Rent Saw for PS3
view large frontback

Saw

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

2098 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Than Its Sequel, Be Ready To Die...Alot

posted by jay419 (PRAGUE, OK) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Played this when it came out and have since played Saw 2. This is a game for people who really love the Saw movies. The dark atmosphere and tough gameplay create a tense feeling the whole time you play it.

THE LOOK

Very dark, I had to turn my T.V brightness up to see what I was doing. It may be dark to create a horror sense but probably to hide the graphics, which aren't good. There are a couple of scenes outside which reveal how black the interiors really are in comparison. At times it will be hard to see anything, even with the flashlight you carry. The atmosphere does feel scary and it looks just like the movie settings. But this game isn't breaking ground graphically.

THE STORY

You play as Detective Tapp (Danny Glover in the first film). Although Glover isn't in the game, I liked that it gave a supporting character from the first movie his own story. You go through Jigsaw's maze solving puzzles, fighting bad guys, and saving other victims. This is suppose to be happening between Saw 1 and 2. But there aren't any real plot points to add to the films. Much of the narrative you'll get from case files laying around. You'll have to read.

THE GAMEPLAY

Okay at times and terrible at times. The puzzles will take awhile to master and the puzzle at the end is VERY hard. The combat is brief and you need good timing to strike. The traps all over the game world will kill you constantly. YOU WILL DIE OVER AND OVER. The best part are the clues hidden everywhere to open locks and solve puzzles. It's cool to search walls and mirrors to get combination lock's numbers. It'll serve you to pay attention to your surroundings.

THE VERDICT

If you liked the original 2 films I think you'll like this game. Use guides and walkthroughs to get through the tough parts. And be patient while you play. It can get very frustrating but remember this is not on Uncharted's level of gaming. But it does a descent job of bringing the Saw movie suspense to a console game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by frozennudist (COLDWATER, MI) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

That's all this game is. It's boring and repetitive. It's padded out annoying puzzles that are re-used over and over until you are only working on muscle memory. One of the puzzles is just a Memory Game with penalties.

It tries to give you plot twists but only ends up doing the very obvious. :SPOILERS: For example, at one point you have to save Mellisa Sing from a trap. She is the wife of Detective Sing, the partner of Tapp (The main character). Detective Sing died and the blame is laid on Tapp (even though Jigsaw placed the traps, but whatever.) Mellisa blames you for the death of her husband and constantly screams it when you save her. Howeer, she agrees to accompany you to live. Later on, however, SHE BETRAYS YOU! DUN DUN DUUUUUH!:SPOILERS END:

The ending sequence is very anti-climatic also, just because it's padded out with freaking Pipe Dream for most of it!

I've only saw the first movie and didn't care for it much, so I can't vouch for, "if you like the movies." However, on a game stand point, it fails at being a horror game (being that there is health given to you for every 20 feet, and there seem to be a large arsenal of revolvers just lying about during the second half.) It also fails at a puzzle game because the puzzles are so easy and uninspired it made me want to wait out the clocks so that there was just a semblance of challenge in here.

In short, the game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good!! a must play!!

posted by Brighton92 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

to start off ignore all of those biased reviews from gamespot,this game is perfect.In this game we all get to find out what happens to detective Tapp from the first saw movie.through out the whole game you will spend your time exploring,solving puzzles(some hard yet a trill to do),sometimes fighting, and avoiding booby trap's. what makes this PS version different then the 360 is better lighting and the use of the six axis controller which you use in some situations. this game is fun and also involves alot of patients. overall this game is a must play for any saw fan or people who like a good puzzle.this game is also a very easy platinum too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Best of a Bad Situation.

posted by Estedees (VIRGINIA, MN) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me first say that Saw The Video Game is what you would come to expect from what it is, a movie game. Yes it is the new age and games are looking better and better but does that truely mean that this game isnt great because it doesnt have top of the line graphics or mechanics? To some yes, but to true gamers that would be a big NO. The game's story is compelling in the sense of your standard Saw movie. Puzzles, blood, traps, blood, dark erie music....did i mention blood? The game starts off with instant suspence and you keep it for most of it but there are elements that make you think "Why am I playing this game?" But dont fear, this game will actually hold your interest and keep you striving to capture Jigsaw. The twists and people they bring into this game was a nice start, the music was very nice, the character modeling and the graphics were just sub par. Some would say that the dark rooms is annoying, but seriously do you want a horror game, or just to be handed the key to your survival. You play this game for a challenge and to be scared, you dont want to light your path with a dimly lit lighter only to feel a bit safe then pick up your run pace to just have your head blown off because you were not paying attention? Then go play something else. this game is entertaining and may not be the best game out there but it was decent none the less.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a good game

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a good game to rent or buy . but i would say stat off by renting it before you decide to buy it as it may not be for everyone as it were . when i first heard about Saw the game i heard it was going to be like a zombie game or something like that turns out i was totally wrong . in fact it's not all that bad just they get the setting of which movies it takes place in between though other than that a good decent horror game .

overall 7/10
controls 5/10
replay value 8/10
gameplay 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

hope the next saw videogame is better

posted by justin25 (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

very good game but the valve puzzles were kind of challenging and pretty short. if you spend a good week on it you could beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Has its flaws, but still worth a look

posted by Bernini (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Plotwise, the game is decent. It didn't really seem to conflict with the films, and the twist ending (if you choose that ending) wasn't bad. They got the atmosphere right, although the traps did get repetitive. After the first two levels or so, every trap you encounter is just previous traps reused/combined with other traps.

Combat was an issue. Due to the way the combat system works, weaker weapons are actually better most of the time. The locked weapons cases usually contain weapons you can easily get elsewhere, even though the game says they are supposed to be more powerful. There are a couple places that are only challenging if you don't have the gun (which isn't hard to obtain or hold onto if you conserve ammo). The 'boss' fight was laughable.
The use of barricades/locks on doors was interesting, but wasn't implemented in the right way. It's usually easier to just fight through than lock a door and find an alternate path, and most of the time the lock serves no purpose as you MUST fight through to advance.
Having enemies have limited time to kill you before they expire would have been interesting, but there seems to be a glitch; their timer doesn't start unless you hit them, so you might as well just kill them instead of waiting for time to run out.

It's not a hard game, probably take a solid weekend to play through, even if you don't use a guide. If you liked the movies, I'd recommend renting it. Would NOT buy it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Above average

posted by DoubleND (LITTLEFIELD, TX) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game to rent...Wouldn't recommend buying it...lame weapons...great story if you like the Saw movies...pretty easy to beat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It could have been better

posted by djseeho (MANASSAS, VA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Saw left me feeling like I was watching the movie for a short period. The traps and puzzles, with the voice of Jigsaw, had a Saw feel to it. The only problem is that it gets repeated. Seems like every time you turn around there is another prisoner you have to fight, since he believes that you have the key to his survival. The puzzles get to be the same one quite often, and I must have stuck my hand in a toilet full of used needles about 10 times. If there is a sequel I hope that each stage is different, and doesn't repeat itself so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SAW FAN REVIEW......

posted by warreng210 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

hmmmm its ok not great but not terrible either if you liked the movies you will like the game if you never seen or cared for the movies 9/10 times youre not going to like the game. im going to start with the pros

pros: addicting game couldnt put it down.
easy platnium trophy
story is ok
look of the asylum is great
some mini games are fun

cons: the fighting system is doo doo you swing VERY SLOWLY
some of the mini games are really hard when your timed
the ending not so great ( there are two endings you can choose from both are kinda dumb)

final thought: if youre a fan of the movie you will enjoy this game would i recommend buying it no but its a great rent i got the game wednsday and thursday night i finshed it. its not really long but not to short if you can get over some small things like the fightings system and some voice acting you would fine its an ok game i enjoyed but dont really expect to much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Saw Review

posted by PWNMASTA (BYHALIA, MS) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

for people to give this game such a bad rating i really enjoyed it. the environments are creepy. the game kind of over plays the roll of cursing. it is really easy to get all of the achievements in the game (even though i didn't). its a little glitchy in some areas of the game and the graphics aren't that perfect but that's expected when it is a multi platform game and as long as it takes to beat it. this game would have been better if it was a playstation exclusive that more time could have been put into the graphics. my honest opinion is to rent this game instead of buying it since there is no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

okay

posted by nickrm (BRANDON, MS) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

not for combat but for puzzle solving

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love it

posted by mrbusta (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From a fan of the saw movies i had to try this game , i love this game some traps was hard but i have to say i beat it with no walk through help i love how there 2 endings but yea had the chills playing this game i will buy this not sending it back haahh hope there is another saw game .This reminded me of uncharted and lil of that new bat man game . If u a fan of Saw you will enjoy this game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Actually Not that bad

posted by Suspect (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

50 out of 60 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

After Playing this game for a 6 hours I have to say that this is actually a pretty good game. although I have to admit when I first started the game I was pretty convinced it was lame. The story pretty much fits in between saw 1 and 2. you take on the role of Detective tapp who was played in the film by Danny Glover. would have felt more like saw if the Actors who played Detective tapp and Amanda did their own voices but I guess its better then nothing.

To be honest this game is pretty much for Die Hard survival horror fans or Die Hard Saw Fans. The puzzles involved in saving another character from Their Gruesome demise are actually pretty tense. Its just crazy to actually get a feel of actually being in one of jigsaws traps and watching that clock in the middle of the room count down. making narrow escapes that much more thrilling. they should have made more use of the movie's theatrical score that would have made the game feel much more authentic. If you like I are one of the rare few who loved Silent Hill Homecoming, then you are not gonna want to pass on at least renting this one. Its just a real shame this game won't see any DLC there are a lot of side stories that could be added to the game.

Graphics:7
Sound:7
Controls:8
Replay Value:6
Over All: 8 "my opinion"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent

posted by steve313 (WESTLAND, MI) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

18 out of 23 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

for a movie game im impressed. this will at times give you the chills... which is great and fun. as the game starts you get into the action fast and from there its just fun.i trophies do seem to be very easy, but for game play... its really not too bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saw

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Don't mind the bad reviews if you liked the movie you'll enjoy the game, it's that simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SAW

posted by RateMe (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was reading other reviews about how bad this game was, so I wanted to add one.

This game is a GREAT game if you like puzzles. The puzzles are well done, some may be the same but what game is not! It follows what the movies are about pretty well, without following any of the movies to a T. Now the fighting is horrible, it is very slow and clunky. This game is not made for fighting, they would rather you set a trap.

I would recommend this game for anyone who likes puzzles!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME TO RENT!

posted by Ichigo15 (FORT SMITH, AR) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

If you want to get easy trophies then this is the game for you because each one falls into your lap without any effort on your part. I got platinum in one day and now i am sending it back to rent another game. Also better than watching the movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Adrenaline pumping entertainment

posted by Downfall (WILKES BARRE, PA) May 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game takes place between Saw and Saw 2, it is put together pretty nicely and just the macabre effect of some of the traps is entertaining enough. Setting off a trip wire shotgun trap with the surround sound turned up never got old, every one in the room would jump; not to mention you can here people walking above you or behind you in the game and that was a little freaky. When you spring a challenge and you see the clock start counting down or when your shotgun trap starts beeping (you will see why if you rent this) the game gets intense not knowing if you will make it through the challenge or not. My adrenaline would start flowing so maybe this will have the same effect on you.
I would recommend this game if you like suspense/puzzle games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for Platinum

posted by WolfLover (DIVIDE, CO) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This Game was decent. Very Gory! I would recommend only renting this game. Unless you find a good deal on it, like.....$10!!!! Trophies are easy to get. If you are finding it hard to get a platinum for the PS3 get this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

my though os SAW

posted by jasonlee42 (LAWTON, OK) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

if your a fan of the series or at least the first 2 movies , and want a hard challenge rent this game it worth the time, as for buying it heck ya but wait for it to drop down some, its good but not 65 dollars good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i have to say its pretty good

posted by hmmmmm (BETHUNE, SC) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

i gave it a 9 because its kinda short but really fun i enjoyed this game i like the traps and how you are supposed to get out of the them and when you have to fight those people in the pig mask thats pretty easy but i hope you enjoy this game as much as i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too bad of a game!

posted by markyd31 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is not too bad, its better then I thought it was going to be. The graphics are ok but nothing real eye popping! I think the only voice actor from the movie is jigsaw himself. The combat is ok I wish you could just punch and not have to be in a fight stance by holding L2. The lighting is pretty bad, you cant see anything until your right on top of it, but you can adjust the gamma to help you out a little. The puzzles are pretty good, nothing too easy but nothing all that hard either. There are files and tape recorders all over the place with little hints and messages as to what is going on. And TV's that show jigsaw talking to amanda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wosrt game i have ever played

posted by parrott404 (SYRACUSE, NY) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

people this was the worst game ever created!!! i think frogger is better than this game people trust me this game is garbage!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Saw

posted by Williamson (UPLAND, IN) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good game. Overall pretty simple. Most puzzles are not hard. Very creepy with lighting and sound effects. Great for nighttime play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse