Rent Sacred 2: Fallen Angel for PS3
view large frontback

Sacred 2: Fallen Angel

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.1

1917 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NOT BAD AT ALL!

posted by lizogan (POST FALLS, ID) May 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

71 out of 78 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I dont know why this game is getting such bad reviews. I think its a good game, although i will admit its not the best game out there for its type its still worth renting. I dont know why they are classifying this game as an action adventure game either, its definately an RPG. The graphics are really good, the gameply could be a little smoother but all in all its a good game. Yes there is little to no player customization as far as looks or gender but there is tons of different armor and weapon customizing not to mention like elder schrolls what ever armor you put on accually shows on the character. Plus you can allocate points and stats upon leveling up which makes for good customizing also. I like the free range of gameplay and missions. you can do the main story or side missions whenever you want. The story is a little tough to follow but not so bad. Regardless of what people are saying if you are a diablo or buldours gate or elder schrolls fan then you should at least give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Complicated but so rewarding

posted by prmr619 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

By far one of my favorite games of all time. The character customization is very in depth. I prefer the cooldown system to mp. So that was a plus to me. On top of that this game is challenging. All in all it is a great game. I still go back to it from time to time. definitely worth a run through if you love the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mediocore

posted by Feithless (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is the best one available for the PS3 as a dungeon crawler, and that's not really saying much. There are several glitches throughout the game that can make it extremely frustrating to play, and is virtually unreadable on a SDTV.

Some of the most daunting glitches are, primarily, the freezing issue, though the game tends to save after every quest and when returning to a rez shrine, it can still be annoying. The next would be the voices, as they sometimes just repeat (especially noticeable when creating a character.) There are also several graphical issues that haven't been touched base on in any of the two or three patches the game has had. (To be honest, the two-three patches made no difference in the game from what I saw...)

Other downfalls land in the lack of customization, the lack of much enemy variety, the fact that while playing co-op, loot is grounded to one of the two characters, and it often ends up with one character picking up loot that goes for the other character, and having no way to give it to the other player. Lack of quest variety, and immensely challenging side quests also tend to become a bother.

Upsides though, are that, all in all, for a dungeon crawler, it's alright to play, and takes forever and a half to get through the first play through, much less when going back on harder difficulties. With a max level of 200, 6 different classes, and skill choices, it will at least be a game that won't be completely mastered anytime soon.

At least worth renting, if you like dungeon crawlers, and definitely more worth it than Dark Kingdom in length.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A solid RPG

posted by Shadowno (LANSING, MI) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having not played the first game, i was unsure what to expect from Sacred 2: Fallen Angel. Before playing, you have to create a Character (though i use this term loosely). You choose from 6 different classes, and change the hair color... that's it. You are then thrust into a truly massive world, this is where the game picks up. You can literally spend days doing side quests and exploring the map without so much as giving a suggestive wink to the main quest line. Not every area is reachable at first, but given the size of the map, you won't have to worry about that for awhile. The game tends to level well with you, dropping armor and weapons along the way. On the downside of the large map, however, you will find that a lot of the map tends to be crawling with animals, bandits, and other nasty enemies. Sometimes, it seems like every inch of the game is crawling with them. You can't travel from city to city without encountering roughly 20 to 100 enemies along the way.
There's a multiplayer option, and this is honestly the reason to get the game. If you're someone who enjoys playing games with your friends and family, Sacred 2 offers both online, and offline multiplayer, and the story mode is completely accessible during it.

Over all, Scared 2 is a solid game, fun to play, but get's repetitive after awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Overall Great

posted by jjay1jay2 (LAKEWOOD, CO) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i haven't beaten this game completely yet and usually i wait until i finish to write the review.
1. to start off i must comment on the graphics they bring a fun almost cartoonistic feel to the game the colors are vibrant and the enemies and plant life are stunning.
2. the combat system is great id like it to be more simple to utilize all the magic instead of having to go back to menu and resetting the triggers.
3. the selection of armor and weapons is good and the unique ability of each weapon keeps you wanting to collect.
4. Each class of creature is fun to play and the differences in strengths and weaknesses makes you want to play over and over.
5.The non linear world makes in fun to explore and going town to town and seeing the differences is fun and exciting

a game that i thought i would just be playing until Final Fantasy would be coming out might make me post pone my playing of FFXIII. I am so far thoroughly enjoying it. ill be playing it for some time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice hack in slash with tons of armor options.

posted by Dubj1979 (NAMPA, ID) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a fun rental that I kept a lot longer than expected. I will actually probably rent it again once I get some other games out of the way.
Story: A little bland
Graphics: Nothing to special, some fun cut scenes.
Gameplay: Top down hack n slash style with some special moves and spells, with option to zoom in to see your toon a little better but not the environment.
Playtime: With one character I had 30hrs of playtime and only discovered 40% of the map. Story line missions were about 34% through also.

Pro: Tons of armor options, I would spend a lot of time just comparing armor and deciding what stats I want. Do I want bonus armor %, health, add a percent of my attacks to be elemental, push back, def, there are soooooo many, about 25-30 different stats. I was stacking absorb physicall attack and push back all I could. So while i was hitting for 200hp they would hit me for 20-30hp. Plus I had a 20 percent chance of push back so everytime i hit in a group 1 out of 5 would go flying back. You can add specializations. example: if you specialize in swords you will unlock bonus stats for swords I went swords til i unlocked the bonus stat, then dual wield, so had 2 swords with tons of bonus stats.

Con: Story line is boring. Kept me from really playing this game more. It helped if I just did the quests and and actually read through them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Needs to be Patched!

posted by Berzacker (HUEYSVILLE, KY) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a 6 because it didn't meet my expectations of what kind of experience I thought the game would would provide. I was wanting a game like Diablo 2 I could play with my buddy's at my house not over PSN but local multilayer. But the game came with a bad glitch in which you couldn't trade or give loot to other players and second player couldn't pick anything up 1/2 the time or at all. So that glitch really was a game breaker for me.

The reason I didn't give it a lower score was because of what i played the game seemed like it had great potential the world seemed well rendered and the gameplay was fun and smooth. If not for the glitch I think this game would have received at least and 8 from me. because it seemed, aside from the glitch, like it had all the basics of a dungeon Hack n' Slash I was looking for.

"Research before you rent"

If you are looking for a Local multilayer experience look the game up before rent to see if it has been patched for the PS3 other wise its a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

average

posted by ElDirte (MINOT AFB, ND) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy pointless questing and tons of loot then you will probably enjoy this game. There is hardly any story and what story there is its not any good. There is nothing you havent seen before in any other dungeon crawler. Camera is also pretty bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Review of Sacred 2

posted by Jago1984 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game was very idealistic and well written. Context was simple and the game play was fun. The layout was very animating and interesting. In the game certain things could have been further explored like the relic or combat attributes/ activities. I think that with a few small changes and more interaction with the statues data crystals and combat attributes it would be very exciting to play probably even rate a 9 out of 10........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good weapons and advancement

posted by Duncansig (LARGO, FL) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is in your face leveling. The advancements and how to aquire them aren't explained well. The storyline is null and some of the tasks are annoying. For Simple action RPGing this game is fine. Huge world,lots of quests,tons of weapons. Be ready to pay a lot of attention, all in all a good time killer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you like Diablo(pc)

posted by bondo25 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its ok but no where near as great as Diablo from the pc.

Only good thing is that you can actually play with someone else.

The Cloth, gear, weapons arent attractive at all.

But there are alot of quest. If you love the sound of a finished quest. Lol.

If you like finishing quest, collect items, co-op play and a diablo fan. It meant for you. And only you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sacred 2 under-rated

posted by xNemesis (UXBRIDGE, MA) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have spent extensive time with this game. I am also a huge fan of the genre of gameplay (top down dungeon crawler rpg). I have to say i feel as though this game has been underrated by people who took a first glance and sent the game back. Just like most RPGs the game gets better as you go along. The character customization is pretty in depth as far as abilities, strengths. skills, etc... There are a lot of weapons and armor some customizable as far as stats. The world you get put into is pretty big not HUGE or anything, but there are a lot of dungeons to explore. Plus the difficulty level can be changed to reflect your characters level(think diablo 2). While it is not the best game i have played recently i can honestly say this is the best game in its genre in years.

So, i would like all those who rated it poorly to take a step back and contemplate how many games of this genre have come out recently? NONE!!! Also, if you do not enjoy this genre of gameplay why rate the game? why get the game sent to you? it makes no sense. All in all i feel the game wasn't terrible i enjoyed it thoroughly and to anyone out there who enjoys this genre of gameplay this is a must-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best RPG

posted by xXsnakeXx (LITTLETON, CO) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I expected more from this game. I really liked it at first. But when you get to points where a lot of things are going on. The framerate drops dramaticly and it really takes from the gameplay. Dont rent this game, its fun. But its very repetitive. I would go through and rate it in detail. But I'm just going to get straight to the facts and say dont. rent. it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

O.K

posted by ErikMcvay (BURDETT, NY) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Honestly the game wasn't terrible, although it could have been better. that being said there isnt a whole lot of RPG's you can play online and i had fun with that aspect. Trophies/Achievments were annoying and some fun, the Read 100 gravestones made me laugh because they were pretty funny. the quests were fun from dragon slaying to the classic RPG giant rats. but the voice acting sucked, and the combat was clunky. and alot of walking but with people who played oblivion or fallout and did not fast travel are used to it. i also hated the camera and the lack of a angelic male character, im not anti female i just like to make an angelic character resemble myself, i give the game a 6/10 i had some fun with it and the Blind Gaurdian concert in game was epic because im a huge power metal fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hours of fun

posted by NickG83 (LUDLOW, MA) May 31, 2009

Member since May 2009

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

There are not many games any more that let you play 2 player on same console. This game kept me and my friend busy for 6 hours a day for 2 days (it was raining out). Even after all that we still only explored %20 of map. it's a good play if your into role play games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really alot better

posted by Prizzem (RANDOLPH, NJ) May 19, 2009

Member since May 2008

28 out of 36 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Then everyone is saying, the graphic are not bad at all. Play it in 1080p and see for yourself. The comedy is cheesy yes, but who cares is that why your playing the game. The layout for the Ps3 control is flat out the best period. Its so easy to access every option and performing all your combat arts. The story really doesn't make sense but the questing is so easy that it really doesn't matter. The variety of gear is fantastic no one looks the same. Leveling your hero is not hard either and playing with friends is so much fun with a mic. This is the first game of its kind on the PS3 and they did a great job. Rent this game and get your grind on. The graphics are great the gameplay is smooth and easy. Online is super fun and leveling is not difficult. Plus the world is huge with many different game modes and 200 levels so have so fun. PVP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazingly In-Depth for a Dungeon Crawler

posted by CBGeno (DALLAS, PA) May 31, 2009

Member since May 2009

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Ever since the genre was started with Dungeons and Dragons, my friend and I have played just about every notable action/RPG game since the start of Video games. This game has a surprising amount of gameplay, with little explanation to get you started, which is refreshing to not have some invisible force holding your hand the entire game. They give tutorials when needed, but we found ourselves thrown into the world without much explanation of where we were going..Then again, im not a fan of quest dialogue. :)

Anyway, this game has 6 involved classes, all of which seem worth playing. Its not the cookie cutter warrior/rogue/mage type deal, while it is close its still refreshing seeing the odd Anubis-head looking Temple Guard instead of "Battle-Mage".

I plan on spending alot of time with this game, i probably should write a review when im finished but after 10 hours im hooked and hardly even into the massive world that the game has. If you enjoy action/adventure dungeon crawler type games, this is for you. Given the selection of games on PS3, this blows Dark Kingdom out of the water 100x over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game!

posted by Doublewar (SEBASTIAN, FL) Jun 16, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i see a too many bad user reviews here, i suggest you don't listen to them. i admit this game isn't for everyone. i told 2 of my friends to rent it out. 1 said it was amazing. best game he ever played. the other said the opposite. he hated it and said its a scam for money. from my understanding, many people who gave it bad ratings didn't understand it, had a problem with controls, got frustrated, or just isn't into this kind of game (like my second friend)

at dizeeStL,
he first mentions that all items look alike. there are a bunch of different looking armors and weapons that dont look anything alike! he must have not been looking at the name of them. if 2 items have the same name, like breastplate for example, ofcouse they will look alike. if one says breastplate and one says breastplate of silence, those will look alike as well. next he mentions character customization. that's true, you have very few character customization options and some characters cant be customized, unless you count armor and weapons. but i don't care much for that, since armors will cover up how you made your character look like anyways.
Next he says we are all misleading people into buying the game in hopes that the more money the game makes, the more DLC will come out. that's not true at all, i mean how much of an effect can some comment on a game on GAMEFLY have on its sales? duh, we are here to not spend money and rent games! and we are not misleading anyone, its your choice whether you buy the game or not, or whether you bother looking to see if its your kind of game or not by game play videos.

if i had a higher character limit, i can tell you what people who gave this game a bad review missed, or why they gave it a bad review. but i cant write much more. i suggest renting this game before buying it. check to see if it is or is not your kind of game. but don't give it a bad rating just because it isn't the type of game you like, or you didn't understand something or got frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun and Addictive

posted by Shalatii (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

It's too bad this game has gotten so many bad reviews, because it is very fun and addictive, so much so that I've already put 200+ hours into it and am still going strong. It's not for everyone though. People who enjoy loot-collecting, hack-n-slash rpgs like Diablo, Champions of Norrath, and Baldur's Gate will more than likely enjoy this title as well.

The game has a few minor bugs and some framerate issues in places, but certainly nothing game-breaking for me. The character customization in terms of appearance (hair color, eye color, etc) is practically non-existent, but in terms of character advancement and equipment the customization is very deep and rich, so much so that it can be over-whelming and hard to understand for the first time player. Each of the 6 different character types can be played in many different ways depending on how you level you character and what skills you pick. The developers forums are a good source of information on customization for people willing to take the time.

The trophies are all fairly straight-forward and easy but also very time-consuming. I'd guess 100+ hours to get a platinum if one played just for the trophies. With DLC planned and an expansion already being worked on (confirmed), this is a title that fans of the genre should definitely pick up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sacred 2

posted by XXX2600 (MANASSAS, VA) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is your best choice for a two player RPG local co-op thus far. The current generation consoles sorely lack games in this vein.

Sacred 2 is a cross between Oblivion and Baulder’s Gate/Champions. It’s much better than Dark Kingdom (what isn’t right?) but not a solid or as fun as older PS2 titles that came out ages ago such as Gauntlet Dark Legacy. In other words, you wander around like somewhat aimlessly like Oblivion (bad) but it looks and plays more like Baulder’s Gate or Champions (good, in my humble opinion).

The character customization is limited as far as appearance is concerened. However, the level up skill selection feature will add to the replay value. I view this title as something worth purchasing if you really like two player games in this aforementioned genre. I feel Sacred 2 is worth playing until something better comes along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game, confusing buttons

posted by grharrisjr (GREENVILLE, SC) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I may be underestimated the game due to my naivete, but I think it is a great RPG. However, there are so many choices, and the game doesn't pause when you are trying to switch things over, it made the game difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just so-so

posted by Frozennova (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not a bad game... If you're a fan of the genre then it might be worth renting. Unfortunately it's missing a few elements that other games like it have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun game if you are into RPGs, but has problems

posted by BBunny (FALL RIVER, MA) May 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I was starting to somewhat enjoy a new refreshing RPG on the PS3. I was enjoying all the little small quests, and I was finally starting to learn the technical system behind the character leveling and combat arts. Then I started having problems with freezing. I found myself running around and around doing quests and getting some great experience until my game randomly froze on me. First time? Okay I forgive ya, and once again I would re-play what I had already done. A bit more down the road guess what? Yeah it froze again. That started pissing me off. All of the time and effort I put in for the past half an hour...gone, and reset. Ridiculous. I shouldn't need to save every 5 seconds because I fear the game will freeze. Fun game, online is very cool, but I am returning it within two days because of this issue, and it's a big one trust me. There is nothing worse than having an RPG game that freezes on you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a nice looking game

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) May 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

12 out of 27 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

first of all are you lost its most likley you never played the first game it will fill you in you are playing god among gods and your mission is to destroy all that oppose to destory your scared land the graphics i give a 9 and heres the truth the game runs native 1080p so if you are playing on a 720p a 1080i you will not get the full resoultion and if your on a standerd tv you should just not get this game its very sharp well detailed plenty to do its like baldurs gate but not so damm set path you can go any place you desire the map is huge the chars you can unlock more and costum fit them as you wish and truthfuly i played norath and baldurs gate all of them and norath the most you cant costum make cra p ppp thaT game was beyond set path i hated it compared to baldurs gate dark aliance i mean this game is really fun and on xbox360 its fulgy i seen the resoultion looks like beyond horded the bitmaping looks like a 10 year old program it so hey people with a ps3 and 360 be galde you got a ps3 aswell and this is one of those games that look amazing on the ps3 the world is beautiful and if your lost what to do just check your quest log press L1 then go to quest log then press l2 and see what your main quest is bam.... that simple i hope you enjoyed the real!!!! review of scared 2 fallen angel thANKYOU }Andrew{

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by BanditKeef (LEBANON, TN) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a great game, don't know how it got such a low review. Reminds me of a DnD kinda atmosphere.

The only thing i didn't like about it was the camera view. It should have be more versatile (more like World of Warcraft viewing). Would of made the game more enjoyable.

Other than that, great game. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse