Rent SSX for PS3
view large frontback

SSX

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

1718 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it's not a fun game anymore

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Oct 2006

first the controlls were horrible
2nd each caricter only gets one trick that is thier own.
and they took all the fun eye candy from ssx tricky and threw it out the window. and then they just made things super difficult witch was the worst part of ssx tricky. why can't they make a trick game that is just that. a trick game. a trick game should be ez and have lots of eye candy. the first ssx tricky was cool because of the awsome moves and how you could tweek those moves so it would be cool, this is not that game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

All around Bad

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

There is not one single thing that makes this game enjpoyable to play. The Biggest thing is the same as all the Skiing/Snowboarding Games the poor controls, and that makes the rest of the game no fun to play. I played the game for a couple of days then sent it back because it wasen't fun. My advice to anyone that thinks this might be a good game ,like I did, is to not rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Beastly

posted by Pootz11 (OAK LAWN, IL) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is awesome there over hundred of tricks at lot of race cool snow boarders and the equipment is raw.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ssx

posted by dameion (TAYLOR, MI) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this is a waste of time. the game can't connect to the ridernet. that mean the game will not load. this game has wasted my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by gamelord465 (LEWISBURG, WV) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

it had no point peroid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stupid and retarted

posted by sonofabiii (MOCLIPS, WA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2007

sucky very sucky

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad game all around.

posted by boobearkittie (SURPRISE, AZ) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

When I put this game on my GameQ I was expecting a kind of Tony Hawk meets snowboarding type of game, and for the most part it is.

But this game is all around horrible. The controls are pretty simple but controlling your guy is not simple. I found myself falling down the hill more than boarding down it. Then when you mix the inability to control where your guy goes with the level's that are almost completely dark it goes from bad to worst. I need a little more than red dots to see where trees are. I just got this game about 3 hours ago and its already in the mailbox to be sent home tomorrow. I wouldn't recomend anyone buying this or even renting it. Only reason im giving this game a 1 is cuz you aren't able to give it a 0.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sigh...

posted by UFAME (LOCKHART, TX) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game. The demo was fun and I was tempted to just flat out buy it from Gamefly when I received it. Sadly this is one fo the worst ssx games to date. Wing suits and the rewind feature are stupid. My girlfriend loved Tricky(I think everyhting does) so she was excited to see a new ssx game as well but after about 25 mins of watching me she said "Well this game sucks" and walked out of the room. All the music is dupsteb, which I personally hate, further ruining the game. You cant choose your charater and the survival deadly decent mode is the dumbest idea ever. You cant go fast in fear that you will run into somehting and die and you cant ride slow cause you turn to quick and run into stuff. This game is a huge disappiontment. I eventually got to a race I could not win. I had won every race up til then so I had max credits, so I decided to win this race I need a better board obviously. Well when I go to buy one I either dont have enough credits or the board stats are worst than the board I started with, WHY EVEN INCLUDE BOARDS THAT ARE WORST THAN THE ONE YOU START WITH?!?!? Im afraid that the last of the great ssx series ended with 3, so long SSX, we had great times while it lasted.

p.s. at least they didnt bring skiing back lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by bearjmu (CARTERET, NJ) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was the first game I have gotten since the NES where I smashed a controller violently into the wall. The races are unfair and I barely eke out a third place, and the trick portions of the game make you score in the millions to even have a chance. I used to be a master at Tony Hawk, I don't understand where the difficulty comes from? It is a waste of time and I am so glad I rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hard to do tricks

posted by ProdgyPanda (CALEDONIA, MI) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game at first appealed to me first because I love to snowboard. When I put it in my ps3 and played the first challenge I was disappointed. The graphics were great but doing the tricks were very hard. By button it was to many buttons, by analog stick it was not reading my movement. Also the trails were way to clotted with branches and rocks. Overall I thought the game was really bad, though only good thing was the graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What a let down

posted by Shnowman (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

"Oh sweet there is a new SSX? I loved tricky! I'll pick that up." (Two days later, Hanging out with a friend) Me: "Alright lets try this thing out!" Friend: "dude where is the multiplayer?" Me: "Hold on...." Friend: " Dude no multiplayer? what kind of snow boarding game is that?" Me: "Yeah man thats lame... oh well wanna check it out any way?" Friend: " Sure we could take turns I guess..." (Starting the first level) Friend: "oh no..." Me: "What?" Friend: " Artist name: Skillrex" Me:"FUUUUUUU..."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NO LOCAL MULTIPLAYER!!!!

posted by romulux84 (BINGHAMTON, NY) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I can't believe they left out local (split-screen) multiplayer. This was the funnest part of previous SSX games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh!

posted by sapperdaddy787 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

The game is fun to play but it gets tiring quick. It does not have local multiplayer (splitscreen). It's not a game you should buy at all. For me it wasn't even worth the rent.
Im giving it 4/10 cuz i really liked the music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What happened!?

posted by TopShotta1 (DENVER, CO) Jul 10, 2012

Member since May 2010

The developers must have pimped out the general principle of the 'tricky' franchise to the online multiplayer region. Everything in this game seemed like it was centered around online play. also, the monetary system for tricks and completing courses was highly inefficient. Saving up multiple races to get one tacky outfit or a single lacking piece of equipment seemed neither worth my time nor effort.

Why can't we change characters? why does Griff have to be the main challenger? more importantly, what have you done with the original formula of SSX?

This is far too challenging, lacking in variety, and painfully dependent on online play.

Hope the studio doesn't go under or get bought out from this terrible effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Make it stop

posted by usafman81 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This is another one of those series that just keep getting worse with each release. They would have been better off doing a HD remake of the original than putting this out. New maps, decent music, but anyone can win by mindlessly slapping buttons as long as they avoid the walls/rocks/trees.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What happened?

posted by nerdkilla (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Good extreme sport games are few and far between. That's why I'm so disappointed in the new SSX. I know this game is about doing impossible tricks off of impossible heights. I get that, but when everything is automatically done for you, what's the point in playing. Push the analog sticks out to the sides and let go before you hit the ground. Repeat... A LOT. The original SSX had unique jumps that were satisfying to clear and trick off of. These jumps are are big. That's pretty much all I can say about them. I get no satisfaction from clearing an enormous jump, because all I have to do is not brake before the lip of the jump and I know I'll clear and land it with pretty much any trick I have at my disposal.
Let's talk about grinding now. The original SSX made grinding a challenge. You'd have to approach a rail dead on and balance your way across. The new SSX requires little to no effort to get on a rail. simply hold a button and it locks you to it until you jump off. Rails appear to be there mainly to pick up speed if you've somehow managed to crash. You actually pick up speed from grinding. I'm reminded of Tony Hawk, but even in that you had to jump and balance to pick up speed.
Over the years SSX has become more and more accessible to first time gamers, but for the hardcores, it just lost it's soul.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

wow! NO LOCAL MULTIPLAYER!

posted by pbluke (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I played the ps3 demo of this game and it was single player, I didn't look to see if the game had 2 players before i ordered it because i just figured a snowboarding game would be 2 players. I see now it says single player. ? why does PlayStation 3 have 2 controls, i rarely get to play with live humans in person anymore unless its c.o.d. The game is awesome but if i cant play with my kid or wife whats the point.
I guess i have to get 3 PlayStations and 3 walkie talkies in separate rooms. :{

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh. Not as good as Tricky.

posted by ejax904 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 26, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

The game doesnt play as well as the PS2 versions. No local 2 player? WHAT?! It's hard to follow visually, often times I get lost in the mass of trees and snow and mess myself up. The game itself can be fun, but it just lacks the play-ability of the former games in the franchise. I havent gotten to the point where I just cant put it down because I HAVE to nail that trick or I HAVE to bump my rival out of the game. It's just not as fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointment All Around

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Having grown up on SSX for the original XBOX, I was super excited when I heard about this one. Needless to say, it was a TOTAL let down. 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Yet another disappointing SSX

posted by GMUNY (LYNDHURST, NJ) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Let me start by saying I loved the original SSX and SSX Tricky and was looking for a rebound after the ridiculously horrific On Tour and Blur. While I dont think the new SSX is by any means as bad as the last two, it is still not good at all. First of all, where the heck is two player mode? I cant even kick my wife's butt anymore in a race or trick event? She wouldnt even play more then once. Throughout this game I felt as if I was just button-mashing to do tricks and I never ever got the satisfying feeling that I just did a great trick. The menu screens and optimizing your rider is just plain hard to do and bad, made no sense. I could never improve my rider the way I would've liked because it simply made no sense to me. I rented this and really gave it a go, but unfortunately I had to return it pretty quickly with frustration. Save the money not even worth renting Im afraid. :( I fear this could be the end... and if so, im ok with it. Now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So excited ....then utterly annoyed.

posted by kaesy (LUDOWICI, GA) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I was so excited about the prospect of a new SSX. As an adult gamer ( not hardcore , just pastime and a way to spend some time with preteen sons) who loved the heck out of the last good one for PS2 and mastered it I may add, I have to say I expected so much , well, more? After all this time they should have worked on making the game more like the original , F-U-N. Thats the missing element. You will get lots of exciting runs to do , some that are so difficult that they require oxygen tanks,ice axes, and headlamps ( oh, what , you DON'T want to scream down a mountain in the dark) with huge ravines that make it stressful just to make it out alive , and when its a race run - you have to focus on boarding alone-screw tricks-you'll be lucky if you get third when you don't make a mistake. you build speed by grinding, when you do get to trick it up -the landings are so much easier -and I don't know how I feel about this , since I was pretty good at sticking the tricks on the older version. The tricks and Uber tricks here feel boring , and aren't as special feeling as the previous ones. You almost feel that you'll die from the repetitiveness of them. After having it for over a week now ( Im on vacation , so I have had hours to play ) I'm glad we rented it . I already have a stressful life- I certainly do not need to add stress to it through the means of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

TOOOO Arcade

posted by jdavidtz (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

The game is too arcade based and lacks skill and or realism. Im all for the amazing "wing suites" and "SUPER Trickys", but want some sort of satisfaction when I land the trick! You can land anything in this game...even completely sideways... whack sauce with duck sauce on top.

Does any one remeber COOL BOARDERS :)! Now that was a snow board game. It was like the "SKATE" of its era, and required skill and was much more fun. This game is lame-o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The reason I got Gamefly

posted by hdeanderson74 (WAUKON, IA) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

Oh god SSX, I bought this three days after release along with Saints Row the Third and I am thankful I did buy SR3 because this game was a waste of time and more frustrating than fun.
I'll say that the graphics are,I guess average, and the concept is cool but the game wasn't too entertaining and I quickly realized that none of my PSN friends were foolish enough to buy this junk.
The music was quite annoying and I found (even after puting in my own music) that the game's Tricky system messed up the best parts of my songs. Then there's the voice acting. My god every time I even messed up a little, the helicopter pilot just says something clever and not at helpful.
So yes the game was a disaster all the way to the counter at Gamestop (only 15 dollars trade-in value, LIKE HECK!) where I was deeply disappointed, but at the same time I realized that Gamefly was the best thing to turn to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I Expected

posted by silvertip83 (CANONSBURG, PA) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Seeing that a new SSX was out, I jumped at the possibility of being able to ride around the mountain, stop at lodges, and challenge people whenever I wanted.

Alas, that was not the case. I was extremely disappointed in the fact that customization of the riders was completely lacking outside of preassigned outfits. Plus, lets not forget to mention the archaic way at which items can be purchased. There really isn't a store so to speak. It was disappointing.

Next up was the lack of freedom. You couldn't just coast around the mountain like in other games. It felt extremely "on rails" and provided no challenge or sense of exploration what so ever.

If you like snowboarding and want to run down trails and nothing else, then this is for you. But if you are a hardcore SSX fan, then stay away from owning this as it does not nearly capture the true essence of SSX like the PS2 games did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'm too old for this Riggs

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 9, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I must be getting old or something, but I just couldn't get my head / eyes / fingers around what was happening on screen. Jump tricks seem randomly generated (is analog stick wiggling the new button mashing), and I never felt like any skill was involved. Even by the second mountain, I failed miserably on a mountain 7 or 8 times, then next run passed it with ease.

Maybe I just need a more sedate game. Golf anyone ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse