Rent SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs for PS2
view large frontback

SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

545 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good

posted by xboxgamer6 (CALHOUN, KY) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a very impressive game.

Graphics: 5

Storyline: 5

AI: 7

Ways to play: 6

Length: 8

Difficulty: 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs REVIEW

posted by mmjj2007 (ANNA, TX) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If your wondering what online game to get, this will answer your question. SOCOM is a highly realistic 3rd person shooter that puts you in postion of a U.S. Navy SEAL controling a squad of 3. You will have to fight through tweleve missions using stategic orders and movement. THIS IS NO RUN AND GUN GAME, you can die within a couple of hits if not one, so every move has to be right. Make one mistake, you and your team dies. The intensity of this game is one of the hightes that I have ever played before. The online portion is the best, in which you fight on teams, either being a SEAL or a Terrorist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

better when it's newer

posted by Ryimus (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have Socom combined assault. It was perfect as a shooter game this one was terrible. whatever they corrected they did it right. whenever this game was made get one that was made later

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Classic! EPIC!

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) Dec 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This is THE game that started online shooters on consoles. In it's time it was the most popular online console title and it stayed that way only until it's sequel which imo was superior.

The campaign is still pretty fun, but it's not perfect, there are moments of frustration. However it's worth it to go back and see how shooters used to be back in the very early 2000's.

The mix between action and stealth, strategy and team based combat was and is something to behold!

Socom sold many PS2 units and began MLG and E-sports! It was the start of a new generation in gaming and stands as one of the most successful and influential games of all time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Intense and Very Integrated

posted by Darthyoda599 (KENOCKEE, MI) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

In Socom U.S. Navy Seals you are in command of an elite seal team you go through doing missions that involve you extracting specials targets for questioning or completely wiping out a facility you get to choose your own weapons for missions that could favor yourself in the battle this game would be great for people with a hankering for some stealth killing and some good old fashioned combat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best war games ever!!!

posted by greatgame5 (MORAGA, CA) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

When i first got this game it probably sat on my counter for maybe a week. I had forgot why I had picked this game out. I played Medal of honor and almost forgot it was there.I kept saying that it looked stupid and probably wasn't good. Finally I gave it a chance and not a moment to soon. I have to say that this game has it all! Finally present day guns that pack a big punch! You get to play with 2 different squads and you can make them do stuff like ambush or take out some bad guys. This isn't like other games where your guys just stand around and wait for you to do anything, now they are vital. You can even use night-vision goggles and silence weapons! Don't wait as long as i did to get this game! Go right now and trust me you wont be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME ON EARTH

posted by champ20 (ROYSE, TX) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

This is the best game I've ever played in my entire LIFE. I've played a heck of a lot of war games in my life and and I hated all of them except this one. All the other war games some of them you don't shoot you just aim it and when the game thinks you're accurate enough then it shoots so if you get up close to a guy you get killed if your aim is slightly off cause the game won't shoot the gun. And so you get blown away. In this game you actually get to control your weapon. You get to control when you use your grenades and guns. And the best part of all is the levels are actually PASSABLE. They're not so easy that a person whose never heard of the game can beat it in less that two hours it has it's hard spots but it is so awesome. I love it so much the second I saw Socoms 2 and 3 here they got on my Q. People if you want to actually have fun playing a war game then you better get your hands on this one cause I don't care where you search there ain't a game out there better than this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Navy Seals

posted by Phantom34 (NOGALES, AZ) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

Well This Is The Best Third Person View Game I Ever Played,Its Got Good Graphics,Good Sound Effects,And Its All Good,Best Online Trust Me,You Play This,Youll Want To Play Socom 2,Its Realistic If You Take Like 4 Shots You End Up Dying,Now Thats What Im Talking About Realism

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

No.. not Southern Comfort

posted by Linerunner (PROVIDENCE, RI) Apr 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

This slick action stealth/shooter spawned a series, and it's easy to see why. The story is engaging, with detailed scenery and AI, as well as a smart team to help you through it all. A rarity for shooters.

The game also has online play, but with two games that are more recent in the series out there, I'm not sure how much of it is going on now. Last I heard it was a cheater's paradise anyway.

Overall, SOCOM is fun, challenging, and quite worthy of a place in any shooter fan's library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »