Rent Scene It? Box Office Smash for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Scene It? Box Office Smash

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

2199 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

One important thing gamefly has wrong.

posted by MikeR44 (WADSWORTH, OH) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

47 out of 47 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just to clear here: YOU DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT NEED TO HAVE THE BIG BUTTON CONTROLLERS TO PLAY THIS GAME. I don't see why gamefly has it noted that you do need them as your regular Xbox 360 controllers work fine, if not better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Box Office Smash!

posted by chriss251 (WESTFIELD, IN) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is excellent for anyone who loves movies and/or trivia. Its most enjoyable playing with a few friends at the house or over xbox live. I wouldn't recommend this as a one-player game, but very fun with 2 to 4 players. You may notice a few repeat movie clips and questions, but with downloadable content now available, the replay value is extended even further. Definitely a must have for any movie trivia lover.
PRO'S:
-Lots of puzzle variaties including crossword puzzles, 8-bit animation puzzles, credit roll, and movie clips.
-Great replay value
CON'S:
-Scoring is a little unfair with the losing player always getting more bonuses than the player who actually answers more questions right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by MellisaRae (DEBARY, FL) May 10, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Easy to play with basic xbox controller. Fun to play with other people in the same room.. not to bad for online play either... only thing that sucks is that you can't play more than one person on a TV and go online at the same time. Lame! Other than that.. it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Fun For What It Is

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jun 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Great game to play alone or as a party game. Fun stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good game.

posted by Stephanie5 (KLAMATH FALLS, OR) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The questions are really challenging, mostly if you haven't watch a whole lot of movies. I didn't know more than half of them lol. If you love movies then you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What do you want... it's a Scene It game

posted by Verbalkint (BENSALEM, PA) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a game that you really can't classify as good or bad, it is just what it is: a Scene It game.

If your at all good at movie trivia, you should enjoy this game. If you host a lot of parties and can get others to play, you should enjoy this game. If your still watching your movies in black and white with a guy on an organ playing at the front of the stage while the dialogue flashes by on cards, then you might not enjoy this game.

Another plus, if you are good at movie trivia, this game will net you a nice, easy boost to your gamer score.

This has got to be the shortest review I've ever written. But that's pretty easy when I game just is what it is and nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great concept, but too repetitive

posted by tvdavis (RENO, NV) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm glad I rented this game before buying it. I enjoyed the first SceneIt game, so I thought this would be even better. Unfortunately, this game's potential is lessened due to the repetition of the movie clips, questions. I've played this game exactly five times. I have seen the same movie clips (and same accompanying questions) for four movies AT LEAST three times!

I played the game on Thanksgiving with two friends, and I had an advantage because I had seen many of the clips & answers before. I hope there will be some kind of downloadable upgrade to the game soon, where they change the algorithm they use to rotate the clips. Until then, not much replay value at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lights, Camera, Addicted.

posted by DrGorillaNuts (MONROEVILLE, PA) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I own the game and haven't played it in quite some time, but I felt compelled to write a review for those who may be on the hunt for an incredibly addictive party game for the upcoming holidays with friends and family.

Allow me to start off by saying the whole Scene It? series for the Xbox is pure fun. For the somewhat "limited" amount of movie clips or references, the questions are plentiful. You may play back to back games and get the same movie clip, thinking "wonderful, we literally just saw this", and alas the questions are a completely different set. Nothing beats seeing that friend with the sharp memory rush to buzz in and get stumped when the questions change.

The game modes seem fresh too each time you play them. You'll frequent the same cute scenario with the cartoony graphics, but it just does not seem to get old. The genres and eras are vast as well. Knowing comedies from the 90's won't cut it here. It all adds up to the anticipated "Final Cut", where the points can seriously accumulate and take you from third to first if you know your movies.

The game gives you the opportunity to add avatars in, which is just a nice little gift. Although their involvement isn't incredibly immense, just seeing your little guy or gal happy to win a round is satisfying enough to justify throwing them in.

Hands down the highlight of the series is the four player mode. While the solo games are fun for a little while, you can't help but look around to see who is impressed at your movie knowledge, only to find the lamp, chair, and couch totally unamused. Don't be surprised if the casual to non-gamers become addicted either. Scene It? does is right - the game focuses on keeping it simple and group interaction, and that's exactly why it's fun. There were nights where friends and I would go out to the bar, and all rushed back to fire up the game. You know you've got a winner when even the girls would rush their last cranberry vodka to go play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Puzzles repeat too often

posted by jefsct (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

I love Scene it. Great game, has SO much Potential, but after playing 5 or 6 games with my roommates, we were already seeing the same movie clips which really takes the fun out of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by 360Family (BRONX, NY) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Lot's of fun for the family. Good party play and hey i had my 7 yr old daughter playing...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game is GREAT for the family

posted by Horabuena (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

(PROS)
1. One of the best parts about this is that you can make a game night out of it.
2. You never know who will win! it really depends on the movies they show and your knowledge of those movies.
3. You can play by yourself or with up to 3 other ppl.
4. The voice over guy is entertaining.
5. Avatars will have different emotions depending on how your doing in the game and they are actually pretty close to how most ppl act.
6. Many different types of games and wide range of subjects!

(CONS)
1. The Point System is a bit wacky such as they will award you points for getting the most wrong in a particular round.
2. They should have added more of the Movie clips into the game.
3. If you play about 6 or 7 games you will start to see many of the same questions repeating

I gave this game a 9!! It is fun for everyone in the family

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

mildly entertaining

posted by SirMacalot (CARROLLTON, TX) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

PROS: has a lot of movies from the past and present, fun style of trivia, great party game

CONS: absolutely boring for single player, graphics are from the original xbox era, it's more fun if you actually have the special buzz-in controllers, which don't come with this rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Scene It

posted by brisdad08 (OPELIKA, AL) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Was a pretty fun game. Only problem is a LOT of the questions repeated themselves, so we got bored with it after about four games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BORING

posted by Doherty123 (PRINCETON, MA) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game started out fun, but got boring mad fast. Skip it if you know whats good for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Scene it

posted by cindy5963 (TOMBALL, TX) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Alot of fun with friends, especially if your a movie buff..but even if your not a movie buff, but your good at process of elemination its a blast. I think it would be better if it has the controllers that is made for the game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

U DO NOT NEED TO HAVE THE BIG BUTTON CONTROLLER

posted by Dillz85 (CHICAGO, IL) May 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I lovee this game. Its not as easy as the DVD version. The XB360 version is so engaging and my girlfriend and i played 2 long games and still wanted to play. The clips are cool and the puzzle blocks are mixed well. Fujn family game but recommended for hardcore movie fans or anyone old enough to remember classics from the 40's 50's as well as very recent stuff like Tropic Thunder and Transformers (live action)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

B.O.S = Box of fun

posted by MrLupin (EL CAJON, CA) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

the multi players aspect of this game sold it. playing aginst people all over the world was great cause you got someone new everytime you played wich made you think about how good you think you are. me personally I'm no god but I'm pretty darn good. anyways if you love movie triva this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Trivia Game

posted by tang007 (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

If you like trivia games then you'll love this game.

Good amount of questions, although you will find the occasional set you've seen before. Its especially fun with a few other people.

Also, its VERY easy to get boost your gamescore with this, after a few hours of playing aimlessly you'll accrue nearly 1000 points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than the first

posted by Zerostein (BONAIRE, GA) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

They kept it the same but added new stuff. This game is a lot of fun and now with online play, it's that much better. If you enjoyed the first Scene It, you'll definitely enjoy the 2nd one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for what it is

posted by StrngBrew (RED BANK, NJ) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

This game delivers exactly what it promises. To get together with a group of friends or family and play Scene It together is a good time. The questions span all all decades of movies, the games are fun, and the system with controllers and buzzing in and what not works well.

Plus you can get lots of cheap achievements...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

1000 pt game

posted by owtkast (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

very fun game for a group or individually. Online makes this game infinitly better then the 1rst Scene It. 1000 pt game with alot of time in but it'll be fun all the while. took me 20+ hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

As advertised

posted by ruland (RENSSELAER, NY) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Scene It is just what you would expect which is a good thing. It's comprised of multiple mini games testing your knowledge of various movies. It's a great game to play with friends or family and actually uses the new avatar you create on your 360.

Some of the mini games seem to be more luck than cognitive skill boiling down to whether you've encountered the question or puzzle before but this is a minor set back. Also it doesn't hurt to be a little older when playing cause some of the movies go waaaay back. Im 30 and there were some that I just had no clue about. But as I said before you can just memorize the answer and get it next time it comes around.

For those achievement piggys out there this isn't a bad rental either. You can scarf and easy 500-600 points of it just by repeat playing. My friend had little trouble getting to 1000 but he's a movie master. As with most people the hardest questions involve answering correctly based on film credits.

In summary a good game definitely worth a rental even if your slightly interested. You can still play it even if you don't have the fancy controller advertised just be familiar with button placement as speed is essential to a high score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining but not worth purchasing.

posted by PRINC3SS (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

THE GOOD: Enjoyable with more people. Fun and challenging games that anyone can play.

THE BAD: Limited options to enhance your game play. Solo mode is a no-no.

THE VERDICT: Rent it if you're curious about it or want to enjoy a good time with friends. If not, don't bother. Even if you're a fan of movies this game will run its course after a few plays.

Scene it! BOS is best played with a group of people. Whether those people are on your couch or via LIVE makes no difference. The more people involved in this game is definitely a plus. Solo mode is no different than the Short or Long games. You are just by yourself.

Players may find the mini-games enjoyable but after playing through it a few times may notice that some games appear more than others. The "Movie Clip" mini-game appears in every round and though it is enjoyable, sometimes seeing the same clip without the ability to skip it can prove disheartening-- even if you get different questions. Some mini-games are just not as entertaining as others and SI! BOS does not offer an option to customize the games you play.

Scene it! BOS is definitely a fun game, but its flair will die down the more times you play through it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First not always the best...

posted by BN22387 (FINLEYVILLE, PA) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

As in this situation. Scene It: Box Office Smash! is much better than its predecessor. It fixes all potential flaws that the first one had, such as when you pause the game, the questions still roll. The online aspect of the game makes the game much more fun than the first as well.
The main downside to this game [and series, for that matter] is that the achievements are ridiculously easy. I just got the game yesterday, started playing today, and I already have 35 out of 50 achievements. Other than that small downside, this game is pretty much perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost perfect

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jan 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

I love Scene it? games. And ive played most of the ones on DVD's. And comparing those to this one, this one is deffidently better. One thing that has been added since the other Scene it, is that this one has Xbox Live and that works great on this and really improves the whole feeling of the game. Another thing i thought was just outstanding was they made it so your avatars are the people in the game. Also there are some tiny things about this game like small movie clips which really improve the game. One thing i didnt like about this game is that most of the movies in this game, i didnt even know exsist. I know that i dont watch as many movies as most people do, but sometimes they just put really boring movies on this game. So overall they really improved this game from the last one and you really should try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse