Rent Samurai Warriors: Katana for Wii
view large frontback

Samurai Warriors: Katana

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.9

570 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game dont listen to reveiws

posted by JAM22SINNA (ESCONDIDO, CA) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you ever played a warriors game, finally this 1 is different. basicly it an arcade type shooter ,like the ones that you never had enough quarters to beat.this is perfect kind of game for your wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

King's Field without the free movement

posted by kevvy1979 (GENTRY, AR) Jan 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you liked King's Field on ps1 ,then this is your game. Just sub suite the monsters from King's Field for ninjas and warlords instead ,and you have a fun hack and slash game.

You can upgrade your weapons and equip yourself with health potion and offense/defense boasters before you begin a mission. It is a rail game so you will not move freely but instead side to side to look around as the controller points and you press A to use your weapon or hold A down and swing your controller like a sword for a charge attack which is a cool effect for the game.

Like others have said it does get repetitive at times,but after a few stages you get more weapons to use instead of just the sword. Plus the fight scences change up so you are not just hacking away all the time, but using a bow or gun in certain areas as the primary weapon.

The boss fights are pretty intense and require you to counter with your sword or firing weapons at a certain times during the battle ,but thats not a bad thing. Just frusting at times when you have to work your way back to the boss again from the start of a level,because of the timing required to counter boss attacks. Fun game to rent!!

Overall 8/10

Good - controller as a sword,tough boss fights,dynasty warrior type battles

Bad- graphics resemble ps2 games,no free movement,battles repetive at times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Where Do I Begin?

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jan 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When I first saw the screenshots I thought it was going to be horrible so I won't rent it. As the time went on I have seen improvements (minor) so I decided to rent it.

The concept is very good and the execution is almost perfect despite the voice acting can be annoying and when the enemies get on the side of the screen it's hard to defeat them. Also it is pretty short and the graphics looks like a early PS2 game. And it kind of plays like Ghost Squad.

Despite these issues it is more fun then Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn; which if it had this control scheme that would be a killer app. In the end you won't be as dissapointed as some of you may fear in renting this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sword fighting...on rails? Tell me more!

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Samurai Warriors: Katana is actually an offshoot of the "Dynasty Warriors" series(You know, lay the smack down on hundreds of enemy samurai, and ninjas). The main differences is that this game is played in the first person perspective, and the action for most of the game is set up like a rail shooter(Ghost Squad, RE:UC, etc.).
The gameplay mechanics are fun, you have (A) to do your basic attack, a stab, slash, or swipe(depending on your weapon) with the Wiimote unleashes a more powerful blow. When your special meter is full, shake the nunchuk and you can unleash a crazed flurry of attacks by rapidly stabbing, and slashing with the Wiimote.
The number of levels makes you stand back and go, "Wow, this is alot of game for my money!", and it is, while some levels are easy, others require some planning. You are given a variety of weapons during the game, Melee weapons like swords and spears, as well as ranged weapons, like bows and muskets. You can not only upgrade your weapons, but you can upgrade your skills as well. Think of it as an arcade style rpg.

With so many levels, special trials, and a VS mode. The game offers you alot!

The game is a little skimpy in the cinematics department, which is comprised of still pics, and voice overs.(Which sound pretty cheesy.) But these flaws are nothing when you weigh them against the good stuff this game offers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Know What You're Renting

posted by crazyprsn (EDMOND, OK) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you pick this game expecting an RPG type action-adventure game, you will be sorely disappointed. This is an arcade-like rail-movement game... just think Area 51 with a sword instead of a gun, and instead of aliens, enemy ninjas.

Pros - smooth-flowing graphics, very colorful, exciting in-game music, interesting characters and boss fights, fast-paced fun.

Cons - very shallow fighting controls, doesn't use the full potential of the Wii controls, attempts to throw in some RPG elements which only drags it down, one must restart the entire level if you kick the bucket (which is usually at the boss battle).

Overall, if you rent (and I want to emphasize rent) this game expecting an arcade game, you might be pleased. Even though I wasn't too thrilled with the game, others might find an enjoyable experience with this original (yet faulty) type of gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Actually hurt my wrist

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Jan 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok so I may not be a manly man, but this is the first Wii game that hurt my wrist when I played it. And I only played it for 20 minutes if that. Hitting the buttons and moving my wrist around felt really unnatural and not very well thought out. The graphics were good, but from the little I played the game seemed too linear. You went in a line that the game had planned for you, fought some people and then fought some more people. Seems like it would get old quick. A rental at best but wouldn't waste my money on it. Too bad, it was a really good idea, like so many others gone wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wii Warriors

posted by Reinhart (TOLEDO, OH) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When you think of KOEI, you think of the Warriors titles but you also think of death, repetitive, mostly mindless combat and terrible voice acting. Samurai Warriors: Katana is no different, but a little fresher on the Wii's hardware.

Picture this:
You are a soldier on the field of battle in the Warring States period of Japan. You are accosted by scores of stupid enemies of limited scope and variety. Interspersed throughout this horde of baddies is the occasional super version of these stupid enemies. Wash, rinse repeat.

The entire game is presented from menus and a first person perspective for combat. From the menu you can equip your hero with skills (think of the items from other warriors titles.) and mildly customizable weapons including the sword, spear, hammer, bow, gun and... boomerang (Seriously.)
A little spiel is thrown at you about what this mission is all about and some banter commences between the heroes, which commonly focuses on just how incredibly awesome you are (which gets old.)

The combat, as already stated, is repetitive and performed from the first person. By pressing the 'A' button in combination with short, jerky swings from your Wiimote you can perform normal and power attack in traditional fashion. This is interesting and cool at first but ceases to be a cognitive and interesting process rather quickly. The other weapons, such as the spear, mix things up slightly but it never propels the system much higher than 'Mildly amusing.'

The levels themselves are fairly interesting if a bit short and for most of them you're on a rail ala House of the Dead and 99% of all shooting games you'll find in an arcade. Some levels allows you free range of motion but they're inexplicably short and are usually easy and boring. The music within however was great and appropriate.

In the end, the game is actually pretty fun but I can only-- in good conscience-- suggest it to people who like first person rail shooting games or Warriors title games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WERE IS MY FIGHTING GAME?

posted by curtkalchc (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Samurai Warriors: Katana had a lot of potential and i thought that it was going to be an awsome game, then it deflated faster than a tire hit by a pothole in pittsburgh. The game had a lot of promise being a sord game that responded to the movements of the wii controller. then when it came to actual game play it was repetative with the movements and i felt that i wasn't fighting more as slashing. the tutorial part seemed rushed and not really giveing a lot of instruction. I think next time they need to be more creative in the way that they approach the sword fighting and make more responsive to the wii remote, and may have the traning more like the matrix trainner in the first movie. Until then i would past on renting this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

maybe not for the wii

posted by Shirosaki (PINE BEACH, NJ) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

A lot of people seem to be disappointed that it's not like Red Steel, or that it's a hack and slash. I wonder how many of these reviewers have not owned/played a PS2.

This is game is exactly what it purports to be: a Wii version of the Samurai Warriors franchise. If you're a fan of the franchise, than you know the characters and may find some joy in working for them.

What was upsetting to me was that it was on a track. I would have preferred having the freedom to roam and fight on my own. Also, I don't like games in a first person perspective (this is the closest thing to a first person shooter on my Q), so I would have preferred to pick a character I like from the game and play as them from a third person standpoint.

All in all though, it was a lot of what I know and loved, so I still give it an 8. The graphics were what I'd come to expect and I wasn't horrendously disappointed with the game. My only complaints are the ones I already listed.

Though, I've been obsessed with Persona 3 (on my 5th time playing it) since October, so I may have just wanted to rush through this to get back to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game makes me regret buying a wii....

posted by EarthGriot (FARMINGTON, ME) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I'm upset, angry, sad, and every other negative adjective you can think of.... this game is AWFUL. DO NOT RENT IT. The game is just a bunch of overly repetitive slashing with the wii remote and nunchuck. UGHHHH... I should have bought a playstation 3... Wii needs less games about horsies and more games with nudity and violence.. WOOHOOO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad Game

posted by lilrut (EUREKA, CA) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Don't bother. This game is horrible. I played one level, and it was okay, but nothing changes. Don't bother getting it. To be honest, I had more fun playing chicken shoot, which is terrible, but at least I laughed a couple times in the 10 minutes before it was shipped back to game fly. Seriously, this game, I played it 10 minutes and then it went back in the envelope. It is that bad.
Don't bother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring on Rails

posted by LSKennedy (CONCORD, CA) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

This game is nothing like red steel. Its on rails which makes the game very boring. You have no control over your character. You just slash away ad-nauseam.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

coolio

posted by bananacat (EDEN PRAIRIE, MN) Jan 17, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

i highly suggest renting this game! its like a super version of red steel! yahoooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- oooo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

slow and stupid

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jun 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

it is basically a slow rail shooter and when I say slow, its your attacks and the enemies. Found it boring, would much rather play Red Steel 2 or even the fail Red Steel (2 was good, 1 was annoying) then play this. Ghost Slayer from the marketplace is also a good game, avoid this one...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Katana Disc: Bad As A Coaster, Worse As A Game.

posted by PR13ST (AUSTIN, TX) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Easily the worse game I've ever played.
the controls are horrible
the graphics are akin to PS2
and being a 'rail/shooter' style game
takes any chance of fun via freedom of movement away
if you do decide to play it
wear protective eye-wear
as you may be tempted to gauge the Wiimote into your ocular cavities
have a swell day :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Game.

posted by VagabondX (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

I hear alot of people complaining that your just a grunt and that you never get to see your character. But i think that is one of the better parts of the game, it allows you to imagine what your character would be.

Also, the game gives a great selection of weapons to use, with a combination of a melee weapon, sword, etc. and a ranged weapon, bow, etc. Which gives a feeling that you arent just the average sword wielding grunt.

I would recommend this game to any fan of Samurai Warriors, as many of the characters show up in the game. As well as to anyone who likes hack and slash games, cause thats what this basically is, just in another point of view.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worth about 20 minutes

posted by Wolfboy245 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

I played this game for only a few hours and found little value in it.

It starts out with some rather poor presentation, a storyline which lacks anything that might be called depth or originality, and characters that are cliche and lifeless. A general and his army, a tumultuous battle...BORING.

The audio doesn't make up for it, with a repetitive soundtrack and emotionless voice acting, and the graphics DEFINITELY don't make up for it.

If you get anything memorable out of this game experience it may be in the game play. The style of fighting really utilizes the wiimote for all of it's capabilities, and has controls which make it feel much-like an arcade game. This still is not much of redemption considering you have a limited repertoire of moves that you end up using over and over again.

Possibly recommended for fans of the series (I wouldn't know because I personally am not one).
For everyone else, go to an arcade and stick a few quarters in so you can play it for a few minutes. Don't waste your rentals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hey this game sucks. SUCKS

posted by maxa12 (EAST GREENBUSH, NY) Jun 25, 2008

Member since May 2007

if you liked house of the dead you will hate this. it just copy's from house of the dead series. that is why i gave it a horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No skill needed + no challenge = NO THANK YOU

posted by pillster (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

With this game, you get the view of your sword on your screen slashing at whoever. I was a little disappointed in that I couldn't see my player actually fighting and had to just look at a sword. Graphics were ok. You are guided through the whole thing, no exploring or anything like that. As you are being guided, people for you to fight come up.

I don't really see any gaming skill needed in this game. Just swing the remote and you won't get hit and you will kill the other guys. No strategy, nothing. I was disappointed in this game because of that.

That seems to be the problem with alot of the fighting games. Just swing the remote or hit a whole bunch of buttons really fast and eventually you will come up the victor. Sorry, I like games that take skill and present a challenge. The only challenge this game had was whether your arms could last with all the swinging...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE!!!

posted by thad131 (BRONX, NY) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

Years ago this series of games was fantastic fun, but when this was placed into my Wii, the excitement flew out the window. There's not real control over the movement of the character, and the enemies come to you. There's no fun in playing this, and the graphics were terrible...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not good at all

posted by sycomaniac (ELLINGTON, CT) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

this game looked cool and i hade loved the series on the x-box but if you know whats good for you, you wont even rent this game. All you get to do is swing the wiimote and pull the triger button. You cant even move yourself around, the game does it for you. If you wanna play a fun version of this game rent samuri warriors 2 on xbox or ps2, thats my advise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

game's fault?

posted by Mandrew (SUGAR LAND, TX) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

First off, it's a arcade game, not rpg, so there is not much story.
Second, is it really the game's fault that you hurt your arm?
it's Wii's fault.
All Wii games are trying to use the new controller and so by that will make you move your arm...
so if you are a thumb mover, go buy a ps3/360 instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

lame

posted by ackbar88 (NORTH HIGHLANDS, CA) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

all you do is move ur wrist back n forth over n over n over again.. occasionaly u press A but for the most part ur simulating masterbastion..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This "Katana" doesn't cut it

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

The game's simple to pick up and understand; press the A button or swing the remote to swing your sword and beat up the bad guys.
But the game play gets repetitive (you slash through the same guys over and over again), the text driven storyline is a bore and the graphics are lacking.
Another problem is the controls; they are clunky. This makes the boss fights needlessly hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »