Rent SOCOM II: U.S. Navy Seals for PS2
view large frontback

SOCOM II: U.S. Navy Seals

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

1078 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Most Addicting Game EVER!

posted by JDub14 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Aug 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have ever played the first Socom then you will be pleased with Socom 2. With the second installment of the series it is probably the best 3rd person shooter. The offline portion of the game is dull but the online portion of the game is what is going to make you hooked to the game. I've played Socom 2, the online portion since the day of its release and i am still enjoying the online portion till this day. Yes the online is great but there are still some problems such as cheating. The cheating that was going on in the first Socom is not as bad as in Socom 2. Now that sony has created the DNAS system it blocks the use of gameshark online. There are the few people that do cheat though. They maybe in wall or car or even in the far distance where the map has already ended but don't worry the possibility of running into someone like that is slim.
The only time you may play the offline portion of the game is to unlock characters for the online portion. These characters have no upgrades or anything that makes them better, to me they just show who's has completed the game or not.
With the new maps and characters added to the game, Socom 2 has proved to still be the best military game for the PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic Socom Title

posted by SUKMYTURBA (VAN NUYS, CA) May 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is quite possibly the best game that has ever been made. Aside from the online cheaters and a handful of exploits, this game should have become bigger than COD, Halo or anything else on the market. Its the only game I ever played that got my hands all sweaty and my heartbeat racing. Of course this was on the multiplayer only. It was intense to be up against the odds and pull it off with a big win shot. I've never played a game that made me jump off my couch screaming at the top of my lungs, "Screw You" It was a game with a huge learning curve, but after mastering the controls, learning the maps and lots of practice. I couldn't stop playing it. Dam near lost my job many times because I spent all night smashing on people. Hope this game gets ported over to the PS3 some century...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tango with Tangos

posted by Linerunner (PROVIDENCE, RI) Apr 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The second installment in a great series, this stealth based shooter provides the same tense and fun experience of the original. The single player campaign is solid, and when that isn't enough there's always the online feature.

The sounds and scenery are immersive, and your fire team is smart and deadly. I mean, who doesn't think having Michael Clark Duncan talking to you over the radio is the coolest?

If I have any knocks on this it's that the stealth isn't always easy. There are points in the game which leave you saying "They expect me to sneak into there...?". Also the rampant cheating that goes on online sullies that whole portion of the game.

Overall it's more than solid, however. Worth a spot in any shooter fan's collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best socom ever made

posted by SEAWEED (HICKSVILLE, NY) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the BEST Socom ever made. Graphics are not the best but the fell of the game is. It takes a few days to get used to the controls but once you do you will love it. Playing this game over 5 years now & yes I do own all of the socom games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Socom II

posted by Phantom34 (NOGALES, AZ) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well This Game Is The Sequel Of The First Time,The Graphics Have Gotten Better And More Guns So That Means More Fun,And Online Is Awesome,You Pick All Sorts Of Skin's From Other Special Forces,But First You Have To Unlock Them On Single Player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

once again

posted by Ryimus (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It's two big problems are a lack of weapons and a lack of control. it jerks way to fast and doesn't turn fast enough to shoot. everything else I could live with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC!

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) Dec 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This was THE reason to own a PS2 back in the early 2000's. Socom II in it's day boasted more players than all of xbox live games COMBINED! It made Halo look like garbage!

Far has this series fallen since and it's a shame! Nothing has been able to match the original two titles. The game was online for OVER a DECADE on a CONSOLE! That alone is an achievement!

Glitchers and cheaters were the only thing that held the game back, but even that was something many, many people chose to ignore or tolerate. The combat was perfect, the controls were spot on! The graphics for it's time were amazing.

A perfect balance of action, tactics, and team oriented gameplay. Socom 1 and 2 were the thinking mans shooters. Not some willy nilly run and gun respawn with perks and nukes and other garbage!

No overpowered vehicles, just you, your team and the enemy! Only skill mattered and the best man won!

Nothing has come close to matching the feeling of excitement and heart pumping adrenaline this game offered when you knew you were the last man standing being watched by your entire team!

The campaign was fun but the star was the online. There is still a reason to play it for the story mode, but it does have it's moments of frustration and bugs. You CAN play online but it requires an outside program called xlink to utilize the lan feature and get online with others.

Simply put, this was one of the greatest games on the PS2 and imo one of the greatest games of all time! If you weren't a part of that, you wouldn't understand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by Gamer223 (OAKDALE, CT) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

JUST SICK>>>> NEST GAME ON THE EARTH

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

got it

posted by jack66 (BARTONVILLE, IL) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

i did not k\like it cuz i did now what to do i guess if you did do the first one your lost

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Speechless

posted by Escapie (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

When I played this at a friends house I thought it was mediocre, but i realized that its much more than that, ITS AWESOME!!

The Single player is good, but its the Multiplayer where this game flys away from all other shooters, Ive played this game 1000+ hours online, to most people thats a waste, but I still don't get bored, its awesome, the maps, the people, the thrills of having a team depending on you, ahhh, awesome, just great.

This game is like a drug, you try it, your immediately addicted, its also like the game of golf in the sense that you strive to perfect your game, same here.

This game is awesome, the graphics, the sound, the multiplayer, everything, bought it 2 years ago, and still playing it today, still love it to death, worth your time and money if you have a PS2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a game, a Hobby.

posted by FSUdude (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Oct 31, 2007

Member since May 2007

Best game i've ever played, period. The online game is the focus where you take on the enemy in several simplistic game modes. Its ALL about skill in this game(aka not Halo). Look forward to socom confrontation because socom2 was fun for YEARS. The original and still the best online shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok, but not as good as the original

posted by dbroncos (WILLCOX, AZ) Nov 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

this game is pretty good. it has a good easy to follow storyline. however, the graphics were better on the original, and there were very little improvements made on other features, such as weaponry. other than that the game is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oldie But Goody

posted by TheMonk (RIVERSIDE, CA) Sep 16, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

Nearly three years since this games release and still the game's online servers are filled to the brim with players of all ages. This game remains to be one of the most popular online shooters around, and at such a low price, it's a great buy. The story mode features 12 missions, all of which can seem to carry on and on if you're somewhat of a perfectionist, due to the fact that the game doesn't nit-pick on all of the mission objectives. Those who are more likely to appreciate the game are those who are willing to take their gaming experience online (broadband only). None the less, a great buy all around, and at such a reasonable price, it's hard to deny Sony's third-person shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best

posted by Plague (APO, AE) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

This game is by far one of the best games ever made. Even though it has been out for some time now i still find myself playing through all the missions over and over again. It just never gets boring is what im saying.

The online play on this game is awesome, though i do have to say glitching has become a really big thing online so it kidna takes away from the fuun of playing online. Other than that, if you get a group of friends that won't cheat on ya just go at it it is off the hook. I play this game almost everyday now and I will probably continue to play this game for a long time.

Socom 2 has great realistic weapons, awesome missions that you just can't get tired of and when you die you just keep playing. Though i have to say when I have it on the hardest gameplay setting I tend to throw the controler on the bed but hey i still play the game. This is a definate must get game and a good game to add to anyones shooter collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Socom 2

posted by mmjj2007 (ANNA, TX) May 29, 2006

Member since Oct 2004



If you are a fan of the first SOCOM game than these one will please
you. SOCOM II raises the bar from the last game. Single player is
still fun and exciting, except this time it's urban warfare. More
weapons are added to the game including at-4's. This time you play as
Specter from the first game, but still control a squad of three. You
battle different terrorist groups and go from Brazil, Russia,
Algeria, and outside of Washington state. You also get to work with
the Russian Spetznaz and the British S.A.S. group. One new feature
for this game is turrents located throughout levels on and offline.
The online of this game is ,again as the first one, really fun. One
thing that I like most about the online of SOCOM II is that it had
all the same maps as SOCOM one and 12 new ones and a new gameplays
such as breach, in which SEALs will try to break into the Terrorist
using C4, and either rescuing hostages or planting a bomb. The online
community is now upgraded from the last one giving the ablity to have
clan tags, ranks, stats, and messages to other players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »