Rent Saints Row IV for PS3
view large frontback

Saints Row IV

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

814 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Some of the most fun I've had all year

posted by thegreatnivek (MILFORD, MA) Sep 16, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You know what to expect when playing Saints Row, but my goodness this one really just blew me away with how fun it is. They really just give you that overpowered feeling early on and pretty much tell you "ok go crazy!". I have been playing this game for 2 weeks now and still enjoying it like crazy.

Yes some missions start to get repetitive BUT it's right as they start to feel that way that you are done with them and get awesome rewards from them. It will be tough playing GTAV without being able to use my super powers like SR4!! I would recommend this game to anyone who likes to just have fun with a game because this one is an absolute blast! Rent or buy, enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but overly familiar

posted by gamer1997 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I bought this game knowing it was basically Saints Row 3.5, but still absolutley love it. If you're a saints row fan like me then this is definatelty worth a rent or even a buy. If youre new though, then start with Saints Row the third then try this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could have been so much better!!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off I liked the game I gave it a 8/10 but it could have been so much better, I loved the fact you have super powers and you're fighting aliens, another thing that's awesome about it is it's a fairly easy platinum the hardest trophies are completing all the challenges then there's one where you have to play for 40 hours but you can just sit your controller down go to work or sleep and you'll get it, all that aside I hate to say it but it feels like a hurried expansion for SR the Third, although you will have fun playing and get a few laughs you can't help to think about what could have been, I would suggest you renting this and not buying since GTA 5 comes out in a couple weeks, now time to break it down for you..

Graphics- Not bad but not great by any means. 6.5/10

Sound- Descent, voice over is done well and I love how you can listen to music through out the game even when not in a car. 8/10

Controls- aside from the new super powers the same as 2 and 3, PS. they could have used the control scheme for the powers a little better. 7/10

Gameplay, Very fun and at times just repetitive and annoying. 7/10

Story, IMO the best part about the game without spoiling it you're the President and aliens invade Earth you go in a simulator and kick some outer space booty in Steel Port. 8.5/10

Replay value- Just not here once you beat the game and the side missions there is nothing left to do until the DLC's come out. 7/10

If you're reading this before GTA 5 comes out then I would RENT it not buy it unless you love the series because it will hold you over until GTA 5 comes out, if it's past September 17th and you're reading this go BUY GTA 5 and wait until this is available in your Q to rent and I wouldn't be in such a hurry to play unless you're a trophy hunter like myself and the Platinum is calling you!!!

FINAL WORD a rental only I gave it a 8/10 but I could see it getting a 7/10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Was super skeptical but OMG its soooo ADDICTING

posted by Genesis1A09 (WASHINGTON, DC) Aug 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying i am absolutely not a fan boy, I actually didnt finish saints row the third because i got bored. I went into Saints Row 4 with low expectations and expected it to just be a time killer. But let me tell you, i couldnt have been more wrong. The missions are fun and i have to force myself to turn the ps3 off at night as i get lost doing hours of even more fun side missions. Its no better in graphics than the 3rd but the super powers make this game brilliant!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love the new style of game play

posted by jmarvin32 (LAKELAND, FL) Aug 21, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

love the super human abilities really makes me miss the old matrix games. i recommend this game for anyone who enjoys being able to run faster than a car and leap over any building

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Saints -No

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Sep 4, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful


Nope.

First, Saints Row 1 was terrible, but then 2 came along, it was different, kidna fun, but honestly after an hour... meh. Then 3 came and hey, alright, I can finish this one, this is fun, a but funny, not amazing, but hey, I'm having a good time. Then here we are at 4 and well, it's more like the same experience as 2. There's just nothing good about it.

Is it fun? Yeah... but not really. Graphics are bad, not funny, controls are... ok, definitely works well. But there's just nothing here you haven't seen before, in 3, or especially in other games, and it honestly works better there.
It's just not funny. Not attention grabbing. Story is horrid. Just an add-on to 3 that's not any good but gets credit because of the name... which really shouldn't be worth much of anything.
Never thought I'd want Nolan North to shut up so badly. Deadpool all over again.

GTAV anyone?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Saints Row 4

posted by Urban_Flow (DULUTH, MN) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Saints Row 4 is exactly what you expect from a Saints Row game; satire, crude humor, over the top combat and a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. With the new addition of super powers the game is alot of fun to play but flying and jumping around so much kind of takes you out of Steelport and forces you to race around alot missing the ambience of the world. There's not much difference besides that from the previous installment, this almost feels like an excellent add-on to Saints Row The Third. For completionists there's plenty to keep you busy and more diversions this time around. Saints Row 4 is a solid game but nothing groundbreaking. I give it a B-.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Broken and repetitive.

posted by Deathpact (MARENGO, IL) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

I enjoyed the previous Saints games so I figured I'd give this one a go. The premise is in short you are in a virtual reality simulation created by aliens and you must get your team back and defeat the invaders. The game takes place in a simulated Steel Port, recycled from the third Saints game. The simulation is littered with diversions (little missions) of different categories, just like in previous games. Essentially the structure is this, you rescue a team mate through one of the Main missions, they give you 'side missions'. The problem is these side missions are literally just tasking you to complete the diversions I mentioned. This becomes extremely tedious, boring and predictable.

Another problem with this game is how buggy it is. Saints 4 pokes fun at it's previous installments bugs by pitting you against glitchy enemies in certain diversions. These are amusing the first time around but later become frustrating because there are still game breaking glitches in the game itself. Sound is abysmal and will cut in and out, sometimes turning off all together aside from your character screaming "YEAH" when he picks up a data cluster (which are littered throughout the city)

This game is literally busy work, which is sad because it could've been a decent title. Unless you can put up with the lackluster story, missions and game breaking bugs I suggest not picking this game up. If you think you can handle it then maybe there is some fun to be had with Saints 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Saints Row IV

posted by donhudson2002 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Aliens, action, super powers, great voice acting, and a fantastic sense of humor. This is one of my favorite games of recent years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Saints Row titles before this one were better

posted by juggaloforlife2 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

This game was okay, I'm not a big fan of it though. I loved Saints row because it was realistic and unrealistic at the same time and I loved the gangs. Each title was great in their own way The first Saints Row had the best multiplayer out of all of them. Saints Row 2 had the best customizing clothes wise along with hair. The 3rd had the best customizing features wise. This one felt boring to me it didn't add anything new to the saints row really just made it 100% unrealistic which I don't like and it was too easy. Also I don't know if im the only one which im sure im not since I got a new ps3 since my old one broke, the game kept freezing in the middle of missions making me not wanting to play it anymore. Saints Row 1 and 2 are the best ones, Saints Row 3 is alright and Saints Row 4 sucks. It actually made me switch over to GTA which I haven't played any of their titles since Saints Row was first released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More Than What I Expected

posted by freddiep15 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I've played one of the Saints Row titles before and found that particular game was descent, but this game was way more than I expected. First the detail that went into the game was great, I loved the fact that you can create your personalized character to play with. The game play itself is far above expectations, and the storyline, though it is out there, it is great if you've got some time to kill. The game was so good I didn't want to end it. It's definitely worth picking up and playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like this game

posted by TatiCast (ADELANTO, CA) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

this game kept me and my family busy trying to beat everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

This was my very first time playing Saints Row. The only thing good about this game is the in game music. The graphics are terrible. Anything 2 feet past your character looks like a blurred mess which made your in game immersion terrible. But the frames per second is what makes the game almost unplayable. Any action on the screen and your fps dips to 10-15.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not what series is in this game

posted by frostmare (INTERLAKEN, NY) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

this game is not like the past saints, its thrown off into something way different. nothing really change graphics wise but with a few tweaks. just couldn't get into this game. more like arcade feel then the series was like in the past. any car you drive felt like you where driving a tank when you run into car they go flying like paper weight. while the humor is still there from the past games. it gets stale after a time with the main characters just kicking people around like its nothing even the aliens . it some of the game feels uncompleted

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by Wintrsknight (MARYVILLE, TN) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Best Game Ever ... few glitches here and there but overall ... BEST GAME EVER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

yall crazy

posted by Mr_gq86 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 15, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

this game is so much fun, yall compare other games to this game, that isn't fair. No it isn't a legendary epic game, its a silly game based on humor. I love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining but...

posted by rockoscum (WAYNESBORO, VA) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

it just doesnt feel like Saints Row. Its fun to play through once but beyond that not much replay value definitely worth renting but not buying Saints Row 3 has been the best so far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Saints hijinks we've come to love and more.

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

Take a little bit of Bioshock, and some Prototype, then add the usual fun of Saint's Row parodies and you get this addictive over the top sandbox that let's you explore o your hearts content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No noteworthy enhancement from the last game!

posted by rollin16 (WOODSIDE, NY) Oct 24, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

Might as well call this Saints Row 3.5. It feels exactly like Saints Row 3 except this time you have super powers and are fighting aliens. Still has some comical moments, but I am surprised the high rating it got in GF.

Maybe my rating has to do with the fact that I played GTA 5 for a week before I got this from GF. From the first opening scene, I was like YUCK from looking at the graphics alone. The graphics looks disgusting and it looks like it could be a PS2 game easily. Again like I said I banked in quite a few hours of GTA 5 gameplay right before playing this so my eyes were probably accustomed to the beautiful graphics of GTA.

The only cool thing is the fact that you have superpowers and once you get the powers you don't need any other mode of transportation. So no need to drive the ugly looking cars no more. But then again, that gets boring pretty easily. The cars on the streets become pointless as you can sprint faster than all of them.

I didn't find it all that appealing as I couldn't even finish the main story. I had to ship it back only after a few hours of gameplay. I guess it's worth a rent if you really want to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT!

posted by Jane0709 (LANCASTER, CA) Oct 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

By far my favorite saints row!!! Saints Row 2 & Saints Row IV are my two favorite.. i liked the super powers it was great... My disk somehow was glitchy and freezing alot.. but its a great game... Love the dubstep gun!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fine game but I will wait for the GOTY...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 15, 2013

Member since May 2010

This is a fine game but I think I will wait for the complete version.. This game is supposed to be the last game in the Saints Row series.. Personally, I think the series could have gone in a different direction, but sadly this is not the case! This game is a lot like Crackdown, but it wastes many of its own improvements.. Cars are next to obsolete, since in this game you get super powers.. There is no "cribs" in this game... You aren't even in the REAL Steel port! I just don't like having to buy a game twice over And word has it that this game has disc locked content that has cars and other extras already on the disk that is locked and is inaccessible.. My gut instinct is that there will be a complete package released in the future.. Try before you buy, but I think I will wait..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Saints need not apply

posted by logikclay (FARLEY, IA) Oct 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game could have been, SHOULD HAVE BEEN, better. Its the same map as the third, same vehicles as the third. Except now there are aliens, YAY! right? Not so much! The joy and need to drive around are all but gone now that you can "leap buildings in a single bound" with your new alien induced super powers. The mini inbetween filler games are in...WAIT FOR IT...16 BIT! Yes, the same 16-bit technology discovered in the 70's when pong came out. This game feels rushed, looks rushed, and is obviously rushed. If you have never played any Saints Row game before. This may be somewhat enjoyable. But, for those who have played them before.......be prepared to be left wondering...WHY....HUH?.....REALLY?!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent....

posted by djbuffard352 (CLERMONT, FL) Sep 16, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Too strange for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't have been worse!

posted by illustrain (EUSTIS, FL) Sep 7, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

This game is easily 1 star. Pixelated graphics & choppy gameplay are the two phrases that accurately describe this game. I picked this up to kill some time before GTA came out and realized I didn't even want to waste anymore time playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good music

posted by ccopeland (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2009

I like that the music in the game stays with you, even if you ditch the stolen car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse