Rent SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs Confrontation for PS3
view large frontback

SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs Confrontation

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.6

3378 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game! People were just too fast to review it

posted by Woofy7 (VALENCIA, CA) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

74 out of 92 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This IS a great game! There were just some really bad server issues for the first few couple of days. Pretty much all of them have been fixed by now. Well, onto the review.
First off, the headset is great, I know gamefly will not ship a headset with itthe game. But it is very good.
Now, the game.
Graphics- 8: Not the best, nowhere near the worst. Some of the terrain looks kind of bad, character details and weapon details are good though. The decent looks is balanced out by the attention to detail. For example, dust made from grenades will actually move in the wind. And that is just one of them.

Gameplay- 9: Call of Duty 4 freaks will hate the game because of this aspect. You die in literally two or three, or even one, shot(s). This game requires that you use cover. On top of that, it is by far the most tactical game of all these next-gen shooters (so far). If you have a team that works together, you will not be beat. It DEMANDS teamwork. (That's why it came with a headset). There are even commands for you to use (like in MGO) if you do not have a headset. Although, there are very few.

Sound- 8: Pretty good, but as other aspects, not the best. Some of the weapons seem to sound the same, but that's all the bad stuff. This game is closest to reality than any shooter at the moment. Example, every gunshot (that isn't suppressed) will be heard across the map. But, the sound actually seems distant, not as if you are right next to it. Again, the attention to detail is amazing.

Controls- 7: SOCOM vets will be at home with the default controls. But they can be pretty annoying to newcomers, like me. However though, you will get used to them. And if you don't, you can customize how you want them with default setups or make your own. Which is always good.

All in all, a very good game. Attention to detail is great and the gameplay is amazingly fun with other cooperating people. I'd say it's a buy at this point in time, now that they fixed the servers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Extremely Underated

posted by Moose1220 (MICHIGAN CITY, IN) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

21 out of 29 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

OK i'll be the first to say it...SOCOM did have some major problems when it was first released in mid-October. It's now been out for quite a while and they gotten rid of some of the bugs with the game; i'm not sayings its perfect but it is definitely a lot better than what it was. So to my point, CONFRONTATION is probably one of the best online-only games for the PS3, next to the great Warhawk. The graphics are super stellar and so is the lighting. The guns and gear you have also work very well. The controls are also very fluid. You can totally customize your characters with looks and equipment. It's also super easy to find people to play online with. There are about 10 maps in which you can play which is a fair amount. There are also a number of different modes you can play in, such as ELIMINATION, SUPPRESSION, AND DEMOLITION, which are all different and fun to play around with. If you're looking for a solid online shooter for your PLAYSTATION 3, look no further than SOCOM CONFRONTATION.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Socom U.S. Confrontation Review

posted by NavySeals (NEWCASTLE, WY) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

To begin, Socom Confrontation is not that bad of a game. Now that they have fixed most of the issues this game is just amazing. So for all of you other people who said it was horrible why don't you open your eyes. The game is awsome and feels just like the old socoms. If you other guys are having connection problems why don't you get rid of your walmart cheapo connection. I will admit that there are still some problems with the game but it still kicks A! The clan system works really well and so does the headset. Oh and i suggest that if you buy or rent this game GET A DANG HEADSET if you dont have one don't play it because this is a game where you have to communicate with your teamates not run and gun. This game only has about seven levels but they are all great and really big with endless possabilities. you can get flanked from almost anywhere and the combat sounds almost real. For all of you Socom fans out there i would really recomend this game. Don't listen to all those bad reviews those people don't know what they are talking about. I would give this game a 9.0. Graphics are awsome, character custamization is great, weapons are well balanced and all of them are awsome, level design is both big and small and they are all fun to play (Crossroads is the best) and this game is just plain BA. So if your a socom fan pick this game up along with a good headset the other peeps don't know what they are talking about. Lasting appeal 9.0/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SOCOM - CONFRONTATION

posted by OnlineKing (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The long anticipated SOCOM is a great game overall. Very realistic military tactical shooter. Not for the "Arcade" player.

However, the game play is often hindered by serious network (lag) issues, and a very limited user-interface.

The game also lacks a tutorial mode to help new players get started.

Again, overall, a great game with some minor issues

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by XxGamerxX (MACHIAS, ME) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have owned Confrontation since it has come out and I have to say after playing MW,MW2,kilzone2, bfbc1,WAW, and many other games this is the only one I still play.
The newer generation doesnt like the style since it's a no-respawn unless your playing unranked and the newer generation pretty much got ADD and doesnt like waiting, which you wont have to if you got a good team and got gun-skills.
What I like most about it is how it's third person view or ots, since their isnt many good tps out. I also like the realism to it, and how its based off teamwork. The sound it great and the proxy chat is good for trashing your opponant as you tea-bag him lol.
I bought the dlc and it comes along with some great maps some old and acouple new, and some new guns such as the Val, fast rate of fire AR but only 20bullet clip which evens it out.
I have to say if your a fps, respawn fanboy then likely this game isnt for you. IMHO this game is for skilled gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Underated.

posted by SocomLover (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) May 19, 2009

Member since May 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Ok...so im not going to lie im a pretty die hard socom fan so ill try to stay as un-biased as possible.

Looking past this series' history, there is a very solid 3rd person shooter in there. It was just hiding for the first few months of its release. So this game, being an online only shooter, pits two teams against eachother called Commandos and Mercanaries. This is a change from the previous games' politically incorrect names before. The 7 maps can be played on a few gameypes which include your standard team deathmatch, hostage rescue, and a demolition. All the maps are set in the desert and urban except for a water treatment facillity level. Now for your weapons and customization...you start with a multitude of clothing and weapon choices. Your standard assault rifle,MG,SMG, and snipers. There is a twist on movement in this game because everything you take into battle weighs something, including armor. And you may ask yourself why wouldn't everyone use the toughest armor and be a juggernaut? Well it makes you very slow and the light armor users can combat this armor with strong weapons and just pure out manuevering people.

So theres my insight on this game and I hope I've helped in deciding to rent or buy this game...and I look forward to owning you noobs online :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is good...

posted by mizz523 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Despite all of the server problems this is a pretty good game. I looked on the official website for the game and they said that there is going to be and update next week that will fix all of the problems going on with the game and server. Other than that I love the maps and weapons. There are a lot of experienced players online. Which is good because this is my first time playing any SOCOM game so I like the challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice Shooter

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Nov 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This edition of Socom is a must get for shooter fans. The gameplay is fun and easy to play. It does get a bit more complicated if you want to be able to fully utilize all of your weapons and gear...but for a hardcore gamer this is great. There are a lot of people playing online so you shouldn't have a problem finding a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

first time socom player

posted by soloboy52 (HONOLULU, HI) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

well ok here it goes, yes I am new to socom, I read other reviews before buying this game, but hey, you know what, I agree with some people that gave this game a chance, first of all, don't comment or start hating it after playing for like a day or less. The server issue will hopefully get resolved soon, and sony always get to it.
the game play style takes patience, and team work to get by and really enjoy, if you want to go solo and play hero on the stages, don't bother with this game, you will get raped by others in this game, controls are not bad, every body adjusts to it after awhile. Graphics is not top notch but still looks pretty, needs a touch up here and there on it.
Don't compare socom to COD, Battlefield, etc, they play with a different style, COD yes its picture perfect, intense fast pace and deep multiplayer with awesome but short single player story line.
The main producer of previous socoms did not work on this recent one, but the team tried their best, pay some respect, if you like it, good, if you don't, hey, sell it and wait for the new COD.
If you don't have a blue tooth from other games, hey socom comes with a dam good blue tooth that is worth $50. Meaning that you get the game for like $10, not bad at all.
So think about it, every thing deserves a chance because individuals put alot of effort into making games, and people would bad mouth them so much after only like 2 weeks from launch. I would say they are just joking themselves because they say I would have done this, I would have done that or I would have made it like this, I would actually like to see how they would do it and let other people criticize them for a change. Laterz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Online?!

posted by ps3xbox (AVON, NY) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I didn't like the fact that there was no campaign. playing online is not fun when u don't have internet. not that i don't but still its always fun to play the campaigns.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ok

posted by joker4554 (PERRIS, CA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this game is alright but some of the things make it suck. one of the things is that you cant drive any veichle. the graphics are good but the game still needs some work. one of the things that sucks about this game is that takes a long time to install. i was waiting for 1 hour when it was finally done. then when you start up the game you make your own guy, and sometimes it takes a long time to find a room. when you do find a room pray that you dont lag because it will kick you out if you start to lagging. over all this a good game and fun to past time. graphics 7, game play 9, controls 10, maps 6,.

ONLINE ONLY GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

After the long wait...

posted by RJ2000 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game was a bit disappointing after the long wait, since we are still waiting for the servers to be more 'reliable'. The game in its entirety is really good and in my opinion contends with Call of Duty 4. The clan system is back and has always been well respected.

The gameplay takes a lot of getting used to, probably due to playing a lot of COD4, but for all you old school SOCOM worshipers like I was. This game is finally back. As long as you can be semi patient with the servers and still love the old 3rd person camera.

I recommend this game to all those with a PS3 and don't even bother reading the reviews below that had it for 8 hours. They just don't have the common sense to be able to wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by jericho541 (BURKE, VA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Everyone knows there are server problems, but this will get fixed.

The Game itself is really good. I have only played it for a few hours, but liked it alot. If you played Counter Strike on the PC then this is your game. This is a must buy for all tactical online shooting gamers. This game will only get better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BOY Did Sony Get This One Wrong!

posted by UrbanMerc (VICTORVILLE, CA) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

First, the good. This game is quite enjoyable when it lets you actually play. Ghost Recon or Rainbow Six it will never be, but what is there is quite good when the game stays stable enough for you to play. The other thing worth mentioning is the fact that they seem committed to making right the shameful act of releasing this game half-baked. There have been tons of patches since it's release, but if you paid $60 for this game when it was launched and didn't get the headset, you my friends got hosed.

Now the bad. NO single player experience? Too many bugs and glitches to count. Almost last gen graphics? How did this game get through Sony's quality control in the state it was released? These online-only games shoul not be priced over $30, at the very most $40, ESPECIALLY when released in this state.I am not sure if I am going to keep this game, as I have already bought it. But, some things are just unacceptable, and this is one of those things. Being that this game was half-baked, it gets a half-baked score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

online only game that doesn't work online -Really?

posted by pirate (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

19 out of 37 gamers (51%) found this review helpful

Okay well first things first the official Bluetooth headset is head and shoulders better than the warhawk one. It is much closer to talking on a phone rather than the static experience that you get with the old headset. It apparently has two microphones in it which assist with cancelling out background noise. For whatever reason the chatting in the game sounded crystal clear – no background noises nothing – just the people talking.

The drawbacks – you need to do an update to your PS3 to take advantage of the new high definition voice chat. Then you have to do a massive 631 mb update to the actual socom game.

Then – you try to log into your brand new online only game… and try again and try again. It took me 4 separate tries to just get to the main menu. Then it kept skipping around and flashing error messages. Then it took me literally 40 minutes to even get into a lobby – because every time you got in you would immediately get kicked out.. After about an hour of trying and 4 or 5 controller throws later I managed to get into a game. The map was crossroads and a wave of nostalgia flooded over me. I was in my old favorite game SOCOM II. Sure it looked better sure the characters moved a little better – but it was my old favorite game with lots of people excited to play it.

I can not wait to play desert glory again!!!!!!!

That said – is this game any better than say CD4 – I don’t know because I got kicked out at the end of the round…..one good hope is all the guys on the microphones were saying that the servers had gone crazy that night. The other thing I noticed most if not all people had mics unlike battlefield and cd4. So there was true coordination like literally someone was like look out dude he is right behind you. – I haven’t had someone do that in a long time. It was really cool to have people be yelling he’s in the bell tower. It makes it more immersive and doesn’t have the disconnect that seems to plague online ps3 games.

As

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Needs work

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

20 out of 39 gamers (51%) found this review helpful

servers need work but im going to keep this simple.IGraphics get a 8.9 ambience 8.3 game-play 9.0 realistic factor 9.4 controls 10.0 because you create your own setup for your controller layouts and servers as of now 5.0 but dont get me wrong on this they will fix these server issues what will bring this game into perfection.Now lets not forget they will be adding "tropies" in a few weeks! Ive alread pre-ordered My copy.I love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by KING1NITO (DELRAY BEACH, FL) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All I have to say is TERRIBLE TERRIBLE GAME!! They need to bring back the regular SOCOM! The game was bad, the controls were even worse! Thank goodness for gamefly, otherwise I would've thrown my money down the toilette buying this game! Don't waste your time! NEXT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible Game

posted by Paxe93 (BONDUEL, WI) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

With today's technology this game could have been much better. The controls were hard to grasp, graphics were terrible, just all around not an enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid After Patch For Real Gamers

posted by angelfan16 (COVINA, CA) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

those people that just get the game, play for two days, then rate are just plane dumb. this is a game that takes time to get to know, and it takes team work to win. that being said, you wont fair very well if you dont have a mic (which you can buy with the game). the best part of this game is the real clan battles that are available via gamebattles. it is the team work and how realistic this game is that makes it a great game. im level 65 on CODWAW and i must say i like this game alot better. snipping in CODWAW is child's play compared to SOCOM. not to mention the maps make it so your not right on top of eachother and you cant just run around kniffing everyone on CODWAW. BOTTOM LINE: dont get this game unless your willing to commit solid time to get to know it and join up with people to play. if your looking to go solo like everyone does on CODWAW, you'll get raped in 2sec and you'll hate this game. SOCOM is for realistic shooter fans, not the panzee sim shotter CODWAW fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NO single player?!?!

posted by volc0m1398 (DELRAY BEACH, FL) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The fact that there is no single player in this game was very upsetting. The multiplayer isnt even that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well.. I thought it was good

posted by Crazyfists (LITTLEROCK, CA) May 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's only for online game play but still I felt it was fun. As long as you have a mic and are not afraid to communicate with others then you should have a blast playing. Teamwork is the key to victory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's SOCOM you have to love it!!

posted by clintbaer (FOLSOM, CA) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is great. sure it's got some issues, but the realism in the game and the game play outweigh any server issues. besides, most of those problems have been fixed and it's just a matter of time before the online play is as smooth as ever. If you're a fan of SOCOM, don't be disappointed, I'm not. Keep playing and you'll love it. I wish this game would have got rated after two weeks from the release date. The bugs in the server really killed the game rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Socom returns to its throne

posted by mgsmaster (STAMFORD, CT) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First I would like you to know that I have been a fan of this series since the original. I really like all the maps on this disc including the three that were remade. The graphics are on par with any third person released to date and sound effects and voiceovers are done exactly the way you expect them to be. Any issues with the title would have to be pointed at the network which could not perform as it should have. Patches and updates,however, will resolve all these issues. Slant 6 should have known that this is one of the reasons some people purchased ps3. Those problems aside its easily the best online shooter this fall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Socom Confrontation

posted by GucciMan (WINDSOR MILL, MD) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is good but it could have been better but once u get used to playing it, it will come to u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

give it a chance

posted by MAJOKUN (JENKINTOWN, PA) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

yea the servers are sucking and makeing me wanna pull my hair out. but that will get better. When i do get good play time in the game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse