Rent SSX for PS3
view large frontback

SSX

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

1708 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dope Game

posted by GreenZMachinE (DENVER, CO) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Loved the different scenarios, and graphics! Great rental game, no complaints

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great fun to the day

posted by PoorBatman (SAN ANSELMO, CA) Dec 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Made me feel like I was playing the original Tony Hawk again. The speed and intensity of this game brought back memories of Sonic and other fast paced games. The beautiful scenery made revisiting old mountains very enjoyable. The online experience greatly increased the replay value.

I highly recommend the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh. Not as good as Tricky.

posted by ejax904 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 26, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

The game doesnt play as well as the PS2 versions. No local 2 player? WHAT?! It's hard to follow visually, often times I get lost in the mass of trees and snow and mess myself up. The game itself can be fun, but it just lacks the play-ability of the former games in the franchise. I havent gotten to the point where I just cant put it down because I HAVE to nail that trick or I HAVE to bump my rival out of the game. It's just not as fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh!

posted by sapperdaddy787 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

The game is fun to play but it gets tiring quick. It does not have local multiplayer (splitscreen). It's not a game you should buy at all. For me it wasn't even worth the rent.
Im giving it 4/10 cuz i really liked the music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

All around Bad

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

There is not one single thing that makes this game enjpoyable to play. The Biggest thing is the same as all the Skiing/Snowboarding Games the poor controls, and that makes the rest of the game no fun to play. I played the game for a couple of days then sent it back because it wasen't fun. My advice to anyone that thinks this might be a good game ,like I did, is to not rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SSX ... as tricky as ever??

posted by JAY_DRIZZLE (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

As a true fan of the one and only SSX-TRICKY i decided to take a fly on this game.. get it :) ... and WOW was i glad i did! This game brings in just enough of the old and gives it a nice facelift. If you enjoyed the 1st SSX-Tricky or even the Tony Hawk series i would suggest this game 100%

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I want to tell you all i havn't got my game yet an

posted by boney20 (WASHINGTON, DC) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I want to tell you all i havn't got my game yet and i want to know when its going to be here

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Beastly

posted by Pootz11 (OAK LAWN, IL) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is awesome there over hundred of tricks at lot of race cool snow boarders and the equipment is raw.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SSX

posted by byronm09 (NEW HAVEN, CT) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Best game EVER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointment All Around

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Having grown up on SSX for the original XBOX, I was super excited when I heard about this one. Needless to say, it was a TOTAL let down. 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ssx

posted by dameion (TAYLOR, MI) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this is a waste of time. the game can't connect to the ridernet. that mean the game will not load. this game has wasted my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but not Great

posted by Kamakazi27 (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

SSX was an average game. Not as good as the originals but still pretty good. The game starts with you and trying to conquer different mountains. There are 3 variations. You either race, out trick, or just survive. However what I liked about the game was that each mountain was completely different and challenging. Thee are alot of jumps and tricks you can perform and plenty of characters to choose from once you complete the World Tour. What I don't like is that oyu can't choose which character you want to play as in the world tour. Overall the game is worth renting but not buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same old, nothing new

posted by 3stooges (BOCA RATON, FL) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The game is fun but that doesn't last too long. Replay value is not there because there is nothing new in the game. I do like the tricks but again it's the same old game. A definite rent but NOT a buy. Fun to play with friends while it lasts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What happened!?

posted by TopShotta1 (DENVER, CO) Jul 10, 2012

Member since May 2010

The developers must have pimped out the general principle of the 'tricky' franchise to the online multiplayer region. Everything in this game seemed like it was centered around online play. also, the monetary system for tricks and completing courses was highly inefficient. Saving up multiple races to get one tacky outfit or a single lacking piece of equipment seemed neither worth my time nor effort.

Why can't we change characters? why does Griff have to be the main challenger? more importantly, what have you done with the original formula of SSX?

This is far too challenging, lacking in variety, and painfully dependent on online play.

Hope the studio doesn't go under or get bought out from this terrible effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Yet another disappointing SSX

posted by GMUNY (LYNDHURST, NJ) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Let me start by saying I loved the original SSX and SSX Tricky and was looking for a rebound after the ridiculously horrific On Tour and Blur. While I dont think the new SSX is by any means as bad as the last two, it is still not good at all. First of all, where the heck is two player mode? I cant even kick my wife's butt anymore in a race or trick event? She wouldnt even play more then once. Throughout this game I felt as if I was just button-mashing to do tricks and I never ever got the satisfying feeling that I just did a great trick. The menu screens and optimizing your rider is just plain hard to do and bad, made no sense. I could never improve my rider the way I would've liked because it simply made no sense to me. I rented this and really gave it a go, but unfortunately I had to return it pretty quickly with frustration. Save the money not even worth renting Im afraid. :( I fear this could be the end... and if so, im ok with it. Now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So excited ....then utterly annoyed.

posted by kaesy (LUDOWICI, GA) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I was so excited about the prospect of a new SSX. As an adult gamer ( not hardcore , just pastime and a way to spend some time with preteen sons) who loved the heck out of the last good one for PS2 and mastered it I may add, I have to say I expected so much , well, more? After all this time they should have worked on making the game more like the original , F-U-N. Thats the missing element. You will get lots of exciting runs to do , some that are so difficult that they require oxygen tanks,ice axes, and headlamps ( oh, what , you DON'T want to scream down a mountain in the dark) with huge ravines that make it stressful just to make it out alive , and when its a race run - you have to focus on boarding alone-screw tricks-you'll be lucky if you get third when you don't make a mistake. you build speed by grinding, when you do get to trick it up -the landings are so much easier -and I don't know how I feel about this , since I was pretty good at sticking the tricks on the older version. The tricks and Uber tricks here feel boring , and aren't as special feeling as the previous ones. You almost feel that you'll die from the repetitiveness of them. After having it for over a week now ( Im on vacation , so I have had hours to play ) I'm glad we rented it . I already have a stressful life- I certainly do not need to add stress to it through the means of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hard to do tricks

posted by ProdgyPanda (CALEDONIA, MI) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game at first appealed to me first because I love to snowboard. When I put it in my ps3 and played the first challenge I was disappointed. The graphics were great but doing the tricks were very hard. By button it was to many buttons, by analog stick it was not reading my movement. Also the trails were way to clotted with branches and rocks. Overall I thought the game was really bad, though only good thing was the graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Honest Review

posted by moneymaker4 (GARY, IN) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game, by far, has surpassed my expectations. I thought that I was gonna play it for a while & send it back, but I haven't. It's addicting. The gameplay & music is on point & the trick combos are ridiculous. It's a game which offers a lot for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

TOOOO Arcade

posted by jdavidtz (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

The game is too arcade based and lacks skill and or realism. Im all for the amazing "wing suites" and "SUPER Trickys", but want some sort of satisfaction when I land the trick! You can land anything in this game...even completely sideways... whack sauce with duck sauce on top.

Does any one remeber COOL BOARDERS :)! Now that was a snow board game. It was like the "SKATE" of its era, and required skill and was much more fun. This game is lame-o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SSX 2012

posted by Snapp27 (PALM COAST, FL) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Wow! Way to bring SSX back in town!
Great graphics, and an awesome soundtrack that blends perfectly.
Awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

worth the renting

posted by kingassassian25 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

ssx is a pretty fun game, espacially the carrer mode but what i don't like is the fact that you cant color your armor or board however you want to. but besides that, it was an awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The reason I got Gamefly

posted by hdeanderson74 (WAUKON, IA) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

Oh god SSX, I bought this three days after release along with Saints Row the Third and I am thankful I did buy SR3 because this game was a waste of time and more frustrating than fun.
I'll say that the graphics are,I guess average, and the concept is cool but the game wasn't too entertaining and I quickly realized that none of my PSN friends were foolish enough to buy this junk.
The music was quite annoying and I found (even after puting in my own music) that the game's Tricky system messed up the best parts of my songs. Then there's the voice acting. My god every time I even messed up a little, the helicopter pilot just says something clever and not at helpful.
So yes the game was a disaster all the way to the counter at Gamestop (only 15 dollars trade-in value, LIKE HECK!) where I was deeply disappointed, but at the same time I realized that Gamefly was the best thing to turn to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Title

posted by deadlysin687 (RIO GRANDE, NJ) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I was a little dissapointed in this, not because it was bad however, the game seems very well held together and the mechanics are just as solid as they always have been, but the game doesn't bring much to customization, which was a really fun aspect to older ssx games. No longer can I ride down mountains in half a suit of armor as Moby instead I choose a variety of colors for the same suit. The customization in SSX3 was a good fun part of the game, sure it was campy but that was the fun in it. Overall, play the game for the snowboarding, it's good, and well that IS the point, but it just doesnt feel quite like SSX to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazing game

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

This game was worked on very well. They got great songs from artists people know and just bring snowboarding to a whole new level. I can do whatever i want just awesome, great work best xtreme sports game ever!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SSX!

posted by lilneup3 (LANCASTER, PA) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

EA Went back old school with this one, and it was awesome! The different areas were all very unique and incredible in their own way. The arcade feel and a perfect balance of realism and over the top ridiculous tricks.

The game has tones of online features that make you want to come back to it over and over again. Very fun, and doesn't get old very fast at all. I returned mine, but thinking of buying it down the road when it drops in price.

This only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because you can't make your own character, and I didn't really love any of theirs. Just think the game would be a lot more epic if everyone could have their own character to deck out for all the online play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse