Rent Saints Row IV for PS3
view large frontback

Saints Row IV

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

1107 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Some of the most fun I've had all year

posted by thegreatnivek (SEYMOUR, IN) Sep 16, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

You know what to expect when playing Saints Row, but my goodness this one really just blew me away with how fun it is. They really just give you that overpowered feeling early on and pretty much tell you "ok go crazy!". I have been playing this game for 2 weeks now and still enjoying it like crazy.

Yes some missions start to get repetitive BUT it's right as they start to feel that way that you are done with them and get awesome rewards from them. It will be tough playing GTAV without being able to use my super powers like SR4!! I would recommend this game to anyone who likes to just have fun with a game because this one is an absolute blast! Rent or buy, enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Was super skeptical but OMG its soooo ADDICTING

posted by Genesis1A09 (WASHINGTON, DC) Aug 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying i am absolutely not a fan boy, I actually didnt finish saints row the third because i got bored. I went into Saints Row 4 with low expectations and expected it to just be a time killer. But let me tell you, i couldnt have been more wrong. The missions are fun and i have to force myself to turn the ps3 off at night as i get lost doing hours of even more fun side missions. Its no better in graphics than the 3rd but the super powers make this game brilliant!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but overly familiar

posted by gamer1997 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I bought this game knowing it was basically Saints Row 3.5, but still absolutley love it. If you're a saints row fan like me then this is definatelty worth a rent or even a buy. If youre new though, then start with Saints Row the third then try this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could have been so much better!!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

First off I liked the game I gave it a 8/10 but it could have been so much better, I loved the fact you have super powers and you're fighting aliens, another thing that's awesome about it is it's a fairly easy platinum the hardest trophies are completing all the challenges then there's one where you have to play for 40 hours but you can just sit your controller down go to work or sleep and you'll get it, all that aside I hate to say it but it feels like a hurried expansion for SR the Third, although you will have fun playing and get a few laughs you can't help to think about what could have been, I would suggest you renting this and not buying since GTA 5 comes out in a couple weeks, now time to break it down for you..

Graphics- Not bad but not great by any means. 6.5/10

Sound- Descent, voice over is done well and I love how you can listen to music through out the game even when not in a car. 8/10

Controls- aside from the new super powers the same as 2 and 3, PS. they could have used the control scheme for the powers a little better. 7/10

Gameplay, Very fun and at times just repetitive and annoying. 7/10

Story, IMO the best part about the game without spoiling it you're the President and aliens invade Earth you go in a simulator and kick some outer space booty in Steel Port. 8.5/10

Replay value- Just not here once you beat the game and the side missions there is nothing left to do until the DLC's come out. 7/10

If you're reading this before GTA 5 comes out then I would RENT it not buy it unless you love the series because it will hold you over until GTA 5 comes out, if it's past September 17th and you're reading this go BUY GTA 5 and wait until this is available in your Q to rent and I wouldn't be in such a hurry to play unless you're a trophy hunter like myself and the Platinum is calling you!!!

FINAL WORD a rental only I gave it a 8/10 but I could see it getting a 7/10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love the new style of game play

posted by jmarvin32 (LAKELAND, FL) Aug 21, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

love the super human abilities really makes me miss the old matrix games. i recommend this game for anyone who enjoys being able to run faster than a car and leap over any building

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Saints -No

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Sep 4, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful


Nope.

First, Saints Row 1 was terrible, but then 2 came along, it was different, kidna fun, but honestly after an hour... meh. Then 3 came and hey, alright, I can finish this one, this is fun, a but funny, not amazing, but hey, I'm having a good time. Then here we are at 4 and well, it's more like the same experience as 2. There's just nothing good about it.

Is it fun? Yeah... but not really. Graphics are bad, not funny, controls are... ok, definitely works well. But there's just nothing here you haven't seen before, in 3, or especially in other games, and it honestly works better there.
It's just not funny. Not attention grabbing. Story is horrid. Just an add-on to 3 that's not any good but gets credit because of the name... which really shouldn't be worth much of anything.
Never thought I'd want Nolan North to shut up so badly. Deadpool all over again.

GTAV anyone?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Too dang short

posted by Nirvanasflame (KENNETH CITY, FL) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This game was amazing, it was fun, it was a wonderful romp through the insanity of the 3rd Streets Saints wonderful minds the only problem is that it's far too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Def a rent only type of title

posted by Matable (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Sep 8, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

No where near a GTA title type of game. It has its funny stuff but to be honest I played it for about a hour and was ready to trade it back. There is nothing that just reaches out and grabs you to the game. This game has some funny funny stuff but just not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

plot :) #saintsrowIV

posted by italianweapon (BLAIR, NE) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Shortly after the fall of STAG, Pierce, Shaundi and the Boss are called upon to assist MI-6 agent Asha Odekar and her contact, former Deckers leader Matt Miller, in infiltrating a Middle Eastern compound to assassinate Cyrus Temple, the former leader of STAG who has since gone insane and obsessed with killing the Saints leader when his plan to frame the explosion of a statue on the saints is ruined, and plans on destroying Washington, D.C. using a nuclear missile. The Boss manages to kill Cyrus, but is unable to stop him from launching the missile. Climbing aboard the missile, the Boss disarms the nuke in midair before it reaches Washington, earning the adoration of America.

Five years later, the Boss has been elected President of the United States, with several members of the Saints acting as cabinet. While preparing for a press conference, the Boss is told that Asha and Matt have arrived at the White House, which the Saints have renamed the White Crib, to warn them of what they suspect is an impending alien invasion. Just as the Boss is informed, the invasion begins, spearheaded by the alien warlord Zinyak, who captures all of the cabinet members as well as the Boss.

The Boss wakes up in what appears to be a 50s sitcom set in the city of Steelport, devoid of violence or foul language. The Saints' computer hacking specialist, Kinzie Kensington, contacts the Boss and informs them that they are trapped inside a simulation, and that each of the Zin's prisoners are trapped in personal simulations of their own fears in order to break their will, as the Boss fears a world of utter conformity. With Kinzie's help, the Boss breaks free of the simulation and joins Kinzie and Vice President Keith David in a stolen Zin ship. While the trio attempt to contact reinforcements from Earth, Zinyak atomizes the planet, killing everyone not already captured by the Zin. Determined to get revenge for Earth, the Boss returns to the Steelport simulation, hoping to use it to find the

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

bought

posted by deathkiss1013 (MOUNT WOLF, PA) Aug 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

HUbby plays occasionally liked enough to buy plus was dirt cgeap uses through gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by Frank_Foxx (BROOKLAWN, NJ) Aug 29, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

This is even bigger garbage than the previous game. Don't buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great but game froze

posted by UNKNOWN1337 (RURAL HALL, NC) Jul 29, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Game was funny and a great play but there were a few part where the game froze and I had to start all your very but othen then that, I thought it was fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible horrible horrible

posted by popoju9 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

controls...ridiculously bad, can't invert which at this day and age is unheard of. game play, disappointing. use the same maps from last saints row. no replay value at all. graphics was not improved. might as well be saints row 3S. nothing innovative or new and what was new was between a bad idea and don't try it ever again. i like the previous saints rows and finished them all, i couldn't play this doo doo game for more than a couple hours. pure vomit.
disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by zanderps3 (POMONA, CA) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

Awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Unplayable

posted by Gamer_G (CABOT, AR) Jun 20, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

This the second saints row game i have rented and this one is even worse than Saints Row the Third. I can even get past the game data install. it will lock up either at 13% or 80% but no matter what it fif it would do this every time i tryed to load this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love This Game

posted by Vmbell2014 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game is amazing!
Well made!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Loved it BUT!

posted by SportsGuru12146 (DAVIDSON, NC) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Saints Row 4 continues the wacky tradition of the local street gang who has now risen to power as the king's of the U.S. But thing's go wrong quickly with an alien invasion! When I first read that I was shocked that the series had turned into this though I gave it it's fair due and had a blast doing it. However I give it a 5/10. Why? Read ON!

For starters if this is your first experience with saints row then your in for a treat however if this is your fourth then you still are but it'll take some getting used to due to you being used to killing gangs and not aliens. It delivers all the whacky phrases and quirks of each character and w/o giving too much away everybody lives up to their own character module. However at times the game tries to be serious but it's too funny so it's impossible to take it so.

The graphics? Well it's saints row not GTA so expect cartoonist graphics but my goodness the graphics haven't changed since SR2. Not terrible but still I expected more.

Weapons side quests and everything else including powers upgrades and brand new abilities as well as old and new characters provide the game with a fresh outlook and truly I enjoyed it.....but as I said before I have my reasons for despising this game.

If this problem I'm about to get into didn't persist only the fact that nothing is REALLY fresh would keep me from giving it a 10. It's that good. But the experience of SR4 is ruined and I do mean RUINED by the constant annoyance of freezing to the point I found myself saving after every little thing because of the constant freezing. It froze up so badly on 1 mission that I was scared I wouldn't complete the game after 20+ hours put into it. I got through it but the experience of having to find my own way around problems I should never have to deal with in a game made me just get to the end and send it on back to GameFly.

I loved this game I really did but the freezing ruined the fun of what was otherwise an awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sr

posted by Feral_K9 (HERMISTON, OR) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

my absolute favourite game is skyrim but this almost tops it this was the first sr i've played and it is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SR3 was better

posted by xRedx (OMAHA, NE) Apr 20, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

the title says it all .. the last game was better, better graphics, better gameplay..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been so much better.

posted by yoda107 (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I love the series i do, but this one didn't add much for me. It holds a lot of fun and freedom, shooting alien scum and throwing tanks around and being a total BadA. But it all comes to an end so fast. They deleted way too much. They deleted boats, they deleted the chainsaw, they got rid of all ways to save the regular tank and All stag vehicles which is a dumb move to me. Yes there is an alien hover bike, but the controls for all hover bikes are just screwed. The story was pretty cool to me i really liked it. But after I defeated the final boss....disappointment drowned me, i just felt like......"this is all i get....as crazy as this game is this is all i get for completing the story". After the story there is nothing to do at all unless you waisted money on temporally DLCs. If you completed the side quests before completing the story all of the challenges that were in the side quest disappear forever, the survival challenges, the hitman challenges. This is [[RENT ONLY]] . 6/10 not because it was such a bad game, but because there isn't much for the game to offer. Yeah you can kick alien scum over and over, but it is not challenging and it will become boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Saints Row 4

posted by Urban_Flow (DULUTH, MN) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Saints Row 4 is exactly what you expect from a Saints Row game; satire, crude humor, over the top combat and a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. With the new addition of super powers the game is alot of fun to play but flying and jumping around so much kind of takes you out of Steelport and forces you to race around alot missing the ambience of the world. There's not much difference besides that from the previous installment, this almost feels like an excellent add-on to Saints Row The Third. For completionists there's plenty to keep you busy and more diversions this time around. Saints Row 4 is a solid game but nothing groundbreaking. I give it a B-.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Broken and repetitive.

posted by Deathpact (MARENGO, IL) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

I enjoyed the previous Saints games so I figured I'd give this one a go. The premise is in short you are in a virtual reality simulation created by aliens and you must get your team back and defeat the invaders. The game takes place in a simulated Steel Port, recycled from the third Saints game. The simulation is littered with diversions (little missions) of different categories, just like in previous games. Essentially the structure is this, you rescue a team mate through one of the Main missions, they give you 'side missions'. The problem is these side missions are literally just tasking you to complete the diversions I mentioned. This becomes extremely tedious, boring and predictable.

Another problem with this game is how buggy it is. Saints 4 pokes fun at it's previous installments bugs by pitting you against glitchy enemies in certain diversions. These are amusing the first time around but later become frustrating because there are still game breaking glitches in the game itself. Sound is abysmal and will cut in and out, sometimes turning off all together aside from your character screaming "YEAH" when he picks up a data cluster (which are littered throughout the city)

This game is literally busy work, which is sad because it could've been a decent title. Unless you can put up with the lackluster story, missions and game breaking bugs I suggest not picking this game up. If you think you can handle it then maybe there is some fun to be had with Saints 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Saints Row IV

posted by donhudson2002 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Aliens, action, super powers, great voice acting, and a fantastic sense of humor. This is one of my favorite games of recent years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Saints Row titles before this one were better

posted by juggaloforlife2 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

This game was okay, I'm not a big fan of it though. I loved Saints row because it was realistic and unrealistic at the same time and I loved the gangs. Each title was great in their own way The first Saints Row had the best multiplayer out of all of them. Saints Row 2 had the best customizing clothes wise along with hair. The 3rd had the best customizing features wise. This one felt boring to me it didn't add anything new to the saints row really just made it 100% unrealistic which I don't like and it was too easy. Also I don't know if im the only one which im sure im not since I got a new ps3 since my old one broke, the game kept freezing in the middle of missions making me not wanting to play it anymore. Saints Row 1 and 2 are the best ones, Saints Row 3 is alright and Saints Row 4 sucks. It actually made me switch over to GTA which I haven't played any of their titles since Saints Row was first released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More Than What I Expected

posted by freddiep15 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I've played one of the Saints Row titles before and found that particular game was descent, but this game was way more than I expected. First the detail that went into the game was great, I loved the fact that you can create your personalized character to play with. The game play itself is far above expectations, and the storyline, though it is out there, it is great if you've got some time to kill. The game was so good I didn't want to end it. It's definitely worth picking up and playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse