Rent Samurai Shodown: SEN for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Samurai Shodown: SEN

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.8

493 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been better...

posted by FouLou (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

19 out of 20 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I would love to tell my story, on how I waited for this game to come out, after numerous delays..but we'll save that for another day. Everyone wants to read a review, right? Well, here we go. This whole review, is based off of; Story mode, Practice mode, Survival Mode, and a little bit of offline Versus Mode. I was not able to find a match on Xbox Live,so I can't help anyone out with that.

[The Graphics]-Terrible character models. Beautiful 2D Artwork, but the 3D character models, are just plain out disgusting! It looks like Tenchu Z to me(Go figure...the people who developed this game, are the people that made Tenchu Z) The environments are okay. They look nice, but bad at the same time. It's a love or hate type of thing. Some levels look AOK, some look downright terrible.

[Sound]-The music is actually decent, in my opinion. So there are no complaints in that department. The game is too loud(Maybe it's just me?) In the main menu, I swear, the game sounds like I'm blasting it through a wall. When you get into actual gameplay, it sounds okay. The whole game is voiced in Japanese, with English subtitles.

[Gameplay]-Well well, should I say "Typical Samurai Shodown" gameplay...? No, he11 no. The game plays like a watered down Tekken(Maybe I should say....KOF MI-King of Fighters Maximum Impact). I've grown up with Samurai Shodown, so I'm just gonna say what I feel. There's only one special move(You know, those quarter-circle-forward-punch moves?) Yeah, those. There's only one for each character. So Haoumaru throwing Flame tornadoes? Well that was sort of taken out. The rest of the moves, are put in by button commands. So now it plays like Tekken.

I'm going to be b1unt, and say "The Game is BROKEN". The air juggles are ridiculous(Especially for Draco). The gameplay is just unbalanced. I have no need to go into detail(I can't actually...the limit is approaching).

Gonna have to wrap this up. Fatalities=Okay,AI=Cheap-Broken,Controls-Terrible,All in all, a rent only!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Graphically nice crud

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 2, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Graphically speaking this game is quite well done, the characters have distinct looks, the backgrounds are beautiful. There is a slight pixel hazing, the characters are not perfectly drawn but they are not color altered copies of each other so overall, nice.

Control standpoint however is crud, barely working crud. Jumping is more or less not there, apparently up on the left stick is supposed to jump but apparently it is a directly up, pressing up at an angle is sidestep upwards. Which wouldn't be all that big of a problem for some, but huge problem for those who wish to say jump towards or away from the opponent which they are able to do to you. If this was anything but a fighting game it would not matter, however this is a fighting game and jump attacks are vital since the AI learns from your attack methods during that fight let alone consequent ones broken is the nicest way to describe the controls.

Voice acting is questionable, it's not overly quiest, it is actually quite a loud game it is however in Japanese for story mode, fighting itself is more of grunts than words so no idea what language that is. Renders story mode into reading tiny letters on the TV, probably works better if you have an HD TV. If you do not have one, avoid this game like the plague, ah heck if you do avoid this game like the plague.

Samurai Shodown used to be one of the best fighting games in the arcades, it even translated well to the consoles way back when. This travesty of not caring if it works well or not buries previous games in steaming piles of you know what. Not worth a rent, very not worth a buy, the mild sexual theme is one character in the pre fight talking, interesting once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I collect rat skins

posted by AutoMcFix (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of and early playstation one game that just was not fun. Everyone has the same throw animation, a stupid knee throw. I would be fine with the sucky graphics if the gameplay was great, the gameplay sucks. This is no Samurai Shodown 2 goes Soul Caliber, it's very poor and bland all around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

der hur hur

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

how stupid can the industry get, these are the worst graphics i have seen to date in a video game, i remember when this series and killer instinct looked phenominal, but this kind of milking is absolutely wrong and out of control, how terrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by biglsuka (CRESTVIEW, FL) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I just picked up the new samurai showdown and I am loving it. Ive played all the others except for the nintendo 64 versions and five special. If anyone knows where I can get 5 special let me know. Anyway back to sen it is a great game the new fighting system is great the graphics are decent but I would wrather see it in the 2D cartoon type graphics but beggers cant be choosers. this game has awsome finishing moves they cut out the sliding to get around each character and also the I wish that when you get cut it would show on there body and on there clothes but what are you gona do huh?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright game, but not great

posted by AverageGamer90 (GARY, IN) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I think the game is okay, but I admit that it's not as good as the past Samurai Shodown games I had played from Anthology for the PS2. However, it is better than Samurai Shodown: Warrior's Rage for PS1 imo. As for the gameplay, it's pretty much mediocre at best. The fighting system is unbalanced, but kinda fun. Although it sorta plays like a mixture of Soul Calibur and Tekken. Which I don't mind. The computer ai is kinda challenging. But can be difficult at times. The only way you can abuse the ai is to spam with a Super Vertical Slash. Which is very cheap and overpowered. I usually fight my opponent fair without it. The graphics in the game is not that good. It looks like it came straight out of a PS2 game and a Xbox game. Also, I do like the fact that it has blood and gore this time. Unlike the US console version of the Samurai Shodown games where they heavily censored. And lastly, the controls. This may not be much I can say about it. They're pretty responsive at least.

Overall, Samurai Shodown Sen is somewhat a solid fighting game. But it does has its flaws. For me, I kinda enjoyed it and I'll might buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

such a bad reboot

posted by Kyuseishu (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I had very high hope for this game and its not the graphics the disappointed me. It was the chulky game play of the character, the AI moved like gracefully. This game is a very poor attempt at being the original soul caliber game,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Samurai Showdown: SEN

posted by Droogalo612 (MESA, AZ) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game is slag. I hate to say it, being a lover of the Capcom/ SNK fighters, but it is.

Tekken-like gameplay now instead of classic style, making moves clunky and unreasonable.

Draco has a gun (can't block bullets), and he can shoot you forever.

Graphics, on par with the best looking PS1 games.

All in all, don't waste your Gamefly slot with it, you'll regret it. :-(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for everyone.

posted by abloobudoo (MESA, AZ) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

This Samurai Showdown is only for veterans. Newcomers will hate this game.

If you're coming from playing the Samurai ShowdownII game then for the veterans, it's good. They have all the main characters: Haohmaru, Jubei, Ukyo, Galford, Charlotte, etc. Downsides to the characters is that they don't have Earthquake, Nicotine, and Gen-An (Which I was happy to see because I hate that little green guy). Wanfu is in it, but he has a sword now, not that big pillar thing, so that was a bummer. The new characters are actually pretty awesome and there is double the amount all with their own signature moves and styles of play.

The graphics are just regular. Nothing phenomenal, nothing horrible. The camera will sometimes get a little skewed and fighting can be a little tricky at times.

The control detection is a little iffy. Sometimes I would've pressed up or down twice to rotate and the character would only jump or duck. Which especially is frustrating if you're fighting a long range character.

All in all, one word to describe the game is just decent. It wasn't half-azzed but it wasn't over achieved. It's definitely a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

female fight fan

posted by radryan38 (BANGOR, ME) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

for those who likes female fighting this game is realy good when 2 females fights against each other.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing!!!

posted by catrucho (SAN RAMON, CA) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I played the original game on the arcade machine and I was really looking forward to playing the game again on my Xbox 360. They changed the look of the game to a Tekken like and everything about it sucked. Tekken is a great game, so don't get me wrong when I say that the look of the characters were like Tekken.

For Samurai Shodown this just doesn't work at all - the music was terrible, the character spacing and fighting were very poor.

This game is a total flop in my opinion - they really messed up a great game by trying to copy the Street Fighter/Tekken look and feel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great for a few... sucks for the rest

posted by DarkWraith (DOUSMAN, WI) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I went into this game with mixed feelings: horrible reviews from everyone except hardcore fans of the series, but i had fond memories of the game from when I was younger. What I got was... a decent game that just wasn't for me.

I'll be honest, I'm not the best at fighting games. I used to be better, but nowadays, I just seem to suck. So I wasn't expecting an amazing experience. But when a game is so hard to get past the 3rd fight on normal I had to take it down to Beginner?! I'm not THAT bad - in versus with friends and online, I was still pretty okay. And even on beginner, the 1st boss is almost impossible. He has an unblockable, unavoidable move that he uses almost endlessly. I came within a centimeter of actually winning (and I was at maybe 3/4 health) and within two shots, I was dead... AGAIN!

As for the rumor of horrible graphics, the screenshots speak for themselves... The graphics are pretty good for a fighting game. Are there better? Yes. Are there worse? Even more so. Unless you're looking for a HD movie experience from a fighting game, you shouldn't find any complaints.

Finally, my last grief with the game: load times. Maybe it's just me (and my endless repeats going through them on continues...) but the load times are pretty ridiculous. It seems to load the graphics for a load screen, just to let you skip that screen, then load again, and then again. REALLY annoying when you're struggling with one character.

Overall, not a horrible game. So long as you love the series or fighters in general, or are really good at them, or have friends to play with, or are just a glutton for punishment, you'll enjoy it. It has some good features (some moves cut off limbs on the final round) that make it different from other games. The graphics and sound ore good quality. It's just really bloody hard... Ninja Gaiden was easier...

Worth a rent in my book - but be warned, it may be a short rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

samurai showdown sen for xbox360

posted by lazyrich (SAN PEDRO, CA) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game sucks!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Samurai Slowdown

posted by LocoMotive (SAINT CHARLES, IL) Sep 5, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

As on old time lover of this series I keep wanting them to succeed in bringing it back to life properly. But you can't go home again (or at the very least you can't recapture the magic of Samurai Shodown II in my opinion). This ill fated attempt is effectively a Soul Caliber clone where characters are even more restricted in their ability to jump (if thats possible). The battle system (usually the high point of SS games) feels more like the original Tekken than anything else (and not in a good way). I love this series enough to consider getting a 'Ukyo' tattoo but it's time to give up and pretend this one didn't happen. Put it back in the mail in less than three hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This title is great

posted by gamecrtic1 (ANTHEM, AZ) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

ok so ive never played any of the old SS in my life. But this one is better than soul caliber 1 2 3 but not 4.So i was looking at it on gamestop and they lowered there price down to 20$ so i decided to pick it up and boy did i have fun slicing up my brother in versus. this game is worth a solid rental or a buy if you like samurai showdown . but to be warned the story mode is very hard on beiginner??? SPOILER ALERT: there is this guy named Draco who all he does is spams his rifle intil your dead or he has to reload. but any ways the game is great considering the amazingly hard last 2 Bosses. but very fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

a Joke?

posted by bob101910 (DECATUR, IL) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Were they trying to make this game complete and utter garbage? I played it a few minutes and beat everybody I faced by tapping the X button. Don't waste your time renting. Would have been better as a 2D fighter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just Below Mediocre

posted by SkyELement (HAZLET, NJ) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I used to play the arcade titles a long time ago, so I was quite excited to get a chance to play this. After trying for about an hour and a half straight, I sealed this back up in its return envelope. Pretty much everything I've read(after the fact) reviews wise here is true. Controls are just bad. There's simply no other way to say it. Very clunky. No fluidity whatsoever, which is a shame considering this is a next gen game. I wanted so badly to like this, but i just can't. Don't rent, don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I feel dirty

posted by XchriswtsX (LANCASTER, PA) May 31, 2010

Member since May 2010

Being a Fan of the previous Samurai showdowns , especially the 2D fighters,I was thinking about buying this a week ago at gamestop, so i figured i'd try it out when i got my gamefly membership, and i have to say THANK YOU GAMEFLY FOR SAVING ME 40 BUCKS. This game is broken, I thought to myself "maybe i just need to learn how to play it", but trying to figure combos out in this game is like taking a dip in the pool when it's 30 degrees outside, it doesn't make any sense. So i just proceeded to button mash till my heart's content, and mine achievements for beating the game with each character (an easy 500+G if you can have the patience to play this game, and to make it easier, put it on beginner and set the time to 30-60 seconds.) Also playing this you learn the game is CHEEEEEAAAP. I'm talking cheap like an endless stream of houdoukens. the moves are WAAAY too powerful, which in turn doesn't really apply any skill, as just one press of the X button does as much damage as a "special" move. So skill has flown out the window. Even if you set this on beginner, be prepared to lose a lot via the computer's Insta combos at the beginning of the match, this is especially common with the draco, and golba fights, that will have you cursing and pulling your hair out. the Endings and the "story" left me very unfulfilled because in a day and age where we have videos, SNK gives us TEXT, like back in the nintendo days..Come on SNK you can do better than that. This horrible attempt ar a 3D fighting game, and a new "bushido blade" type fighter sufferes from waay too many flaws to barely make this playable , and forget online, because NO ONE goes online for this, so forget the easy achievements online. The only postive about this game are the hilariously gory kill moves, that make this broken game somewhat bearable until you've farmed all the easy achievements this game has to offer.. so it's an easy 500+ Gamerscore in it for you if you can bear the horrendous gameplay..EPIC FAIL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a dissapointment

posted by Asgardfury (SEMINOLE, FL) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

I have been a SERIOUS fan of the Samurai Shodown series, since its first incarnation. It was an amazing game that pulled my attention away from Street Fighter 2 in the arcades, and Every following game continued to be great, in my opinion, cresting with SS4. Now this is not the first SS foray into the 3d realm, however, the Warriors Rage stuff was pretty bad too. Then I played this. Wow. I feel insulted and ashamed to admit what a huge SS fan I am. This is a huge failure on so many, many levels. The control scheme, as well as the control response is awful. Everything feels generic. For God's sake, the characters don't even have unique throw animations! The game is tremendously unbalanced, dull, frustrating and ugly. It feels like a ripoff game from 10 years ago. The worst for me was the way they BUTCHERED every bit of style from the characters. For those of you reading this who are familiar with Samurai Shodown, here are a few painful shots: Ukyo fights staring straight ahead at his opponents! WHAT? Nakoruru fights without Mamahaha(her Hawk), or Shikuru(her wolf), and the absolute worst blow to justice.......Galford Fights without Poppy!! Not only that, but the only appearance Poppy makes,is in Galford's win pose, is magically sitting next to him, but does nothing! Argh. Xseed should refund everyone who bought this terrible, broken affront to the series, and apologize for their horrible mistreatment of beloved characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Save your self the time and skip this one!

posted by Redbone (DENVER, CO) May 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

I was one of those people that thought this was a game that was going to be good dispite what reviews I read. The bottom line is this game stinks out loud. The controls feel rushed and the love and care isnt there compared to even the regular xbox versions of this game. What is even more madning is that they dared to bring this game out after SFIV, I'm not saying that it should beet SFIV but I sure would have been p'd off if I pre-ordered this game and found out that it was a total bust, but thank GOD for game fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by mistergee (FORT WORTH, TX) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

this game is lame, waste of time to play. returned same day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Change is not a good thing.

posted by TragicRobo (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

Samurai Showdown Sen was a total letdown. I was expecting a re-boot ala Street Fighter 4. What I got was an HD version of Bushido Blade on the PS2. No more special moves, just a bunch of short combos and technical button presses. I played the game for 30 minutes and now it's back in the Gamefly envelope about to be returned tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a button shouldnt be the keyto win not a good game

posted by gwilli21 (DEARBORN, MI) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

well when i got this one i thought it would be great but the moves are cheap graphics are good some music is good but dnt buy it rent it or you will regret it its an hard an easy game lol you can press a button and beat the whole game but sometimes you just cant hit the opponent it seems like alot of fighting games have been getting cut short but im disappointed about this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I didn't believe that!

posted by JOEL1980 (LITHONIA, GA) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2005

It should good game, but it isn't enough soul and fight so fast like S.C 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »