Rent Saints Row: The Third for PS3
view large frontback

Saints Row: The Third

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

7205 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Different

posted by StOmP3r (DENVER, CO) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game is fun im not going to lie but the game went from Gangsta-ish to cartoon-ish and stupid. needs improvement and way more missions and some more serious gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

third game gets a 3 out of 10

posted by thompsonrb_125 (PAYSON, UT) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I understand they are not completely trying to copy grand theft auto anymore but the comparison will always be made. Grand theft auto IV was very detailed graphics were great the way people got shot and ragdolled when hit by your car were very realistc, even the driving itself was realistic. Saits row is selling itself on being the do whatever you want be crazy and wear stupid stuff... now that part(wear stupid stuff) i agree with you can customize your character alot which is cool and the car customization is cool at first but then boring but there wasnt anything to do. I liked customizing the weapons as well but after that the gameplay was terrible driving sucks the city seemed empty and cramped at the same time i didnt feel like i had free reign like i do with grand theft auto. So while they did throw in some good customizations they actual story and gameplay, shooting physics, and driving were just bad because i had GTAIV sitting in my cabinet with its arms folded saying "I told you it was gonna suck."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok.. not a bad rental

posted by Access (IONIA, MI) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

Saints Row 3 seems like it's missing something.. oh yeah, Multiplayer.

It has Co-Op, but I'm not into playing GTA clones split screen. Racing around town in a stolen car while being chased by police and dodging pedestrians is hectic enough.

The Power Up abilities are neat, but some are rather pointless. Since you can pretty much absorb a million bullets before actually dieing. And for some reason, you kill others in-game faster with pistols (then with machine-guns?!)

It's definitely worth renting, but if your looking for something similar to GTA yr prolly gunna have to wait till the developers wake up and realize people like playing with REAL people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Saints Row The Third

posted by DaDonGT (ATLANTA, GA) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I honestly have to say this game in the fun factor was amazing the new outlook the new location and the new set of characters the storyline is solid of course from the first two this game is all around amazing I only have one problem
WHAT IS GOING ON WITH THE ENDING OF THE GAME?!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ITS SAINTS ROW TRICK

posted by DmeshOnPS3 (GARDINER, NY) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

this game is a lot of fun. its open world like GTA4. the graphics arent as realistic as GTA, but the different mini games, weapons, and costumes make up for it. The plot is funny and lewd, which goes a long way. No trophies for playing on hard means you can get the platinum trophy in 30 hours, less if you rush through it. def worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cancel acount

posted by isaias009 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

how do i cancel the account

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

upgrade from GTA

posted by ninja_turtle88 (ENCINO, CA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

This game was really entertaining. I didnt play SR2 but this was a whole lot better than GTA4. From customizing your character anytime through out, to buying property to make income to upgrade. I felt this was a bit like San Andreas with the whole gang affiliation. I loved to get 3 homies n mob it up to take down another rival gang. I made a curvy punk/goth chick with full on tats, n customized my gang with all punk chicks as my gang.
Only knocks would be the slim line of cars, n with all the intricate features from customizing your face to what u wear to upgrading your guns gang abilities cars crib features, YOU COULDNT GAMBLE TO MAKE EXTRA ENDS! A huge huge let down. Nothing more that says curruption than prostitution, drug trafficking, and gambling!
I beat the game and really didnt take interest in buying every property and tat shops to feel like i accomplished the entirety. Again anyone who digs the GTA titles (many of us) a must play. My punk/gothic chick makes Niko look like another target at the end of her .45 Maybe her n Carl Johnson should pair up?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by dnab37 (TREVOR, WI) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I don't know if this a case that many of the newer sandbox games have gotten much better and Saints Row has lagged behind, but this game is almost unplayable. I recall the earlier Saints Row titles had glitches, but I don't recall them being this bad. I don't have a problem with the vulgar humor, but this game is definitely not for kids. The main issues I had were with the controls. I think this game has gotten such a high rating, because of the vulgarity, because the gameplay is horrific. Not worth even a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

meh

posted by AWESOMEX (SALAMANCA, NY) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

It was a very boring game for me i felt they over used the funny category honestly I liked Saints Row 2 better than this. It basically became pointless after the game was beat
thus making it a terrible bore since ther was nothing left to do after the games been beat and another thing is how could they let gat DIE I mean it's gat he was my favorite character and when he died you dont even get to see it? but thats my opinion so the good part was that it had plenty of bright colors it wasnt a dull grey game it had many funny scenes and hard choices to make(not spoiling it) all in all it was a o.k game but it could have been better if they just stuck with the old way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sort of GTA feel

posted by CH1274 (ABINGDON, MD) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Fun game with sort of a GTA feel but with more of a linear storyline. Nothing like a good third person shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is ok

posted by ztm21 (LEXINGTON, KY) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Let me just say that this game is so much more fun if you have someone to play with through online co op because it is more fun to laugh your butt off with someone laughing right there with you! The game is really fun at first with crazy missions and learning the ropes and controls. And i can tell you that at first you will think that this game is the best thing you've played, but then you realize that it is repetitive and boring. However it is still fun to free roam with a friend

Offline:7
Online:9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its good. Keeps you entertained.

posted by Jakemafuka (OELWEIN, IA) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Missions are fun. Shooting and driving is good. I rented it for 2 weeks and pretty much beat everything I wanted too. Its a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short, never tried multi

posted by bobbis1492 (QUINCY, MA) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

GTA Rip off, almost did it right. The weapons were way over the top..

4/5 - didnt try online tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

saints row the third

posted by phatgurl1 (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

All though the game was entertaining,i was a little upset i couldn't play online.The game needed an online pass ,as do other titles ,Is ther anything gamefly can do to help with the game titles that require online game passes?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Still just a gta knock off

posted by TheDarkKnight91 (LIBERTY TWP, OH) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Fun for about an hour. Then the bathroom jokes get old. It's just an open world game trying to be better than gta by making it more over the top and ridiculous. It just feels like their trying to hard to be better than gta. Which they're not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Saints Row: The Third

posted by Blacklight420 (DANVILLE, VA) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

very good game keeps you in it
but short it took me only 27 hours beat and get everything for the game without any cheats
Get this game you will love it
Just don't use any cheats it's no fun makes it to easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome game

posted by nat123nat (SAN MARCOS, CA) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

this is an amazing game a lot more fun then GTA and is really funny and addicting u should definatly rent it but after a while it gets boring and some missions can be frustrating but u can alswis skip them i also really injoyed the free room and do whatever you whant kind of play so an 8 out of 10 :) and whored mode is also lots of fun but then gets boring after a while and there are lots of hottt girls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

In all honesty, rent this game first...

posted by gsreaperwolf72 (INDIAN ORCHARD, MA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

If you've played the first two entries then you should know what to expect from any saints row game, it's never taken itself seriously and in some ways that is a great thing for some of us. But if you're new to the series and are expect in something new aside from weapons and vehicles, there isn't much that's new about this installment .
There's not much explained throughout the story and I am not posting spoilers so rent and see for your self. Typical take on this and that gang, turf wars and a few new side missions.
The game felt really short and only took less than 4 days to finish and this is coming from someone who barely gets play time due to my hectic work schedule. I was really disappointed, DLC so far is okay but don't expect much in the DLC department. A few new guns, costumes and season pass fof future DLC which we have no information on yet. I highly recommend this title as a rental, I could not recommend anyone to spend $59.00+ dollars on this. Vehicle customization remains the same in many ways, new activites? There's not many and the difficulty is lame, you unlock most of the devastating weapons off the get go and they're very easy to upgrade, it did not give me a sense of satisfaction for achieving anything big when I got unlimited air strikes and things of that nature. Even after purchasing all the current DLC I have no reason to get back into the game.
I'm being honest as a fan of the first two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Saints Row The Third

posted by Riater (TRIANGLE, VA) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

They could have spent alot more time making this game, graphics are not as smooth as they could have been, im giving it a low rating because i think it could have gone better..? However the game is pretty funny, and you will get some humor out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok..

posted by yoda386 (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

So i rented it, its fun, but its not amazing. The graphics are great, but I can't get over how huge and inaccurate the weapons are, and the amount of damage could be bumped up, just saying. The driving, picture perfect. Couldn't ask for more. Its a good game, but it could be better, whored mode is also extremely fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not as good as people say

posted by turk25441 (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

this game compaired to sr 2 is a huge step back but people say this game is good ? weak story weak strange controls. gunshots sound and car engines sound pitiful ... they have dlc invcible pack to make a quick buck which is a sad excuse for a game that supposed to be fun .this game is bland and boring to me buy sr2 its better imo.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

:(

posted by lobster456 (MOUNT VERNON, KY) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

did not recive game only ricved one did not et this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This Game should of came with Utters...

posted by Ngo (DREXEL HILL, PA) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I say this because your going to be milked for the next 40 weeks
I didn't pay mind into the whole 40 weeks of DLC but all the DLC that has been released or even announced are things that should of been in the game in the first place

Originally I was going to purchase this but after they released the Initiation Station ...I thought "maybe this isn't going to be as good as SR2"
sadly I was right

The story was too much nonsense and no actual substance. I didn't understand any of it to be honest. All I understood was they killed Johnny (which sucked) and then the Saint's wanted to take over the city. the rest was just nonsense and blah

The way the missions were set up were the worst part for me. All the missions were pretty linear with nearly no freedom, unlike choosing which gang to take down, they all were one gang, and the most horrible thing was they incorporated side missions into the main story so you had to do them which made the story feel like it was treading water and the endings don't feel as gratifying as killing off a gang

The customization is good but also gutted at the same time
as many have stated they removed layers which sucks
but also you can't make someone morbidly obese or emaciated and the texture for the old skin is just disgusting
I liked to use an old skinny asian lady but...the skin is too gross. I do like the large amount of skintones you can choose though

One thing i personally don't like is the zombie cheat because SPOILER an entire area turns into a zombie world so its really pointless

I can't say I didn't enjoy the game though, I did have fun for the a few hours but I played children's games that had better stories

If you don't understand why I gave this a 5 suggested you rent Saint's Row 2 and you'll understand

I'd rather wait 40 more weeks for a full game
then be milked for 40 weeks and purchase a game that feels really unfinished

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but not GOTY

posted by CagedNeon (ELK GROVE, CA) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

but this is a very fun game, very wacky very mature, its just artwork. but like artwork there can be flaws, 1 thing, halfway into the game i felt as if volition threw the rest of the story at us just to kill time which was very uncool, another thing and probably the most important.....THEY KILLED GAT! WHY OH WHY WOULD THEY DO THAT! overall though this is really fun, no where near trying to copy GTA as fanboys say they are but in all honesty....i wanna go back to stilwater and be ACTUAL gangbangers in 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i give the game an 8.1

posted by illmadness10 (BRONX, NY) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

this game is fun and cool but short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse