Rent Saw II: Flesh & Blood for PS3
view large frontback

Saw II: Flesh & Blood

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.1

805 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Be ready to replay every stage multiple times.

posted by jay419 (PRAGUE, OK) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Try...Try...Again
Like the first game, this one takes many attempts to advance to the next stage. Toward the end I spent an entire hour getting through a rotating floor beaming lights that blow you up. YES AN HOUR, NO I'M NOT EXAGGERATING.
Like the first game I had to set my T.V brightness up just to see the graphics which are not great.
Unlike the first game, the combat and trip wires and chases are worse. Before, you could whack a guy with a bat. Now you have button prompts which are more difficult and less fun.
The puzzles are pretty much the same except there is a new light-bulb puzzle I could not figure out. I solved each one on accident. And there is no big puzzle maze at the end like the first one. There are better clues around the environment this time around for unlocking doors and such. (riddles on walls, glow in the dark numbers etc..)
The story is not as good as the first game and the plot itself wasn't told very well. Most of the details are in case files you find and have to read. This is a sequel that follows Detective Tapp's son Michael trying to figure out what happened to his father.

!!!Spoiler!!! In the beginning you play as another character Cambell who has a choice to live or die. He needs to die in order to get the good alternate ending for Michael.

This game is what it is. If you liked the first game you'll probably like this one too. Remember its hard to play and you die every 30 seconds. The controls and game mechanics are clunky and the camera is up close to your back so its hard to see where you are and what your doing especially in the dark.

Saw 2 is not as fun as the first game. Not as tense or scary. Even darker environment than the first. Not as well written or directed or animated. Just remember this isn't Uncharted 2 or Assassins Creed. Its behind the times a bit but be patient and you'll have a good enough 6-8 hours of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More trouble than it's worth!

posted by Ericknopf (FAIR LAWN, NJ) Nov 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

While the game isn't terrible, and the graphics are actually pretty good, most of this game is more trouble than it's worth. When trying to figure out certain puzzles, the game's director or programmers made a lot of assumptions as to what the potential player has knowledge of. At certain points, because the puzzles were too annoying, I found myself not caring about the extra items one can collect. The game director comes across as caring too much about replay ability when it is discovered that in order to get both endings one has to replay the game completely from the beginning, something that I no longer cared about since going through it once was annoying enough.

If you're a fan of the first saw game, and the movies, it's an "o.k." game to play. Otherwise steer clear of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

just like being in the movie yourself

posted by Brighton92 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

so start off please ignore those other reviews talking bad about the game . i just got this game today and boy,i tell you i got hooked instantly. the graphics look great in my opinion and the voice acting is great too.this game just like the first involves exploring and solving puzzles and a bit fighting. the fighting mechanics sucks on saw 2 compared to the first here you have match the button on the screen to attack such as you see X you press X.now to the puzzles, most of the common puzzles from the first game are back with a twist and some new puzzles aswell such as memorization(i wont spoil nothing).now on to gameplay, through the story you will play as michael tapp son of detective david tapp who is trying to find out what really happened to his father but he gets kidnapped by whom else the pig head and so the game begins.the controls are alot like the first one except the fighting. you walk barefoot AGAIN!! (bummer). jingsaw also has new tricks up his sleeve which i wont spoil but when you see them first hand yourself you will be surprised. some of the puzzles are tough like this one lighting puzzle which i cant beat ..yet or like in the movie you have to find a combination to a lock but there are a whole lot of numbers writin on the wall and you dont know what's what but when you solve it you will be like man,i didnt think i could do that. if you are a SAW fan and or puzzle fan go for this game and the first one too. this game is a must play i'm really enjoying it so far. give this game a chance dont listin to someone else's bad experience or critics bias reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

saw 2

posted by harley11 (BARNHART, MO) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game deserves more then a 5....its at least a 8... can get frustrating at times doing the same stuff over..but it has great puzzles and good graphics...you should probaly play saw 1 before playing 2..so you know what to expect..if your a fan of the series its a must play !!...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont waste your time renting or buying!!!!!!

posted by spyder21 (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 27 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

This is a horrible horrible waste of time and of a perfectly good blu-ray disc. Stay away!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time...

posted by CognacRhino800 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Worst game ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

saw 2 flesh blood

posted by CCLL26 (GLOUCESTER, VA) May 5, 2014

Member since Jul 2006

the director and konami
you should not play
this not all bad control
not buy this at all should it banner from
gamefly forever this game the site
should not games like this ever again
not what do tell like eye
you should not maker this games
wart mart should sell this games
and gamstop be ever again this so
fixer control voice over was good at all
111 not rent don't wase times or money
smasnig the control
the puzzles not fun at all
not rent or play this at all
the director sick head mind
stop maker lions gate movies like this it not good
this ot do with gamefly
stop put like this saw fleshblood
the esrb should rate game am ot ad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GARBAGE!!!!!!!!

posted by kidoplivous (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 11, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

This game sucks so bad it made me want to power run Duke Nukem Forever and the new Aliens game!!! Stay away from this plastic piece of runny dog s h i t!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Annoying step backwards

posted by Patrick_Regan (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

This game gives me the impression that both Saw and Saw II were made at the same time by different people who took the same basic graphics and decided to tell their own tale and use their own gameplay mechanics. Now, I know that is not what happened but it makes you think how the first could have wound up worlds better than this sequel.

Where to start with this pile of steamy puke scented manure. Don't play this game, that at least I can be clear to say. Not even if your a fan of the movie franchise. Don't play this game.

The gameplay is mostly comprised of combat through quick time events, for which failing is instant death, and stumbling around invisible wall filled darkly lit hallways. Said hallways not even a high bright setting on your game / ps3 / or TV will fix. Its actually a mechanic built right into the game engine. Get a bit of damage on yourself (Not hard to do) and the screen gets a bit darker. Start to see the heart beat monitor on the bottom of the screen, welcome to the dark world. You'll find yourself sticking yourself with syringes not because your afraid of dying but because you can't see anything.

You will also find yourself dying more often than you'd like. Plus loading the game full of quick time combat does not make for fun playing. In fact it is the defining annoyance of this game.

It has added a few puzzles since the last game, which is probably the best point to the game. Its a small thing but with games this bad you have to find some kind of bright spot.

The graphics are sub-par, very sub-par. Sure, they have not noticeably gotten worse from the last but honestly that is not saying a thing. The former game made up for its poor graphics with decent gameplay, fun puzzles, and the like. This game only compounds its bad graphics with other horribly designed things like quicktime combat (only form of combat in the game!!), EXTREMELY poorly lit environments, and a throw away story your left wanting to erase from your memory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

jg reviews SAW 2 flesh and blood

posted by battlemage (PLEASANT GROVE, AL) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

If you havent heard of the saw series.... really if not saw is a horror film series that fellows a group of people imprisoned by a serial killer named jigsaw or john kramer who builds deathtraps and kidnaps people to put these traps on or more like test these traps on but heres the kicker the people jigsaw kidnap arent inocent.The game series of saw takes place in between the films mostly in this game in between the first and second fellowing detective trapts son-danny glover in the films but does this live up to the films or the hype no not at all i can understand that the puzzles are supposed to be hard and fun to figure out but at same points you dont care about the mind bending choices you have to descide like for example. Your given a choice kill this guy to save that guy or save that guy to let the other die you dont care you havent bonded with these very unknown characters your supposed to care for you dont even know them no prolugue outside of the jigsaw levels where your trying to make it threw this painful experince of a game heres another reason why this game just is painful to play you got a flash light to use but there is this like ten second lag for the flashlight to light up the way because without that flash light you are... you get the idea when that flashlights off you dont know where your going your lost its pitch black and it sucks trying to know where to go there isnt a fighting mechanic in this game its a mini game button masher like out of god of war series which sounds cool at first but after an hour of button masher not just from fighting but trap doors the traps themselves the game just felt unfinished this game could of been great but he fails to live up to its big name this could of worked as a short playstation network xbox live arcade game it has the chance of not being just agreat film series but a good videogame series but this game just does not live up to that standard." overall grade C-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Saw 2

posted by 212416 (SIKESTON, MO) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

Great Game Kind Of Hard But A Great Game. Some Of The Puzzles Are Very Hard And I Was On The Easy Level Too. You Get Killed Alot But If You Keep Trying At It Then You Will Beat This Game. If You Like The Saw Movies Then You Like This Game And The First Saw Game As Well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Much Improvement

posted by Supallcomm (WHITTIER, CA) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

Well, on the positive side, they fixed a few problems of the first Saw game. Combat is WAAYY easier. They got rid of the difficult-to-see gas pipe puzzles. They added more randomness to the puzzles. Balance beam walking is back, but it's just as easy as before. Playing on Hard mode actually does make the puzzles harder.

The downside, they created new problems too. The guy with the cage on his face who has to trample you every time? AWFUL!

I'd sooner skip this one than the first one, though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saw 2

posted by boggesjd (HUDSON, WI) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Games is sweet. Keeps your mind thinking when you do the puzzles. And very creative!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hmmmm blAH!

posted by sugurshane (BENSALEM, PA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It was cute for what it was. I was like repeating stage after stage. Graphics are excellent. It just wasn't what I thought it would be. It was like watching the panic room instead of what the movie "saw" really gave.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok game

posted by Tim1234 (BALTIMORE, MD) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Well to start I am a huge fan of the movies. When I played the first game I enjoyed it but I found it to be very repetitive after a while. However, the fighting mechanics in the first game were a lot better then this game. I didint think this game was no where near as repetitive as the first one with the evolvement of new puzzle and different things to do. This is one of those games if you are a huge fan of the movies you might find it to be an ok game. If your not a fan of the movie I wouldn't pick it up. I don't think that this game deserves a 5.1 rating maybe a 6.1. I don't think I would replay this game just because the ending was confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Ultimate Disappointment

posted by indydrummer (CARMEL, IN) Feb 20, 2012

Member since May 2011

I was cool with having to replay puzzles several times to solve them, but when the game glitched near the end (making it impossible to finish), that sent me over the edge. I spent many nights investing my time into that game and really wanted to see the conclusion. The puzzle where you save the accountant from "cooking" is where is screws up. Despite saving him (three times, I might add), the game acts as if you've lost AND attempts to play the next cut scene under the "failed" screen. If you press a button, you lose your progress. If you wait, you're unable to move your character because of the glitch. Unacceptable!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pure Frustration!

posted by Neosonix (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I was a big fan of the Saw movies… i guess i gotta be to endure playing through the games made by Konami. Saw 1 was mediocre, but i accepted it as is because the ratio of GOOD move-based games is pretty low after all these years; However the game Saw II, which i rented from Gamefly, is pretty bad. Graphically it looks like a last generation PS2 game, and the sound design pales in comparison to the great ambience of other survival-horror game franchises like Dead Space or Silent Hill. Again, from playing #1 i knew what to expect but i can’t tell u how frustrating the puzzles can be- there were some i passed thru pure luck due to them being totally random, and i love a good challenge so don’t think i’m mad at them for causing me to think BUT, ironically, the hidden “Billy the puppet” challenges were the easiest! One puzzle in particular, that recurs throughout the game, involving turning light switches on & off was virtually impossible and was one of the aforementioned ones where luck was thankfully on my side the 25th time i attempted it! The ending was even more frustrating, but i won’t spoil it as Jigsaw’s attempt at an M. Knight Shyamalan “twist” made me so mad as i blew almost 10 hours for nada!! While it’s definitely not the worst game i’ve ever played, let’s just say after “completing” the game i lost all respect for the Saw series and am pretty glad the movies and game franchises seem to be both dead! So no Jigsaw, “I DON’T wanna play a game!” F you! ;)

K

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Saw 2: Flesh and Boring

posted by Dirtyping88 (MESA, AZ) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

A “Saw” game? Yeah, right. When I first heard there was going to be a "Saw" game, I was in negative awe about it. I felt in no way shape or form were they going to be able to pull off the concept of the “Saw” movies for a game. So, with my low expectations and my controller at the ready I dived into the first game, and it blew me away. It was innovative in its traps, story arc, and overall flow of the game. It kept me entranced from beginning to end. I loved it! So, naturally, with a positive outlook at this point, I figured the 2nd installment would be just as amazing as the 1st. Oh how alarmingly wrong I was about my preconceived awesomeness for this game. You play as Michael, the son of “Detective Tapp” whom which you play as in the 1st game, running around trying to stay alive and find pieces of a story that you ultimately care nothing about. The game is beautiful, the characters are distinctively crafted, and the puzzles are still as frustrating as they were in the first game. I was extremely disappointed with the new button timing fighting style. I didn’t feel like I had the chance to really fight for my life. It came down to me just wanting to finish the game as fast as possible so I could return it and move on to something better. Overall Saw 2 delivered the scares and numerous mind-numbing traps set by its predecessor, but falls short on keeping you intrigued in its story and fully enthralled in its monotonous gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Beyond Horrible

posted by Schrubbman81 (SANDY, UT) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I rented this game because I found Saw 1 mildly entertaining, and I enjoy trophy hunting. Saw 2: Flesh and Blood takes a number of steps back game play wise. The controls are terrible and you'll often get stuck on objects in the game environment. Fighting is now limited to QTE (quick time events) and the main reason you may have trouble with the game's puzzles is because there is rarely any sort of explanations.
I rarely ever start a game without finishing it, but this game is so lame and awful that I couldn't take anymore. If I had owned the disc, I would have taken great pleasure in smashing it to pieces. I wouldn't bother with it, even if you are after easy trophies/achievements, it's just not worth the frustration of a broken game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

horror tastic

posted by jasonlee42 (LAWTON, OK) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

i love the game it was hard but challenging it made it have to think and move in ways i never thought i could, i wont lie it ticked me off some times to no end but thats what made it even better when i finally beat it, if your a fan of the first and of the movie give it a shot it will blow your mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SAW 2 flesh and blood

posted by chuckyrage (FRANKLIN SQUARE, NY) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

What were they thinking? i couldn't even walk on the balance beam... i liked the axis better. this L2 R2 thing???? nahhh. Plus, ur limited to do things. i liked swinging the bat, i liked blocking, i liked punching and stomping my minions. I never understand why games change there controls around.. they should atleast give u an option

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good game

posted by deathcry1992 (CYNTHIANA, KY) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

puzzles are a lil hard and some make no sense but if you can get it fig out its good nt recommended for lil kids pretty bloody

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

f this

posted by felicia18 (LELAND, IL) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is so so so much worse than the first one fight style is sketchy and difficult and too much running around doing the same thing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

can we say button happy! oh my god

posted by angeltears3372 (EVERETT, MA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I was not pleased with this game.the first saw game was far so much better. Saw II I feel was all buttons very stressful. Like in part 1 when fighting you would hit L2 and the X button in this one you would have to hit two or three or even four buttons. I get games to play and have fun, not to play and get stressed out. Will not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Saw II Flesh & Blood

posted by mknght (FORT MYERS, FL) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

15 minutes in, and I hated this game, decided to give it another shot and 15 more minutes and I was done. I hated it, you may not hate it but I did I was bored with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse