Rent Saints Row 2 for PS3
view large front

Saints Row 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

5971 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Boyz in da ROW!

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

55 out of 60 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Yes I believe Saints Row 2 is better than GTA4. Blasphemy right? Well, Saints Row 2 is far more entertaining in many ways. The activities are actually a ton of fun, and down right hilarious. Mayhem, just blow up as much as you can causing as much damage as possible in a set amount of time. Insurance fraud is laugh out loud awesome! You throw yourself all over the place trying to cause as much bodily harm to yourself as possible, there is one also where you get to drive around in a septic truck and spray pooh all over the place, and on anyone you like.

The missions are varied pretty well, and have a decent challenge as they get progressively more difficult. What really stands out is the addition to be able to purchase businesses which add to your cash stash every day. Buying and customizing you crib is cool, but maybe a waste of money, but at least you get style points for a nice crib, and also for adding a huge variety of clothes, tats,jewelry, and whatnot. SR2 goes a small step forward in the sand box style by improving controls such as driving with cruise control. Cruise control makes drive by challenges far more interesting as you have less effort trying to keep your car moving, and less difficulty shooting up the bad guys.

You may this time around completely customize your character in many cool ways, and some just plain funny. Want a chick with a Mohawk, english accent, and a tuxedo? You got it baby!

SR2 not only adds more fun to the genre, but also more playability, and creative control. About the only complain I have is that the graphics could have been a little better, and the driving controls felt too much like all vehicles are on a pivot pin.

In the end, saints Row 2 Succeeds at least as well as GTA4, and in many areas is a vastly improved and imaginative step forward while not taking itself too seriously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by GoOSEvV (BELLE VERNON, PA) Dec 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It depends what you like..

PROS
Great Storyline
Customizable character
Ability to dress character any way
Buy whatever guns you want
Buy Houses
Customize cars
Buy Cars
Buy Boats
Buy motorcycles
Great co-op and systemlink
Can customize houses
Easy to play

Cons
Not very realistic (If thats what you're into?)
Online sometimes lags extremely bad.
Some Glitches in co-op

Over all this is a great game. This is not a clone of GTA. It is totally opposite and gives you a lot more freedom. If you are looking to have fun and not play a 150% real game that doesn't have great customizable aspects, than this is your game.

This is a game for people who are in love with making their characters the way they want them, from looks to clothes to guns to houses to cars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A similar but fresh outlook on sandboxing..

posted by Gotti9410 (WILMINGTON, NC) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2004

21 out of 23 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I'd like to only mention GTA once in this review, and that would only be to say that I loved it.

Ideally Saints Row is a different approach to the same game. While you can't easily get past the similarities, this game plays amazingly well. I love the option to customize your gang and your protagonist as well. What beats running a gang and handing out street justice while parading as a bikini clad latina girl?

The story is gripping, if not as entirely involved as the other sandbox game I've played, it's definitely enough to keep my interest. There are many different nuances to the Row that you won't experience in GTA (it's impossible to review this game without a comparison).

The music was just as good, if not better than GTA... visuals were perhaps a little less good? But then again some of them were very nice.. the vehicles in Saints Row win hands down. Planes, Copters, many cars with options to customize each of them down to rims and paint jobs...

While it may not be quite as in depth as GTA, the Row is a very worthy competitor and if you liked one I think it's safe to say you'll love the other.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Over the top Fun

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before I go any further I want to get this out of the way. Saints Row 2 is NOT Grand Theft Auto 4. Sure it may be a sandbox game with stores, resturaunts, and minigames but the experience is way different. Saints Row 2 is very entertaining from start to finish, with excellent voice work and just pure fun. I should also mention that Saints Row 2 has way more vareity than GTA 4. Saints Row 2 in my opinion is more fun than GTA 4 but it has issues. The visuals are a lot rougher than GTA 4. The framerate is a bit choppy, car will disappear for no reason, and it has more pop-in issues than GTA 4. Issues aside Saints Row 2 is on of the funnest sandbox games around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

funny as family guy

posted by novaisfunny123 (SPRINGDALE, AR) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

you are going to love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Shoot the night away......

posted by justnbexxx (PELHAM, AL) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

...with this fabulously fun freakin' game! Since our household has always been Nintendo and Sony loyal, we never got a chance to play the original Saints Row...which was Ok because we always had the GTA games to keep us happy. Unfortunately, we've not been really very thrilled with either of the last 2 GTA games...in San Andreas, the main character required way too much maintenance and in GTA IV all your buddies require way too much maintenance. Lucky for us, Saints Row 2 is out on PS3 and although it hurts me to admit it, it gives us everything the last 2 GTA games couldn't deliver----good, over-the-top, gang-bangin', h--ing fun! There are a lot of customizable options which makes it cool, and there are TONS of side missions. The GPS is fantastic and makes it easy to find where you need or want to be. It is so easy to sit down and play and not realize that 4 or so hours have passed. Saints Row is prone to an occasional glitch when driving and fighting controls are not always dead-on accurate, which is why it didn't get 10 out of 10, but in my opinion, Saints Row has surpassed GTA in making a GTA game. With the price of games so high now, I don't often say this but forget about renting it and go straight to the game store and buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

way better then grand theft auto!!!

posted by RudeDog (NASHVILLE, MI) May 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First off this game has about the same graphics as grand theft auto but way funner. U can edit ur gang clothes, cars, hideouts, and even guns.
...but and overview is ur in jail some one helps u escape and ur old gang THE SAINTS has been wiped out and ut city has been tooken over so u get out get some new clothes do some new missions and then u start to make ur gang.

trust me take my word this is a great game even to mess around in. ps. if ur a person that likes putting cheats put # cashmoneyz first and it will be easy to get money...RENT THIS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very nice

posted by Daedleus (FARIBAULT, MN) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Here's the obvious for you -
Saints Row 2 might as well be Grand Theft Auto Five. It relies so obviously on the same metaphorical chemicals that if one never told me one game wasn't the other, I might not have known.

But then again, SR2 seems to do everything I could only wish GTA 4 gave me. Pilotting planes, cars, bikes, heli's, 4x4's, and don't even get me started on the sheer bliss that having cruise control on my cars in SR2 offers. Finally I can drive, use both analogs, and shoot without having to think about giving the car gas, unless that is - I wan't to in which case I simply don't turn on cruise control.

If your a fan of GTA SR2 will likely make you very happy. There are sadly ALOT of comparative items to note but both games are great at what they do - in my opinion it just turns out that SR2 offers MORE than GTA4.

Both really are excellent titles though. a MUST rent for any fan, must own for any true hardcore GTA lover

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome--Character Creation

posted by krazychik1 (RAHWAY, NJ) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This is like the hood version of GTA--it's excellent.

The overall fact why it is better than GTA is that you get to create your character--& you can even make a FEMALE!! I know many of you men out there don't see this extraordinary leap in the game world, but to me, it's called hookin' it up!!

Other than that, I beat the game in less than 5 days, I'm still working on the activities and whatnot, but the good side is, these activities don't get redundant as in GTA, you just pick the activities you want to play that correspond with your mood.

Another great feature is the car/bike customization. My (profanity) looks hot! I'm a fine lady with tattoos, an excellent wardrobe, some ice on my body, and to top it off, choppers, bikes, boats, and fly (profanity) cars!!

Get this game--Rent it---It's worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than GTA4

posted by Ledman (HIGHLANDS, NJ) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is alot like GTA4 but only better. Unlike GTA4 this game doesn't have much ambiguity. I couldn't finish GTA4 because there was a point where I didn't know what to do next and just rode around the city looking for a mission or at least something to advance myself and couldn't find anything to do. SR2 is not like that. Missions and the like are plentyful and easily displayed for your choosing. I also like the fact that you can customize your character (many options) and change it as many times as you like during the game. Gameplay is smooth with very good graphics. The large soundtrack just emphasizes how much effort the creators went to to make this a fun and challenging game experience. Hope they come out with a 3 because this was a fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Everything GTA San Andreas Should Have Been

posted by Shasta97 (AURORA, CO) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. I have to admit that it starts of a little slow but once you get into it, you realize that it is a good game. I think a lot of the negative reviews from people are from those who didnt finish the game. My opinion in the very beginning was the same, but the game grows on you. Sure its a bit like GTA but is that really a bad thing? There is plenty of originality to separate it from the rest of the GTA knockoffs.

The good: A compelling storyline, tons of cars and cribs to customize, a lot of weapons, great diversions/minigames, great unlockables.

The bad: The graphics are a bit PS2, but I dont feel it detracted from the game.

The ugly: The game occassionally resorts to "cheap" tactics - like every other car turning in front of you when you are evading police.

All in all, I think its the heck of a game and one that, if given enough time, is really worth while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pure awesome

posted by scarfaic (NORRISTOWN, PA) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Some people may say that this game is bad or compared to GTA IV is bad but they are wrong. This is the best sand box game out now. You can have so much fun in this game because its not based around reality like GTA IV was. You can fill you gang with ninjas, ride around in armored ATV's with mounted machine guns, throw people in front of cars. Im keep telling myself im going to send this game back but i dont want to and i cant. Im keeping this game and you should too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Month??

posted by Dynex222 (WIMBERLEY, TX) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Wow! What can I say about Saint's Row 2. Well, first of all, the graphics were great. They weren't as good as GTAIV, but that's what made this game great. THQ focused on the gameplay instead of the graphics, although they are somewhat similar to Saint's Row.

The story is great, because it begins where Saint's Row left of. You get to meet up with some old friends, visit the old church, some familiar activities, plus more!

Bottom line is that this game is absolutely amazing. I would definitely reccomend that you rent or even buy this game. Once you pick up the controller to play this game, you won't want to put it down... Unless to take a leak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever! Better then Gta!!.

posted by Alejandrol (VALENCIA, CA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome i cant belive the other reviewers about the graphics is either them or there tv i have a 42 inch tv 1080p and the graphics are perfect and the gameplay is better the missions are fun you can even do the missions with a friend co-op online its awsome me and my friend have so much fun much better then gta4 you can even create ur own guy customize ur clothes ur cars and ur gang members they can look like ur personal bodyguards and follow u around protecting you and you can customize how they look basically everything!! this game 100x better then gta its a must buy dont listen to the bad reviews they were drunk or something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gta 4 what?

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

first of all making your own charter is sweet this game is lot more the way you want it to be and the way you make it to be the music is sick best metal iv heard in A GAME AND the driving shooting all easy to do drive byes are very simple with Cruise control the people have personality's and dont say the same every time the graphics look nice if you unchecked 720 in your display setting and play at 1080p you can car surf you can mugg people rob stores run around naked get on the cops show fuzz and see your self on tv go home and play some zombie uprising smoke a blunn t on the beach and watch a guy hold his legs together as he runs to the port a potty then get in you truck knock him over and craaa p goes every where lisen to him cuss up a storm then take your car threw a donut shop and mow over 6 cops as you do this are just go around throwing people into cars and go in the back alley and beat some craccc k heads up for the hel of it are go around and kill the gang members then there followers will become your bittttch 's are hel rip a mailbox out of the ground and beat people with it are if you fancy it go get some dru gs and watch the world enhance infornt of your eyes all and all great game get my drift what are you doing you should be renting this now quit listening to me and start your own damnation

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FUN GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by lilmafia (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is really fun as the missions are awesome and as the story line is great and the online is fun so get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I wish there was more to this game..

posted by GotGame (MCKINLEYVILLE, CA) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

..because I didn't want to stop playing. This game took all the things I hated about GTA and threw them out the window. I hate how it is IMPOSSIBLE to survive GTA's stars. You can't go on a rampage for very long without being easily killed AND they take your guns away. Not here they don't. You get to keep your guns if you die, which is rare.

I really liked playing the minigames. Some of them were downright hilarious, like the one where you had to run in traffic for insurance fraud. I put the low gravity cheat code on and I flew..which game me a crapload of points, plus the evil cars cheat made all the cars come ar me to get more points. Pretty awesome.

My fiance didnt like having to do the minigames for respect to play more main levels, so I'd have to do them for him.

The one thing I didn't like about the game was the last level. It was boring and really hard because they didn't give you much practice with a helicopter and only two shots and you're down while sarching for these tiny things on a building while it's pouring rain and dark as heck out. I don't understand why it was like that on mine when my fiance had a nice sunny day on him. weird. but i passed it, and then I wanted more.

Anyway, I really loved this game, I didn't play the first one but I think I'm going to have to.

I wish there were more stores in this game, and I wish i could destroy building like in the Hulk game. lol. Otherwise this game was AWESOME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The misunderstood gangster

posted by cheddarbob (POPLAR GROVE, IL) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Originally i rented this game and it so happens that a friend of mine works at the video store i frequent and when he saw what i was checking out he said he was really disappointed and thought it was a half finished GTA. At first i have to admit i had similar feelings... But after playing i realized it was never meant to be a GTA. where its focus is on controls and detail this game is more about storyline and customization. While it would have been nice to have a little more varity between shops the attitude of the main character makes the game more then fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as bad as people say!

posted by deathrage (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been reading a lot of negative reviews for this game so far. Usually the critics are way more harsh on games than the users. This appears to be the opposite. I've been reading reviews for this game from the websites and they think that the game is not bad. A majority of people on gamefly though appear to not like it that much. Some have given this game a 1. That is a little ridiculous. It may not be the game of the year but it's still fun. The problem is that everyone is comparing it to GTA 4. STOP! Obvisouly this game will never be at that level but it takes that basic concept and has fun with it. The story is not bad, the gameplay is still fun, and the graphics may not be the best but they are not horrific. Overall this is a very fun game! Stop Hatin!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Everything GTA4 Should've Been

posted by CAMikhail (IGO, CA) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In the words of Zero Punctuation - this game is everything GTA4 should have been but wasn't, a throwback to the days of GTA2 when developers won't so concerned with trying to be realistic. The plot/story is paper thin, but it serves it's purpose and you will find yourself getting into it.

It's good for multiple playthroughs, and the gun play and missions are fun. Downsides would be minor - the clothing is limited, cars have few differences beyond how they look [though they handle substantially/look better than the ones in GTA4].

Rent it. Try it. I think you'll like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HOLY BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by BR1TT0N (CATHEDRAL CITY, CA) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

man this game is awesome! the game play is great the cars are fast the girls are hot!!!! i would recomend this amazing game t anyone who likes cars, guns, violence, and girls. everyone says it has bad graphics but in my opinion the graphics are not that bad! the people who say the graphics suc probably got blind with how amazing this game really is!!!! i played sr1 only once before. SR2 BEATS IT BY A LONG SHOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! EFFING AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's like playing GTA Vice City on your ps3

posted by TheTrooth (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

What else can i say? There is no other way to put it. If the review title excites you, you will enjoy this game. If it makes you feel like it's a step back, then you'll probably be disappointed.

I take the opinion of the second option. People say it's not like GTA but in fact it IS like GTA just not the most recent GTA. This game is everything you loved about Vice City, San Andreas and Liberty City on the ps2.

I for one dont understand how some people cannot appreciate GTA 4 and how it took everything to the next level of realism. However if you are one of those people then this game is for you.

Everyone has there own tastes and if your someone who didnt like the direction GTA4 took then this is a game for you. If you are someone who absolutely loves GTA4 then this will seem like a 2nd rate imitator and a mere shadow of what GTA used to be.

Make your own judgement because personally i truly feel the comparison of GTA4 and Saints Row 2 comes down to strictly your own personal Gamer preference.

Deciding where you stand should be the overall factor in whether you should get this game or not.

And that's,...
THE TROOTH!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No comparison to GTA

posted by tonyswu (BELLEVUE, WA) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is really no comparison to the GTA series. The graphics lacks so much detail that I was wondering if the people in the game all have hair-losing problem. But this game does give you more options to customize your character, and that's as fun as it gets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ok 5.3

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Oct 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

really? I would love to know what's entertaining about this game? Why because you have customizations,or you kill everything without a motivate to a storyline thats even worse then saints row 1. The graphics could be comparable to a ps2 game also how the controls feel sluggish while driving not to mention the way the vehicles look like "a block with wheels" look if you like meaningless storylines poor graphics and sluggish controls then this game is for you!.The only reason I give this game a 5.3 would be the Deathmatch mode,but thats hardly worth a buy to true "NextGenGaming"...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

horrible compared to grand theft auto 4

posted by Gamer124 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

saints row 2 was a disaster first the driving is very unrealistic so is the damage. the cheats are really good, but every time you turn on the game you have to renew them. There is a large quantity of weapons and vehicles that is a plus really the only plus. don't waste your money on this game bye.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse