Rent Saint for Wii
view large frontback

Saint

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
2.3

137 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Showing sins of past games

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

25 out of 26 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Why in the world are they still making side scrolling shooters with the graphics of a game straight out of the nineties? Don't they realize they should get creative with the type of fire that the players/enemies use in this genre and get better graphics?
Apparently not, for in Saint, you are cast in such a side scroller shooter as some guy who's out on some quest to do something. (Story here is very convoluted and confusing).
But all you are really doing is scrolling through sections, blowing up enemies until you get to the boss, then you blow him up. This is one game that should've been a downloadable type - for far less than $20.
I know, it sounds like I'm oversimplifying the game, but there's really not much more to it than dodge enemy fire, shoot enemy, get powerup and repeat.
To be more precise, the levels play out the same: first part you go left to right, then part you go from the outside in, then in the last part there's a side to side boss battle. You beat the boss, then you repeat the same process over again in the next stage.
The weapons are forgettable; for most of the time you'll be using the standard sphere attack, which is very weak. The other powerups and weapons you get along the way you will lose when you die (and I'm sure most of you will lose a life before completing a level of this game).
Adding to the misery is the fact this game looks like it was made ten or more years ago with the blurry graphics and the bland text only cut scenes between stages.
The only people who should try Saint are die hard shooter fans, but even they might get tired of the repetitive nature of the game. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Saint falls flat

posted by neurotk2 (RICHMOND, VA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok... got the game because it looked cool...
opened it, played it for ten minutes... returned it to the package and mailed it back...
read the reviews and agreed that this game is worthless! BOOOOOO
I would rather that Nintendo brought back Kid Icarus for the Wii in all of its sadness, then to ever have anyone play this game.
Side scroll game, poor graphics, silly sound track, poor controls.. reminds me of the gamefly commercials of the people getting REALLY BAD GAMES and being mad... glad I only rented this garbage!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!

posted by lolaann (PICAYUNE, MS) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

24 out of 26 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Let me just say that when I rented this game it had no reviews yet, so I had no idea how real people like the game. Well, it looked good from the picture on the front so I rented it. Well I was really excited to get it. I had high hopes and excitement for this game. When the game finally arrived I took it out and started to play right away. I played the game for three minutes and found out that it was nothing like I thought it was going to be. It was like playing a old school game. All he did was float on a cloud and you make him move up down or side to side while objects and creatures pass by. It was horrible and very dissapointing. Needless to say, I sent the game back the very same day I recieved it. I gave this game a one because I couldnt give it a zero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Trash

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't even waste your time. I knew it was going to be bad when the old time graphics popped up during the load screen. This is a side scroller and its not very good. I made it all of 5 minutes before packing the disk up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Saint

posted by RPGWizard (PASADENA, MD) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

HORRIBLE game. poor graphics and sound. No story line. Atari will not be happy we took one of thier games. Dont waste your time on this game. Worst game i have seen in a decade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not what I expected

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Aug 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Hello - this is a 2D sidescrolling shooter - I thought I was renting a 3D adventure game! So I am returning this after about 5 minutes of play. Hope this helps, my best, D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointed

posted by stgamer79 (EAST MEADOW, NY) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got the game, thinking it is a 3d Adventure game. I turn it on after connecting my nunchuck and found out it is a 2d shooter game which only uses the Wii remote sideways. I played it for about 5 minutes and shipped it back in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks!!!!

posted by rangerharley (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

THis game frustrates me because its not as cool as a regular wii game. The character doesn't move a lot and you just keep doing teh same things over and over. You just have to shoot and move. I feel angry everywhere that this game is not fun! Do not get it!
I would like to rate this game a big fat ZERO!!!!!!! It really makes me angry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

saint

posted by hagerm088 (AUBURN, WA) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

garbage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by gamer212 (GREEN RIVER, WY) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Oh. My.God. this game is one of the most amazing things i have ever come across in my life. at first, i was a little skeptical, what with its horribly low rating and terrible, undeserved reviews. yet, i gave the game a chance anyways. THANK GOD I DID. It was incredible! i bought 4 copies for me and my family. Give this game a chance. think about it this way; if America didn't take a chance, for a little something that today we call FREEDOM, where would we be today? i strongly urge all of you to go out and buy 234 copy's of this game. do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by Critic107 (ETTERS, PA) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This games has really bad taste i mean like so toally that it is just as a games like for the 70's like OMG!!!
This game is a big waste of time so dont get ok

thank you for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG this was a waste

posted by cyn12345 (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

No offense to the makersbut this game was a waste of time money and effort if had terrible graphics and was lame as H E double hockey sticks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE

posted by Smedrick (BLOOMFIELD, NJ) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This cheap piece of garbage isn't even worth 200 points in the WiiWare store. I played this for 5 minutes and it made me want to kill myself. I'm not even entirely sure why this was in my Q. I think GF played a cruel joke on me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad download game on a disc

posted by dropdead7 (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This is the quality of a very poor download game. It could easily have been a NES game. It is very bad. AVOID.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Saint

posted by brendamike (CHESTERFIELD, MI) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

Do not play this game. It was sooo bad. It is so much like Contra, the way its played but we thought that was good. We never got past the first boss. Was NO information on the whole net about how to play this game. Would never rent it again!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »