Rent SSX for PS3
view large frontback

SSX

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

1717 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Glad I rented

posted by ZDWilder (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

It's very fun, but not worth 60$ gets tiresome after about a week, but other that that it was an amazing over the top snowboarding game. Some of the tracks were annoyingly difficult and it is nearly impossible to get the gold scores on trick-it events.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TRICKY! YES

posted by Rerunwatson99 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Just like playing SSX Tricky from EA Sports BIG! LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simple to Learn, Difficult to Master

posted by F0ldsAtHom (SANTA MARIA, CA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

If you are an old-school SSX fan, play this game. Playing this iteration will be like riding a bike. For all others it's simple to learn and difficult to master (especially New Zealand and Africa).

Old SSX fans, try playing with the buttons instead of the right analog stick. For me it seemed much more intuitive than the classic configuration for planning and executing combo patterns.

Save a couple of clipping issues and having to restart a run when you fall off a cliff and die, SSX got me hating Griff all over again.

Split screen local multiplayer would have been nice.
PS Move functionality would have been really cool too.
But to follow up on some of the poor reviews remember that this is an EA game. If the reception is high, which it sure seems to be, EA will release another version within a year that introduces something new and fixes the existing problems. It's not perfect but SSX is a very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Make it stop

posted by usafman81 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This is another one of those series that just keep getting worse with each release. They would have been better off doing a HD remake of the original than putting this out. New maps, decent music, but anyone can win by mindlessly slapping buttons as long as they avoid the walls/rocks/trees.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by jrglass21 (ORANGE, CA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It's an entertaining game to rent. I am not sure if this is purchase material, but I had fun playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Than SsX

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Mar 20, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

Okay, maybe not THAT good.

But this game is pretty darn good.

It's a lot of fun, decent controls and graphics and all.
But, it's not quite what I was expecting or all that some of the critic reviews hyped it to be.

I was really expecting this to be like Burnout, but on a snowboard. But it's not quite like that, and I think I was expecting more interactive environments like Motorstorm Apocalypse or Stuntman, or something, but that's not the case and a HUGE oversight IMO.
I also feel like the controls take quite a bit too get used to, which also surprised me. The left analog stick is really sensitive and I often hold down the X button (probably a habit from Tony Hawk) which is a good way to slow down, but makes turning impossible. Takes some time to break that habit/reflex.
The music may be the best soundtrack in video game history, and totally fits in with the games visuals and gameplay. A+ for sure.
Overall the game is quite fun, which is the whole point, although it is a bit more difficult/unforgiving/time consuming then I would have thought, but it's almost addictive enough to bring you back again and again, at least for a little bit, if for nothing else other than the soundtrack.

I will give it bonus points for bringing back and resurging a great great series after a long hiatus rather successfully.

Seriously, if you've got nothing else more important in your system and are just looking for a great chill out game to pass some time with, this is definitely it. Just don't get too bummed out when you don't score enough trick points/don't come in first/die and have to restart.

Not a bad way to spend a few days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No Traditional Multiplayer

posted by YoungMac409 (LA MARQUE, TX) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The game is good just don't expect to lobby up with other people . You'll be racing their ghosts .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun And Epic!

posted by tlr1600 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

As a fan of SSX Tricky and SSX3, I was expecting quite allot from this game...and i got what I wanted! =D

The tricks are insane, exceeding beyond my expectations with helicopter grabs and grinds making me awe in wonder of myself the first time i nailed one!

The real-life mountains they featured in this game, (Everest, Himalayas,) really attracted my attention as well, and the nine (current) deadly decent switch up how the game is played and keeps things fresh.

As well as the old and new characters! the game features the returns of some of my favorites like the big man Moby and Disco Hippi Eddie!

The only downfalls I see is it becomes a bit easy once you rank up your player, although the game sort of tries to counter that with default players set for every region. As well as the fact that a one-use pass-code is required for online play. >.<

Still a very fun and enjoyable game, and you can buy a pass-code from EA SPORT's web-sight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NO LOCAL MULTIPLAYER!!!!

posted by romulux84 (BINGHAMTON, NY) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I can't believe they left out local (split-screen) multiplayer. This was the funnest part of previous SSX games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SSX

posted by dietrying36 (MANASSAS, VA) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Awesome game, SSX is back, feel like a freshmen in college again getting tricky tricky tricky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Awesome Sport Video game!!!!

posted by Kwe_Kwe101 (BRONX, NY) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I love this so much, I bought the game and rented it from Gamefly :) lol . This game is one of a kind and i Hope the series continues until I see my great grandchildren being born :) . Awesome, just awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mac and zoe

posted by mccullum (LITHONIA, GA) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game is asome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

felt repetitve to me

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

Overview
======================
First off let me say this is a good game, and probably lower in my mind because it just wasn't my thing. For me it became repetitive....go down slope and pull off some tricks. It was cool for a bit, but got boring. Maybe if I was more into snowboarding that would be fine.

It is a good rent overall and I'm sure a great rent or even buy for a snow boarding fanatic.

Pros
===============
1) good graphics (not mind-blowing, but good)
2) responsive controls
3) neat settings (night modes and such)

Cons
===============
1) just felt repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Review for Newcomers

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Mar 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

I'm going to say this up front, this review is for people who are new to the SSX franchise, (like me) so as such my opinion will probably greatly differ from any long time fan. I myself love snowboarding and thought this game would be awesome. Well, it is and it isn't. For starters, the game looks beautiful. It runs smoothly with very little to no frame rate issues, and just all around looks awesome graphically. It really feels like you are flying down a mountain. And the soundtrack is fantastic, one of the best to be sure. Another thing I like is all the options for gear you have. Do I want a wing suit or extra armor? Choosing these 'perks' is fun, and trying different combinations is cool. The tricks are also awesome, totally crazy and impossible, but fun and cool to look at. Combos are also easy to link together, but are really confusing to figure out. Now, the bad thing is its hard, really hard. I'm all for a challenge, but SSX pushes it a little too much. I haven't played any of the old ones so I'm a newbie, and after a few hours playing, I still have no idea what I'm doing. That's not saying I'm not having fun, I am, but the career mode is frustratingly difficult to the point where it takes the fun out of it and the 'Survive It' modes are annoying. Now this is all fine and good for some people and I'm fine with that, but it really bugs me when I fail at the same thing, dozens of times with no difference in outcome. The tutorials are just words, and really give little help. Getting good at this game will take loads of time (which I don't necessarily have) and tons of patience.

Pros: Beautiful graphics, smooth gameplay, great customizable options, lots of variety in tracks and the soundtrack is freaking brilliant!

Cons: Incredibly difficult, takes lots of time to master, not enough tutorials, the AI is kind of over the top as well.

So, I enjoy this game, but only on free play. The campaign just frustrates me. So if you're a noob like me, proceed with ca

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse