Rent Sam & Max: Season 1 for Wii
view large frontback

Sam & Max: Season 1

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

571 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

So, a dog and rabbit become freelance police...

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Oct 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Sam & Max: Season One fits into a genre seen rarely on next gen consoles: point-and-click adventure. In fact, I think the most recent one I played was Indigo Prophecy on the Xbox. Besides that and Dreamfall, there are few good examples from the last console cycle. But I digress.
Sam & Max doesn't have all the drama of those other games. It relies on wacky premises and humorous dialog. Instead of a journey of intrigue and self-discovery, the freelance police solve a series of crazy crimes. Taking on the toy mafia, a giant statue of Lincoln and the Internet, the dog in a suit and homicidal rabbit take you through six episodes.
The graphic style looks almost cell-shaded and works well in this context. Voice work is solid, though some of the characters sound really annoying.
The game play is made up of finding objects, using objects in the correct ways and selecting the right dialog. While this seems simple, it's actually quite challenging. Figuring out what the game wants you to do can be the most time-consuming part of the game. If you get a guide, though, each episode will probably take a couple hours max.
While you can play the episodes in any order, you may find it helpful to play them in order, since characters and storylines continue from one to the next. Still, the game gives you the option and that's a good thing.
Clicking on all the object in the game gives you tons of dialog. I have to say, while the writing is sharp, I found very little of it truly funny. Basically Sam uses long analogies and Max wants to shoot everything.
In the end, this is an engaging adventure title with a fun story. Action is minimal and there is no real replay value. Dreamfall has a much richer storyline, Indigo Prophecy has richer game play, but Sam & Max do a good job of bringing the point-and-click genre to the next generation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Point and click adventure is back!

posted by thericky (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

My FAVORITE games to play in the 90s were the Lucasarts point and click adventure games... Sam n Max, Grim Fandango, Day of the Tentacle, etc. Unfortunately, it has been many years since another great point and click adventure game has come out. Some have tried, but have missed the key elements of what made this genre of games great... fun characters and humor!

Now the hilarious duo Sam n Max are back and while this game is missing a couple of ingredients from the point and click days of old, I was more than happy to be playing through it. The episodic structure was a little odd at first, but once I realized that each episode tied into the last and weren't just independent stories, I was okay with it. Part of what makes a great point and click adventure is a long story where you need to remember everything that you previously did and everyone you previously spoke to in order to solve future puzzles. This game didn't rely heavily on that, but did keep the same characters throughout, adding new ones with each episode.

My only gripe is the lack of a "combine" function. One of the most basic puzzle-solving tools in a point and click adventure is being able to combine objects that seemingly have nothing to do with each other and yet you can use them in an inventive way to reach a goal. This game was too simplistic in its use of items.

Other than that... fantastic game! Anyone that's a fan of old Lucasarts point and click games should get this immediately!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What I expected

posted by DaemonEA (DAVIS, CA) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the closest I have gotten to point and click 90's games on the PC. The humor was great. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Little More than Watching a Long Cartoon

posted by kludka33 (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played a Sam & Max game when I was a kid, for my old Apple computer. I remember it was basically little more than a text game, except with animation. If you're familiar with Zork or Myst, this game was basically the same. I had gotten excited for this game, because I thought the characters were great, and with some action, this could be a really great series.

Boy, was I disappointed.

Basically, this game is little more than an updated version of that old Apple game. There is no action to speak of. You merely point the cursor at something, click on it, and then listen to Sam, Max, or some other character talk for a couple minutes. Then you pick something else to say and listen again for another few minutes. Rinse and repeat.

I couldn't get into the story because the game was simply too long on dialogue and short on action to work for me.

In short, I got bored.

This is little more than watching internet cartoons with a break every couple minutes to push a button in order to keep it going. My advice? Stick to YouTube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game

posted by dirtyjon (BELLINGHAM, WA) Apr 26, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game but the PC version will run on just about any computer and none of the performance issues exist as they do with the wii version if they release new versions as the strongbad games have been on wii ware go for it but the pause as the dialogue loads off the disk is noticeable and distracting .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible game

posted by Lorilou02 (GRIFFITHSVILLE, WV) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible, i got it for my little boy, and i believe its the worst game i've ever seen, all u do is point to stuff and click, u cant even move around, this game is not worth the shipping and handling to send it here

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game did not work

posted by moomoomommolly (TIONA, PA) May 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

game did not work so i can not leave a review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sam and max solve the case

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently received this game and was looking forward to playing because I am a fan of the show. This games graphics and humor do not dissappoint. The graphics are great and there is plenty of humor to keep you laughing. The missions are long so that you wont be able to fininish this game in one or two times of playing it. The controls are good move by pointing the arrow on the screen and point at an object to pick up or talk to some one also shoot with the a button. The downfall I had with this game was the mouth movements dont match the actual voice. I would recommend this game to fans of Sam and Max and also people looking for a fun and funny point and click adventure game on the wii. I look forward to seeing more Sam and Max games for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Charmingly Offbeat

posted by aenyssarho (CHAMPAIGN, IL) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

The game is amusing. There's no denying that. The banter of the characters is silly and enjoyable. However, by the sixth episode, the game can get to be feeling somewhat formulaic, as there are generally only four locations per episode and you're relying on the same sorts of interactions with the same mildly nuanced characters.

However, my biggest complaint would be that on a couple of occasions, the game actually froze - the whole Wii console did. I have never experienced that before. If it's actually a consequence of the game and not just some anomalous occurrence of my console, be forewarned. The autosave feature of the game is nice, but generally, you do lose control of the console during one of these autosaves and it's a bit disheartening to play back through up to that point (although it's REALLY quick once you know what you're doing).

If you're like me and clicked on everything possible up front, there's probably not a huge amount of replay value, but this is a nice episodic game for leisurely evening activities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

so dissapointed

posted by GamerGirl0 (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

back when SAM and max was first a game was so fun and when I saw these I was excited. the humor is okay but the game lags and is buggy to the point it was unplayable and crashed on me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but not for everyone

posted by BlueLinkx (LAKE HAVASU CITY, AZ) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

I enjoyed this game. If your a fan of the series, then this game is for you. It's got humor, and quirky moments that will have you chuckling. However, although may seem easy enough. The game itself seems to lack the material to keep you playing till the next level. This is because the game is difficult, giving you vague clues on what to do next, and using everything and anything hoping you'll get to the next part. There is no "game over" which is nice, but I even found myself looking for help online just so I continue on with the mission. Which is extremely rare for me to do, considering I don't use online help. I even found myself not playing the game simply cause it was boring most of the time. Sure, there is a lot of jokes to go around, but it wont stay with you through out the entire game. You'll just be looking for that one thing you miss. On top of that, you'll stay in the same areas throughout the game. Depending on the mission, you may travel else where. So with the repetition, I even got bored with the main area. What makes it worst is the fact seem to run very laggy (or choppy frame rates), and even crashed on me once while playing. This may simply be a hardware issue, but I haven't had a problem with my wii before. The disc was also clean.

The game has it's highlights, I was able to complete the game and enjoy what it had to offer. It was a great rent, but nothing more. Yet, if you not the kind of person who enjoys the simple things in life, and want instant gratification, then I would advise you try another title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sam & Max: Season 1

posted by jerovo61 (UPLAND, CA) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

This game was so boring I fell asleep several times during game "play" and I use that word generously. I dreamed of bikini massage girls and good scotch whiskey only to wake up to this dullard's S-box. The point and click "adventure" game genre, where a gamer is on the edge of his/her seat trying to guess and then picking what our dry witted hero's will say next is not quite as engaging as watching paint dry. I felt a sense of sadness and I couldn't quite put my finger on the source. I will say, despite all the glowing critical reviews, "this game made me tear my eyes out and throw them in the direction of the Wii." 3 stars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Point, Click, Snore.

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

This could have been a good game, but it needed a good editor. The dialogue is cheesy and not too funny, and the conversations are repetitive and wayyy too long. The game looks good visually, but the movement and animation can be really choppy. I played this with my wife and we lasted about 1/2 hour before boredom set in and we agreed to send this half-baked game back in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

sam and max season 1 is above average

posted by MrHotancol (KINGWOOD, TX) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

sam and max is a fun game over all but i think they could do with a little more plot in the game i prefer the other seasons of sam and max better but dont just go by reviews you might like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a hit-and-miss package that's better on PC

posted by thinkbomb (KAYSVILLE, UT) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

This is somewhat of a let-down for me since this game doesn't run as smoothly on the Wii as does Tell-Tale Games' Strong Bad series.

Regardless it's a sort of mini-revival of the old-school point-and-click adventures. While there isn't quite as many solid laughs as the franchise has garnered in the past, there are more than enough solid gut-busters to keep most people interested.

Like I said though, the game doesn't run as smoothly on the PC. While this should be expected to an extent; it actually interferes with the jokes, which is way lame. (and I seriously don't know if I used that semicolon properly ... oh well.) Thing is, there's a number of instances where the audio won't load on time, or the audio dialogue will get cut short, or the load times are so long that it destroys the momentum built up from the prior scene.

Mind you, the puzzles aren't exactly perfect either. While most of them can be solved by adjusting your mindest to the lead duo's warped sense of logic and just doing what comes naturally to freelance police (which usually has a violent outcome), there are those few puzzles that are obscure enough to leave you clueless. On the whole, though, most of them are fun to solve.

So yeah, if you're a fan of Sam and Max (real fan, not a trend fan), and/or a fan of old school point/clicks: check it out. Though I'd save purchases for the PC due to the aforementioned tech problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just about Perfect

posted by ColShaggy (KAYSVILLE, UT) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The Wii edition of Sam And Max season 1 is just about identical to the PC version. The only real differences, I found, are the double click run feature(which wasn't implemented until Season 2 on the PC) and a few glitches that held me back from giving it a perfect 10 rating.

So the problems: Only two really. There was an unfortunate tendency for the game to clip off the end of some of the dialog exchange, it was usually at the very end and only slightly annoying. Then there were the load times between leaving the street and heading into, say, the office. A black screen, with the flaming Max head at the bottom, usually accompanied any change of location.

The comedy and cases are exactly the same to the PC version. The challenge, of the puzzles, isn't particularly high but the jokes are hilarious. It does what every good adventure game should do, it tells an enjoyable story that is just as fun after all the secrets and solutions have been revealed as it was on the first play through. I still play Season 1 & 2 regularly because, even though I could play through it in my sleep, the jokes are still funny and the puzzles are still a joy to work.

So maybe the glitches are mole hills that I've made into mountains. The game is an excellent port of one of the greatest game serieses of all time and maybe, just maybe, I can give it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really Bad Game P.S. IT STINKS!!!

posted by Tdlmacnt (HAMDEN, CT) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

This game is the worst game in all of humanity. I swear, I'd rather run outside nude in the middle of winter rather than playing this game. I'm a big fan of Sam and Max but the game couldn't have been suckier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a worthy sequel to the original!

posted by Loyalgamer (COVENTRY, CT) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

As a fan of Sam & Max when it was released for DOS on pc's back in 1993, I must say this game is nothing compared to the original.

The graphics are beautiful, and the point & click interface works very well. Some of the dialog is funny but most lines are just redundant or stupid.

I think the first problem is that it's not licensed under LucasArts. In the original, many of the Star Wars and Indiana Jones gags were hilarious. Without LucasArts's support, those jokes are gone.

The second problem, is there's no clear-cut villain that cracks you up with his pathetic schemes or hilarious antics.

Third, Max lacks his luster from the original. In the first, Max had some lines that would have me on the floor laughing. For example, Max walks up to a guy with a bad toupee and says, "I have more hair on my fuzzy little butt then you do on that hollow country head of yours!" THAT'S WITTY WRITING! In this game, he has a couple moments here and there but it's as if he is more politically correct.

Fourth, the game itself is just not a good adventure game. You don't get clever responses when you click on things, dialog between characters is fixed to a formula too much that it lacks spontaneous answers, and the game doesn't really give you any direction towards what you should be trying to do.

This game as much as it tries to follow in it's predecessors footsteps, it fails. Videos of the original are on line but I don't recommend this game to anyone unless you're a hardcore Sam & Max fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not bad for a rabbity-thing

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Jan 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

Ok. I played this game and I think it was great. The only problem is that it needs to much thought. For each episode i had to use a walkthrough atleast once. Plus the game is too short. The walking is also abnormal. You point and click on where you want to walk. Rent this game, but whatever you do DON'T BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A 27 year old gamer's perspective...

posted by Memdoch (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

I didn't finish the game. I got through the first three episodes and my nostalgia wore off.
See, I'm already starting to get old and grizzled about video games because I grew up in the era of the Lucas Arts adventure games.
Games like Grim Fandango, The Monkey Island series, Loom, I even played Zak McKracken when it first came out and I remember games that knew how bad their graphics were and had to make up for it with funny writing. Maybe I was just a dumb kid then and didn't know better, but I thought the original Sam and Max was some wacky trippy stuff...
So I was hopeful when this came out. For the first half hour or so I was a gleeful smiling idiot child again brandishing my couch friendly mouse turned wiimote and clicking wacky dialogue choices and guess what? I felt like this neglected genre might have a showing again... then something creeped into my head and it wouldn't go away and it was this thought, "This is really really stupid," yes... It was stupid. Not silly, but dumb. Chasing around ex-child stars that urinate too often. Talking with a tattoo artist turned therapist turned UFO hunter. And punching the president?
These things sound good on paper, but there's something about being weird for weird sake and being weird for some satirical value. The game's rated T for Teen so it can rise above Saturday morning cartoon fluff and actually do something with the story because in an adventure game that's really all you have.
So I'll give it a seven for the nostalgia. The episode idea was good, the stories were at least unique and didn't have one space marine, and the voice acting was pretty solid. But the writing should have been a priority.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hire these "Freelance Police" officers

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 20, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

Usually the words "point and click" draws up bad memories of short games, tough puzzles, and bland characters. But in this case, not having two out of the three is good.
Sam and Max: Season One gives a lot of content: there are six episodes, each taking about two hours to play though for a total of twelve hours of fun.
These episodes are interlinked, so it's best to play though them in order so the story makes the most sense.
That is, the most sense in Sam and Max way. To solve these puzzles you'll have to think sideways, maybe even upside down (give a guy a cake with ketchup frosting?). If you get stuck, you can Google the answers.
But the thing I like best about this game is that it's hilarious. The writing is spot on, and these two make some great snide remarks and say politically incorrect things.
The supporting cast is also funny. I particularly like the COPS - a group of four outdated machines.
Yes, Sam and Max: Season One is a point and click game, but it's the best I've seen in a long time. Fans of the genre and/or the cartoon show, forget about renting - this one you should buy a copy of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »