Rent SOCOM 3: U.S. Navy Seals for PS2
view large frontback

SOCOM 3: U.S. Navy Seals

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

2092 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good

posted by laidoff (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 6, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its everything it says it is and more, its fun being able to order and direct your team into combat, the damage could be stronger, but very few games are on the perfect list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

whoa

posted by racekiller (ELGIN, IL) May 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved it one of the cool parts was when you get killed sometimes you loose a arm leg or both arma or both legs or a leg and arm i thought that was really cool. The graphics where ok not like call of duty world at war. { I think call of duty world at war got the idea of loosing legs and arms from this game }. I like how there are three campaigns. I was talking to my friend that he should get the new one for the ps3. I have only goten through five missons { NOT including the training misson } and i think im going to keep it. If i do it will be the first game i have bought/keept on gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bazo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

posted by haloraid (CHINO HILLS, CA) May 31, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i don't think theres a better current day war game tham socom 3.the a.i. is excellent and the weapons are the bomb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Socom III

posted by Phantom34 (NOGALES, AZ) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Another Sequel Of Socom Us Navy Seals,This Game Got Better At Keeping The Player Busy,Its All Good Recon Are More Realistic Then Ghost Recon,There Just To Fake,But This One One Prob Is How The Sounds Are,Not Synchronized And Then The Guns Arent Accurate Like The Stats Say They Are,But The Online Is Good, Just Unlock The Gillie Suit In Single Player And Have Some Fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I know its been said, but online baby

posted by Slimdagrea (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Aug 28, 2006

Member since Apr 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You wont find any other online game for ps2 regardless of the genre with as many players online as in socom 3 i mean the online community is huge.

And there is a reason for that, the online mode to this game is like crak, its addictive as heck. although there are glitchers and cheaters, a good game isnt that difficult to find. and socom makes it more interesting by having valuable unlockables for finishing the single player mode.

i rented with my fingers crossed and bought it and now its one of my favs of all time!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good socom

posted by killer0199 (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've always been a fan of socom granted socom II is better than this game but still this game is pretty good at best nice graphics gameplay good too nothing really else to cover besides online but online is really good like the rest of socom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

socom 4 anyone?

posted by flyingamer (PORT JERVIS, NY) Dec 15, 2006

Member since May 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

very nice game.decent loading time.not to difficult. not to simple.characters look good cept when the die. word to the wise, dont die lol. characters talking during cut scenes in a different language gets irritating. sometimes the subtitles go to fast to read and pay attention to the actual cutscenes.woulda been nice to be able to have med kits to heal fallen players.woulda be nice if can switch to another character. maybe in part 4.if read my previous reviews know what i mean by levels. stages.yay.game is addicting a cant put it down game. started it like noon. didn't put it down till 8pm. was only for dinner of watch nfl.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Online or Bust

posted by SnwBrdr (EAGLE, ID) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game, however I can't truthfully say that because I don't play much campaign mode at all. I would have to say that I've played campaign mode a total of maybe an hour.

Online is another story it's the first game I play every day when I get off of work. I love the online play because you have to use a decent amount of strategy when it comes to killin multiple of people. You can't just run in there guns a blastin and expect to be the leader in kills... maybe the leader in deaths with that attitude. The online play does have a few drawbacks as far as it's not as crisp as I would like it to be, but then again I was used to halo2 with only 8 players usually. Also sometime I'll get a disconnected from network error and I absolutely hate that.

Overall I would say this game is my most played at the moment. Also if you rent a lot of games I would say Gamefly is the way to go, definetley to two game plan because then you can play one while they other is in the mail. Not to mention I can buy Socom3 right now from gamefly used for $20 instead of the 45 or 50.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the most best playstation game

posted by SalahH (LAWRENCE, MA) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best or one of the best, of like army or navy games. It' s excellent for renting but it will be more fun if you have on line for ps2 so you can buy it and have more fun with it. You also got many weapons to choose is not like the other game that you in this game you could make combinations with weapons like put attachments and also there is a long good story levels this is the only game that you could command your squad to do many stuff. I will consider people to buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Socom series #1 Online games

posted by mvpsocom (WOBURN, MA) Jul 14, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i would recommend this game out of every online game........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Socom 3

posted by mmjj2007 (ANNA, TX) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is a really good online game being the best online game for the Playstation 2. Here is a list of new features than that of the last game:
1- vehicles; drive humvees, technicals, and even boats
2- 1-32 Players: the Online portion now goes up to 32 players, 16 for both teams
3- 6x-8x maps; the maps are way bigger to use the vehicles on
4- Weapons; new ones, and now you can add weapon attachments onto your gun such as lasers, sliencers, scopes, frags, grips, and more
5- Weight Feature; every time you add more stuff on, you move at a slower rate. This helps balances out the gameplay a lot more.
6- New Game Modes; the games Convoy and Control are introduced. On convoy, the seals try to destroy two cargo trucks, while terrorist protect them, load them, and then take them to a drop zone. In control, both teams try to capture significant points on the map, whoever gets all 5 first wins
7- Compatability; transfer content from the PSP via the PS2 to unlock new features including characters, and mission differences.
8- Rank Up Revised; ranks are detail U.S. Navy ranks, even enlisted
9- Community Feature; online gaming message boards are now included. An email system is now included which allows better communication, and instant friends/clan invite is now accessable.

The single player is pretty good too. Some issues I did have was that you can't have your team drive unless following in a different vehicle. It would have been cool to gun some of the times. Other issue is that there are some complaints about the A.I., however, I didn't came too notice this, but by reading other reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great game, continuing the franchise's tradition

posted by RaiderGame (PETALUMA, CA) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game continue with the tradition of excellence of the previous game, the controls are great, the graphics and sound are excellent. The game overall was very good, there were some glitches with the camera and some tactical commands but that doesn't take away much from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not better than socom or socom 2

posted by StateProp (OSWEGO, NY) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The reason i gave it 7 because the AI on your side is mentally challenge. How they can dumb down the soldiers AI aiming and tactics but increase the terrorist AI aiming and tactics. I mean in the socom and socom 2 the Soldier AI takes out a enemy like in 3-5 secs or just using not even half a clip. But in socom 3 the soldier AI takes like a full clip and more to take a enemy down. And each difficulty level is a same. The graphics is good, but the gameplay is below average comparing to socom 1 and 2 I don't recommend to play to this game offline. Its only good for online game experience. I personally enjoyed the online experience than offline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better Than All The Rest

posted by WARFARE (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After reviewing what they had did wrong in the first two Socom's( and there wasn't that much wrong), Zipper Interactive changed all that, plus added more! Better, longer, less-repetitive, and bigger better maps online that you can play with up to 31 other people! A must have for any shooter fan.

Warning-----It does get a bit difficult, but nothing that you can't handle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Step Backwards?

posted by TheMonk (RIVERSIDE, CA) Oct 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The third installment of the SOCOM series, this third-person shooter has left some gamers scratching their heads and saying to themselves, "Something isn't right here." In the eyes of some online gamers, the SOCOM franchise took a step backwards with this title. Pre-release, many conversations filled with enthusiasm brimmed the Socom II breifing rooms, that is, until release day. Basically, SOCOM III just didn't live up to the hype so many of us dreamed about. The designers however did do a lot of things right, such as adding the use of vehicles, which was ideal considering how big the new online playing feilds are. The controls are tight, a little too tight. Sometimes you'll find yourself pushing buttons, and then getting the correct response, after about doing 3 other things. The switching between prone and crouch stance can be a painstaking process at times, along with switching from your rifle to your pistol. In all, this game isn't terrible, but there is a reason SOCOM II's server still have 5,000+ people logging in. It'll keep you busy for a couple hours, regardless, this is a definite rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pros and Cons

posted by Swizza (MIRAMAR, FL) Oct 11, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Here are my pros and cons of Socom 3.

Pros: The online mode. Progressive scan.

Cons: The offline mode. Slow load times.

Now let me give a sidenote to my short pros and cons.

The online mode is great, except that it seems impossible to find a decent match to get into. It's as if you HAVE to join a league in order to have any fun. However once you get into a decent game it is VERY fun. I just found myself looking for a game to join more than actually playing the game.

The offline mode..wow. Very bland and nothing new from Socom 2 except for vehicles. I didn't really care much for the storyline of the single player mode which is why I played online 99% of the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic shooter

posted by Action187 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jul 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great shooter. Amazing gameplay. Extremely fun online. Very solid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOCOM

posted by buttwagon (SHINGLETOWN, CA) May 4, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The third time must be the charm for the Socom series because this game is the bomb. The insane single player has awesome graphics. Also this game has the greatest online game-play by far in the gaming history. That's why I give it a 10!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Series down the drain

posted by Thechubby1 (SNOW CAMP, NC) Jun 8, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ya know, when I first popped this game in I was like "oh yeah!" Then I saw the graphics, what happened! The first two games' graphics were awesome, what went wrong here. It's like the oldies of video games. The gameplay isn't as exciting as the first two, how are you supposed to be stealthy in a dune buggy. You can swim but only for a few seconds, I thought these guys could hold their breath for a few minutes. It just plain sucks. I'm a SOCOM fan but this made me turn away in shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best online game ever for sony ps2

posted by NJRICAN089 (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

if you play this online you will fall in love with this game.when i rentd it online i spent hours and still in this day i play online 3-4 hours a day.the frist day i rented it i bought it and gamefly is the best thing that ever happend to me sence blockbuster i hope gamefly becomes now so other can purchase gamefly.in this game you could have your own clan or join one.so try it and i guarante you will love it.the mission is awesome and the graphics and well made and there longer that the other two title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Online Game Ever

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 30, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

32 players online makes this game one of the best online games ever created. I know that once you get this game you will ignore the campaign mode and go right to the online mode. But let me tell you that if you want the best online experience than you have to beat the campaign. But don't worry it's fun now. The graphics aren't the best but you won't really be paying attention to that when there is so much going around you. It is also the most realistic online game you can play. The squad command still hasd a bit of getting used to but that doesn't really matter. Now adays the ghillie suit is probably the most helpful suit in the game. SOCOM 3 is deffinetly not a rental game. It's a game worth buying so if your a fan of the series this game will be at the top of your stack of games even if your not a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Could it be..The Greatest Shooter Game EVER !?!

posted by Quagmire1 (WARWICK, RI) May 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think so...SOCOM 3 set the standard for action/shooter games.
I played all the other run around and shoot 'em type of games, nothing compares to SOCOM 3 as of yet.
On line Play " OUTRAGEOUS "

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

1 WORD ONLINE!!!!!!!!!

posted by punknation (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

please people if your going to rent this game buy it and then you have to!!!!! play it online its the best!!!!!!! i have been playing it online for ps2 and its great just great i love it rent it and play it online take my word for it seriously!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

socom 3...

posted by Knosty (FAIRBORN, OH) May 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I love playing games online and i love talking trash or dancing over dead terrorists' corpses. Socom is back and better then before. First player mode provides a below average story line and average looking environment. The feel of the game is pretty nice, but where the game makes its money is in the online multiplayer. if you don't have online capabilities then this game is not worth renting. the perks of online play are a ranking system, clan matches, and nothing is more fun then a bunch of friends riding in a tank together blowing stuff up. as always, there's a huge selection of weapons and tricks so game play has a long expiration date. one bad thing i can mention about online play is that some maps are huge and at first i could go whole matches without encountering any enemies or got sniped way before i could see them, but you'll learn your way around that.

game play- 8 tons of weapons, lots of tricks
look- 5 average
story line- 4 this game is not about the first player
replay- 7 multiplayer keeps this game alive
multiplayer- 9 kill your friend then dance on his body

overall- 6.6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I am Shocked

posted by Valedectorian19 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i am surprised to say that i am disappointed in gamefly.They have sent me a ps2 game that does not work.I tried every method to get this game working and yet it still doesn't work.Either that or the previous owner of this game doesn't know how to take care of things.I hope this doesn't happen again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse