Rent Saboteur for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Saboteur

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

6982 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I'd go t!ts up without me smokes

posted by ILDUCE42O (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

50 out of 52 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I took my time playing through this game and it was very fun and definitely worth the rent. The graphics were good, not amazing, but normal for a relatively good budgeted game...especially the black and white aspect was amazing and that art style alone was unique to the uninspired areas of France with only the Naz! flags and banners and lights from windows in color, which I thought was a very cool addition to the visuals of the game as they gradually unlock into full color as you inspire the areas...and if you downloaded the Midnight Show DLC for about $2.50 you get something extra to look at in The Belle your first safe house...Each side mission was relatively fun and didn't really get too repetitive and the main missions and story line was quite good not to mention there were 1000 ambient free play targets to just blow ish up if you were in the mood for that...One of the most intriguing aspects of the game was the ability to stealth kill Nazis and take their uniform in order to stealthily infiltrate their bases which I did most of the game instead of going in guns blazing every time, and I found it very enjoyable but just the ability to choose to go all out guns in the air or just play it cool and pretend to be a Naz! to get the job done is very cool...not to mention all the different ways to destroy stuff such as AA guns which were found around the city as well as your dynamite...The voice acting was also relatively good, especially Sean Devlin was great and I couldn't help but repeating some of his one liners when I would stop playing it for the night...especially since I'm of Irish heritage I loved the guy, he was the man...you can take a good 20+ hours to get through the game if you choose to take it slow and do everything you can but it will usually last you either 12-15 hours...definitely worth the rent and I would recommend it to anyone who like destruction and open world action..only downer is he takes a lot of damage and the car handling is a little off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NEVER THOUGHT IT WOULD BE SUCH A GOOD GAME!

posted by DRHIGGLES (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

i rented this game because the games that i want the most are always "low" availability. so i started looking around to find something that was available now. i ran across the saboteur and thought i would give it a shot. i had never heard of this game until then and i really dont know why. this game is VERY good. it didnt really have any publicity that i know of. like i said, i just ran across it on here. if you are a fan of grand theft auto, then you should love this game. it kinda reminds of of GTA mixed with assassins creed,(in the way that you can climb just about ANY building or structure in the game). and another BIG plus to the game is that all you do is go around and kill NAZIS. THATS RIGHT, NAZIS! you really cant beat sneakin up behind on of those a-holes and snappin his neck just so you can steal his outfit and get close to one of the generals to do the same! all in all, i would actually have bought this game if i had knew about it before i rented it from gamefly...BUT IF ANYTHING ELSE...RENT THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saboteurrific

posted by SoulStain (RESEDA, CA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

54 out of 64 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. A little rough around the edges but really a lot of fun. I havent got too far into it but from what ive seen so far i wont be sending it back early. Good storyline and voice acting helps. Make sure you play it on at least the hard level though because its not really that difficult. The games kind of a cross between GTA & Mercenaries. One thing that kind of sucks is that you need a code that comes with purchasing the game to unlock DLC that adds nudity and a host of other pleaures to the game - but you can always download it from xboxlive for $4.99 too. Totally worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Like so many other sandbox games...

posted by UberBoob (CLARKSTON, MI) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

24 out of 30 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you can't keep the player engaged, then all the graphics, art, guns, cars, explosions in the world won't make you keep playing it.

Saboteur is a open-world, WW2 setting game where you, an Irish saboteur, can choose how to liberate Paris. Usually this means kicking the snot out of Nazis. Its fun to string together bombs, and take down zeppelins with rocket launchers, but after the novelty wears off, you're left with just another sandbox game that gets old quickly.

The gimmick here is that, sections of Paris are black and white until you "liberate" (kill the Nazis in) that area. You can sneak into bases or just load up a Tommy gun and go to town. You will choose the later most of the time because the stealth mechanic is broken.

I got about 6-8 good hours of fun out this game, but had no desire to finish this middle-of-the-pack open-worlder.

- Bottom line: Fun for a while, but you'll be sending this one back in a couple days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game!

posted by Renegadex (NEPTUNE, NJ) Dec 9, 2009

Member since May 2009

30 out of 38 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I have only played The Saboteur for a few hours now and I feel that this game is a solid Rent. I say this because it looks like after completing the game there won't be much replay value. However this game is great so far, it reminds me of GTA IV with a twist and great humor. The controls are great, graphics are great, story is good, and black & white look is awesome.

Conclusion: worth the rent! lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Saboteur is a good game.

posted by danteELITE (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

A lot of people compare it to Red Faction, but thats only because there arent many "destruction based/open world" games.

Pros: Very original, Easy learning curve, Great voice acting, Tons of side missions, Loads of upgrades and perks, HUGE open world to explore and you can climb anything, One liners you will repeat for days, Exploding cows, Plenty o' guns, The option of stealth and disguises is great, Killin nazis and just plain mayhem.

Cons: The driving is a bit odd and glitchy, Not the best graphics ever.

All in all, a good game worth beating. A few things couldve been done better but its no biggie.

8.5/10

4 for the base story and gameplay
2 for being open world
the irish voice actor deserves a point thats 7 so far.
1 point for the ability of stealth and .5 for the attempted driving.

-dE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SABOTEUR

posted by JIMITIME (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

saboteur is a awesome-ish game. like all games it has ups and downs. it has this great perks system, that will reward you with new weapons, cars, and abilitys. for instance blow up x amount of german items, and you can plant bombs faster. the missions are good, and fairly engaging. once completed then the color returns to that area as the german occupation moves out. saboteur features a wide variety of guns, from shotguns, to rocket launchers, to rifles. then theres the melee system. it can be a little tricky at times. the cover system is also abit strange, mainly because of the fact that instead of a simple cover button, sean attomatically enters cover. it can be really frustrating when your trying to run from some enemies and sean decides he wants to jump into cover on some wall. the health system is annoying to. it has one of those call of duty style things where the screen gets red. here its the same, except instead of just going red, it gets really red, black blotches pop up and block your view, and things get really blurry. ive died more than once because i was running couldnt see where i was going, ducked into some cover i didnt want to jump into in the first place, died and then had to restart the whole mission. last but not least theres the climbing system. its not assassins creed, but its ok. kind of slow. in the end the game is extremely addicting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GTA meets Metal Gear Solid meets InFamous...

posted by mtnclimber (GREELEY, CO) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Sounds like a great premise right? Well it is, except in this case it falls just a tad short in the Metal Gear department in that the stealth in game is, well for lack of a better word, broke. But lets start with the good stuff first.

Your an Irish bloke in WW2 occupied Paris who through personal tragedy has decided to take up arms against the multitude of Nazis who reside in Paris. You can do this through a couple different ways, mainly running missions or just wandering around the open world causing as much mayhem as possible, which can be quite a bit. Throughout the world you can collect contraband from both missions and the random mischief which can be used to trade to black marketeers for vehicles, weapons, and perks. Climbing throughout Paris reminded me alot of InFamous and while not as well done as that, it is manageable and works for getting out of sticky situations with Nazis or just exploring.

Combat is enjoyable from hand to hand combat, to running machine gun fights, to calling in rebel strikes and support, as well as car chases, rocketing down air ships, and chaining together massive explosions there is some fun to be had along the way.

The atmosphere is extremely well done, everything from the characters, missions, music, cars, burlesque dancers, the overall story, and the buildings around Paris and its countryside are top notch. The game starts out with all the areas in a "black and white" mode which signifies German occupation which would turn to color when you free an area from German control which at first was annoying but grew on me quickly.

The bad. For me it was the stealth. I hated it. It seemed almost pointless and after a couple hours of trying it I abandoned it altogether. The warning indicator fills up way to quickly, too many Gestapo guards, or instant identification which translates basically into a fight or flight scenario.

Overall I enjoyed the game. It provided many hours worth of fun and I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Rent!

posted by Juicybong (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a sleeper, im so mad i waited this long to play it.. I actually ended up buying it thats how good it is! Only bad part it will take a lot of work to bet it, because u never run out of stuff to do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Game, Great Concept, But...

posted by Ezra81 (NEW CITY, NY) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After playing every GTA game, and most WWII games, this game is pretty much a mix of Grand Theft Auto Vice City and San Andreas, mixed with some new stealth techniques and mad bombing gallore.

The graphics are a step up in my opinion to many open world games, maybe except for GTA IV, and the soundtrack is pretty good until it gets repetitive. With Sin City Style Graphics merging Black and White with Color effects (you find out why), to create the games atmosphere, it really set most games apart.

I liked the storyline, it was something different over everything else that is out right now, but it was a bit predictable.

Overall, the freeplay is great. Blowing things up is fun, but in the end this is just another rental. If you have the MS Points to spare get the DLC its worth it only if you can afford the points. In the end, the glitches are massive and many times get you killed. The weapons are great and you get a huge selection to choose from.

Stick with Renting this game, if you like it you can always buy it from Gamefly for less then a store, but in my opinion it is not worth $59.99.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty neat'o

posted by budhabudy (FERNDALE, WA) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm purched upon a high ledge, sniper rifle in hand, fifteen or more soldiers in the courtyard below...you wil come upon many situations exactly like this one, almost to many times. Right when you think this game could take a turn for the worse with more slow paced stealth missions, you get to do some fun racing and "chauffeur" missions. At first you might think you have to play every mission in a stealth mode, but you dont always have to. when it came down to it, I would use the stealth tactics. its just too bad that this game is alot more fun using the run'n'gun tactics.

the graphics were average at best. its no COD4 or any high end game of that status, but the dark and gloomy occupied regions with vibrant reds, blues, and yellows add a nice touch. when you regain a occupied area a color explosion occures and the region is engulfed in vibrant colors. Unfortunantley this is the coolest feature in the game.

overall, its a defenite rent just to play through. it was fun a i enjoyed most parts of this game. i give it a solid 7 SS pins out of 10

Have Fun,
BuddhaBuddy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An interesting game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Dec 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love Grand Theft Auto, and this game has some similarities with GTA. Both games are third person shooters, you can drive and jack cars, and run around causing havok. This game is set when France is being controlled by the Nazis. And youre an irishman who wants to show the Nazis whos boss. So you sabotage their stuff. And thats the basis of the stuff youll do in this game. The storyline is really nice in this game, not quite GTA quality, but good enough. One thing about this game that would put it over the edge is graphics. They could be much better. The is no multiplayer in this game so when youre done with the campaign, then youre done. Another thing about this game is it comes with a code, in the case. And it activates nudity and other mature things. And if you dont buy the game, you can download it, for around 3 or 4 bucks. So thats kind of weird. Overall this game is pretty nice, its fun to play and has a bunch of things to do. Try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by CCStew22 (NEWNAN, GA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If you like the Grand Theft Auto series, you will like this game. You are an Irish mechanic in Paris during World War 2. This game is a lot like GTA and it's awesome. It has some pretty cool one liners that you will be saying to your friends. This game is a must play. I am keeping this game until I beat it. GO GET IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game needs a lesson from Assasins Creed

posted by joker13 (FENTON, MI) Dec 10, 2009

Member since May 2006

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

This game is a decent time killer but not much more.
After Assasins Creed the climbing system is inexcusable.
If pandemic had built in a better way to traverse rooftops and made it easier to blend in when disguised, this game would have had a chance to be a real classic. On the plus side hearing some of Sean's profanity laced grumbling is entertaning with his accent. I do feel like the likeably flawed character was a little wasted with the lackluster story.
Also can somebody tell me what division of the SS used attractive women in skintight suits as bodyguards? I must not be watching enough history channel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than Expected

posted by gary7354 (WESTLAND, MI) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is better than the critics rate it. It is fun to play unlike others that are just plain frustrating like Assassins Creed 2 and Fallout 3. The game has a lot of driving, climbing and blowing stuff up. It is similar to Red Faction mixed with the 1st Uncharted. There is a good selection of weapons and you get credited for your skills with extra perks. Additionally, you get money for blowing stuff up. The game has a seedy side with strippers, brothels and you get to kill some Germans. How can you beat that... The assignments are challenging and not repetitive. Also, you can joist go wild and blow stuff up without being on an assignment.

I hope you give this game a chance and at least rent it.

gary7354

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game lacking polish

posted by Quinlan (FREMONT, CA) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game could have been great. Pandemic has certainly made fantastic games before, but sadly they shut down before they managed to really finish their last game. I think that given some more money and a few more months of development, Saboteur could have been remembered as one of the classics. But sadly, it didn't get all the attention it needed, and now it's stuck with an average rating of 7.1.

Pros-

+Great artistic style
+Huge selection of distinct guns
+Very cool perk system rewarding you for doing difficult tasks with new abilities and guns
+Helpful upgrades in the weapon shop
+Decent voice acting
+Rather than picking up the same boring collectibles, you blow up a variety of different ones.
+Simple, intuitive controls setup
+Functional stealth system, not quite perfect though
+Missions only rarely get repetitive
+Storyline is a bit dull but very easy to follow
+Terror Sniper, Silenced SMG, and Panzershrek are awesome and lots of fun
+Pretty long compared to some others, it took me about 15 hours.
+Achievements - easy 800, hard 1000

Cons-

-Sometimes it's hard to see things in the grayscale sections.
-Large environment suffers from lack of fast travel.
-The driving is very awkward
-WAY too many freeplay events, and some are hard to get to
-Graphics aren't bad, but are rough around the edges
-Climbing mechanic is pretty terrible, especially after playing Assassin's Creed.
-Hiding spots are few and far between
-More driving problems - cars hit invisible walls in open fields where you don't on foot, cars can only drive on very level terrain while you can climb cliffs on foot
-Range problems, you can see something clearly, but if it's too far away the bullet/rocket disappears before it reaches them.
-Map isn't great, and there's no ability to set a marker

Overall, this game isn't great, nor will it be remembered for years to come. But it is a good deal of fun while it lasts, and is definitely worth a rent if you're able to overlook its somewhat minor flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by MiNImE16 (ROCHESTER, MN) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The minute i turned this game on i had high expectations because of what my friends had told me and some scores i have seen. But the minute iturned onte game and started playing those went away for a while. I noticed the driving was very clunky and all the cars feel like there semi trucks. The shooting wasent terrible and the cover system was alright. The climbing sytem was alright but not like assassins creed or other climbing type games. I thought i was going to be sending the game back the next day but i decided to give it another chance. Then i started to have some fun after learning how to sort of drive the cars and adapted to the cover system and climbing things. For some reason i kept playing and playing and i just kept having more and more fun. If you give this game a shot and adapt to some of the bad things you really find yourself having a good time blowing things up and shooting people give it a rent and you will find yourself wanting more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Solid

posted by ggrenades (HERNANDO, MS) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very solid. It rips off a lot of games. The ones that come to mind are Saints Row, Assassins Creed and Red Faction Gorilla. The shooting and movement mechanics remind me of Saints Row. The driving, and destruction remind me of Red Faction, and of course the stealth and wall climbing reminds me of AC. With all that said I wouldn't say it's better then all three. It's a very fun and interesting game. I thought the story was pretty original and the main character and the story behind occupied France interested me. I gave it a seven just because while for the most part the game was good the bad part was mainly do to glitches, and the graphics were a bit out of date. I of course don't think graphics make a good game but they do help, and glitches don't bother me as long as it is only now and then. I wouldn't recommend buying it but it is def a great rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Saboteur

posted by BurtonSnow (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is an excellent mix of shooting, stealth, and open world sandbox play. The game does borrow a lot of stuff from other games like assassins creed, and GTA and isn't original at all, but blends all these elements together so well. The story simplistic, but works perfectly. I love the city environments and it feels so much like GTA IV in a good way. Also, this game has crazy replay value so it wouldn't be too bad to buy. Overall excellent game with a few goofy flaws/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Grand theft auto meets Europe

posted by josemike (BLOOMINGTON, TX) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game play is almost similar, you can take vehicles, beat up people, and destroy a lot of things. I rented this game before I game to gamefly, so I already have half the missions done. But if you are into sniping people from a distance this game has it. Drive down the sidewalk and unlock new achievements, take out and entire regiment of troops. The beginning starts out a little slow but don't let that fool you. When you start a war take cover, just because you may be able to hide from the troops trying to kill you, you also have to worry able the blimps in the sky that has machine guns fully loaded to take you out. All I can say is upgrade, upgrade and upgrade your weapons. This is a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Saboteur

posted by CaymanDive (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In a nutshell: Assassins Creed + Mafia + and Grand Theft Auto; except in Europe and in the 1940s. Beautiful women, fast, long forgotten cars, and violence around every courner, it is everything a gamer could ask for. Play your own missions, foil the German regime at every turn. Resupply from blackmarketeers and upgrade your arsenal. You will want to keep playing on and on to see how you can inspire the people of France to fight back the Germans. Vive La Resistance!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A broke man's GTA with artistic-ness and Na/zis

posted by bash91 (MOUNT AIRY, MD) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rent/Buy/Pass: Pass

Story
You play an Irishman named Sean (something), who likes one thing more than Whiskey, if I may quote Lt. Aldo Raine "Killin' Na/zi's." You will play through the game and learn why Sean Hate's the Na/zi's and what it will take to bring them down. Overall, the story is meh. You really could care less about the charactars and you'll eventually skip all talking and just go directly to the mission.

Visuals
This game has a pretty cool idea as far as design. It has a black and white design with only red showing through. (SPOILER That is until you free an area and its citizens through missions; this will cause that area to regain its color SPOILER). Warning about the Gamma setting, set it one above what the game tells you to set it at becuase if u play at the games desired level, driving is almost impossible and you'll spend a lot of the game in the dark. But the gamma can be changed throughout the game.

Sound
The voices really aren't that great and almost sound put on. If the voice actors were not actually from their characters supposed countries areas I wouldn't be suprised. And the music in the backround did not really add anything.

Gameplay
The game play is exactly like GTA, same as maps and missions. Except GTA is soooo much better in execution and in general. The other addition is that the main charactar climbs buildings like assasins creed except the climbing controls are generic and down right boring.

Length of game
The GTA style with a set mission track and side mission gives this game decent play time.

Replay value
The side mission can give you extra incentive to go back and play if you didn't do them but, thats really if you love the game.

Overall
I'd say you can pass this game up. It has fun parts but nothing that has not already been done better in other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

If you like GTA ...

posted by Mazaru666 (JOHNSTOWN, CO) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

..then you probably will enjoy this game. I just couldn't stand the constant breaks in the action when you complete shot missions (or any mission). Plus it takes too many components from other games [like the climbing and car jacking] to make this interesting enough to play for more than two hours at a time. Hand to hand combat is pretty lame also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST RENT

posted by scantace (KIHEI, HI) Jul 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

gameplay=4/5
graphics=3/5
storyline/setting=5/5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GTA in N4zi Germany

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The title basically says it all. The Saboteur is essentially GTA during the era of the Nazis, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. In fact, I had more fun playing The Saboteur than I did GTA 4. There are random side quests along with a fairly long storyline and the "wanted" system is very similar to GTA except the people after you are Nazis, not cops. Overall The Saboteur is a fun sandbox game that'll keep your attention.

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse