Rent Samurai Warriors 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Samurai Warriors 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.4

1302 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sometimes, all it takes is a little effort...

posted by Joshywuff (PINE PRAIRIE, LA) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If I wanted to go into full detail, it would exceed the limits of this tutorial, so I'll make it short and sweet.

Graphics and sound are quite poor; no improvement over its last-gen counterpart. The same could be said about the voice-acting. While it is superior to Dynasty Warriors, it's still kind of laughable. But at least there is a little more charisma behind the lines.

The gameplay, I don't really know if it differs from the original or not, because I've only seen videos of the original. But it looks to play pretty much the same. Perhaps I should go into detial about that one.

The game consists of a campaign mode, which has a story for every warrior you unlock(with minor exceptions), and along their story, you play through the famous Feudal-era wars that this warrior participated in, level up substancially, and accquire weapons, guards, mounts and the like.. to add a bit of variety, there is no repetitious re-use of moves like the Dynasty Warriors series. Everyone is a unique fighter, and there are three different move-set layouts. Other modes onsist of free-battle, survival and challenges.

But to me, the story is where the game's MAJOR redeeming factor comes into play. There is little fabrication in the campaigns of these warriors. Nobunaga Oda really was an eccentric, power-hungry war-lord who's life was of conquest, and his nickname literally did translate to Fool of Owari. Naoe Kanetsuge was an adobted son/retainer of Usuegi Kanetsuge. Date Masamune did go on to conquer many out-lying islands and was a feared, young general. Maeda Keiji covered the rear guard of his retreating Lord, and broke an entire formation with but eight men. There are even legends surrounding his prize mount, Matsukaze And the great, legendary liege of Tokugawa Ieyasu, Honda Tadakatsu, was revered as Samurai among samurai, the man who beat death itself, and is most noted having fought over 55 battles without sustaining a single strike or injury.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

TITLE

posted by Zman008 (AVELLA, PA) May 5, 2008

Member since May 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well I have never tried a Samurai Warriors game so i figured wat the heck.
Well lets start off with the good.
Samurai warriors takes place in the Warriring states period of Japan. Witch already makes it a pretty good story. Just like every other Koei game the cut scene graphics are amazing and the selection of characters are good as well. The shop added in the game reallly makes you able to get the whole elite package for your character.
The Bad
Well just like most Koei games the in game graphics are poor and the in game cut scene graphics are poor as well. The voices for the characters never suit them as they should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mixed feelings

posted by Natiow59 (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, so it's a Koei game about historical battles. Breathe deep and get all that out of your system. Allright, well, let's do this.

Samurai Warriors follows the Wei kingdom ideology. It's not pretty, but it can knock you back onto your butt in a matter of seconds. For an Xbox360 game, it doesn't look very good. Look more or less like a PS2 port. Oh well, most of Koei's games aren't too visually spectacular.

Gameplay. Well, ya hack and you slash. I like the new skill system, and the ways of getting those skills. I like that they made use of battles that everyone was at, and divided them up. It's entirely possible to play the same battle in history from a different start point or direction. I do like the specials as well, it does a good deal in making otherwise uniform characters semi unique. I do however, really dislike some of the other modes. Survival seems to be weighted more to your Lu Bu character especially in later floors. You get to near the 60's, and even a maxed character has the same chance as a chicken fighting a Jedi at times. Some of the survival missions are fun though, but eventually it becomes a randomized grind. Then we have the new Monopoly mode. It's Monopoly, but you're a warlord of some kind, and the board is japan. Yawn. It's interesting to have in there, but I hate real monopoly, so, meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hack & Slash

posted by Incidental (EL MIRAGE, AZ) Jul 3, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Slaughter then by the hundreds!!!

You want mindless hack and slash? This is the place to get it... so much so your fingers will hurt.

Awesome game, graphics could have been improved and sound is so so in my opinion, but I love the split screen co-op!!

Rocking good time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Are you sure this is a 360 game?

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Sep 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

32 out of 38 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Samurai Warriors 2 is in most ways an exact clone of the first game, which unfortunately includes the graphics. While not "bad", the game looks like it was made for the PS2 and not upgraded at all when they ported it to the 360. Gameplay is also lifted straight from the first game, which I guess you could consider a good thing if you really liked the original.

If you haven't played the first game, then this game could be best described as Dynasty Warriors with historical Japanese characters instead of Chinese. If you also haven't played Dynasty Warriors, then this game could be best described as a one-man army versus about a thousand guys, which you basically just button-mash your way through. It's a good time, but it does begin to wear thin after five or six games' worth of doing it.

This game does, however, offer two new additions: Sugoroku and an item shop. Sugoroku is essentially Monopoly with your Samurai Warriors, with the twist being that when you land on someone else's territory, you can fight them to take it over instead of paying the toll. The item shop is a place where you can spend the gold you earn in levels to upgrade your character, buying abilities or weapons or better guards. Both are good additions to the game and help give you a reason to play this game instead of just playing the first game again. That, and the fact that this is a 360 game, meaning you can earn yourself some achievements along the way.

As far as Xbox Live is concerned, there is a versus mode in which you try to defeat a rival general faster than your buddy can. I don't understand why you couldn't just go head-to-head, but I'm not a game developer either. There's also a co-op mode, but you can't play that online. Again... maybe I'm just not meant to understand these things?

All in all, this is a decent game. I expected a few more upgrades, but it's still a good time. If you like mindless hacking and slashing through thousands of enemies, this is definitely the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not good, not bad.

posted by artair (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Samurai Warriors 2 changes very little of the tried-and-true Koei formula. anyone who's ever heard of Koei should know exactly what to expect from this game. if you've never heard of Koei, here's the short version: hack and slash button masher, buy some upgrades, wash rinse repeat endlessly.

360 owners are again stuck with what amounts to a straight PS2 port, with no real visible changes beyond the widescreen aspect ratio. this installment in the series does give you the opportunity to purchase upgrades between stages, but after buying many of the sequential upgrades I have to say I couldn't find any differences having done so. they seem inconsequential.

the main fault I found in this game was the AI. even Samurai/ Dynasty Warriors veterans might be surprised at how ferociously lame the friendly AI is in this installment. I commonly found my teammates killing fifty enemies in the time I dispatched five or six hundred. in a crowd your teammates stand around and watch. this problem kicks you in the face when your comrades cannot defend your garrison against a tiny force while you're at the far end of the map, and you have to replay the stage you just spent twenty minutes slogging through.

this isn't awful. actually, it is awful but seeing as Koei have made millions peddling this same garbage to us for years, it's not unexpected. all told, I'd have to say this is just about par for the Warriors course.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

New features, but ultimately more of the same

posted by SGJaycurl (CEDARBURG, WI) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If you've played any of the games in the Dynasty Warriors series, you can expect more of the same from Samurai Warriors 2. This time, Koei threw in just enough changes to keep the DW fans interested. However, if you didn't dig Dynasty Warriors, you probably won't be digging this, either.

If you hated Dynasty Warriors 5: Empires for the XBox 360, you can probably stop reading right now. It's doubtful that you'll find anything different enough to warrant keeping you around for this game. However, fans of DW5 will find some fairly significant differences here that may be worth a look. I, for one, like the differences and find that they make SW2 different enough from DW5 to keep me interested.

Many of the gameplay elements of the DW series stay the same in SW2. In-game, you race around the battlefield on foot or on a steed, and try to meet certain battle conditions - usually taking out a certain enemy officer or officers. Along the way, you can stop to hack up the weak cronies, and knock out the "Reserve Officers" that allow enemy reinforcements to magically stream in from outside of the battlefield.

Along the way, you'll increase your character's statistics earning new weapons to increase your attack power and so on.

At a high level, you'll notice the following new changes:
- Earn gold in battle to purchase attribute boosts instead of finding items.
- Purchase weapon attribute boosts.
- Varied combos and unique special moves for each character.
- Monopoly-like bonus board game.
- Still no online co-op version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Is this supposed to be new?

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game used all the old Dynasty Warriors type play, even has the same feel and Xbox 1 look. If you like this type of game I would suggest getting the far superior 99 Nights, at least it will look 1000x better and have some things that make it feel better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not koei's best

posted by r1rockstar (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i have been a fan of all the dynasty warriors games, my preference is the xtreme legends version of the game. I was interested in trying this game based on the fact that it is made by the same company and japan has a rich and bloody history, i thought that was a great recipe for a quality "hack & slash" game. Was i ever wrong. I felt like this was a repackaged version of and older dynasty warriors(like 2 or 3). Character felt alot slower than those of Dynasty Warriors 6, a game that I have enjoyed alot.

My recomendation, steer clear of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Get used to Dissapointment

posted by bobbarski (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Apr 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was excited when I received this game only to be dissapointed. The game was released on a next-gen system only to look like the systems of old. The game play is simply the first samurai warriors with new levels. I admit that it was fun. It offered a little more then the first one but i would like to see better graphics and better(much better) voice overs. Lets hope that with future releases from koei will use the capacity of the next gen systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game, but freezes on the 360

posted by Reality (HARRIS, MN) Jan 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the best Dynasty/Samurai Warriors game to date. We play it for hours. What seems to happen on the 360 is that it just stops. You can run around, but no enemies and no music. You clear a board then it does this. So after defeating 15 bosses and 600 men you get nothing!, but a reset.

Get the PS2 game if you have one..they screwed this platforms verion up bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD

posted by guanako (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is baaaaaaaaad it is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

very bad game

posted by at2002 (Lakewood, CO) Oct 3, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. The graphics and the game play are horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Addicting

posted by dimmucof (AKRON, OH) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Once I started playing this game, I couldn't put it down until I unlocked every character, played their story, and maxed them out. Being a samurai in feudal Japan was pretty brutal and exciting. Cutting down hundreds, even thousands of soldiers, in the name of tranquility. Funny thing is, to have peace, there must first be a war. I definitely recommend Samurai Warriors 2 for any hack and slash role-playing fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Try

posted by GameboyID (HOSCHTON, GA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

They made a shoot for the stars, but KOEI failed to bring that flair, and would of crashed back to Japan if they didn't land in Ieyasu's stomach.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Loads of FUN...

posted by The808Game (HONOLULU, HI) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

great game and I enjoyed the deviation from KOEI's main DW series... one minor problem I had was that it waould freeze on the "SHOP" screen or during the loading process prior to entering the "SHOP"... is that a common problem or did I just happen to receive a defective copy?... besides that, everything was cherreh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you're a fan..

posted by AlfaRage (THEODORE, AL) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

If You're a fan of the "Warriors" series, you will simply hate this game.

Horrifically stacked battles paired with severely futile allied AI lead to hopeless endeavors that take miracles to win while playing solo. The worst AI I have yet to see in a warriors game. I don't remember any of the dynasty warriors Commanding officers being taken out by two squads of peon level troops.. If your enemy has a single gate active prepare to be swarmed by countless troops while you try to do random tasks across the map that no other officer can fathom the ability to because you are the only competent member in your army. As soon as you stop babysitting your own troops the enemy will surely spring an ambush filled with officers who miraculously have the ability to kill your allies in a few short minutes. The game experience has led me to become quite bitter and resent Koei a bit. The graphics are dreadful, and during the battles you are assaulted by a constant barrage of useless officer introduction cut scenes that also strongly contribute to my ever rising 'Nerd Rage.' Also, the characters and controls are just plain uncomfortable to use compared to a certain other "warriors" franchise and the voice acting, as usual, is terrible. Finally, Map layout is generally bad and levels can be confusing, misleading, or just plain annoying.

but, the positive.. uhh. While it is boring, Sugoroku is a neat feature. The movies are very pretty too. That's all the good I can think of at the moment.

Avoid this game, rent Dynasty Warriors 6 instead. If you want the Japanese setting, read a history book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Long Game Play

posted by dsys24 (LONG BRANCH, NJ) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game is very good because it has unlockable story mode characters, and other combat modes as well. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't rent this

posted by RJones306 (BEAVERTON, OR) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Don't rent or you'll send it back in the first few minutes of annoying gameplay like I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dynasty Warriors 5

posted by twilight82 (DOLGEVILLE, NY) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This is what dynasty warrior's 5 should have been.. dunno why the same company made the same game and just changed it from china to japan and changed the name T.T i have this for psp and well i thought they would have implemented the whole strategy move based gameplay but nope.. its dynasty warriors... except everyone has magic xD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Hack and Slash

posted by shifty (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

There are many different playing modes and characters with different weapons which are upgradeable. Offline co-op with a buddy is quite fun. However, this game DOES NOT have online co-op. This killed the game in my opinion because what Xbox 360 game is not online nowadays. Achievements are obtained by playing the story mode. The game will take at least 30 hours to beat.

Basically, this game is a straight up hack and slash action game. Which isn't a bad thing, but if you are looking for more depth, you may want to look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Samurai Warriors 2(Xbox 360) - Review

posted by illusion96 (SANTA CLARA, CA) May 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

As stated by numerous other reviewers, this is a button mashing game. It's not terribly hard. It's one of the few games that I've been able to get my wife to play with me since it's so simple.

The game is based on some historical battles in feudal Japan. Most of the time, I skipped the mission intros and FMV scenes. The FMV scenes were poor quality and the english voices for the characters were annoying. I wish there was a japanese audio track with english subtitles.

Mission objectives usually entail protecting an officer on the battlefield, protecting your camp, or killing someone before they can escape the map. Protecting your camp or an officer can get annoying if you're not paying attention. I've failed numerous missions because I didn't pay attention when an officer was in trouble or dying. Another gripe is the uselessness of your army. You are the only useful officer on the battlefield apparently. If someone is in trouble, you are the only person who can save them.

The game keeps you hooked by fighting constantly just to level up your character and get new weapons or combos. As you progress in the game, you can also unlock new characters and their story lines. This keeps you hooked further in the game.

All in all, it's a fun game that'll keep you busy if you just want to kill time after a hard day.

Postives: simple and fun gameplay

Negatives: horrible voice acting, bad AI/ally officer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Samurai Warriors 2, score 2

posted by Behemoth (STERLING, CT) May 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

It turns out that Samurai Warriors 2 is the same as all the other games that are like this. Samurai Warriors, Dynasty Warriors. The only thing updated in this game was the graphics. The voice acting is horrible, there is a somewhat follow-able story line, but the AI is horrible. The enemy just stands there, allowing you to hit them. And of course, the controls and attacks are really repetitive, but finally you can upgrade your attacks by leveling up. A new mini-game was added, where you roll dice and move to lumber places and buy squares. Not very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great game

posted by solidpunk (HARRISON, NJ) May 1, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

My first game rented from gamefly and it made a good first impression. This game is similar to dynasty warriors but it deserves a higher rating for its quality. The graphics are amazing, the sound is quite good, and the gameplay is excellent. In some sense it is different than dynasty warriors and it can deliver quite an impact if you suspect it to be the same game. So if you aren't sure if you want to rent this, I say get it and try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game !

posted by devin1 (CLEARWATER, FL) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

this game was really good if u like action adventure games .also it gives a pretty nice gamescore after u complete each char's missions u will recive 50 game points each mission.good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse