IL) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible, it lacks everything that i loved about the previous scene it games. I would suggest that the company that makes this game to go back to what works and not obviously changing the game for the worse, as you can tell from all the other negative reviews this is not the way to go if you want a fun trivia game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worse than the last one

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Dec 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The last Scene it, which was called Box Office Smash, was awesome. It has avatars, online, and other stuff. This game has none of those things i just said. There are no avatars in this game, there is no online at all. And to top that off, for some weird reason, this game doesnt tell you the right answer after you got it wrong. WHY??? This game has so many obvious flaws in it, i suggest you play the Scene it that came out last year. The graphics arent great. Its not quite customizable. There is nothing better about this game from last year. If you want to play a Scene it game, try out Scene It Box Office Smash. And may i suggest that 1 vs 100 is FREE to xbox live gold users, and its WAY better than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One giant step backwards

posted by amphigorey (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Wow, I thought the reviews were kidding, but this game is a giant step backwards for the franchise. I really enjoyed the previous Scene It a lot, and was looking forward to this game in spite of the puzzling low scores -- this game is so bad I don't know where to begin!

I was astounded how they got EVERYTHING wrong in this game from the presentation to the actual gameplay!

1. There is no option to use your XBL avatar.
2. Pointless & amateurish animations between segments that have nothing to do with the game, characters, or questions.
3. Flawed game mechanics (the half thought-out star system?!)
4. Unbalanced gameplay -- I had to sit through a ten question marathon on Evan Rachel Wood movies? You can laugh, I did, most of the specialized question rounds are two or three questions long. It may have been fifteen questions about her... all I know is it went on forever!

And then personal aesthetics: the character models looked like 3-D rush-jobs, and the host's shtick was gut-churningly skippable!

Everything about this game reeked of cheap!

Don't even bother with this one. It's not worth the disc it's burned on. Play 1 vs. 100 for some value for money. Or the previous title in the series. Or even Buzz on the PS3... anything else! Really!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dim lights and a very small screen

posted by iDealz (SANTA ROSA, CA) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Everything you came to love and cherish in the previous scene it game has seem to have disappeared from this new iteration. No use of xbox avatars, a truly annoying announcer and poor use of game types. I wondered why I had heard nothing of this game in the magazines or online. I just happened to find it on game fly. But i see why now this game is a poor excuse to attempt to keep the license going. But i dont understand why they strayed from the previous formula. That is the game that defines scene it. This new poor excuse is not even worth renting in my opinion. Normally I would keep a game like this so I can at least rack up some easy achievements, but I could not stand playing more than one game. I would suggest waiting for a after holiday sale to purchase this truly atrocious game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Only play it for the new questions

posted by SpaceNinja (PETALUMA, CA) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is the sequel to Box Office Smash!? The awesome presentation that they had in Box Office Smash is removed in this version. Avatar support is also gone. They have their own worse looking non-customizable characters.

The same question format is still there. I hate buzzing in for answers and exposing answer order. Didn't the old games teach you what the correct answer was if you got it wrong? This one does not reveal the right answer if it is not answered correctly. How is a player suppose to learn from this trivia?

The animation graphics are amateur at best.

Bottom line is only play this for new questions and/or achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really?

posted by dreamlord (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

We only needed 1 scene it game and all the rest could have been DLC. Its a rip off if you ask me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Movie Trivia, but...

posted by GermmyD (DENVER, CO) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, its exactly what its supposed to be: a game of movie trivia. But, being the third game in the series, it is hard to go backwards, as far as features go. Some new features are improvements, (turning the host on/off, being able to jump in/out of games, the new star system that allows awards score multipliers for the duration of rounds.) while the lack of past features, (mainly online capability) hurts the competitiveness that players of Box Office Smash have become accustomed to. If you have a large family that games together, this is a must have. If you live alone, or as a duo- it can get old pretty fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not very exciting

posted by Macross (DAYTON, OH) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

Meh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad, but Not Great

posted by biggestofdaddie (ORLAND PARK, IL) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Scene It! is a lot of fun at first and never seems to run out of new questions. If you play long enough, duplicates are inevitable, but extremely rare. The downside is the format. The game is more fun the more people you have playing and even offers a party style so you can group up. In non party style, you are limited to four and anyone else in the room needs to shut their traps and stop yelling out answers (but that's not the game's fault). After that, it's just gets a bit tedious after a while because there's no real sense of accomplishment afterwards. It's very anticlimactic and the winner just wins and then you can start again. But all in all, it's a fun party game and good if you have a regular person to play with, but single campaigns are dull to say the least. I still dug it though and if you like movies and movie trivia it's worth getting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Movie Guru's Only!!

posted by ViralMunky (LOUISVILLE, KY) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game was fun. Me and my wife played it and it was kinda hard.. Mainly because we've not seen alot of movies. If you have seen every movie ever made and you love party games then this is the game for you! We had fun it just became a little frustrating that we had no idea what the movie was they were talkin about! The controls are simple and easy to understand and no, you do not need the special Scene It? Controllers!!! I would recomend this game if you were havin a party or if your a movie guru yourself! 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wow

posted by VinceMcM (FRANKFORT, IL) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I loved the first 2 Scene its they made but this is horrible it almost feels like this was made before the other 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME IS WORTHLESS!

posted by 0zzypowell (SHERMAN, TX) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

DON'T WASTE YOU'RE TIME ON THIS GAME! WORST GAME EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »