Rent Sakura Wars: So Long, My Love for Wii
view large frontback

Sakura Wars: So Long, My Love

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.5

313 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

I loved it but maybe not for everyone

posted by FreeWill24 (WILLIAMSBURG, MI) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love both simulation games and fighting games, so this game was just perfect for me. I liked how your relationships with the people in the game affects how well they fight in the battles
Certain people who like action right away will probably get bored going through the dialogue but I enjoyed the wait and the battles were very tough and required lots of strategy to win!! I hope that company brings more games like that to the us

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic

posted by shiftergs (SAN JACINTO, CA) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a lovely, refreshing game. The dating sim style was interesting, the voice acting was decent, the anime cut-scenes were great, and the combat system was fun.

My only complaint is not ENOUGH fighting, but other than that, great game. Beautiful music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great concept, great fun.. horrendous dubbing.

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Okay, I tried to like this game, I really did--I enjoyed the combat, the story, the involvement in doing simple actions.. and, much to my surprise, I actually liked MOST of the English voice-overs. (Scary, too, that my most-favorite was the often-irritating Laura Bailey, who did a near-perfect job in this game.)

Anyway. The story's fairly average for most of the anime-styled games I've played--hero gets transferred/dropped into an unknown area; usually one with a very interesting theme and varied, colorful characters.. and then things go from there. Often you'll start as the underdog, and... this game is no exception. Recommended by one of the high-ranking officers, you wind up doing grunt-work at the start.

Sounds fun, don't it?

It does get better, and eventually you'll wind up fighting mecha battles, which, for the Wii, are pretty impressive. Not the best graphics, but it does a passable job.

I am a Turn-based Strategy buff--Disgaea is one of the best games of all time, and if you disagree, I don't care, because it so IS--so this game gets a pass from me.

Now then, if you're asking yourself "But it sounds like you really enjoyed the game, so.. why a 4?!"

The best.. and worst part of the game is the... the voices. As I said, some great talent turned out for this game.. and some not-so-great talent.

Firstly, I'm going to say that whoever did the voice of the lawyer, whose name I've already forgotten.. sounded like they were trying not to laugh through all of their lines! And then move on to the villain.. ugh.. bad enough the villain has BUNNY EARS (spoiler!), but to give her an irritating, out-of-character, high-pitched, obnoxious voice..?! WHAT THE [explicative deleted] IS GOING ON HERE?!

Anyway. I recommend you try the game, despite my rating. It's by no stretch of the imagination a bad game.. just the voices.. ugh.. I couldn't tolerate them. Try it, however, if you're under the age of 13-14, you probably won't get the jokes. Now, then..

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible GAME!

posted by tgrujic (HARRISBURG, PA) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

GAMER BEWARE
I sat there for about an hour and a half of clicking BORING/UNINTERSTING text after text after text after text after text...and finally JUST gave up. I can't belive the maker of this game thought this would be a great way to start a game. I would have given it a ZERO if I could.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I don't get it

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Apr 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 22 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

Hello - been playing games since 1980 & I never played anything like this. Tortured myself for 1 hour & never got to any actual game play. Instead I watched, read & listened to a bunch of goofballs babbling on & on about this Japanese kid joining some action hero squad in NYC. Enough about this, take care & rent something else! D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

here gameplay here gameplay were are you gameplay

posted by Darkanine (ARCHDALE, NC) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

to to honest i haven't got to any gameplay just text and text i gave up after like a hour i could not take anymore

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sakura Wars.....

posted by temarifangirl12 (SUMNER, WA) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

it well great they have make Sakura Wars HD Collection set! Like Matel Gear and Davil May Cry. :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awseome

posted by Aleximg2012 (DADE CITY, FL) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

love makeing choices in the game' guys lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good dating sim, Bad rpg.

posted by penguinpaladin (FAIRBORN, OH) Apr 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The opening sequence drops you into 1928 New York as a member of the New York Combat Revue, and you begin to get to know the other members through conversations. The interaction system is very good, the (for the most part) timed conversation choices add a special realism where you have to learn what to say through trial and error. (But there are frequent save points so you can start over if you mess up) However, the other side of this game, the battle system sucks. Its not so bad fighting on the ground, but when you're in flight mode its almost impossible to target a specific thing (especially at the Chapter 4 fight) unless you use a special or joint move. Theres no leveling up system, no items (except pictures) and no money, and the battles take absolutely no skill or strategy to win. So my advice is rent it, if you can get over the lame battle system you will enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An Import Too Late? Sorta...

posted by LordReaver (FARMINGTON HILLS, MI) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Sakura Wars has been one of Sega's Japan-only franchises for a while that has been in the states....until now.

The story is that a relative of the former protagonist, Shinjiro Taiga, is suddenly ported to the N.Y.C., as an recommended soldier.
Upon arriving the Big Apple, he learns about many things, like the New York squad's Broadway masquerade, the reason why they project the city, and his new neighbor, the game's poster girl and hopeless custodian, Gemini.
Unfortunately, he's considered not a real member yet.

This leads to a hour or more of not even seeing the gameplay.
Those who care for story-gameplay segregation if it gets in the play of actually playing the game will want to avoid getting this.
Those who embrace anime tropes and cliches though will likely find the story until you get into a cockpit to be interesting and very interactive.

It also affects your performance as a pilot too.
As your team's performance output depends on how confident you are outside battle, and how you treat the ladies.

As for the gameplay itself, it plays much like a prototype of Valkyria Chronicles, a strategy RPG also made by Sega. While super attacks and special actions use a special meter, all your actions use up action bars.
However super moves, and co-op attacks use only one bar, so proper position and making your attacks kill in one turn becomes the most important thing to do.

The music isn't that memorable, and the theme song gets slightly annoying after a while, but its pleasing to the ears for the most part.

The dub is.....cheesy to say the least, but no one is bad, just corny.

To put it all together, this is a very text-heavy game that works like an interactive anime with plenty of replay value.
There's even has a "Time Off" mode from the start for those who want to interact with the characters freely.

However, those expecting more mecha in the first half will be disappointed and should seek out the Front Mission series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More Combat Please

posted by SuperQBoi (OSHKOSH, WI) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I would of loved to get this game for more than than a days rental but I was sick of going through an hour of story text every chapter just to do 10-15 minutes of battle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »