Rent Samurai Warriors 2: Empires for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Samurai Warriors 2: Empires

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.2

1067 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

=/ Ok I guess

posted by Emisary (LAFAYETTE, IN) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say it was kind of fun for the first couple of hours. But after a while it got so repetitive to the point where I could've had more fun hammering a nail into my foot.
But not bad for people who are into Japan and stuf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprise of My Membership

posted by PaleHorse (MOBILE, AL) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Have you ever played a game and then read reviews of that game and wondered if the reviewers were playing the same game? Samurai Warriors 2: Empires is great. One of my top 2 or 3 rentals since I became a member. I have had the game for over a week now and I feel like I am just scratching the surface. I have beaten one scenario, but the game does not end there. It has multiple more scenarios to play. I have also only played as one of the Samurai Lords, and there are dozens of them. Not to mention the playable Generals. The Lt.s are not so good, but some of the generals are very powerful, especially when they get leveled up. The good about leveling them up is that you still to use the more powerful versions when you replay the game.

The game is also more that just a button mashing experience. You can fight that way, but there are also may more things you can do which I am just learning about.

Graphics are good enough, and the stories are excellent. All of the scenarios are based off historical event, and so are the characters. Of course they take a good bit of liberty because you can play any character and have any outcome, but what fun would the game be if they didn't. However if you search for any of the main characters or generals they you will not only find the game, but historical facts, which are not to dissimilar to the starting scenario of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Samurai Warriors 2: That same game from 2001...

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Feb 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

26 out of 36 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

If you've played any "Warriors" game from KOEI, you've pretty much already played this game a hundred times. With the addition of the Empires mode, however, you've only played this game twice before. The basic gameplay has not evolved at all since the 2001 release of Dynasty Warriors 2 on the PS2. In fact, the graphics, voices, and sound effects are roughly the same too, which is to say they are sub-par for an Xbox 360 game.

The Empire mode is, in my opinion, better than the regular old campaign mode of the non-Empires game. You have the option of selecting from a number of scenarios and playable officers, or you can go the more creative route and customize your own character. You have a few options like selecting your family crest, voice, and moves set (and weapon), and then you commence button-mashing to level up your skills. Between button-mashing bouts, there are some strategic elements that you can participate in, or skip through (though it makes the game harder). You get policy cards that you can use during combat or to build up defenses and agriculture in your territories. You can even delegate your lieutenants to fight in battles while you go do something else. Defeated officers can be hired into your group and money earned can be spent on new policy cards. There's even a co-op mode but only via split-screen, i.e. no online modes.

Basically this game is a mix of Samurai Warriors 2 and Dynasty Warriors 5: Empires, in that they tacked on the Empire mode into this already existing game. If you enjoy a little thinking, planning, uhh... strategy if you will, in your button-mashing game, then this game is right up your alley. If you just want to button-mash and not think, just get the original Samurai Warriors 2 that came out last year. I enjoyed the game, but it's just nothing new or innovative... and I've basically already played it 8 times. If, however, you've never played any of the Warriors games before, this would be the best one to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GAH...Another game with potential slips away.

posted by Zman008 (AVELLA, PA) May 8, 2008

Member since May 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

GAH! Koei has the potential to make some amazing-awesome games but it never pulls through. If Samurai Warriors and Dyansty Warriors where to combine the elements that the other doesn't have OMG you have a great game. The Character Creation in this game is not very detailed. Voice Overs are horrible like always. The use of strategy in this game is very well thought out though which makes you actually have to think on what your next moves are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An Imperial Dissapointment

posted by SyChOFaSt (LONGMONT, CO) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

10 out of 25 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

When i saw this title, I was very excited to get my hands on it and start taking over feudal Japan. The historical accuracy which was portrayed really appealed to me, and along with the satisfying button mashing, I was ready for an enthralling gaming experience. Unfortunately the game was missing a few of what I would consider crucial elements.

My biggest complaint would have to be the cinematics, script, and character voices through out the game. Repetetive "that base is mine", and "I'll go down with that base", are just the start of the annoyances. The tough appearance of a samurai, ninja, or any other character on the battlefield is really brought down by the quote "I opt to live another day, and retreat".

Another complaint of mine is the graphics. Next gen is definately not what I would call them. They look like common original xbox graphics, and what really could have been beautiful Japanese scenery was greatly reduced.

Now to the good stuff...
The tactical portion of the game is great. You can use it to your advantage by getting upgrades and what not, however it can devestate you by throwing a blizzard at your strongest fief.

The good old button mashing is fun as ever, and many of the characters have some great moves. If you've ever played the other samurai warriors games, its the exact same, so don't expect anything revolutionary.

All in all, i was dissapointed in this game. The idea of taking over Japan is awesome, but the silly voices and lack of graphics really drags a good game into the "mediocre" category.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Samurai Warriors 2 or Poo?

posted by MKFreak (NASHVILLE, TN) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game for the first 10 battles is alright then you start to get really..really...board. Every couple weeks or months a handful of great games come out and this is definitely s a horrible game. I will tell you why.

1st.There are no new characters
2nd.there are no new game modes well actually there is the same "story" mode as last just with a new name plus the took about 3 really fun ones away.
3rd.The character customization sucks dead im seruis, there are only about 5 character models for male an female and the best character was one given by the game.
And 4th but thankfully freakin' last, This is a repetive hack and slash and don't even get me started on those cheese voice like, "Go cry to your mommy coward" and the reply, "Your going to pay for that insult (In a very panzish voice)" And the constant General that keeps saying defend that base and that base there, im all over it. I didn't even want to waste my time on the review but i did for all you gamefly customers cause i love gamefly, and you should blame this game on them...
:The only cool part is leveling up and the ability to use horses.: 1 point is for having something to do for about a day and two for have some rpg elements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do Not Buy, Do Not Rent

posted by Fivemagics (SYOSSET, NY) Sep 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible, plain and simple. From the moment I went to the title screen I was confused. This is the type of game that shouldn't be confusing. There have been countless dynasty warrior type games out there for me to know how to work this game. Well apparently not. The menu system is nearly as bad as the graphics, which makes you feel like your playing a ps2 game. Rent this game for amusement but nothing else. If you want a Dynasty Warrior game (why would you) then get Dynasty Warriors Gundam.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Build up your button mashing muscles

posted by kuru00 (TWIN FALLS, ID) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of the title or are picking a warriors title up for the very first time this is an allright game. If you need to exercise your button mashing fingers this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Samurai Warriors 2: Facepalm edition?

posted by AltLoveOV (CAMDEN, NJ) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I'll start out by saying that, I am a huge fan of Koei's Warriors games. I've played pretty much all of them since Dynasty Warriors 3, and loved every moment of them. That said, I will now explain what I like and more importantly, what I LOATHE about this game.

Graphics: Most people complain about the graphics of the Warriors games. While I do agree that they are dated, I don't mind them. Honestly, it may be better that they are dated, because if they used better graphics, there is a chance that the game will lag more, due to the amount of objects on screen at one time. Therefore, the graphics are not an issue to me.

Sound and Music: I've always enjoyed the bgm's that Koei chooses for the Warriors franchise. Yes, some can get repetitive after awhile, but most are enjoyable and loop well. I really dislike the voice acting in this particular one the most. Well, not exactly just the voice acting. I don't mind the fact that they sound overly dramatic half (or maybe all) of the time. But, when you hear the same overacted lines over and over again, ("I'll go down with this BASE, if necessary!") it tends to grate on one's nerves a bit.

Overall gameplay: This particular game is too easy compared to the others. If you have a decent (not even good, just decent) weapon, all you have to do when invading a fief is set your allies to defend, cap a couple bases that will form a line to the enemy main camp, kill the enemy general when he spawns, and then do the same thing in the next invasion. It's even easier than that when defending, since you don't need to cap anything to get the general to spawn. You just ride to him, and own him, done. This got very boring after awhile.

And for achievement hunters, one achievement in particular is a pain to get (Osaka Campaign), because you have to set it up a specific way to get the event to happen, and it is a pain to keep retrying.

Overall, as a fan of the franchise, I am so very, VERY disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

kill some time

posted by rojoroger (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

honestly I needed some mindless hack and slash time and this game perfectly fit that but it is very boring after like 5 or 10 hrs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MIGHTA LIKED IT

posted by Hi5mypbanj (SLATINGTON, PA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

BAD DISK
WTH!!!!!!! gamefly gave me the worst disk in the world i was getting into a little samuri fling lately and thought i check out a game and when it got here i was siked to play it but when i put it in failure to read disk so i tried to clean it and that didnt help so i said FML and sent it back thanks alllot for ruining my samuri dreams gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SNORRRRRRRRRRRR

posted by nUtScRatch (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

DID I MENTION SNORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRrRRRRRRR

ACHIEVEMENTS ARENT TOO HARD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

how bad sw2 is!!!!!!!!!

posted by agentofsor (DAVIE, FL) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

OK this is the most worst game I played i swear jojos circus is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Slaughter gets an update... A very small update.

posted by Sparktacus (HIGH POINT, NC) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

It strikes me that the love of dropping hordes of enemies via the powers of the superheroes of Feudal Japan is an absolute: if you liked it once, you'll like it every time (the same goes for NOT liking it, too).

I say that so I can just skip the part about SW2:E being a repetitive button masher and everything else that is inherent in the genre. What you really want to know is what sets SW2:E apart from others like it, right? There's the "Empires" tag, for starters. Essentially, they've fused Warriors with Risk. Risk isn't the most complicated strategy game, but Koei includes enough enhancements, like policy cards to manage settlements and others to be "played" before and during battles for a variety of advantages, to keep that element interesting. You are also able to recruit or capture new officers, including main characters and those that you've created, to serve in your army.

Variable game and difficulty options (most are unlockable) are included along with multiple "campaigns" (just alternate territory arrangements) in an attempt to add replay value.

Now for cons. The in-game story is non-existent. "Easy" difficulty is too easy, and yet "Normal" will frustrate even experienced players. However, SW2:E's fatal flaw actually comes from the "Empires" twist. A linear storyline allows creative control: you can add a variety of scripted events to give flavor to an otherwise bland experience. Koei had to release this control to allow players to carve out their empires as they see fit, and, as a consequence, every battle is 95% the same. There probably are/were ways to make each battle more dynamic and inject the diversity SW2:E so badly needs in its battles: the core of this genre, but none were used. Ironically, although SW2:E allows more freedom on the surface, its heart is more afflicted by monotony (the signature flaw of Warriors games) than, arguably, ever.

There are better variations on the theme out there. Still, SW2:E is well worth a rental for a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than the Original

posted by RedBlinky (DE LEON SPRINGS, FL) Nov 4, 2007

Member since May 2007

Samurai Warriors 2: Empires seems like an improved version of the original Samurai Warriors 2 with some new tweaks. You play the game on a risk-esque game board which i enjoyed because I enjoy those types of games. Your giving somewhere around 20-30 options on what to do in your planning phase then you get a battle phase where you can invade/defend etc. The dumb thing there is that if the CPU decides to attack you you either defend or lose your province making it hard to expand on higher difficulties. The big improvement over the original is the ability to command your officers this is extremely useful and makes the game far less frustrating.

All in all if you like Koei games this is one of the better ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but repetative

posted by mullethawk (MOUNT LAUREL, NJ) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

This game is pretty fun for the first few hours. Then you notice you are doing the exact same thing every time you play. If you are a fan of dynasty or samurai warriors play this game but if you are new to the series don't bother, you will get bored very fast and very easily.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a great game

posted by GAMEHAM (DEMOREST, GA) Jun 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

i thought the game was great it gave me a button mashing thrill while still retaining good strategy elements i loved the creation feature the game is so i good i am renting it again so for the guy who like a mix of button mashing action and strategy the game is perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A bit disappointing, but still acceptable game

posted by darkspaz37 (CONROE, TX) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Anyone who picked up the Dynasty Warriors 2 game for the PS2 console knows what it felt like to be in hack-n-slash heaven. Now, after endless remakes and poor production, anyone who picks up a Dynasty or Samurai Warriors game, unless it is your first time playing this sort of game, will be sorely disappointed.

When I played through this game-which, by the way, took only a meager 10-15 repetitive hours-I was pushed away by the lack of innovativeness and customization. I mean, sure, you can play through any storyline as any character, major or not, and dominate Japan. You also can create your own character and revamp all of the major battles into your own complete takeover of the country-which is a really good feeling by the way-but in the end the game leaves you with a feeling of wanting something more. Like a solid ending. If you have played any other DW or SW game, you know what I'm talking about. You finally beat the Story Mode for the final character in the game! Now what? No recognition, no final ending scene, no...nothing. The same holds true for Empires. Also, the customization was pretty solid, all things considered-like musou symbols and character weapons-but in future games I think it would be better to have some kind of customization that didn't involve your created character looking like a guard or secondary officer with a different colored robe.

The game is relatively easy to pick up and play, even if you have never played a game like this before. The strategy phase is lacking but gets the job done, and picking and choosing which general to pummel next is always pretty fun, but like I said earlier, games like this always leave you wanting something more. All in all a good game, especially if you are playing your first Warriors game, but if you've played one, you've played them all, and that is definitely the mood this game gives you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If you have Warriors, don't bother with Empires

posted by McSkoons (SACRAMENTO, CA) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

The game is as as good as Samurai Warriors 2, However it lacks the ease of in depth character development and game implementation that Samurai Warriors 2 did. It has less individual character building, but greater universal implementation of your previously saved characters, which, in the end, actually detracts from the gameplay (imo).
The actual strategy and combat mode of the game is very interesting, if a bit basic, and allows for greater NPC control (as previous versions of empires did). If you liked having both the original and the Emipres version of the old school game, then you will be more than happy with this release. However if you thought that the original Empires and Samurai Warrior was 2 games that should have been combined as one you Won't be rid of that feeling just because these titles have the number 2 behind them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Way too much goin' on !

posted by drg007 (READING, PA) Mar 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Although the first Samurai Warriors2 was good. Empires just doesn't deliver. The graphics are good, the play is similar to the first game, however, there's just way too much stuff goin' on. Too much strategy planning and not enough gameplay. I think the game would have been better without all that. I feel people want to get right into the meat and potatoes of this game and it loses something with all the preplanning. Very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »