Rent Saints Row: The Third for PS3
view large frontback

Saints Row: The Third

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

7260 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It sucks like crazy you cant do what ever you want

posted by saints12345 (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

like sanits row 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

JG reviews saints row 3

posted by battlemage (PLEASANT GROVE, AL) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

ahem i got saints row about a week back to me saints row as always been a knock of of the grand theft auto series i havent played the 1st i hated the second but oddly i loved the thrid to cool thing about saints the thrid is that well you cant take it serious which thats the fun off it you get the feeling that some of the most out of nowhere stuff could happen the game starts with a bank heist aand after that you create your charcter to your liking may it be a girl a guy a clown a fattie or a full blown muscled out charcter even their voice the game is far better then the last one i played iaint giving any spoliers but what i am going tell you if you wanrt a game thats fun you customize preety much everything and you like the whole build back a criminal empire guidelines youll love it i enjoyed this game more then i thought i would i give this game a 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Daddy_OG (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

People were complaining about the language, but it's basically like an R-rated movie. The graphics are solid THQ style, with some tweeking from the previous version, kinda limited on the customization, tho, decent soundtrack, and the story is a bit ridiculous, outrageous, and far-fetched, but not hard to follow, as some reviewers have said. All in all, pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than Expected

posted by CrisPBacon (CARSON CITY, NV) May 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

I want to give this game a 7.5, but I rounded up to an 8. I was pleasantly surprised with this game. It has a few annoying glitches but overall they don't hinder the experience. This is definitely an M rated game, so if you're looking for real mature content then Saints Row has it.

Everything is fun in Steelport. The shooting isn't too technical and a total blast once you upgrade weapons. The cars all handle well and are easy to drive. The humor in the game is strengthened by excellent voice acting, although this does depend on what character you choose.

The only downsides were the lack of auto-races, and the seemingly short campaign. I was really hoping for a longer game. It has two endings, which are both very different from one another.

It's a good game, well worth a rental if not full purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

jake

posted by Saint67 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) May 17, 2012

Member since May 2012

good game its fun funny cool and i think its better then gta but its a great game get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Saints Row The Third

posted by DUBSTEP29 (CARSON, CA) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

Haha its so funny when ur taking the dude somewhere and the song comes on and they start singing!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game! Not GTA good ... but still good!

posted by ScottieB (RALEIGH, NC) May 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

Could use a bit more interaction with the people on the streets! Maybe a bit more raunch next time! You cant even go inside a strip club! Cars are kinda lame ... unless you steal a tank! I do like that your character can swim! Its no GTA .... but they are trying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Solvishana (MIAMI, FL) May 12, 2012

Member since May 2012

i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the guiltiest pleasures this generation

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) May 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

Do you remember the first time you played or saw Grand Theft Auto III? The sheer pleasure that abounded from the innovative and fun game play? Fast forward a few sequels, and the innovation, fun, and irreverence take the back seat attempts at upholding the status quo, while providing a serious story. GTA has lost it's place of uniqueness. This is where Saints Row The Third comes in to fill the hole even better than GTA ever could.

Previous iterations of Saint Row were pretty much GTA knock-offs. This one takes the over the top attitude most of us love, and then ratchet it up to 32 (on a scale of 1 to 10). The side missions range from acting like a rag doll to get hit by passing vehicles for insurance fraud to killing people in mascot suits. You can make use of bats with male phallic attachments that is just too funny. The annoying things in GTA (such as the RPG elements) don't make it over to Saints Row. Things that are fun at first in GTA but get too frustrating (think of package drops or pigeons) are done with humor, and will show up on your map if you want to prevent the frustration.

So why is it "almost" and only a 9 in my book? Well, two points: first the story isn't as cohesive as it could be. The fact that this picks up the story after Saints Row 2, but there is no good attempt at telling the back story is a little lacking in today's world of "previously on..." while the game loads onto your hard drive. Second, the DLC packs are a little lacking, if you pick them up (yeah, they're beyond the scope of this disk, but it's worth pointing out). Genki Bowl is just like the side missions, so you'll know what to expect there after a bit of playing. Gangstas From Space is good fun, but not quite worth the asking price. The Problem with Clones, well the real problem is the DLC itself...

With everything else said, this is a guilty pleasure you need to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME DOES NOT WORK

posted by BiggDaddyCJ (DEER PARK, TX) May 7, 2012

Member since May 2012

GAME DOES NOT WORK !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

saints row the third

posted by gamer12345678ya (FORT COLLINS, CO) May 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

saints row third is a fun game en tell you finish unless you have the multiplayer pass and even multiplayer gets boring after a while

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE ENDING

posted by death574 (TUJUNGA, CA) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The ending has two choose's to do i want i choose the team playa Shaundi because she is part of the team

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Saints row the third

posted by bigrock2 (CENTRALIA, WA) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

i played this game on my ps3 i played with my friend its AWESOME try it for yourself add me PSYCOZOMBKILLER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

u nee to play it

posted by countryboy12345 (WOODSBORO, MD) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

the game is so fun who doesnt like shooting gang menbers and getting away with it lol but everything in this game has something better to give u then sr2 or its better then sr2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ez Money

posted by Gamer614Freak (COLUMBUS, OH) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saints Row 3

posted by Garyfromulsa (TULSA, OK) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

An absolute hilarious blast. The most fun Iv'e had since GTA. Could be a ten but have noticed a few bugs but in such a massive open environment that is to be expected. I just clicked on Keep. This is definitely an owner that I wouldn't mind playing multiple times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by junkmonkey (HAMILTON, TX) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game is amazing haven't had much time on it, but it hooks you right from the beginning. Saints Row is always a fun game to play. This addition to the series has not been a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Poor Man's GRAND THEFT AUTO

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

While waiting for GTA V to arrive in the summertime (maybe?) you can "kill" time with this game which is basically the same genre of game with some extra stuff thrown in, it has alot of extra things to do as well as 50 missions and tons of activities. Multiplayer is a total letdown but there are a few DLC modes that are worth the price. About a 25 hour game if you play all the missions to the last one, meaning it is well worth a rent and maybe a buy if you are really a die-hard GTA fan!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tales of the Glitch Monkey

posted by BigDaddyBane (LA GRANGE, NC) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

Being a fan of SR2 I thought this would be more of the same kind of fun. However, a poor story, major flaws in activities and major glitches hurt most of the fun to be had in this game.

First, let me say once I unlocked "God Mode" this game got much more fun. I didn't use cheats. It was an upgrade unlocked by reaching the highest rank. That said, I finished the story at level 40 of 50. So, I had to grind out another 10 levels to get the good stuff. Some of the side missions have the same name but are two different activities. Occasionally, you will drive into an invisible object, your vehicle/character will be thrown into the air for no reason, your vehicle will sink into the map, the vehicle will explode for no reason, side missions don't end (meaning you accomplish what is needed but you can't leave the area and don't get credit for completing it), vehicles will spawn right in front of you and enemies show up out of nowhere. I got 96% of the trophies before quitting. The trophy that made me quit was the vehicle thefts. It used to be steal a car bring it to a shop. Now, it's get a specific car and drive/fly across the map with tanks and helicopters shooting at you. I got 1/3 of the cars before I got tired of going to an area looking for 10 minutes for the vehicle, driving for 5 minutes, get 2 feet from where I am supposed to deliver the vehicle and have it destroyed. You can't take cars from your garage that are of the same model, it has to be the car identified. Real annoying. They still have the nude censor, which is awful considering getting the pasties makes girls look topless. Friendly AI are constantly shooting the thing you are supposed to protect. And the endings are like InFAMOUS 2...as they are completely different and it's impossible to do a direct sequel without righting this one off.

Overall, this title felt like it needed another 6 months in QA. Instead, they rushed it for the holiday season. Too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Saints Row The Third

posted by MrStarChat (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

This game is very modern and very worth a play it was was a great squeal for THQ and if your a fan of The Purple gang of the Saints you will be impressed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Amazing

posted by Nightsider (ANAHEIM, CA) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

If you like GTA even a little, then you'll LOVE Saints Row the Third. This game is by far the most engrossing "sandbox" game to date. There's literally a little bit of everything in this game.

HIGHLY Recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Is 3 too much?

posted by DameonVerchetti (VALLEJO, CA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Well let me start by saying what a huge fan I am of the Saints series, having gone through the first two games across both consoles, this was a game I was looking forward too... But there are some real concise issues I have here.
First, I feel the story was just a little too silly, I mean from both the opening mission until the very end, (keep in mind I didn't get both endings), I felt that this game just couldn't be taken as seriously as the first two, with the exception of Johnny dieing of course. He was quite possibly my favorite character and he went out with a bang.
Going onto the side missions, they remained pretty substandard for the Saints series, with the exception of Professor Genki's Super Ethical Reality Climax (S.E.R.C.), which was actually pretty enjoyable for the short amount of time I needed to play it, but it was a good challenge that had just the right amount of difficulty.
Moving on to the villains, it seems as though they were all over the place this game. The way you beat killbane just seemed over the top for me, and the fact that he was the boss of the final mission (if you could even call it that) left a lot to be desired. That being said, I did enjoy the addition of the brutes: they added a much needed level of difficulty and creativity to the game, but on that same coin, the addition of you being able to drive a tank just made the game waaaaay to easy.
Last, I'll just cover briefly on the music. For fans of rap and hip-hop, this game pretty much caters to them, and even the talk shows felt bland and lifeless, leaving me to keep the radio on the classical station just because the peaceful music felt like the perfect clash against everything that was going on around me.
Overall I would give Saints Row the Third a 65 out of 100, a solid game, but between the music and the story, I feel that the second one is definitely better, but it's at least worth checking out if your a Saints fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Missed the Point

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) Apr 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

SR3 missed the point why the first two were so good. You are a nobody who has to work your way up from nothing. People like that story, people like playing that character though we've played it in a hundred other games. The idea that you start this game as a world famous "celebrity" gangster makes the whole tone wrong. At the start of the game, you are pretty much Superman, you can drive through town destroying and killing with almost no consequences. The missions and attitude are over-the-top from the start. In other games of this type you have to be careful when you start. You have to work your way up before you even get your hands on a gun. There are milestones and a feeling of progression. SR3 starts where other games usually end. I played for a few hours then lost interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

depends on your taste

posted by LittleWiseGuy (COSTA MESA, CA) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

to me this game was garbage,i am a big fan of the original cause it was the most realistic and gangster ,sr2 was ok but less gangster and realistic ,the 3rd was just ridiculous..if your a fan of realistic gta IV and gangster games than it aint for you,but if you like to have unrealistic fun causing mayhem or just doing crazy things than this deserves a chance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saints Row: Third

posted by JonZim72 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

Excellent...Didn't disappoint. Wish I could disable nitrous when driving. Joystick is sensitive. Thats it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse