Rent SSX Blur for Wii
view large frontback

SSX Blur

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.3

1525 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't only play this game for 15 minutes

posted by ZeldaSpade (MADISON, AL) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like many other reviewers for this game, after about 15 minutes, I was going insane because of this game. Well, after playing it for 1-2 hours, I got used to the controls and now I believe it is one of the best titles for wii.

The pros far outweigh the cons. The only problems with this game is graphics, which aren't HORRIBLE but nonetheless, maybe a little better than gamecube. The controls are great after getting past the steep learning curve. The music in this game is also great, but I felt needed a bit more variety.

In all, I found this game to be VERY fun if you just hold on to it a little longer and have some patience for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Once you get the hang of it, you won't put it down

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 4, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

26 out of 32 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I'll be the first to admit, if you would have asked me how much I liked this game within the first 2 hours, I would have given it a 1. But after I kept to it, found my style of playing, I felt it was one of the best Wii games to date.

Controls are tricky, and it is a steep learning curve. This game has wonderful visuals to keep you interested while you figure out your playing style. The free roam gives you a chance to find some extras, new uber tricks, and new outfits, as well as leading you to the events in which you can participate.

One if the biggest downfalls to this game is no online play what-so-ever. Even a leader board would have been just awesome in a game with a point scoring system like this. And racing with people would have been a pretty sweet feature as well. But this is something that can easily overlooked.

One of the best things with this game is you have your own style of playing with this game. You have to draw the basic shapes with ubertricks, for example, but with the Wii-mote you get to figure out how you will accomplish this seemingly impossible task at first. After you get the groove down, you'll enjoy what this games has to offer. A must rent, and maybe even a must own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stick to it, the rewards are worth it.

posted by Virtuater (IRVINE, CA) Mar 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a gentle ride down a mountain, this is not your game.

If you're looking for a game that you can master in 10 minutes, this is not your game.

However, if you're a gamer who likes a challenge, and doesn't mind putting up with a learning curve, THIS my friends, is your game. The tutorial is a must in this game, and although it's a bit more difficult to navigate the tutorial than I'd like, it gets the job done.

Now, you may be saying to yourself "Well I thought the Wii was made for great pickup and play ability, low learning curves!". Well, this game is a great testiment that the Wii can not only make games more easy, but more challenging, without being all that frustrating.

After you learn the controls, and figure out what works in the game in order to be a successful rider, you can really, really have some fun.

So, in closing: If you get frustrated with games easily, stray far, far away from this game. But, if you want a challenge, and want the outcome to be very rewarding, this is a MUST rent.

I'll see ya on the slopes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for anyone who wants a new game.

posted by WiiManiac (KNOXVILLE, TN) Mar 9, 2007

Member since May 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you are a SSX fan or someone who just wants a new game in their Wii, this is a game for you.

1. Controls. The controls are the thing in this game that makes it very different than previous SSX titles. The way you'll control is like this, You use the Nunchuck to carve left and right by twisting it, but for small movements, you use the analog stick. So, if you want to do a sharp turn, you move the analog stick left and twist the Nunchuk left. Tricks are pulled off entirely by the Wii remote, (Except grabs) example, to do a flip, you swing the remote down, to do a back flip, you swing the remote up, and left and right for spins. Grabs are handled by twisting the Nunchuck and holding the Z button. Also, to do Ubertricks, you hold down A and physically draw a shape on the screen

2. Graphics.

This game has some great graphics, one of the best in the Wii Library so far. Some great motion blur effects when you're zooming down a hill or pulling off a Ubertrick in slow-mo.

This game runs in 480p and 16:9

3. Gameplay.

This game has a smooth frame rate.
You'll be doing everything from: Slalom, Big Air, Races, and Slopestyle events. This game should take you 1-2 weeks to beat all of the tournaments, events, and get all of the Ubertricks.

So yeah, that's my review, hope it help everyone decide if they should buy this game/rent it.
People will tell you that the controls stink, don't listen to them, all it takes it some practice. I can pull off about 3-4 Ubertricks in one Big Air jump.

This is a great game and defiantly deserves a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Classic SSX Action blended with Remote and Nunchuk

posted by Lawjim (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you've played SSX, SSX Tricky, or SSX 3 for the previous generation systems, you know basically what to expect from this game. With the same blend of racing, tricks, and freestyle action, the classic gameplay of the SSX series is intact. You again have a number of characters to send off on a variety of engaging and visually attractive courses.

What SSX Blur adds is the unique Wii control scheme, which utilizes both the Wii Remote and the attached Nunchuk controller. This is where the key determinant is in enjoying the game; if you are willing to put forth several hours of experimentation to get it right, you will figure out the basic method of getting your character down the hill with good speed and a decent array of tricks along the way. In my own experience, this was not a "pick up and play" title that will appeal to the same broad swath of people that readily enjoyed, say, Wii Sports and Wii Play. You're going to have to practice a great deal to succeed at SSX Blur.

And therein lies my only complaint with SSX Blur. Eventually, I was able to get it right, but I was never able to attain the same precision over grabs and ubertricks that I could with previous titles in the series (all of which, of course, utilized more traditional methods of control, whether on the PS2 or Gamecube, where I had previously played these titles). It seemed every run contained at least some trick or maneuver that was blown by what I believed was the correct use of the controllers, but the action on-screen did not match what I was going for.

Still, all in all, SSX Blur is an enjoyable game, marred only by a control scheme that takes some time to master but still falls a bit short of results with a traditional controller. And, that said, I did have an awful lot of fun playing around and trying to figure out how to play, but SSX purists might not want to put forth such effort. Recommended, but with reservations depending upon your tolerance for learning a whole new way to play SSX.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Quality entry in one of my favorite franchises

posted by inkablot (MORTON, PA) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

There is a learning curve to the controls, and they don't always work the way you want them to, but SSX has always been a fast-paced game and the only reason the shoulder button spins and grabs on the PS2 felt right were that we all got used to them over the years.

After a few days of playing Blur, I had trouble going back to SSX On Tour (the last entry on the PS2) and switching to the PS2 controller. So you do learn how to use the nunchuk and Wii-mote to snowboard, and if you are like me, learn to love them.

This game has the best soundtrack and sound design of an SSX game since Tricky; trading the alternative rock, hip-hop, and nostalgic track "mix tapes" of the last two entries for a much smoother instrumental DJ soundtrack that adds both excitement and serenity to the experience, depending on how fast you are racing down the mountain.

All in all, an "A" to EA and the SSX franchise, who succeed in bringing something new to the series and keeping it fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SSX is SSX

posted by OssoBuco (ESCONDIDO, CA) Mar 1, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you've played SSX Tricky for the PS2, then SSX Blur's environment should be no stranger to you. You're going to get the same kind of speed and air that you would get out of tricky (that's a good thing!). Blur adds more depth to game play that Tricky couldn't by taking advantage of the motion controls on the Wii. Believe me, carving snow by rolling the nunchuk side to side feels very intuitive. Some people might have a hard time with the controls when they play for the first time, but like a few Wii games out there it takes some getting used to. SSX fans will not be disappointed with this title and you shouldn't be either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Patience is Key

posted by YourMom (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

SSX Blur is definitely not a game you just pick up and play. It's not easy by any means to learn the controls. But if you are patient and take time to get used to the new gameplay, this game is wonderful. It took me darn near 3 hours to fully get a grasp for the control scheme, but they were a good 3 hours spent. This is an excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SSX on WII... I dig it

posted by SGTR0CK (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay for anyone who doesn't like this game, put it back in and try again. Play with a friend, thats what I just did.... too much fun. Using your arms as if your trying to balance... I think it's a good fun WII experience!! If your only playing one player, try two before you put it away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SSX Blurry and cannot control my tricks

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Mar 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love what they are trying to do here. But the controls are maddening. It is so insanely difficult to try and pull off super cool air tricks and land them with how the controls are schemed out. It is really a steep learning curve.
Really that's the whole point of any SSX title, nailing really cool mid air tricks and being able to land them. But this game makes it really hard to do that, and brings the fun factor down a bunch.
I don't mind the graphics too much, but they still can do better. The music is cool. I think so anyway. I haven't wanted a sound track for a game in a..well ...ever?
This game does have its moments, but you have to be really ready to cope with the ridiculous controls, and forget how crazy you look while trying to manipulate the nun chuck while trying desperately, (but mostly in vain) to do neat tricks. So....this SSX is a good start for #2 if there will be one, but as is, it just doesn't compel me to drag out my hard earned cash to pay for it other than a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I didn't really like this game.

posted by SimplePlan (BLOWING ROCK, NC) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well I honestly didn't enjoy this game alot. People who are very energetic might enjoy it. I thought the controls were somewhat confusing and I thought it was hard to turn. The only thing I did like was that it had really good music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Steep learning curve: Get over it!

posted by Chadni (ZEPHYR COVE, NV) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has a steep learning curve but is well worth the effort. Every Wii game I have seems to leave my arms sore and the addictive gameplay of Blur is particularly punishing. But once I got over the learning curve and was pulling off Ubers with ease--yes, it can be done!--I was hooked. The music in this installment is vastly inferior to previous titles--no Farrel! But the control scheme makes for a new experience on mountains I've grown to love. Do not put this game down just because it doesn't click in the first five minutes. Carve around in career mode. Throw some snowballs. Start jumping onto rails. You'll get your Tricky back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Thumb blisters couldn't be more fun!

posted by wendy4Wii (BELLINGHAM, WA) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a perfect game for all. It seemed a little simple at first but once you get into the upper peaks and earn some skill upgrades the possibilities are endless. So stay with it. I believe you can be a video game novice or pro and have fun and be challenged all at once with SSX Blur. Even if there is not enough wii-motes to go around, my son and I share in the task. I steer with the nunchuck and he does stunts with the wii-mote. For us that was a blast, and we conquered together! The directions are clear, quick and easy to learn, so therefore very rewarding. Ride on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Even with Patience only somewhat rewarding

posted by huktongamz (ENTERPRISE, AL) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

CONTROLS CONTROLS CONTROLS!!!!!! If you get aggrivated with Learning curves in games, DO NOT rent this. If you have Patience go for it its a blast at times. Everyone says to just give it a while and practice and you'll be shredding before you know it. But you'll realize that just when you thought you had the hang of it here comes more learning curves. SLALOM in my opinion was designed to test your patience and or entice you to throw your nintendo wii off a ten story building. That being said the other events arent so bad. Using the nunchuck to groove the slopes is ok but I have lots of trouble with the response turning to the right. VERY aggrivating!!!! So I've set the controls to 100 percent control stick. Ive been playing this game for about 4 hours now and, "have the hang of it" (If thats even possible) and I would turn it back in to gamefly if the only other choices for Wii games weren't stupid DISNEY MOVIES!!!!!! Stick with it it does get very fun once your in tune with the controls but make sure before you start to lock your Wii in a nice locked box thats unbreakable and go out and buy a few more wii-motes and nunchucks!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Controls?

posted by Bulkoth (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

This game is not even worth a rental, the control scheme is terrible, trying to incorporate too much motion control into a game that really didn't need any. You'll find yourself flicking the wrong wrist or turning slightly as you go to make a jump and instead of the desired result that could have been a button press away you find yourself planted into a pole or jumping a second too early and cresting right over that ramp you were aiming for.

The graphics and menu system and everything about this game seemed wonderful but the overuse of motion controls breaks the whole thing. It becomes more managable with time but I wouldn't recommend you wasting your time. The game simply sucked and you'd be better off waiting for a game that was inspired by good gameplay rather than one which was inspired by making you flail like a chimp.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Did anyone notice its just SSX3???

posted by JGards (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

First, has anyone noticed that this game is almost an exact copy of SSX 3? Some of the boards are a direct port. Why is this never mentioned in reviews?
So as you've heard the problem with this game is the control system. It is frustratingly difficult to even learn how to ride correctly. This game was really just made for, intentionally or not, die hard gamers who like snowboarding games and are willing to put in hours, yes HOURS, to learn the control scheme. It does get easier to manage and you learn how to trick better and actually LAND!!! But there are certain aspects of the controls that will, unfortunately, never stop annoying the blur out of you. Like the fact that to recover you have to wildly shake the controllers. Simple enough but there is not recovery meter. So at some point you randomly recover and, if you are in the air and still waving the controls around like a maniac (which is always the case), then the second you recover you start to flip wildly again. Even if you recover on the ground you are shaking the nunchuk which, once recovered, makes you jump. So if you bail, good luck because you are probably going to bail a few more times before being able to right yourself and keep riding.
So there it is, if you wanna spend long frustrating hours to learn a game that you probably already mastered years ago (SSX3), than this game is for you. If you are worried about damage to your TV and other objects from projectile Wii remotes, carve left or right around this game and stay away. Just don't bail!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good but not Twilight Princess Good

posted by IamMan (MOSES LAKE, WA) Mar 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is all about this sport as you may have guessed. The moves are good expescailly on the Cabilities on the wii. If this game was on the xbox 360 or ps3 it probably would've gotten a 5 or 6. However Since its on the motioned controlled handing capablites of the wii its was really fun. I recommend this game to rent not to buy since you will find it repeative.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it had bad controls story line was horiffic

posted by colegillot (WINSTED, CT) Jul 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

graphics were the wost part of this giant piece of poo, controls and story line were a close second along with confusing and repedetive races and trick races all around this game is a giant piece of $!te

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad so far

posted by DonStar (TALLMADGE, OH) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

It is a little difficult at first and I do agree with a lot of reviews that said it's not just a game to pick up and play immediately. We rented it but decided we are better off buying it because while we did enjoy it, it will take a lot more time to master this game.

It's one of the better SSX games since Tricky. (Nothing has come close to Tricky in our book!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Weak interpretation of the original

posted by DadHawk (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

My family (3 boys and a game addicted Dad) were big fans of SSX and SSX-Tricky on the PS2. We were looking forward to this but it just didn't live up to the expectations we had.

The attempt to adopt to the Wii remote and numchuck actually took away from the game for us. We just didn't buy into having to "draw" in the air to turn the advanced tricks. Also, the general look of the game was a downgrade from the PS2 games.

Maybe if there had been an option to use the Wii Fit it would have enticed us more, but in all we felt let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fairly good game.

posted by Nadiel1995 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) May 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I thought this was a good winter sports game. It is surely a great addition to the SSX series of snowboarding games, especially the addition of ski's and not just snowboards. However, it is somewhat difficult to pick up turning and even when you carve very deep into the snow the guy doesn't turn fast enough. It is this reason why flag slalom in this game sucks. You cannot turn around the flags fast enough unless you're really really good at the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible.

posted by CatMaster (ELWOOD, KS) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

this game is much too difficult to just play for fun. I rented it because i love almost all SSX titles. I just hated the difficulty level on this. Not recomended if you don't wanna spend at least one week learning how to play it.

Not recomended also to just rent and try. TOO HARD!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wii Version does not live up to GC Version

posted by Ferne9404 (NIXA, MO) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

The controls were hard to use and the music was horrible. Even once you got the hang of the controls the courses were not just dumb. Again the music in the GC version made part of the game and even though this Wii version music's tempo increased as you were getting good the music was still bad. I will stick to my old SSX GC version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game ROCKS!!!!!!!!

posted by yahman5 (DENVER, CO) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

SSX Blur is the greatest game ever. Although the game is challenging it definitely has kudos. EA Sports Big made a great game! You definitely need to try it and reccomend it to your friends! Rock on EA Sports!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awkward controls= Not fun

posted by cekeys (RICHMOND, TX) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Anyway you slice it, if your controls are difficult to master (even the basics), the game is just a chore to play. My wife and I have been fans of the SSX series ever since the first one, and SSX Tricky is still in our top games of all time.

This particular incarnation of the SSX series for the Wii isn't lacking in style or sound, but as stated before, is just awkward to play. The controls rely too heavily on motion sensors rather than button pressing. The idea that you need to flick your left hand to jump, then twist your right hand to perform a trick, then draw (invisibly) a pattern on screen with one or two hands is just too complicated. It went past the mere frustration level to downright annoying. I think I got more enjoyment out of throwing the controllers down on the couch out of frustration rather than actually playing the game.

The graphics and sound are on par with the previous installment, SSX 3, but aside from that, there is MUCH to be desired from this game. We had high hopes for this one, but sadly, EA Sports has let us down. I hope they will learn from this and make the next one better and more intuitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse