Rent SSX for PS3
view large frontback

SSX

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

1717 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dope Game

posted by GreenZMachinE (Centennial, CO) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Loved the different scenarios, and graphics! Great rental game, no complaints

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great fun to the day

posted by PoorBatman (SAN ANSELMO, CA) Dec 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Made me feel like I was playing the original Tony Hawk again. The speed and intensity of this game brought back memories of Sonic and other fast paced games. The beautiful scenery made revisiting old mountains very enjoyable. The online experience greatly increased the replay value.

I highly recommend the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SSX

posted by byronm09 (NEW HAVEN, CT) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Best game EVER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Honest Review

posted by moneymaker4 (GARY, IN) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game, by far, has surpassed my expectations. I thought that I was gonna play it for a while & send it back, but I haven't. It's addicting. The gameplay & music is on point & the trick combos are ridiculous. It's a game which offers a lot for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SSX 2012

posted by Snapp27 (PALM COAST, FL) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Wow! Way to bring SSX back in town!
Great graphics, and an awesome soundtrack that blends perfectly.
Awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TRICKY! YES

posted by Rerunwatson99 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Just like playing SSX Tricky from EA Sports BIG! LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best yet

posted by thelumleys08 (DURHAM, NC) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

great game, don't see why it got only a 7.8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SSX

posted by dietrying36 (MANASSAS, VA) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Awesome game, SSX is back, feel like a freshmen in college again getting tricky tricky tricky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

blown away

posted by orionea (APTOS, CA) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this is so freakin' awsome! There is no word to explain it. only bad thing is that it dosn't have local multiplayer. That is all that i can say, buy or rent it's freakin' AWSOME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Awesome Sport Video game!!!!

posted by Kwe_Kwe101 (BRONX, NY) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I love this so much, I bought the game and rented it from Gamefly :) lol . This game is one of a kind and i Hope the series continues until I see my great grandchildren being born :) . Awesome, just awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mac and zoe

posted by mccullum (LITHONIA, GA) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game is asome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by peanutrocks1392 (SOUTH RYEGATE, VT) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game is so fun. my daughter always place this on here playstation all the time . she loves it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

worth the renting

posted by kingassassian25 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

ssx is a pretty fun game, espacially the carrer mode but what i don't like is the fact that you cant color your armor or board however you want to. but besides that, it was an awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazing game

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

This game was worked on very well. They got great songs from artists people know and just bring snowboarding to a whole new level. I can do whatever i want just awesome, great work best xtreme sports game ever!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Read this!

posted by DragonKing420 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I have played all of the SSX Titles to date and have to say I love this one! I love the new style & extras like armor and ice picks which make the game more realistic and also tons of fun... And lets not forget the Glide Suits!!! I cant remember the last time I had so much fun playing a sport game... I highly recommend this to all and any gamers!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun And Epic!

posted by tlr1600 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

As a fan of SSX Tricky and SSX3, I was expecting quite allot from this game...and i got what I wanted! =D

The tricks are insane, exceeding beyond my expectations with helicopter grabs and grinds making me awe in wonder of myself the first time i nailed one!

The real-life mountains they featured in this game, (Everest, Himalayas,) really attracted my attention as well, and the nine (current) deadly decent switch up how the game is played and keeps things fresh.

As well as the old and new characters! the game features the returns of some of my favorites like the big man Moby and Disco Hippi Eddie!

The only downfalls I see is it becomes a bit easy once you rank up your player, although the game sort of tries to counter that with default players set for every region. As well as the fact that a one-use pass-code is required for online play. >.<

Still a very fun and enjoyable game, and you can buy a pass-code from EA SPORT's web-sight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SSX ... as tricky as ever??

posted by JAY_DRIZZLE (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

As a true fan of the one and only SSX-TRICKY i decided to take a fly on this game.. get it :) ... and WOW was i glad i did! This game brings in just enough of the old and gives it a nice facelift. If you enjoyed the 1st SSX-Tricky or even the Tony Hawk series i would suggest this game 100%

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SSX!

posted by lilneup3 (LANCASTER, PA) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

EA Went back old school with this one, and it was awesome! The different areas were all very unique and incredible in their own way. The arcade feel and a perfect balance of realism and over the top ridiculous tricks.

The game has tones of online features that make you want to come back to it over and over again. Very fun, and doesn't get old very fast at all. I returned mine, but thinking of buying it down the road when it drops in price.

This only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because you can't make your own character, and I didn't really love any of theirs. Just think the game would be a lot more epic if everyone could have their own character to deck out for all the online play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Glad I rented

posted by ZDWilder (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

It's very fun, but not worth 60$ gets tiresome after about a week, but other that that it was an amazing over the top snowboarding game. Some of the tracks were annoyingly difficult and it is nearly impossible to get the gold scores on trick-it events.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simple to Learn, Difficult to Master

posted by F0ldsAtHom (SANTA MARIA, CA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

If you are an old-school SSX fan, play this game. Playing this iteration will be like riding a bike. For all others it's simple to learn and difficult to master (especially New Zealand and Africa).

Old SSX fans, try playing with the buttons instead of the right analog stick. For me it seemed much more intuitive than the classic configuration for planning and executing combo patterns.

Save a couple of clipping issues and having to restart a run when you fall off a cliff and die, SSX got me hating Griff all over again.

Split screen local multiplayer would have been nice.
PS Move functionality would have been really cool too.
But to follow up on some of the poor reviews remember that this is an EA game. If the reception is high, which it sure seems to be, EA will release another version within a year that introduces something new and fixes the existing problems. It's not perfect but SSX is a very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Time Trials

posted by kmk420 (GLENDALE, AZ) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My buddies already been playing this game and just competing in the time trials. They are amazing i tried all day to beat my buddies score i never did but thats just on one track and there are a couple more that i cant wait to compete with friend. it has potential to come back to a main stream game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Title

posted by deadlysin687 (RIO GRANDE, NJ) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I was a little dissapointed in this, not because it was bad however, the game seems very well held together and the mechanics are just as solid as they always have been, but the game doesn't bring much to customization, which was a really fun aspect to older ssx games. No longer can I ride down mountains in half a suit of armor as Moby instead I choose a variety of colors for the same suit. The customization in SSX3 was a good fun part of the game, sure it was campy but that was the fun in it. Overall, play the game for the snowboarding, it's good, and well that IS the point, but it just doesnt feel quite like SSX to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SSX is a good deal of fun!

posted by junGlistt (STREET, MD) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I really enjoyed the actual game play, the game is very superb. It is very action packed (as you would expect) the fun never stops. I really like the leveling up feature they have in this game, and the item upgrade system. For me, being able to level up and make noticeable progress is a HUGE deal, and SSX nails that aspect on the head! Also, I wanted to point out the FANTASTIC sound tracks that this game comes equipped with. Very high-energy music for fast paced brain action to get you on your toes!

However, I really disliked that there was no 2 player split-screen option. I just wanted to play a race or a trick competition between a friend and I, and could not. Also, I noticed that the online multiplayer was lacking too. Online game play consists of you playing by yourself and competing against other peoples ONLINE SCORES, you don't actually join a lobby and go down the slope with other people.

I personally would never buy this game for the poor multi-player options, but it is great to rent and play for a few days because it is a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by jrglass21 (ORANGE, CA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It's an entertaining game to rent. I am not sure if this is purchase material, but I had fun playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Than SsX

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Mar 20, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

Okay, maybe not THAT good.

But this game is pretty darn good.

It's a lot of fun, decent controls and graphics and all.
But, it's not quite what I was expecting or all that some of the critic reviews hyped it to be.

I was really expecting this to be like Burnout, but on a snowboard. But it's not quite like that, and I think I was expecting more interactive environments like Motorstorm Apocalypse or Stuntman, or something, but that's not the case and a HUGE oversight IMO.
I also feel like the controls take quite a bit too get used to, which also surprised me. The left analog stick is really sensitive and I often hold down the X button (probably a habit from Tony Hawk) which is a good way to slow down, but makes turning impossible. Takes some time to break that habit/reflex.
The music may be the best soundtrack in video game history, and totally fits in with the games visuals and gameplay. A+ for sure.
Overall the game is quite fun, which is the whole point, although it is a bit more difficult/unforgiving/time consuming then I would have thought, but it's almost addictive enough to bring you back again and again, at least for a little bit, if for nothing else other than the soundtrack.

I will give it bonus points for bringing back and resurging a great great series after a long hiatus rather successfully.

Seriously, if you've got nothing else more important in your system and are just looking for a great chill out game to pass some time with, this is definitely it. Just don't get too bummed out when you don't score enough trick points/don't come in first/die and have to restart.

Not a bad way to spend a few days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse