Rent SSX for PS3
view large frontback

SSX

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

1713 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Making a Comeback

posted by JoeyValles (STOCKTON, CA) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

There hasn't been a good SSX game in a while. On Tour and Blur were horrible and I was afraid that SSX was gone for good. This game however brings me back to the good old days of playing SSX Tricky.The game has nine mountains with pleny to do.There is the story mode as well as a free mode with 3 kinds of events to participate in: Tricky, Races, and survival. The game has all the amazing tricks from the old games with all the famililar characters. The graphics are good and there is the option to switch the controls from the new ones to the classic setup. However, there are some downsides. The greatest letdown is the lack of customization. You get to pick which equipment you want and there are different boards and suits to buy but it isn't as good as SSX 3 or even tricky. All of the suits (from what I've seen and I've bought about 15 for Moby) are the same except for different color schemes and maybe an added perk, but it is still the same old suit. The boards all have stats which makes it so you aren't really picking the board you want, just the one that will help you the most. Yes in other SSX games the boards had stats but they mattered a lot less than in this game and the emphasis was more on making you character cool than on picking the best equipment. Another thing is that Story mode is a lot more constrictive in that each peak has a person that you have to do it with. You can't just be one character throughout the entire story, you have to play as who they give you. Unfortunately there is also no local multiplayer, which really sucks because I used to love to play with my friends. Another annoying thing is that when you fall of the map you have to rewind, it doesn't teleport you out. This is bad for a couple of reasons but I am running out of space. I could say more but overall this is a good game that is a step in the right direction. It may not be everything that SSX was but it is close enough to make any SSX fan glad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Challenging" doesn't always equate

posted by nate6259 (MADISON, SD) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

After waiting since SSX 3 for the next great SSX game, it's hard not to be disappointed with the latest game. I remember playing SSX 3 with big, bright, open courses, with a great variety of ramps for pulling off huge tricks. At the same time, there was also plenty of challenge in both races and trick competitions.

The new SSX is plenty challenging, but in ways that are less fun than previous versions of the game. Many of the tracks are in the dark, and are covered with trees and branches. I found these courses to be hugely frustrating and little fun. On the other end of the spectrum, tricks have become very easy to land, to there is little sense of satisfaction when landing huge tricks.

The equipment selection setup is unintuitive, and the online multiplayer options are also very limited. I can't believe that there is no option to challenge opponents in a live, head-to-head situation. Better online support could have made the game infinitely more fun.

There are still many familiar elements that made me love SSX in the first place, but it simply fails to deliver the kind of experience I would have expected after all of this time. SSX 3 blew me away with its visuals at the time, and while the new SSX looks attractive, it didn't impress me in the same way that previous versions have.

The new SSX offers its fair share of fun, but comes up short in a lot of areas where I expected more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Let Down

posted by Hard2Kill (HATFIELD, PA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought this game would be so much better. I know it supposed to be a cartoony game but in this day and age I would expect more realism in the graphics. It seems they tried to cover up most of the bad graphics with night scenes. I did not find it fun trying to maneuver down a mountain at 60 miles an hour in the dark. The tricks were cool but very repetitive. The big airs were fun but the bottomless ravines were not. The wing suits were kinda cool the air tanks were not. You had to manually breath on some of the mountains, rediculous and near impossible. I would have appreciated a few runs that were fun and fast and full of air without having to dodge big holes in the ground and ruts full of ice. I think this game could have been a lot better. the controls were just annoying. Pulling off combos normally happen by accident as you can not really plan any advanced trick pattern. Just flick the stick and mash the buttons and hopefully you will get tricky. I found it odd that there were two ways to do the same trick. You would think they would use the buttons to create even more moves. Once again EA releases an underwhelming game that had so much potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'm too old for this Riggs

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 9, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I must be getting old or something, but I just couldn't get my head / eyes / fingers around what was happening on screen. Jump tricks seem randomly generated (is analog stick wiggling the new button mashing), and I never felt like any skill was involved. Even by the second mountain, I failed miserably on a mountain 7 or 8 times, then next run passed it with ease.

Maybe I just need a more sedate game. Golf anyone ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

too many buttons!

posted by ScottieB (RALEIGH, NC) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Seems like all I was doing was pushing every button and every direction while my boarder was in the air! No real defining pattern to make anything I wanted to happen, happen! Good graphics and music! Just too confusing with the controls!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for a little while

posted by Nate_Dog_1990 (OAKLAND PARK, FL) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm SO glad that I rented this game. The graphics are great! The game play is fun. But the story-line might as well be non existent. Because of this, it starts to feel like you are doing the same thing over and over and over again, especially in the survival modes. The game is really fun, but it doesn't have much replay value and I got bored with it after about 6 - 10 hours of gameplay. I think if they do make a sequel, they should focus on actually giving the game a story! Enough of that, the controls are smooth, there were very few glitches. For the most part the game was very fluid and fun to watch. The different locations that you conquer are simply beautiful. Overall 7/10 simply because it didn't hold my interest. I thought the game was AWESOME the first day and then didn't play if after the second day! Also the store was annoying because you can only view 4 items per category and I will not buy something just so that something else will pop up. I never found anything worth buying so I had 300,000+ in game dollars with nothing to spend it on... FAIL!
Well.. thats my 2 cents. Hope it helps. Rent, yes. Buy, no.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What a let down

posted by Shnowman (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

"Oh sweet there is a new SSX? I loved tricky! I'll pick that up." (Two days later, Hanging out with a friend) Me: "Alright lets try this thing out!" Friend: "dude where is the multiplayer?" Me: "Hold on...." Friend: " Dude no multiplayer? what kind of snow boarding game is that?" Me: "Yeah man thats lame... oh well wanna check it out any way?" Friend: " Sure we could take turns I guess..." (Starting the first level) Friend: "oh no..." Me: "What?" Friend: " Artist name: Skillrex" Me:"FUUUUUUU..."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What happened?

posted by nerdkilla (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Good extreme sport games are few and far between. That's why I'm so disappointed in the new SSX. I know this game is about doing impossible tricks off of impossible heights. I get that, but when everything is automatically done for you, what's the point in playing. Push the analog sticks out to the sides and let go before you hit the ground. Repeat... A LOT. The original SSX had unique jumps that were satisfying to clear and trick off of. These jumps are are big. That's pretty much all I can say about them. I get no satisfaction from clearing an enormous jump, because all I have to do is not brake before the lip of the jump and I know I'll clear and land it with pretty much any trick I have at my disposal.
Let's talk about grinding now. The original SSX made grinding a challenge. You'd have to approach a rail dead on and balance your way across. The new SSX requires little to no effort to get on a rail. simply hold a button and it locks you to it until you jump off. Rails appear to be there mainly to pick up speed if you've somehow managed to crash. You actually pick up speed from grinding. I'm reminded of Tony Hawk, but even in that you had to jump and balance to pick up speed.
Over the years SSX has become more and more accessible to first time gamers, but for the hardcores, it just lost it's soul.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

blown away

posted by orionea (APTOS, CA) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this is so freakin' awsome! There is no word to explain it. only bad thing is that it dosn't have local multiplayer. That is all that i can say, buy or rent it's freakin' AWSOME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sigh...

posted by UFAME (LOCKHART, TX) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game. The demo was fun and I was tempted to just flat out buy it from Gamefly when I received it. Sadly this is one fo the worst ssx games to date. Wing suits and the rewind feature are stupid. My girlfriend loved Tricky(I think everyhting does) so she was excited to see a new ssx game as well but after about 25 mins of watching me she said "Well this game sucks" and walked out of the room. All the music is dupsteb, which I personally hate, further ruining the game. You cant choose your charater and the survival deadly decent mode is the dumbest idea ever. You cant go fast in fear that you will run into somehting and die and you cant ride slow cause you turn to quick and run into stuff. This game is a huge disappiontment. I eventually got to a race I could not win. I had won every race up til then so I had max credits, so I decided to win this race I need a better board obviously. Well when I go to buy one I either dont have enough credits or the board stats are worst than the board I started with, WHY EVEN INCLUDE BOARDS THAT ARE WORST THAN THE ONE YOU START WITH?!?!? Im afraid that the last of the great ssx series ended with 3, so long SSX, we had great times while it lasted.

p.s. at least they didnt bring skiing back lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

wow! NO LOCAL MULTIPLAYER!

posted by pbluke (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I played the ps3 demo of this game and it was single player, I didn't look to see if the game had 2 players before i ordered it because i just figured a snowboarding game would be 2 players. I see now it says single player. ? why does PlayStation 3 have 2 controls, i rarely get to play with live humans in person anymore unless its c.o.d. The game is awesome but if i cant play with my kid or wife whats the point.
I guess i have to get 3 PlayStations and 3 walkie talkies in separate rooms. :{

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by bearjmu (CARTERET, NJ) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was the first game I have gotten since the NES where I smashed a controller violently into the wall. The races are unfair and I barely eke out a third place, and the trick portions of the game make you score in the millions to even have a chance. I used to be a master at Tony Hawk, I don't understand where the difficulty comes from? It is a waste of time and I am so glad I rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Time Trials

posted by kmk420 (GLENDALE, AZ) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My buddies already been playing this game and just competing in the time trials. They are amazing i tried all day to beat my buddies score i never did but thats just on one track and there are a couple more that i cant wait to compete with friend. it has potential to come back to a main stream game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SSX Good Game - Missing Something

posted by scottreed (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I like it but just giving it an online play is not enough. There should be a two to four player split screen mode. Split screen was the best part of the old version. Bummed they left it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not for me

posted by pheonixfire (KISSIMMEE, FL) Mar 1, 2012

Member since May 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

couldn't get into it :/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not good but not bad

posted by whatup5656 (DOVER, DE) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Been a fan since the very first one. Knew this one would be great but couldn't deliver that wow factor that other SSX games have. All in all it is an okay game for a rental. As for buying...buy at risk. It's very repetitive and bleak at times. The camera gets jerked at times and the courses are just plain annoying. Great concept...just failed to deliver

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by peanutrocks1392 (SOUTH RYEGATE, VT) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game is so fun. my daughter always place this on here playstation all the time . she loves it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best yet

posted by thelumleys08 (DURHAM, NC) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

great game, don't see why it got only a 7.8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it's not a fun game anymore

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Oct 2006

first the controlls were horrible
2nd each caricter only gets one trick that is thier own.
and they took all the fun eye candy from ssx tricky and threw it out the window. and then they just made things super difficult witch was the worst part of ssx tricky. why can't they make a trick game that is just that. a trick game. a trick game should be ez and have lots of eye candy. the first ssx tricky was cool because of the awsome moves and how you could tweek those moves so it would be cool, this is not that game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dope Game

posted by GreenZMachinE (DENVER, CO) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Loved the different scenarios, and graphics! Great rental game, no complaints

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great fun to the day

posted by PoorBatman (SAN ANSELMO, CA) Dec 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Made me feel like I was playing the original Tony Hawk again. The speed and intensity of this game brought back memories of Sonic and other fast paced games. The beautiful scenery made revisiting old mountains very enjoyable. The online experience greatly increased the replay value.

I highly recommend the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh. Not as good as Tricky.

posted by ejax904 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 26, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

The game doesnt play as well as the PS2 versions. No local 2 player? WHAT?! It's hard to follow visually, often times I get lost in the mass of trees and snow and mess myself up. The game itself can be fun, but it just lacks the play-ability of the former games in the franchise. I havent gotten to the point where I just cant put it down because I HAVE to nail that trick or I HAVE to bump my rival out of the game. It's just not as fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh!

posted by sapperdaddy787 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

The game is fun to play but it gets tiring quick. It does not have local multiplayer (splitscreen). It's not a game you should buy at all. For me it wasn't even worth the rent.
Im giving it 4/10 cuz i really liked the music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

All around Bad

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

There is not one single thing that makes this game enjpoyable to play. The Biggest thing is the same as all the Skiing/Snowboarding Games the poor controls, and that makes the rest of the game no fun to play. I played the game for a couple of days then sent it back because it wasen't fun. My advice to anyone that thinks this might be a good game ,like I did, is to not rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SSX ... as tricky as ever??

posted by JAY_DRIZZLE (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

As a true fan of the one and only SSX-TRICKY i decided to take a fly on this game.. get it :) ... and WOW was i glad i did! This game brings in just enough of the old and gives it a nice facelift. If you enjoyed the 1st SSX-Tricky or even the Tony Hawk series i would suggest this game 100%

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse