Rent Saints Row 2 for Xbox 360
view large front

Saints Row 2

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

17670 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saintly Offerings

posted by Coyote (CLEARWATER, FL) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

52 out of 54 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

This game is, simply put, almost perfect. The level of character and vehicle customization is absolutely unreal, the gameplay is fun and varied, and makes full use of the open-world style. You'll find numerous activities to do that have nothing to do with your primary missions or minigames-and are still tons of fun to do. This game demands and rewards exploration, as you'll find dozens of secret areas and activities as you make your way around town.

That doesn't count the sheer joy of causing mayhem on the streets, in the same vein as GTA, of whom Saints Row is an unapologetic descendent-with ADHD. SR2 is an utter and total GTA clone, but where it differs is that it actually runs with the insanity of this style of game, giving you a chance to be one-part Gangbanger and two-parts Eric Cartman (with better lines).

Seeing your character in the cutscenes-wearing whatever clothes you choose to have him/her wear-is so novel and fun I found myself watching the same cutscenes over and over again just to see my character do totally insane stuff wearing different outfits I chose. You can choose different voices for your character, including an outrageously fun cockney accented Voice Actor who makes every cutscene a gem.

If you are looking for a hardhitting, "gangsta" game, this isn't really for you. But if you want to play a fantastic, varied game that never takes itself too seriously-and gives you the opportunity to streak naked through the streets-you should make a stop in Saints Row.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If GTA 4 was fun, it would be this game.

posted by Reynis (Madison, WI) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you, like me, were put off by the GTA series trying to take itself too seriously, then this game will be the perfect solution for you.

When you first start playing, you might be a little underwhelmed by the graphics and overwhelmed by the sheer number of options for character customization. Do yourself a favor and just start playing. You'll quickly find that this is a game where everything is tuned towards you creating the most havoc you can.

Unlike the GTA series, progress you make in the game actually affects the world you play in. As you complete missions, members of your gang fill the streets, and gang cars you've selected drive around. It does a good job of making your mission work feel important.

But really, this game is mostly about messing around. You may wonder about it at first, but when you realize you've spent the last 15 minutes taking ramps in a car shaped like a basket of fries that you've outfitted with nitrous, you'll know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Saints Row 2

posted by DuMularn (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thanks god for this game. I played and loved GTA4 until I played this game....and then I realised what GTA had lost over the years; THE FUN!
You wanna go steal a waste management truck and spew sewer sludge all over a neighborhood.....go ahead my friend.

You want to start kidnapping the random passangers that stay in your vehicles.....yep that's a go.

You wanna get naked under a trenchcoat and flash old ladies...also a viable option.
You want to be rewarded for side mission work...that happens ALL THE TIME WITH PLENTY OF SIDE MISSIONS. Doing a few side mission not only did things like give me better accuracy or reduce my wanted levels faster, but I also was unlocking weapons that spawn at my cribs.

I could seriously go on but in a nut shell this is my favorite sand box game to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SAINTS ROW 2 IS NOT GTA

posted by HFields (ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 15, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

130 out of 147 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Though there are some obvious similarities these are two very different games. SR2 picks up where SR 1 leaves off. The story begins with you once again customizing your character. This is not only race, gender and build but how your character moves talks and behaves. The controls are very simple to pick up and use right away and the game provides 4 different difficulty levels so everyone can find a setting that is right for their skill level. New to SR2 is a Co-op story mode that allows you to take on missions with a partner via Xbox Live. Co-op mode is an addition to the other multi-player modes available including a party mode to grab a group of your friends and ride out on other gangs. This game may not be as visually polished as GTA 4 but it is just as fun if not more. Overall this game is an improvement over the last version, i recommend every one give it a shot with a rental at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cant stop playing this game

posted by Subhumanoi (VALLEY VILLAGE, CA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its so addictive and the more you play the more things you find out, aside from the insane missions, you get really fun diversions and activities, car surfing, people throwing, car towing, the list doesn't end.......a must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like GTA 4, but actually fun!

posted by maawdawg (BALTIC, CT) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off let me say that I am not a GTA 4 fan. I thought its graphics were great for a sandbox game but the story wasn't doing it for me and the built in lengthening tactics were maddening.

Saints Row 2 may lack the critical acclaim of GTA4 but one thing it delivers on much better is pure fun.

The story is interesting and moves at a good pace, with good characters and some interesting interaction between them. The graphics are good, as is the voice acting. The in car music is varied and very good, to the point that I found myself humming along frequently.

The quests are varied and don't get repetitive while you rebuild the gang and taking out the competition. The side quests are varied featuring lots of completely different activities. This is a game you could easily spend 50 hours on to get 100% completion, before even hitting the multiplayer offerings.

The biggest plus this game has over GTA is the amount of customization you can do. The in-depth character creation is just the start. You can also customize almost every piece of clothing in the game, and there are tons of them. From color, to logo, to how you wear it. Once you get your character looking right and venture onto the streets customization is even more impressive. Nearly every car you drive can be completely customized, excluding the unique reward cars. Before long you will have a garage of tuned out rides to dip into for whatever the situation calls for. From a tricked out Humvee with a working .50 cal machine gun, to racing motorcycles, to exotic cars, and even a giant zamboni if you feel the need. You will find yourself at the parts shop upgrading cars, tweaking them and customizing the body, the look, and the paint every time you get your hands on a new ride.

This game is a lot of fun. For me it was the middle ground between crackdown (crazy sandbox) and GTA 4 (boring pretty sandbox). Just like Goldilocks, the middle one turned out to be just right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever!

posted by Nakita83 (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have 50+ hours on this game, its so much better than GTA in my own opinion. I absolutely love the customization abilities, and the storyline is great also. Its one of those games that you can easily play over and over and never get bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than GTA

posted by 098233 (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To start off, I do think this game is better than the new Grand Theft Auto. More side missions, the gang is fun to play as, and you get to create your own character. Small features like cruise control add to the game's fun. This game is like Scarface and San Andreas mixed. Good weapons, cars, story, and gang. Awesome to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saints Row 2 is a solid game

posted by HouseMN (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jan 26, 2009

Member since May 2008

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Saints Row 2 is a very fun game.

Goods:

- Gang wars are still intense
- Blowing things up is just as fun as it used to be
- Vehicle customization is pretty sweet
- Character customization is better than the first Saints
- Graphics are very good
- Multiplayer is fun
- Side quests/missions are lots of fun

Mediocres:

- While rare, I did encounter a few glitches that caused me to have to replay a mission
- Story isn't spectacular, but it is o.k.

Bads:

- Story is too short

I would definitely recommend anyone that was disappointed by GTA 4 (like myself) to pick this title up as a rental at least. Even though the story is short (10 - 15 hours), there are quite a few side missions to complete which keep the entertainment factor up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool

posted by codster71 (MAGALIA, CA) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is the best fun easy to get the hang of and tons of stuff to do never got bored playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

saints row2.. gta4

posted by TheKev (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

saints row 2 is, well i think better then gta4, easier to play and the missions i just simply better! and gta is cool and the graphics are awesome.. saints row in my opinion a better game.. so put it in your Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Saints Row 2 Review

posted by nb1mob (STONY BROOK, NY) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is like a updated version of Saints Row with additional features of first Saints Row. If you like the first Saints Row you definitely going to like Saints Row. The designer did a great job of adding multiple twist to the storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT FUN

posted by xedgexpax (WAYMART, PA) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

saints row2 brings back the fun in a free roam city. its much like GTA san andreas but with better graphx. by that i mean you can fly planes and use 100s of weaponslike chainsaws and tasers,just to name a couple. i love how when you fly a plane if you hit somthing with your wing it will smash off semding you spiraling into the street. also the 2 player co-op to roam the whole map in free roam or do missions. both players can go as far away as each other as they want. so one can be flying a plane while the other is on the other side of the city stealing a car. also i like all the cool cheats you can use. you can use them in coop with some one or by yourself. GTAIV is fun but this is more fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the first

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GTA4, SR2 both are excellent games what's all the fuss, enjoy them both. I guessing most people have played the first SR, so there's not much I can say except buy the game, you'll have a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Saints Row when it was good

posted by SleepingGiant39 (SOUTH HILL, VA) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of my all time favorite games. when GTA and Saints Row were competing i think saints row had it won because of a few reasons. 1: You can customize car unlike GTA 4 2: You create your own character 3: Better selection of clothes 4:You can rob stores (makes you feel G lol) Saints Row 2 was excellent but Saints Row The Third was just god awful. it was way too unrealistic. But I did enjoy playing it some way because of the crude humor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game focusing mainly on having fun

posted by Mojopher (JOPLIN, MO) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is just one of those games that you have to experience at least once. It feels alot more like GTA vice city than anyhting, but its not trying to be GTA at all, which youll soon find a good thing.

The game has its own style of things, ply the game the way you want it, you can dress up like a pimp, gangster, or run around in a thong if you really want to.

Pros-
A butt load of custimization options, like character, clothes, cars, cribs, and even your own gang that you run.
Over 50 vehicles, all customizable
Tons of guns
Big, expanse city
More things to do than youll ever want, like ragdolling, and spraying sewidge on houses, and just plain out destruction
CO OP!

Cons-
Freezes alot, and some missions lag out
Multiplayer could use a little work, and shotgun is way overpowered

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome

posted by axemanal (CHAMPLIN, MN) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

at first i rented this game when i first got my xbox but i ended up renting it again 3 times because there are endless things to do in this game from crashing passenger planes to running over pedestrians in monster trucks and golf carts.I also realy like the gang system how you take over neibierhoods(sorry for spelling) and have homies i would give this game a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rad

posted by AWiseMan (DEER PARK, TX) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game really is all the cool things that you remember about GTA. It's a bit strange when other people pop in your game wearing nothing but underwear packing duel pistols, machineguns and RPG's but you soon realize why. This game is about fun. Pure and simple. The missions are fun, random killings are fun, and the side jobs are even more fun.

Oh yeah, everyone apparently uses cheat codes so don't feel guilty dialing up your cell phone. When you look at the cheats, it's easy to understand why.

You should certainly rent this game but for 17 bucks, just buy it and play it when your under the influence for best gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Saints Row 2 review

posted by xboxgamer6 (CALHOUN, KY) Dec 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, I have to say it is a huge stepup from the first saints row. It was still a little bit on the bad side. Sure, you do get to steal cars,kill people,throw people,customize,but something just didn't give me that awesome vibe. But, that's just one person's opinion, someone else may love this game. It's up to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Krell99 (OLATHE, KS) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game, i would say one of the best ever. Im not that into video game but it was a great game, the story mode was fun and hard but not to hard. you can buy shop/store and make exta money. you play a person who try to save the saint group by kill the other group. I would rent it! 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What Can I Say: Good Game

posted by WeiWuWei (CONCORD, NC) May 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All-in-all it was a good game. I liked the idea of building up my own gang and taking over rival games....just like in the first one. It did get a little repetitive as the game progressed; I'd like to see more variety in missions. More clothes and other customizations in 3 would be a must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NO GTA Clone

posted by EmbryonicG (BRONX, NY) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has been dumped on since the first Saints Row for copying mechanics that Grand Theft Auto uses successfully. The driving seems to be stiff and on a track but, not as frustrating as in GTA. The activities are waaaayyy more fun than GTA IV's and because SR 2 doesn't take itself seriously it works.

This is a must rent and must be added to your library. Hours of fun and mayhem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GTA 6 couldent stand up to this

posted by KRHplayer (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

SR2 is a exellent game. You start in a jail, break out, and then start to build your gang. You can customise anything, kill people with garbage bags, and a way lot more stuff. There would have to be a Grand theft auto 7 to be as good as this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Action

posted by RavenVul (MOUNTAIN HOME A F B, ID) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a pretty good game the story was a little weak, and the graphics are not out of this world. Non the less it was a well put together fan driven game with all the bells and whistles you wished to have in some other similar games. You spend alot of hours just doing side quests as for the missions they give you a lot of action just wish their was a bit more story to go with some of them. Other than that it was a good game to buy or rent co-op is also a blast if you have a friend that will play with you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Way much more better than the first

posted by lazaro007 (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At hands-on its difficult to like the game because you dont know where to go, and the controller seem difficult since gtaIV has different actions. This game is alot of fun and keeps it fun. the story is very interesting by the way your character handles the situations. He is definitelly a cool tough cat. You can also edit almost anything that he does. The best things are the side missions like trail blazing where destruction for this game was its main priority. This game makes gtaIV look weak in its rebellious way by letting destruction rule. I like the graphics, and the game was good all the way till the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse