Rent Samba De Amigo for Wii
view large frontback

Samba De Amigo

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

667 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Live the life of a maraca mega-star

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Oct 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In the pantheon of music games, drums, vocals and guitars have been the main focus. Samba de Amigo puts it's focus squarely on the overlooked maraca.
The first thing you'll notice is the colorful landscape and quirky characters. And to it's credit, the game has a style befitting it's medium.
Also impressive is the wide array of music. Samba features some songs which seem inherent, like Lowrider, Smooth, La Bamba, Mambo Number 5 and Living La Vida Loca. There are also some songs that work, although you might not expect them, such as Pon De Replay and Take On Me.
Unfortunately, like so many games dripping with style, the main problem is the substance. Controls turn your Wiimote and nunchuk into maracas. Shake them while pointing up, down or the the sides to hit the corresponding dots as they appear on screen. Sometimes, you'll need to do a pose or a dance move using your controller. The dancing part works well, but the other gameplay mechanics are very unstable. There are far too many times when you'll have the controller in the right position and shake at the right time, but nothing registers with the game. As you try to get your controllers to do their thing, the game ignoring you the whole time, your score will slowly drop and cause you to fail. At these points, you'll likely experience a "giant question mark over your head" feeling.
It soon becomes apparent that you get better results by constantly shaking the controls in the general direction of the corresponding dots. This becomes less successful as you reach higher difficulty levels, at which point completing songs becomes downright aggravating.
The big problem is that you'll fail more songs because of the game rather than your ability. That's disappointing, because it's fun and upbeat. The concept is interesting, the music engaging and the presentation fitting. But if the controls don't function perfectly, the rest matters little.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Samba de Amigo" means frustrating fun

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's the maraca shaking game that made a big splash on the Gamecube.
This time, you use your Wiimote and Nunchuck as the maracas, and the game will know which hand you have the Wiimote in (great for us left handed players).
The calibration of the maracas, on the other hand, is troubling. Samba de Amigo doesn't let you calibrate it to your style, it forces you to adjust to it's settings. Not very user friendly.
This can lead to major problems and many frustrated players, especially with the hard and super hard stages. In those stages, you have a very short time to move the Wiimote/Nunchuck in the right position and shake it. Early on, I was sorely tempted to chuck the Wiimote/Nunchuck in anger as I missed several shakes due to this stiff interface.
Another cause of missed shakes is the player not snapping their wrists when they use the controls.
But these problems can be reduced with lots of practice. Samba de Amigo has plenty of songs to get the feeling of the maracas right, and it's one great fiesta when you go through it's song list with a group of people.
Speaking of the song list, it is good with some songs you may recognize (Macarena), and others you may not. There are downlodable songs, but I couldn't get any information as to how many songs or what the title of those songs were.
But with any song you play, you don't get the complete version of that song - you get about a two minute sample of them. It feels incomplete.
To try to make up for that, Samba de Amigo has several minigames. But most of those games have you shake your maracas wildly with no rhyme or reason, and playing against the AI isn't that fun.
There are also unlockable maraca sounds like punches, lasers, and shouts. But I found them irritating, so I didn't use them.
Samba de Amigo is one game you should rent and try out, then decide for yourself if you want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Music & Funky Characters Make a Great Game

posted by Mster24 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was excited when this came in the mail, but was surprised by the okay-ish reviews that it got. Nevertheless, I popped the game in and grabbed my Wiimotes to see how funky this monkey really is. The first thing I noticed were the controls. With two Wiimotes, it takes some getting used to, but are easy overall. But with the Wiimote and Nunchuck, the controls are incredibly picky. Tilt the nunchick one degree upwards, and the upper circle is selected. Either way, they're not that good. But enough about that. The music selection is vast and amazing, everything from Latin classics like "Macarena" to Rhianna's "Pon de Replay". Although some of the less-latiny songs have been remixed to fit the rest of the game, they're still okay. My only complaint besides control is the backgrounds. They're so bright and vibrant, but you can't appreciate them without looking away from the playing field. And, the first time I played, the background was so distracting I could barely see the orbs to hit. But overall, this is on great game that, along with Ghostfire's Helix, could be ushering in a new era of music gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun Game, Frustrating Controls

posted by kcgreg (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The music and the gameplay was fun, but was quickly overshadowed by the Wii controllers not 100% responding. I guess you have to master the game's precise movement and sensitivity to get a decent score on a song.

Maybe the optional Wii maracas make this game easier to play, but the wired Wiimote and Nunchuck was frustrating to use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This was a workout

posted by tiarose (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the game. I did not know it was going to work me over the way it did. Once I got started, I could not stop. It's a good one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good - In the right context

posted by wikwikwack (KIRKLAND, WA) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Meaning: for young children, wives that normally won't even play Wii games, and anyone who likes latin/dance/carnivale style music.

My family absolutely loved this game. It's very easy to pick up, fun, not intimidating, and has a pretty good music selection including a number of Carnivale-ized american favorites.

If you're looking for a GuitarHero/RockBand experience, this isn't it by a long way. The controls are very imprecise (I did seem to do better with fresher batteries though) and even frustrating. Easy settings can actually be a little tougher in that the sequence of maraca shakes bears little resemblance to the actual rhythm of the song. That being sad, my wife and 7yr old, didn't notice or care one bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Who's job is it to play-test this game?

posted by Asherael (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Somebody in the process should have noticed that the inaccuracy of the wii controllers makes this once classic and highly enjoyable game practically unplayable. The accuracy of the controllers makes only half the game playable, once you're really enjoying it, the speed picks up and the controls are inadequate.

If you are able to say out loud what you want the game to be doing, and and do this faster than you can by manipulating the controller somebody has failed, grievously, at developing and testing the control scheme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Samba De Amigo

posted by Junbug8 (HOLLAND, MI) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Couldn't stop playing it for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Much more fun with 2 Wiimotes

posted by BarlingJJB (BARLING, AR) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At first I had a hard time with the controls using the Wiimote and Numchuk. But when I switched to using two Wiimotes my accuracy improved so much that I was even able to complete the Superhard levels.

This game was very fun to me and the Survival and Random modes you unlock eventually really improve the replay value.

My only complaint is the bright moving backgrounds make it hard at times to see the blue circles that tell you what maraca to shake and when.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

unresponsive

posted by wiilicious (FAIRLAWN, OH) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I played and enjoyed the original Dreamcast version of this game several years ago. I thought this title would improve on the previous entry but instead its gotten much worse.

There is way too much going on in the background and the colors in the background are too close to the foreground colors so its nearly impossible to see what you're trying to do.

Beyond that, this title has the worst responsiveness I've seen in a Wii title. It seems to read what you're doing pretty well when you hold the controllers up or down, but try to hit the targets on the sides and the wii will have no idea you even have a controller in your hands. waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cannot even play

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I do not like this game because you cannot even get it to start. As youmay have guessed by now, I do not know much about this game because you cannot start it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

trouble syncing

posted by krash2fly (CONROE, TX) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

my wii remote and chuck would not sync.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustrating,could have been better

posted by MGregg (PHIL CAMPBELL, AL) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game was fun but most of the time you can't get your controllers to line up with the beat which is frustrating after a while.The mini games could have been better some are to simple like beating a pinata or crushing rocks,maybe for younger children these games would apply.The music,characters and color were fairly good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great idea, horrible execution

posted by dainan (HONOLULU, HI) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The title of this review sums it up pretty well. I love the music and the idea of this game, but I really don't think they pulled it off with the controls. I really hated the nunchuk; it was so inaccurate. I only played a few songs and gave up. My wife, who usually likes rhythm and music games, didn't care for it either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Samba de Amigo

posted by geeknana (OAKLEY, CA) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Lots of peppy songs to give you a workout. Easy for younger ones & harder games for more advanced. Biggest drawback is the frustration involved in calibrating the wimote & numchuk in the beginning of each profile. we were only able to make one successful profile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun, but limiting

posted by turnstep (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Aug 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

A pretty fun game overall, with one severe limitation: the controllers. The Wii controllers, or perhaps the game itself, makes it very hard to get some of the moves correctly, particularly the "upper" ones (you play by moving the controllers up, down or to the side). The game itself is a blast as long as you don't take it too seriously and just enjoy the ride (in other words, don't worry about your score). The background animation is pretty frantic, but you learn to completely tune it out after a few minutes. The songs are great, and the whole game has a lot of energy that really makes you want to dance. Hopefully the next generation of Wii controller and/or next version of the game will allow for more precise controls.

The game is so fun (and so cheap) that it's one of the few that has made its way from "rent" to "buy" in my collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun for while

posted by 24454426 (MURFREESBORO, TN) May 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

When I first started to play it was fun playing songs I haven't hard in while or didn't know was samba songs, but it has control trouble. Might be just me. I find it fun for a good work out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tons of fun!

posted by jsmama (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I thought this game was really fun and can give you a good work out if you play it correctly.
Even my 4 year old and 7 year old will ask to play it. You have to try to get into the game like the Wiis are suppose to be played.
You need to get up off your chairs and really get into the music and maybe some dancing if you can...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Check this game out...maybe

posted by BillSmurf (CASPER, WY) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Samba de Amigo was a great game when I first started playing it. Easier difficulties are pretty fun. But then it gets bad. The game's reading is terrible, and on the higher difficulties, you will lose the song because the game can't read your motions. What happens is, for instance, you will try to play a note the top hole and the game will read the middle on. This game is ok. Rent it, but don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hot, Hot, Hot!

posted by WiiRocks6 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

This game features many different styles to use your Wii-mote and nunchuck with! Once you learn to play you can shake your way through career mode, free play, love, and other levels. I would recommend this game from 6-6 million!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!

posted by EzraLee (BOERNE, TX) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

WOW, This game is amazing. The music is outstanding. Its got flavor out the wazzu. If you want a fun fast pace game with lots of good music, you wont be disappointed with this one! It will have you dancing in seconds!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good For a Night...

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

My girlfriend couldn't get the controls to work, I could, even if we switched controllers, then positions. Even if you get the controls working great, the game is pretty simplistic and only worth a couple days of renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is crazy funny and fun

posted by babytaz (CROSBY, TX) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

You should have seen my 6 year old daughter play this. It was too funny. She was dancing everywhere (thank god I move the couches around). I was even playing this game with my husband. This game is for all ages, it is fun, the graphics are great, and it has really cool music. Plus it is a good way to save money on going to the gym and getting a membership. Whats next, Sonic or Mario Samba De Amigo (that would be cool). Samba De Amigo is a MUST HAVE!!!! What are you waiting for go play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Game I've played in Years!

posted by Dawnie (PUEBLO, CO) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

My husband and I just love this game, sure it takes some time getting used to the way the controls work, but once you figure it out, you will love it and won't put it down! We will stay up for hours on end playing this game I'm now thinking that we just might have to own this one!

This is great for the whole family too our 4 year old son really enjoys playing it too but not as much as mom and dad!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth your time.

posted by sonamycool (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

the object of the game is simple. shake your "maracas" to the beat of a song. there are three different beats to hit, high ones (red), middle ones (yellow) and low ones (green) with 2 on each side of your area, and you have to move your maracas to one of these areas and shake them to hit the beats. this idea is perfect for the wii. the fatal flaw? IT DOESN'T WORK AT ALL! i couldn't even make it through easy mode. for one thing. you have to hold your wii remote and nunchuk in a certain position for it to work. this makes it difficult to play. i mostly get misses and think that it's my wii remote and nunchuck that are failing on me. but then i remember that it's the game. if the controls weren't so bad, this would be much easier and actualy fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse