Rent Saints Row: The Third for PS3
view large frontback

Saints Row: The Third

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.2

7270 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good stuff

posted by calidreamz (PATERSON, NJ) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

At first I wasn't too interested in the game, but the storyline just draws you in! The missions are fun and really creative.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

shocked that it was this good!

posted by bigkidforgames (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

in the beginning when you first start to play this game it seems like the same old saints game knock off of GTA but the more you get into this game...without trying to give things away the sheer genius of the game makers beings to come out...all im telling you is wait for the zombie attack!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GTA all over again

posted by Nrs418 (AURORA, CO) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Saints row the 3rd, I would have to say is just like GTA without Nico Belik, dont get me wrong, this is a fun game but its not very original. It has the same format as GTA just a different story and some tweaks. The one thing it does have are some surprising moments and dialoge. If you have children dont play this with them around!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Saint's Row: The Third Time's the Charm

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Nov 17, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

FUN.

An absolute blast. I had no interest in the first game. I tried the second game, played for a while but there was a moment in the middle of the game where I literally stopped, ejected the game and never played it again.

This time, I can't put it down. It's so much fun. The game runs super smooth, the graphics are great, the character customization is top notch and the missions are well thought out and fun, over the top and creative.
Don't take this game seriously and you will love it.

The series has finally broken away from a mediocre GTA clone into a unique experience that is rewarding and addicting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big let down...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 23, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

If you are hoping for Saints Row2--you are better off renting Saints row2. This is a game that already shows you its worth in the advertisements.
Playing as a third person shooter, like GTA -- A modern open world shooter to explore in.

You play as the leader of the Saints...
The Saints have made it big and they're now a corporation that is well known by everyone... They are a big name and celebrity. Another corporation doesn't like the saints revenue--known as the Syndicate--so they are going to try and kill the Saints and take their buisness. The Saints instead take the fight to them and take over their small town.

Small Map. Its like Saints Row2's StillWater but the map has been rearranged and textured a little bit differently.
The animation isn't much different the characters jump different and melee different. The Character models are a little bit more detailed. However, there is numerous of things taken out... A lot of side missions have been removed. No more hot fuzz, bodyguard, taxi, ambulance, police side missions, etc.... A lot of the customizations have been removed. A lot fewer clothes places and only a few new rims for vehicles(All of the OLD customizations are still avaliable, not modified in any way--CHEAP!)

I'm not sure why they would have done the game like this, especially when people loved to just grab a controller... Be a cop that looks like a ninja and go around shooting people. Thats what they advertised with, mainly... The developers said the focused on customization and minigames, but they removed all of them, but then added a way to change your character's appeal?? I don't get it.
They even make the weapons weaker to slow you down in the game... Takes about 4 headshots to kill a AI.

You can beat the entire game in 4 days--having seen the entire game... Minigames and all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Saints Row

posted by raulg (SEALY, TX) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it is a good game i can not believe this game is so cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a Rent but Not Much Else

posted by C00lstorybr0 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) May 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After playing through this game twice during my rental, I can safely say I saw everything the game had to offer. The Third isn't a bad game, per se, but compared to Saint's Row 2 (SR2) this one was lacking. It's a great example of style over substance. There are a lot of "Holy #$%!" moments in the game, but once you've experienced them there's not much else to brag about.

Some activities were mildly entertaining ("Mayhem" & "Fraud") while others were completely annoying ("Escort" & "Guardian Angel"). But all of them became monotonous after a while. Same with the core gameplay: Run around, kill people, duck into a store to lose your notoriety, repeat.

There is a decent amount of customization offered in the game throughout different stores, but it still pales in comparison to what SR2 offered. Money was never a problem because you could buy buildings/businesses regardless if you owned the hood it was in or not. In SR2 you had to own the hood BEFORE you could buy anything. The game also felt incredibly easy, and once you maxed your level to fifty you could buy perks that essentially turned on "God-mode" and made you immune to any and all damage nullifying any vestiges of a "challenge."

The story of the game (not to mention the majority of characters) is completely forgettable, even with the likes of Hulk Hogan and Burt Reynolds lending their voices to a couple of characters. Reynolds' character only shows up for one cut-scene and then you never interact with him again. I wonder how much that cost THQ? The only character I got a kick out of (initially) was the pimp, Zimos, and his staff replete with an auto-tuned mic. After my second play-through...not so much.

I can appreciate what THQ was attempting with this game, but compared to the other two (specifically SR2), this game falls remarkably and noticeably short in every aspect. It's great for a rent over the weekend and a relatively easy platinum, but that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heaven

posted by lucareview (BUFFALO, NY) May 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

concept: a third game of saints rows and its best chapter
ever.
Graphics: Better than perfect is a fact about this game
sound: the sound is great and the soundtrack is catchy
playablility:perfect and good
fun:awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very cartoonish

posted by shadow_ofa_king (HAZLETON, PA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was a pretty kool game but gets boring and childish after a couple of hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Blah

posted by Jincqx (CHESHIRE, CT) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I remember these games used to tell a story. Well the story in this game is sub par. Along with the toy guns and cartoon like characters, I felt like I was playing a ghetto version of Sonic the Hedgehog. I'm sure some people will enjoy it, but it's definitely not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Saints

posted by Cool100 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so sick in many different ways so much stuff to do in it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SR3 - The goods

posted by dcyflo (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game. As a diehard GTA fan, I have to say these guys nailed sandbox with this title. Easy, fun, worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

saints row better then firsrt 2 by far

posted by jokenhatchet (LAKEWOOD, CO) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is fun got alot of things to do also the dlc is worth buying had most fun playing dlc more then game itself the genki bowl is worth the money and i highly recomend this i wish i would bought this game because there more dlc in the future so looks like illl have to either buy a copy or just rent it a 2nd time to finish new dlc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

im not a fan of gta

posted by prettiegrl (BEACON, NY) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i have never played the first two because i was told it was just like gta this game is a lot more fun than gta but its basicallly the same game. except the missions so far have been a lot more exciting almost like uncharted. the voices they have for the chararters are good. graphics are top notch and the story is unwrapping nicely seems like there is a lot of fun side mission too overall very fun game. definetly worth checking out even if you hate gta

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by rossvillafarra1 (KENNER, LA) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved it! So much fun, lots of cheats and awesome costumes. The story-line is great and also are the characters. THUMBS UP!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by peanutrocks1392 (SOUTH RYEGATE, VT) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

just better i beat the game in 4 day and i still love 2 play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Enigmatik_Khaos (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game itself is addictive. I also love how you can buy properties to have income for when you are not completing missions. The only drawback is the limitations on the voice patterns. Maybe there should be a addon where you can make your own voice or at least be able to choose from more than 3 voices. This type of game makes me wonder what Rockstar will have in store with GTA because this one is making me feel like Niko is just a guy who owned that smoke shop who always say's "Hey buddy!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very good game!

posted by Soreali (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Love full of Action! You'll never know what will happen next!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wacky and Wonderful

posted by g0alpost1 (SCHAUMBURG, IL) Jan 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Takes what you loved from the GTA series and makes it lovable again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crazy over-the-top sandbox awesomeness

posted by spacedout33 (YUCAIPA, CA) Jan 8, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Everything that you miss from the old GTA games is placed straight into this game. Though sometimes it goes way overboard on the craziness it is hard not to have fun with this game. With epic set pieces and crazy characters this game will definetly be fun and have you begging for more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gotta Love it

posted by Solstiere (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's such an odd game that it's infectious. They really took word from the gamers on what worked and what didnt from the first two games and honed in on it. I really did like how abruptly the game ends (not spoiling it) but the gameplay and story otherwise was one that actually made sense and wasnt quite so linear. Great game overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

so much fun

posted by thevickfan919 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

so much like gta but BETTER sr3 is a much have game if u like skyrim and roaming around and HAVING FUN this is the game 4 u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Awesome!

posted by Dreamis (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would give this game a 10 or even higher somehow lol....BUT.....they disappointed me here.

In saints row 2 you could play online with friends and do watever u liked FOR FREE! but in this third edition you have to pay for online play pass and nomatter how good a game is, i refuse to pay twice.

other than that ths game has everything u could think of from char customization,clothes, to cars and even the game world map is always a surprise, not a Dull moment in this game here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game A+

posted by ericcheek (GAINESVILLE, FL) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Third installment of the Saints Row franchise DELIVERS!!! In the vein of GTA this open world run and gun game offers something for everybody. Racing,Shooting,Mini-games, Collectibles, and even a reality game show complete with hilarious commentary.
I personally don't think you can go wrong with a game that rewards you for nut-shots! EDC PSNID: eric_cheek

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good

posted by Dajokejoke (APPLETON, WI) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pretty good game overall.... liike the new features like takedowns and new way of getting in your car... like the new shooting/hitting buttons...new story/player creator is more creative!!!

Didnt like: Nothing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse