Rent Saboteur for PS3
view large frontback

Saboteur

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.8

3719 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blowing stuff up is fun

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Dec 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

47 out of 53 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

"The Saboteur", Pandemic's (Mercenaries, Star Wars Battlefront) swan song, is a real nice way for the studio to go out. Applying the open world sandbox to a World War 2 setting, "The Saboteur" puts you in the shoes of one Sean Devlin, a hard drinking, foul mouthed Irishman caught in occupied Paris. The game throws you right into some action, as Devlin aids Luc, a member of the French Resistance, in blowing up a fuel depot. This first mission (and the flashback following it) serves as the tutorial, introducing you to the game's mechanics. Devlin can climb buildings, fight with both his fists and assorted weapons, and drive a multitude of cars through Paris and the French countryside. Graphics especially standout, with German occupied areas colored in shades of grey with hints of red. As Devlin liberates areas, color seeps back in, and in these areas Devlin will find more aid from other citizens (much in the same way the hero did in "Red Faction: Guerilla"). Controls work fairly well once you get used to them, though the targeting can be iffy at times and brawling can prove tricky. The stealth elements work okay, though it's often far easier to go in guns blazing. The nice thing is you have the choice for most of the missions on how to approach them. The story is fairly well written and the voice acting is pretty good. In addition to the story missions, there are side tasks to accomplish as well as free roaming destruction and exploration. The game gives you a lot to do, with about a 15 hour story mode and plenty of extra gameplay with the free roaming exploration and sabotage. While it borrows from other games (GTA, Assassin's Creed 2) it mixes the styles well. This is definitely a M-rated title (violence, language, nudity) so keep that in mind. If you want a different WW 2 game, give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad for what it is.

posted by SoNin360 (TOPEKA, KS) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

The Saboteur really isn't as bad of a game as I expected. In fact it was pretty good. The gameplay is chaotic and for the most part fun. my only complaints would be the climbing mechanic, as climbing buildings is kind of lame, and how easy it can be to trigger an alarm and get chased around by Nazis for too long.

But other than that it is fun. More on the easy side if playing on any difficulty under "hard", but it's still awesome mowing down Nazis and blowing stuff up. Story itself last about 8 hours, side missions add a few more hours, and doing everything else (or achieving all the trophies) should take at least 30 hours. So it was definitely worth the rent, lasted me a good week. Probably wouldn't play through it again, but that was a lot of time spent for a more "unknown" title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by MadMike76 (BARTLESVILLE, OK) Jun 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I really enjoy this game. For all of you GTA fans... This is basically a 1940's WWII Germany version of Grand Theft Auto.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great theory bad execution

posted by Kevin08 (CRESTWOOD, IL) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

27 out of 43 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Overall:

The Saboteur plays and acts like the previous two Godfather titles from EA down to an exact replica. The idea of being behind enemy lines in occupied france is interesting, but it fall short do to the inability move beyond the same old gameplay.

The Good:

- Story line is intriguing and original
- graphics are above average
- Trophies are easy to get a Platinum

The Bad:

- The driving controls are horrible
- Character controls are horrible
- Aiming system and cover system lack the fluidity of games like uncharted and gears of war

Summary:

Ultimately if you loved The Godfather games and their gameplay than this will be a good game for you, however if you aren't to into the game from the premise of it you will be quickly disappointed.

ps. True EA money scam in giving a dlc code to allow for extra portions of the game only to those who buy the game and charge $3 to those who don't buy the game first hand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Half way thru it get awsome. A sleeper, rent it.

posted by Horsepower (LA MESA, CA) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

At first I thought the game was kind of boring but after playing for a few hours all I can say is Wow!

The game starts off slow but half way thru it really gets good. All I can say is rent the game and be prepared to spend time on a really long game which gets really exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than Expected

posted by gary7354 (WESTLAND, MI) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is better than the critics rate it. It is fun to play unlike others that are just plain frustrating like Assassins Creed 2 and Fallout 3. The game has a lot of driving, climbing and blowing stuff up. It is similar to Red Faction mixed with the 1st Uncharted. There is a good selection of weapons and you get credited for your skills with extra perks. Additionally, you get money for blowing stuff up. The game has a seedy side with strippers, brothels and you get to kill some Germans. How can you beat that... The assignments are challenging and not repetitive. Also, you can joist go wild and blow stuff up without being on an assignment.

I hope you give this game a chance and at least rent it.

gary7354

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

“GrandThieftMercenariesCreed”

posted by zombieorc (MEADOW VISTA, CA) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

17 out of 27 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Take control of Sean, an ex-mechanic/race car driver in a game that can only be described as “GrandThieftMercenariesCreed”, in the Saboteur.
Even though this game takes its design and core game play elements from some of the best games out there right now, the Saboteur implements them with clunky, glitchy imperfection.
First of all, the implementation of the driving is just sloppy. The vehicles feel light and the damage modeling is virtually non existent until the vehicle is about to explode at which point it will burst into flames. Also the engine sounds cut in and out while driving and sometimes are just gone all together creating an odd silence while the car is moving.
The combat mechanics are solid and will be immediately familiar to anyone who has played any of the games in the Mercenaries series. However the rifles sway so much before they are upgraded they are pretty much useless since you have to get close to the target before you can even hit it. And the AA guns simply will not destroy some targets. Even when those targets are the exact same vehicle or soldier you just shot and destroyed ten times a few seconds ago with that very same AA gun.
Furthermore the plat-forming is just plain clunky. Simply climbing up the side of a building cannot be done. You have to continually press the jump button to move from ledge to ledge. This can very tedious and sometimes frustrating to say the least.
However, the Saboteur does have its good points. Running around France blowblowing stuff up for contraband to buy new weapons, perks, and vehicles is lots of fun. The main story missions are varied and range from a variety of different tasks such as stealing ancient artifacts to beating German race car drivers in a race.
This is probably the best game to ever come out of Pandemic. Everything in this game has improved over their previous games in terms of quality, story, graphics, everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

20 Hours in and STILL Lovin It!!!

posted by kmtburton (LEXINGTON, KY) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is great the guns sound and feel powerful the duck and cover system is great the climbing and free running are pretty realistic the driving is good and it has the best collectibles I've ever seen in a game. Instead of a bunch of useless junk like hidden packages that never have a good enough reward you have 1300+ n-a-z-i installations to blow up or generals to kill and many other fun side missions. I fully expect to put in another 20-25 hours to get the plat. If your looking for a great over the top action game then it has you covered too since most of the main story missions are epic in size like setting explosives on a train bridge and then getting on the train to save someone before the train reaches the bridge or running through an exploding zeppelin. Not to mention the game looks great its by far the best graphics that Pandemic has ever had in any of their games. My only complaint is there wasn't enough races like the ones in the mains story. Great game severely underrated luckily it looks like Pandemics idea for side missions may catch on since Just Cause 2 is using a very similar structure. Hopefully we'll see this type stuff in other games of this type as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THE LONGER YOU PLAY, THE BETTER THE GAME GETS.

posted by 20SERIES (NEW HAVEN, VT) Jan 10, 2010

Member since May 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

At first I thought the game was a little bit flat, but about 5- 6 hours into it, I'm loving it!Definetly a pleasant surprise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by Steugen (LOUISBURG, NC) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's definitely an interesting story line, and the concept of the colors going from a Sin City-esque mix of black and white with pockets of color to full vibrant color once you liberate a section of the city gives the game an artistic touch. However, while it is fun to go around blowing up Nazis and hanging out with cabaret dancers, this game does fall short in a few areas. First of all, the graphics are a little sub-par. I feel like I'm playing a game that came out last year, not a week ago, and in a way I am, because it's very much like the Godfather games. Also, the ease of climbing and the way it looks doesn't even hold a candle to the fluidity of Assassin's Creed 2. The driving isn't that easy to control, but I'll give them a pass on that because cars in the 1940s probably weren't that easy to control either. Also, on a more minor note, the French characters speaking English in the game have the most awful fake accents. It's like fingernails on a chalkboard when your buddy Luc speaks. You wonder why these game designers can't just find a real person from that country when they need a voice done in an accent, it's not that hard to find.

All in all, a fun game to try and mess around with, but definitely not as impressive as I was hoping for, and certainly not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bring in the Irish!

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Sep 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well I have to say that after half an hour or so I just wasn't feeling this game and was going to send it back, but I took a break and tried it the next day. I couldn't put it down after that! The game plays very similar to the Assassins Creed games, large free roaming map with tons of mini missions to complete, in this game you are blowing up Nazis....YAY!, and icons to collect. There are quite a few story missions to keep you busy for 15+ hours, I actually really liked all of the racing missions....really fun, and if you wan to get a 100% complete get ready for 35 hours or so of game play. The game does use a simple system through the black market dealer. You will be blowing up Nazis and their property for contraband to upgrade you arsenal and vehicles. There also is the perks system, if you complete certain aspects of game play you will be awarded with new weapons or abilities. If you are a fan of Assassins Creed I would highly recommend this to you, I think even if you aren't try it out anyways its a fun game. I mean who doesn't like killing Nazis??!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I loved this game!

posted by ShefZ28 (LOMBARD, IL) May 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had mixed expectations when I began playing this game. It is a sandbox game (think GTA IV) set in German occupied Paris, France.

I've played through and finished GTA IV and using that game as a reference, I felt this game was much better. The game might not be as polished as GTA, when looking out over the city the buildings in the near distance are blurry, the textures load in front of you and the game did freeze once before the last mission.

But the controls, the driving, the cars guns and climbing were fantastic. Instead of driving from point A to point B you had 1300 freeplay items to destroy/collect.

I played this game all the way through for the platinum and it took me about 40 hours. It was well worth it and I highly suggest giving this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its a good game!

posted by MO2424 (VACAVILLE, CA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I give it a 10. It has a good story. It also has good graphics. Only rent this if you enjoy playing games set in WWII setting. It plays like a mix of GTA4,Assassins Creed,and The Godfather. DLC for it isn't worth the $2.99 that it sells for on PSN. Game should come with code to download the DLC for free when you buy it. Still DLC is not worth the time of the download. LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Slow start

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The game starts off pretty boring, but once you finish the race the action begins, now I can't put the controller down the only thing I didn't like about the game is the brawling controls it's pretty weak. The game looks really good, so I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sabotage at its greatess}:)~

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

this game is sweet dont trust reviews paris looks beautiful the story is great the lead char is a smart as s irishman if he was real it would be jarrerd buttler the gameplay smooth for the most part only thing that is off is the climing mechanics you need to mash x to climb now heres the deal your a race car driver turned saboteurn so no his climbing isnt close to ac2 but yes it gets the job done and does a good job enough the shooting is third person no auto aim woopie du! use manual just like every call of duty and killzone 2 uncharted exe..also shaun can fight he can fight well hes irish what do you expect him do run away i think not shaun is like altiar sam fisher 47 and the lead char of redfaction gurrilla mixed he can do stealh like 47 kill naz is take there uniforms but beware dont shot the naz i that you want to take his uniform the reason why cause of blood if the guards see blood all over your closes they will be hot on you looking at every move you make so remeber sneak brake neck take uniform then you can walk around free only if u hold down L1 and creep slow when your not in the nazis path climb a building and continue your quest for anarchy now back to paris if your in a place that is still full of nazis the area will be dark and gloomy and pooring rain it reminds me of sin city how it looks so when you have killed all of the nazis in this area the lush greens and coble stone roads come back with full color also the hearts of the towns people have been awaken and they now kill nazis with u if your in there town also you can drive anything in the game the car mechanics are really easy and fun think saintsrow2 remeber when u played it for a long time then u started playing gta4 again and how fast you would lose control of a car going around and turn well your in luck the driving mechanis are alot like saintsrow2 your hideout is a burles club with girls always wanting u the models looks great way better then godfather2 so please try and u will love i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Saboteur

posted by swaggerkid (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it is a sad feelin to play the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What was this garbage?????????

posted by skrilla666 (PAWTUCKET, RI) Aug 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

oh thats right it was the saboteur......so boring same missions over and over and over again.....i really can't see some people loving this game.....to be honest i would be happier playing with a barrell of monkeys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Grand Theft Auto: WWII

posted by Strougall (BREA, CA) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

This was a rip off of GTA. But it was good enough for 10 hours worth of play.

Starts out in a brothel. :)

to be honest this game would be more fun to be a german. Who wants to save the french? not me!

An irish man saving paris. I'll beleive that when me Chite turns purple and smells like rainbow sherbert.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Garbage

posted by TheArktos (RONKONKOMA, NY) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I was excited to play this game, but it is just another sandbox game. Too many similarities with Mafia. Just too much of the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GTA WWII Paris

posted by qnpd25 (DENVER, CO) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

See title. Good game but derivative. Gets very repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Saboteur

posted by kyfan10 (EVARTS, KY) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

One of the worst games i've ever played don't waste your time! Short and quick objectives like... Run here, go there...... overall POINTLESS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just not fun

posted by Flogger (SOMERVILLE, MA) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Here's the game: Load screen, cut scene, load screen...drive somewhere...load screen, cut scene, load screen...drive somewhere. Do that about 100 times and the game is over.

Glitchy, I got hung up about 4 times. Bad checkpoints, if you die you might have about 20 min of gameplay to redo. About what you would expect from a multi-platform EA money grab.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Saboteur (the game that sucks)

posted by crivera (ONTARIO, CA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

this game is fun for 5mins and thas it.3 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

There's Nothing like it......WARNING: Spoiler!

posted by SportsGuru12146 (DAVIDSON, NC) May 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Considered by all to be pandemics swan song being the last game they released before the company closed it's door's, 2009's saboteur delivers on many things. Booze, women, blowing the absolute snot out of everything National socialist for the purpose of revenge and getting back at them for killing a friend (go figure right?). You basically play as a resistance fighter and are sent all around killing National socialist in an effort to inspire the people to fight back against their conquerors. It's an amazing game with details everywhere, solid controls and simple storyline that delivers the way a game should with an epic ending just the way you want it. I did at time's get annoyed that you were asked to do so much and when you did so little the Nazis sent the everything but the kitchen sink at you...but that's a resistance member for ya. My complaints against the game are mainly with the cut scenes. They were obviously poorly done with little attention paid on the dramatic effect which did hamper the experience a tad. I'd really give this game a 8.5 if I could. Moving around felt less mother than mercenaries which this game was obviously created with the engine of. The ending clearly exposed there plan's to develop a sequel but since they closed their doors this is what you get. I enjoyed the game but if your planning on renting it don't plan on knocking all the white dots out. There's too many off them. Otherwise I think the majority of the people will have a blast with this game. I know I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

7/10

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) May 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse