Rent Saints Row: The Third for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Saints Row: The Third

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

13217 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Strap it on, now.

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Nov 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

152 out of 166 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Let me warn you now, if you want some GTA clone with realistic mechanics, boring story and not so memorable characters then turn around go to your mailbox and take this game back. This game takes realism, crumples it and shoots it out of a man cannon!

Here's my Verdict:

WARNING: NOT FOR KIDS, or people with no sense of humor.

The Good:
Story, sure it isn't a serious story but its very compelling and extremely funny.

Gameplay, you can do ANYTHING, like skydiving into enemy territory and calling an airstrike on gang members while walking around in your birthday suit after getting a gender change.

Music, this is one thing Saints Row has always done right, put in a great mix of music with funny announcers and do it perfectly, but now they added an Adult Swim station, you can listen to Dethklok or Futurama now!

Driving, good news fans, driving is MUCH better now, alot less sliding around on ice, instead theres alot more drifting!

Whored Mode, since competitive multiplayer is absent from this game they added Whored Mode which is Horde mode with a twist, instead of killing the same enemys over and over, you're killing giant prostitutes or mascots or even mexican wrestlers!

Value, you're getting a great long story with an amazing amount of activities that will last you well over 30 hours.

The Meh:

Characters, while most characters are hilarious and well used, others are so annoying like this pimp who speaks in auto tune in EVERY cutscene, ugh very annoying.

Graphics, while it does look way better than Saints Row 2, its not RAGE, but it doesn't have to be, the game is good looking in most areas, some areas not so much, they lack polish and look barren.

Glitches, this game does have them unfortunately, BUT its not game breaking, the most noticable is the traffic pop in, you shouldn't be able to see the traffic instantaneously appear in front of you.

The BAD: Some people will be offended, but remember its SAINTS ROW!

Overall, BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Saints Row the third is a good game! But not great

posted by DigitalGodzilla (KANSAS CITY, MO) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before I stary, rest assure, I really enjoyed this game! I just think there were many issues it could prove upon, for instance, it was WAAAY to easy, and I was playing on the hardest difficulty... And the weapons seemed very limited, and had little to no improvement... The upgrades were very good! But personally went a bit overboard, of course you could always not buy them... The customization was AMAZING! I couldn't get enough! You can take any car or weapon to a chop shop or a gun store and upgrade it for reasonable prices! This game was a good game, but had no replay value what-so-ever except for laughs... It's a good game and I think everyone should give it a try, thank you for your time and I hope you have fun with Saint's Row!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun,Guns,And Zombies?

posted by blackandyellow (FORTUNA, CA) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First of all, this game is amazing,from sky diving to dressing as a big cat or dog, this is very fun.I like to play with my friend online and we have a great time.Lots of vehicles,jets,and helicopters.And you can customize your cars like adding spoilers,preformance,and paint.And now with the part you were wondering about zombies.At a certain part of the game a plane carrying chemicals crashes and wala zombies. However these are not bad they make the game more fun.And finally the guns.There are many guns from AR-55 to Grave Diggers(model 1887).They are fully upgradeable too. Overall i bought this game and i think you should too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by rainer128 (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

For anyone that enjoys many different cars tanks aerial vehicles this is a solid game not to mention if you dont want to do a mission at the time you can do others things from just running from the police,doing side missions,destroying stuff,or just collecting the colllectables, best thing is you can call in help in a mission have a chopper delivered to you or a tank or a car from your garage graphics are solid i have yet to come across a player hampering glitch controls are the same as number 2 if you dont like gang related movies games this is not for you and this is not a good game for kids under 16 very violent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Saints

posted by GreedSama (WESTLAND, MI) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

18 out of 27 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game feel like it take you back when you played for games for fun.They throw you into the game and you can do what ever you want right off the back.There are some things that you have to unlock but other then that mostly everything is already out there for you to play with.There are a lot of new and some returning side missions and jobs like Professor Genki's Super Ethical Reality Climax and also a fan fav Insurance Fraud.

In this game you are free to do what you want don't want to do a side mission then don't do it and go to the one you want to do. YOU don't even have to play the story. You no longer need respect to move on with main storyline, but you still can earn respect in the game as it is used to upgrade you weapons and other items. Respect can be earned by during the side mission/Activities. Also you can create your own main character. You can get a head start on it now by downloading the Saints Row Initiation Station that is out for PSN/XBLA as you wait for your game. Overall Saint Row the third is just game that want you to sit down and enjoy playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty Cool but...

posted by Halo3357 (HUDSON FALLS, NY) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off its got a LOT of things to make this game rated M, from Language to lots of other things.. its got a lot of humor in it and its pretty fun, its like Grand Theft Auto just with better graphics and a good story.

The bads.. i cant give this game no more than a 5 because it REQUIRES A ONLINE PASS...any game that requires a online pass to play with friends deserves half off on game rating because a online pass means i cant play online co-op unless i purchase the code for 10$ so yeah..

Good game just don't agree with the online pass part

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by freakazoid_13 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 19, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I offer a shrug to this game. The tongue and cheek approach to the GTA style is amusing, but the joke wears thin very quickly in to the game, and you realize that aside from the running joke there's no substance. The story line is pretty nonexistent, the characters are shallow caricatures and don't inspire much compassion.
All in all, the game will probably be good fun if you're a big fan of formula car/gun GTA games and not looking for anything particularly ground breaking and don't care much for deep plots and good writing.
On the bright-side, the graphics are nice and the combat system isn't terrible. Driving controls aren't bad either, and I did really like the character customization system, which is pretty cool and unique for a game like this. I think I spent more time in the character customization than actually playing the game.
So yeah, I, an avid fan of RPG's, was not impressed by this title, but that's not to say you shouldn't rent it and try it for yourself and form your own opinion.

-Freak

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same old...

posted by odin666 (SCHERERVILLE, IN) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It is fun to blow stuff up and to customize your characters, but this SR didn't pull through like I thought it should. It could have gone a lot further than it did. The weapons customization was a nice addition, but there could have been more to it. Improvements to the graphics were nice. Everything else was a rehash of the 2nd game and didn't really give me the same pleasure. I was really looking to see some more creativity here, but someone let the ball drop. If you didn't play the previous 2, you will probably enjoy this more than if you did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Review of Saints Row the Third

posted by bereeves72 (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Love the game. So much to do you never can get bored. THQ did well adding a bunch of content.

I give this 9/10. I wanted to give it a 10 but felt that it needed a better mix of music (More 80s stuff for the older folks like me). Also the car and motocycle engine sounds do not match up with the amount of throttle that you apply.

Just cruising with the throttle in mid position the engine constantly revs and gears keep changing. I know this isn't a racing game but driving is a big part of SR3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Awesome. Deserves a 9, but.........

posted by josmith0110 (GROTON, CT) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

ONLINE PASS REQUIRED FOR SYSTEM LINK CO-OP?!!!!!!!

In the past, games like GTA have gotten up their own butts with the realistic shooting, driving, etc. SR3 is a throwback to the time when games were just plain fun and didn't take themselves too serious.

You play as an action hero style gang banger that can go anywhere, shoot anyone, and do just about anything you want. It is a true sandbox game....customization is everywhere, missions are stacked on top of missions, and too make it perfect? The ability to level up weapons and abilities in a slight RPG style. It is simply great!

HOWEVER......

This game is an example of game developers trying to stick it too people who rent games. In order to play THE SYSTEM LINK YOU HAVE TO BUY AN ONLINE PASS. It is a huge slap in the face. Even if you don't plan to go online, you have to pay just to hook into another Xbox via system link, and it is a huge rip off. I am the type of gamer who rents a game via Gamefly, then if I dig it, I shell out the $60+ to own it. I have been burned so many times by paying full price for new games that suck. This online pass is a huge thorn in my side every time I setup a system link game...I am reminded of the 800MS points I shelled out just to play with my wife who is sitting right next to me. It is the reason I give it a 6....the game deserves a 9.5, but the online pass is just too much to get over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun before form

posted by Markus1142 (SOMERVILLE, NJ) Feb 7, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Saints Row: The Third feels like THQ took some of the best concepts from Grand Theft Auto - open world, sandbox, tons of side missions, plenty of shootouts - and turned the knob up to 11, while at the same time replacing the frustrating parts with absurd fun.

A lot of games now follow this concept; Red Dead Redemption, Red Faction, and even Rage offer players large worlds with plenty of quests to keep them busy. But few games allow you to call in UAV missile strikes, dress like a purple rabbit, or clobber enemies with a three foot long... um, "adult novelty toy."

It's not a perfect game, but it does most things very well, and more importantly, it makes sure you're having FUN, whatever it is you feel like doing in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pay to play, are they all gunna do this now?

posted by PricelessATX (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This is game is supposed to have a strong multi-player but you'll never know unless you pay for the online pass. So beware if thats what your renting it for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Saints row 3

posted by armidajuarez (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is so cool. The best saints row ever the game is just outragious. Come on the penetrator

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than GTA 4

posted by soldier13now (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have GTA 4 and I have played it for many hours, but Saints Row is a much more outrageous endeavor. It has lots of adult humor, shooting and foul language so no youngsters should play this game. It has very good graphics day/night. Any car you take to your garage is yours to customize and the upgrades are numerous as well as the character design and upgrades. So good I had to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by Girquaffe (REDDING, CT) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is easily one of my favorite games ever! It's hilarious. Worth renting, definitely worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE GREAT GAME

posted by fumblesthebro (ANSONIA, CT) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Peaple have been saying that this games is stupid becuase every thing is purple in the game but their wrong. I decided to try it out and it is great besides purple cars and saints, this is a game that people would want to keep and play for a long time. So any body who has not played this game or is saying bad things about it but has not played it, needs to try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saints Row 3

posted by jmac251 (MOBILE, AL) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

this game is great...starts out great and plays even better...one problem...no spinning rims (thats the only thing i hate considering i spend most the time customizing my cars)....other than that perfect game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Saints Row Ever

posted by Awesome_Guy (MANHATTAN, KS) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is basically do anything you want when ever you want to except a few things you need to unlock other than that you can slap people with giant purple dildos or using the Apoca fist to blow people up to jumping in cars and the suck it up machine or the Johnny Gat mobile this is in fact the best saints row ever made because saints row 1 was o.k and 2 was horrible and saints row 3 is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game of holiday 2011

posted by wigscrue (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game compared to the first two games is like trying to compare a ninja monkey rockstar from space riding a dinosaur and a rock.
I had extremely high hopes for this sequel after seeing the cg trailer.There is even a super awesome multiplayer which you can also play by yourself.Its the most random funny thing that i cant even explain it. It is exteremly enjoyable.

The weapons are even better than the last game one of my favorites is the adult toy bat.The story is really good.the first 3 missions get you hooked ad you will not be able to put the controller down.

the only down side is that you have to pay for online multipalyer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not very impressed...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

While this is one of the better games for the Xbox - Saints Row seems to have taken a step back and not forward with the title. This game plays sort of like Grand Theft Auto -- Third person shooter with a world to explore in.

You play as the leader of the Saints...
The Saints are now a corporate power, house hold name -- People know who they are and buy their stuff... The Syndicate wants to own half of the Saint's shares but the Saints decide to take the Syndicate's town and business for their-selves.

Small map... Played the game for about two hours... I've seen it all. Its just like playing saints row 2 but there is a few things missing.
I was expecting something more elaborate in this title... Its like playing Saints Row2 but with HD graphics, a ~lil bit~ better driving controls, and a few extra character animations.

There is numerous bugs... I've rear ended a truck and fell in-between a bridge... The sound in the cars is sometimes annoying, making high pitch noises, but if you have the music on you don't notice it... Also sound is not always in synchronization with the automobiles... You can also burn out in cars and the tires stop spinning while burning out. Very limited car detail in car damages. Not very man new vehicles either... Lot of the models seem to just been re-textured or applied new HD color depth to them. Some of the lighting-effects doesn't fit well on the new textures, also. Many bugs!

I was really expecting a lot more expanded game play other than just a few extra textures, animations, and a new map -- That isn't much bigger than still water.

You will also have to purchase the game to play online co-op.. The co-op of Saints Row is known to be very fun. Running around doing the fun minigames is what made Saints Row fun, which makes me wonder why they removed so many minigames.

I wish they would put more time into this. It doesn't seem like it was even half complete. But its good and still fun, just incomplete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game in the world

posted by chek49ers (SANFORD, FL) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

saints row the third is the best game you can get if you dont have it i feel bad for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best saints row

posted by skat3xas (NORTH CANTON, OH) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It is not like GTA it has its own personal story line

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest game since SAN ANDREAS

posted by xmiamihorror (MANTECA, CA) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

despite what people say saints row is and will always be a brilliant game. the third saints row only opens up new possibilities in gaming ingenuity now if only Rockstar would team up with thq we would have the craziest most addictive game of all time

with that said i enjoy the game, a definite buy and worth every penny

Be on the look out for GTA-5 also, SAN ANDREAS LIVES

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just plain disappointing, seriously?

posted by Giraffle (SPRING, TX) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

This game is a huge step down from Saints Row 2, a lot of people still like this game, but to everyone who played and loved Saints Row 2, this is just insulting.

All the characters we love are either dead or just changed beyond recognition (Shaudni and Pierce are polar opposites of what they were in SR2). The clothing customization has been ridiculously reduced, and facial hair just looks painted on.

The story itself felt extremely rushed, with major characters dying very quickly and un-eventfully, and no one even really cares that they die. Along with classic characters being changed and un-likeable, they dont bring any new actually likeable characters in either.

They took out some of the best activities of SR2 (Fuzz, Bodyguard, Septic Avenger), and now almost all of the activities are just boring. Weapon count is severly downgraded, city is dull and smaller, way less shops with almost nothing interesting to customize my characters with, so on so on.

My game was also extremely glitchy, and I can't even beat the game because all the missions im on are glitched beyond repair. It's also really disapointing to find out that Volition has an entire year of DLC planned, which means they basically gave us half of a game and want us to buy the other half over time instead of just giving us a complete game, seriously Volition? I've lost respect for Volition after that.

Overall the game was just...bad, I guess im one of the only people saying it, but after playing Saints Row 2, I felt like Volition really dropped the ball here, and just got lazy. They sacrificed really deep and great story telling (with very well characterized gangs) for wacky action scenes and no likeable characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Shocking...

posted by guccimanefane (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Jan 19, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Wow, this game is a complete joke. Unlike other Saints Row games, this one is a complete mockery of the title. It is completely unrealistic, and not even a game where you play a criminal. After expecting this game to be all gangster like the first saints row, there is not even the slightest hint of seriousness in this game, and I made my decision to return it 5 minutes into playing it. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse