Rent Samurai Warriors Chronicles for 3DS
view large frontback

Samurai Warriors Chronicles

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

316 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Button mashing in 3D!

posted by Zee7sms (COLUMBIA, TN) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're looking at this title then more than likely you've played the Dynasty Warrior/Samurai Warrior series. If you love those games then you'll love this 3DS version as well! You pick a new lone exclusive hero that goes on a journey to find their purpose; in doing this you meet all the warriors from the previous Samurai Warrior games.

The 3DS Samurai Warriors doesn't stray from the series' formula; you'll button mash your way through an army of soldiers while performing quick and easy combos to defeat the officers. While in a battle you'll be given missions that that will reward you an item or be the decisive moment to win the battle. You'll be able to switch from your hero to other iconic officers on your side to help complete some of the missions. It adds a little spice to each battle as you can play some of the really powerful officers that just breeze through enemies.

There's really nothing new here that screams "buy me" so unless you're a fan of the entire series then you'll probably just stick to renting this. Rent or buy this is a really fun and easy game to accompany the 3DS launch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Haters Gonna Hate, but not me.

posted by Slope22 (FLORENCE, NJ) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Think of this as that challenging old school game that starts off easy and then just gets ultra hard as you advance to later stages. The game itself hasn't changed but it still has all the things fans love about this game.

This game has enough for one person to have at least one good play through. There's enough stages to last someone for a couple days. If you no-lifed it like me it could take a 2-3 days.

Its still fun running through the large crowds of soldiers that stand there marveling at your sheer awesomeness as they get decimated. Anyway if you like the series, make this a game to pick up. You can choose between two different play styles (Only difference is that you have to choose a different gender and weapon). Upon listening to the little history lessons you have to sit and watch, the game offers quite the challenge on the battle field. You sometimes have to manage up to 4 officers that are usually scattered across the battlefield doing what you tell them to via Battle Plans. You make them go to a certain spot on the map to do a little fighting. Things such as kill this person under 1 minute or escort this person are just examples of the missions you perform during the battle.

There isnt a large amount of weapons you get for each person but they have an upgrade system so you can strengthen them. There's lots of characters in the game but not as much as Dynasty Warriors, New and Old.

Game play is the same. Later in the game you can switch sides in a battle before it starts to get that side of the story. Interacting with officers after battles can make them available for use in missions given the correct statement that makes the favor you more and more as you talk to them.

Over all the game is great. The graphics could be compared to the ps2 which is good for Nintendo's portable console. The 3d makes the ingame world so beautiful.

Music is great.

Overall i would give the game a 9 simply because the thing they lacked were large varieties of missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Game

posted by Mario11168 (RIO RANCHO, NM) May 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this because of the lack of 3DS games, and actually like it. The levels last around 10 minutes each, there are TONS of levels to do, lots of upgrades, abilities, and overall just a lot of gameplay.

In 3D this game looks amazing, the background looks as if you could reach into it (which isn't done as well as in other 3DS games I've played so far). The Japanese language that plays is also fun to listen to, although I can't be sure if it's actually saying what the English text is saying.

It can get a little boring, since you do the same thing over and over and over (get orders, hack through enemies, kill general, repeat) but is great fun whenever you're bored. I think this is at least worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Favorite Warriors Game So Far

posted by SandyAJ (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before i start raving i need to be sure i let people know that I'm already a die hard koei fan. That was established from Dynasty Warriors 5 and up, where i get to enjoy tactical game play while beating back hundreds of soilders. I love the empires add on the best because I get to tell other generals what to do.

For this game, the even improve on that! We play as an original character male or female, and have control over our character plus 3 others on the battlefield. I can tell other generals to do things while im busy on my part of the mission, but we can actually switch to the other generals and do the job ourselves! (no more Ai dumb mistakes!!!!)

Then theres the storyline part. People may say the game is short, but.. its really not. when you replay stanges you actually unlock new character interactions based on what u did and who you played with on the battle field. You get to have actual conversations with pretty much every character in the game. What you say or do to them will determine how they will interact with you later on, It also allows you to unlock them so u can play as your "friends" on any stage you want. After playing it for over 100 hours even before completing the additional downloaded levels, I still have yet to unlock everyone's interactions with me yet. (Ginchyo took me forever to have her talk to me!!!!)
I'm happy they are useing the weapons fusion system that was started in warriors orochi, it makes creating cool weapons more fun. one thing I'm planning on trying the second time i go thru it, is finding out what happens if i have generals actually HATE me (evil grin) will the despise me more than they do Nobunaga, i wonder, hehehe
oh yeah the game has 3d but for battle stages if you move around a lot, its a bit hard on the eyes. Best to save that feature for the amazing cutscenes, or the conversations (all audio Japanese!!!!...plus subs of course) so u learn Japanese History and Language at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great But Short

posted by Emisary (LAFAYETTE, IN) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sure you can play as multiple characters and even make your own custom one, but in the end the matter hit the usual way. What do I do, now that its all over.

1. Replay and become bestest buddies with everyone and get their weapons for your custom player.

2. Unlock a few branching storylines. By becoming "great" friends with certain characters. (Not sure which ones, befriend them all)

3. Trade stuff with friends that also have this game, not very handy all the time but hey nothings perfect.

4. Set up a team and set them up on street pass. Joy

5. When its all done put it back in that orange lined white folder and say a fond farewell to a great game, hoping someone else will get just a much enjoyment from it that you did.

This game was as I said short but no matter how many time you hear the story. Weather its dynasty or samurai warriors your never tired of the story and the ways its portrayed.

Thus ending my helpful rant, enjoy this great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Nice!!!

posted by cdaleh (SAINT FRANCISVILLE, LA) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game looks very nice, especially in 3D. it is fun and addictive, it is hard but not too hard. very nice game over all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Depth, Little hard to concentrate on.

posted by BadAnime (MIDLAND, MI) Apr 12, 2011

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So I start up the game and man do I find out the hard way that is only has English subtitles... It doesn't seem all that bad until you realize that in mid battle you have to read things wasting precious time in the midst of missions because without reading them, one can get very lost. I do not have much of an issue with that, but the constant having to read in the middle of battle takes away from my focus and I get frustrated when I do not finish enough missions because of it. I love the way the game works. It goes smoothly and there are two unique fighting styles you can choose from at the beginning. Because of no English Dubbing, it makes it a lot harder than it should be. If you miss the wrong sentence, then a lot of a fight will be lost to you because you missed something.

Fun? Yes. It is about the same as other Samurai Warriors titles in that it handles beautifully. If you are looking for different types of gameplay from KOEI, do not go here. If you love the style then you will be pleased.

You can switch between characters on the field and take their place where they are on the field. It makes getting missions done more fast paced, but less able to concentrate on one character. The commands are also there where you can tell them where to advance to.

Though it is all a wash, rinse, repeat method of fighting, there is a little bit of extra control being able to command those who you do not currently control.

I rate this game a 6.5, but round up to 7 because the chart won't let me choose otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good

posted by usuk137 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

The game has good 3d and the publishers update the game all the time. That is the good stuff. Unfortunately, The games camera and controls feel like they are from 1998. Also, the game play is hack and slash and hack and slash and hack and no blood!?!?? I really wish this one had been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Job Koei!

posted by thairice (FREDERICK, MD) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

This game is awesome! From when i just looked at the cover of the box, i knew this game would be amazing! This game as a excellent storyine about a lone warrior who is finding his path and meeting the Warriors from the Series! Sure it has a alot of talking but thats the point of why they call it Samurai warriors CHRONICALS.

3D: Fairly good

Gameplay: Great

Storyline: Awesome

This game can catch your attention to Japanese History and this is one of those games you can Spend alot of time with!
So if your a Dynasty Warriors or Samurai warriors fan, get this game for your 3DS!
Go Koei!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »