Rent Saints Row: The Third for PS3
view large frontback

Saints Row: The Third

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

7205 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Definite MUST Have!

posted by XandeR488 (LANCASTER, CA) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In my personal opinion this game was nothing short of simply brilliant. Storyline was entertaining. Graphics were extremely good. Plain and simple it was a true pleasure to play. I was hooked playing it till 2 - 4:00 am each day I had it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Endless Fun

posted by daserex (STEVENSVILLE, MI) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just hours upon hours of endless fun. A must have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crazy fun!

posted by Emeraldus (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

How can a game go wrong when one of the melee weapons is a giant purple you-know-what? Lots of stuff to be done, between missions and side missions, and with the extensive character customization, you can be a different person each replay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

saints row the third

posted by BiFfZoId58 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Best In The Series, Good Controls, Good Graphics, My Only Complaint Is The Leveling Up Only Goes To 50

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome but some flaws

posted by Jnewsome (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awsome and very addicting but it has way to many glitches in it. need alittle more vehicles and another thing i didnt like about this game was the 10$ fee to play online but other than that perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by GirlonGaming (DENTON, MD) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 21 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I REALLY LOVED IT. It was fun jumping off the buildings and going skydiving. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Will the real GTA please stand up?

posted by boredatwrk (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game as I enjoy the genre and have enjoyed every GTA released, but right now I think even chinatown wars has this game beat.

Have you ever thought while playing GTA "you know.. if this game had endless waves of 2 character models, i'd be GOLDEN!" Well I guess you're a fan of THQ. I'm not. Guess I should have brought that into account. That, and other titles to my queue.

This game is just stupid.. it's an exact clone of GTA without the depth, humor or anything that would grant you an effortless grin. I laughed once in several hours and that was during a cutscene. The driving controls are distractingly bad. The banter/dialogue in moving vehicles isn't funny. You're given a ton of hp.. so much that it's actually a bar then followed by a red screen. Yeah both. Sadly Deus Ex this is not.

Really well done games are those that while playing, you forget you're playing. I felt every second of this game as i was constantly going "the heck?" in dissapointment. One such example is EVERY fight you get into on the street, will involve the police showing up in a helicopter to snipe you. Just you. Not the 27 other people creating WWIII in the Cheveron parking lot. Just you. It's almost as if the police force is on the gang's side as well.. it's rediculous. How little sense this made just became maddening for me.

Not to mention that one of TWO character models that shows up in infinitely identical vehicles basically looks like a stripper. I guess this would work if they didn't arrive by the dozens. I think I would have preferred a rival gang of half lizard people. And least that would have been creative.

I get that this game is going for 'wacky' but it just came off as lame and uninspired. Oh and the collectables have giant arrows pointing down at them FROM THE SKY!!!
4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Eagles_lover101 (REIDSVILLE, NC) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 19 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

This game has everything a game could need!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible game

posted by grlfriend2008 (GRIDLEY, CA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

if u were going to expect this game like sr2 your mistaken this game i thought was a terrible game and my saints row 2 is still the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is horrible

posted by MUDI (DALLAS, TX) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Ok I have seen the commercials, and it looked pretty cool from what I saw. I rented it and "thank god I did". This game is over the top re-diculous with no direction what so ever. Ok I get it, it's an action game... The game plays like a drunk clown. The intelligence of the game is dumb down to "bathroom jokes" that get old after 5 minutes of the game. The story line is "STUPID". The character modeling is fun but not enough to save this game. I mean really I just pushed buttons and moved the stick around and got through 5 levels without even trying. About the best thing I like was the Whored mode, and beating people with rubber dildoes. Honestly this lasted a mere 3 minutes and I was like this SUCKS! The graphics to me are horrible, game play is bland, and over all it's not worth 59.00 dollars paying that is about as stupid as this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by boomerboi (DALLAS, TX) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 19 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

dont like at all its a boaring version of grand theft

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Funnest Saints Row Game Yet

posted by CoryCosta (WARREN, RI) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

There's a lot to do in this game, and all of the missions are action packed from the start. I have fun buying property, and making money to spend on my character. Everything is customizable and the selections are good. This is the most fun you'll have since GTA4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Saints Row: The Lesser

posted by chimptor (SHREVEPORT, LA) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What can I say about Saints Row: The Third? It was interesting and funny at first, then it was also very foul mouthed and, worst of all, broke the cardinal sin of gaming, IT'S BORING!!!! There are only so many guys I can shoot, beat up, run over, blow up etc. before it becomes tedious! The game is simply a non thrill ride, it's more of a thrill walk. The game controls are hinky at best and frustrating at worst. The storyline, what there is of it, is a hogpoge of genres in search of a cohesive storyline which fails miserably!! I don't recommend you rent and certainly DON'T BUY!! The last game I played that was a blast to play in this genre was Infamous 2!!! Now that was a great game! JMHO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really?

posted by Pand3m1x (DENVER, CO) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I don't see how this game is getting such a high rating. I never played SR before, but someone suggested it once I said I was a huge Rockstar fan. Not only the GTA games but Red Dead and Bully. Difference between over the top and so over the top it lands completely outside of of the box and not in a good way.

I liked the start of the game, it came off as different then the GTA games. However it soon became this bland and a boring kind of game. I like freedom in my games, still like some sort of direction. I feel like as a crime boss, which you aren't in the GTA games, you would get a different feel. But the gang members were hella weak and you got no interaction. No managing money.I wish for a game to have so much possible customization that you can pick character paths. I didn't like the over the top bad guy...I don't want to be this good guy but I would've preferred making different choices along the games path., not just when getting cool gear.

Next is the graphics, just okay but not top quality for a ps3 game.

Controls were really iffy, sometimes they would be smooth for the moment and then other times they were really bad. Like the driving. There were some activities that felt lame for the story plot.

The bathroom jokes like a few reviewers said were just bad, though I was impressed by some of the intelligent remarks made by the companions. It was still weak compared to the bad dialogue that didn't feel realistic. I also wanted to interact with other characters outside of the missions.

My least favorite part was what didn't feel like they belonged in the game. The cyber world, which was cool felt out of place as well as the Zombie, which is where I stopped because I don't like Zombie games where they don't need to be.

The one thing that got GTA beat was the cellphone, I have a bad tv and so the large cellphone was readable. The cellphone would be one of my favorite parts. Less filler and more good content would make this game better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun

posted by BobCasino (LYNN HAVEN, FL) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetative and Boring

posted by gannawaylaw (TULSA, OK) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you have played GTA, then you have already played a better version of this game. The car controls are weak, the quests and missions bland, the customization options are not enticing enough to keep playing, and cut scenes that are cheesy and poorly written make this game a dud. The language, violence and crude behavior provide for a few chuckles along the way but definitely not worth the time investment that this game demands.

Bottom Line: I do not recommend this title. It becomes redundant and boring after just a few hours of gameplay. The story line is played out and not interesting. The graphics are very rudimentary and unexciting. You will spend your time grinding for money and achievements that net a ho-hum reward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game fly is trying ta rip me off

posted by zolo33 (indianapolis, IN) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i bought this & got a confirm letter stating i have bought it & they still talking about keep like i got ta buy it again WAT THE hek

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Three strikes your out!

posted by red_star_nation (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You know when a game starts to not make sense is when you should stop making that title. The saints row series should have ended with saints row 1. Space aliens and jacking into computers like the Matrix is just dumb. Its not realistic at all and the missions could have been thought of by a 12 year old kid who watched the matrix 60 time and played grand theft auto all day. Game was a BIG FAIl

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN

posted by mike1976 (BUFFALO, NY) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The activates where the only problem with this game that i had. And that jonny gat died, it should have been pierce that died because he sucks and i'm pretty sure that any one that has played this can will agree with me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, but without competitive multiplayer, limited

posted by dtigertron (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

There are 2 reasons why I didn't keep this game.

1. No competitive multiplayer. You get to use more than one weapon, and even several vehicles. In the end, any game with out multiplayer gets boring for me.

2. Not enough customization in the rules. I would like more control over how much damage a bullet, or gun type, does if I am playing offline.

The game was a blast, but I am over it at this point. I had fun for a couple weeks though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Didn't play it hope it's good

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think the second was amazing now knowing your famous and rich gang makes it even better with jets, and other new things i think it will be the bomb of the 2011 game era.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Out GTA's my (exploitive deleted)

posted by Assy (MENOMONIE, WI) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok first off I'm real sick of the commercials where they say out GTA's GTA, might be true if Rockstar couldn't figure out how to out do San Andreas but they did and now GTA and Saints Row are nothing alike besides being open-world. Now for the game, the single player story was pretty good, I wouldn't know about the co-op because you have to buy that if you rent it and it ain't some 2 or 3 dollar buy, weak. So the story had a few memorable moments but the thing I will remember it how the games enemies spawing and glitchs cheated me to death. Like I was in the Reality Climax activity and 3 brutes are blocking my path, kill one and another shows up to take its place, repeat, I physically couldn't make it past and had to retry. That wasn't that bad but now this is what ruined some of Saints Row 3, I would be doing the escort activity and it would say kill that guy, I obliterated him but the game didn't say I did and I look back, the guy I'm suppose to kill is now invisible and I can't progress the activity, restart. Now I need to powerslide for 1 sec, ok easy, I do it once, nothing, again...nothing...and again nothing. I'm getting respect for powersliding and I was going over 1 sec but the game wouldn't let it pass. My final complaint is that the game felt shorter than Saints Row 2. I'm at 91% at 25:47 in The Third, now for 2 I'm 44% at 17:49. I think the quality slip at THQ should make them change their name to W T F.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG Amazing

posted by sirspeedy2 (HIGH POINT, NC) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was such a blast. I've played and beaten all three games, the first on xbox, the second on xbox and ps3, and this one for ps3. The game play is insane and all of the missions are totally out there and unbelievable. Having to drive a car with a tiger riding shotgun was insanely awesome and I enjoyed being able to pick my fate at the end of the acts. Very fun, very insane, very OUTSTANDING. 10 stars baby!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dissapointed

posted by tuna4192 (TROY, PA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 24 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

i don't know what about this game i dont like but i only did 2 missions and free roamed lke an hour before i was over it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad but its nooo perfect 10 score

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Nov 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

5 out of 19 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

Never was a big big fan of the saints games. Game always looked cheap just the feel of the game comes off cheap. Looks like a late ps2 game. Like the car i am driving has noo motor sound plus the driving still feels cheap. Way to much blood when you are fighting hand Combat blood all over looks like tossed on Tomato soup. horde Mode gets boring fast. Noo way is this game worth 59.99- 29.99 at best. Great Rent Game. Hey everyone here is giving it 10 scores perfect so i am balancing the score out. Its worth playing noo darn golden award game sorry'' thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse