Rent SNK vs Capcom Card Fighters DS for DS
view large frontback

SNK vs Capcom Card Fighters DS

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.0

91 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Beware! Game Unbeatable due to Glitch

posted by muymanwell (SAINT LOUIS, MO) May 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a huge fan of the first Snk vs. Capcom Card Fighter Clash on the Neo Geo Color Pocket, I had eagerly anticipated the arrival of this title. Unfortunately, disappointment soon set in, as I realized that not only had the game mechanics undergone a complete overhaul, but so had the storyline and overworld, and not for the better.

Instead of the free-roaming, city-based overworld that I had loved so much in the initial installment, there was a static, repetitive, and locked-in tower setup, with no chance to move anywhere but to your next battle and the shops.

As for the mechanics, they fully re-did the system, moving to a gem (cough)mana(cough) based system, where there are 4 colors of gems, and additionally a basic gem color, which any of the 4 colors can be used to pay for. This multiple color set-up allows for some diversity, but usually it causes overall frustration, as the game starts you with a deck playing all 4 colors, and it takes quite a while before you can get enough cards to change your deck to a more controllable 3 colors, and eventually more sane 2 colors. Also, the system is clearly geared towards playing 2 set colors, leaving you looking at the few great cards in the two left out colors and wonder why it would be set that way.

The AI in the game has been weakened greatly. The computer infrequently if ever uses cards/abilities correctly, and can't even manage to block attacking cards correctly to keep itself alive. That, in addition to the over-powered, under-costed cards, leads to many battles ending within 3-4 turns. Early in the game, you'll be able to consistently win in under 5 turns, as long as your hand isn't horribly drawn.

As for the GLITCH, on the 9th floor of said tower, there is a charater named JOHN on both sides of the tower. After defeating him, if you talk to him again, the game freezes. This isn't an issue the first time through, but for the new game+ (req'd for completion) it freezes the first time, so you're stuck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but...

posted by Benglaas (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

SNK vs Capcom Card Fighters was a decent game at least soemthing you might want to try. There was a few things that I had problems with though one was the person model type. and the people you encounter except bosses are the same model with different colored hair or clothes. They could have put a little effort into it. The other problem I had was how hard it was to earn money aswell as complete some of the goals like find this card to advance. That's like a needle in a haystack.

Once you get past all the collecting and cheesy dialogue is a pretty ok game. the battle scenes are not fancy but it is something to keep you interested. I would rate the game 7/10 WAY better than the first one
~Benglaas

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fighters don't make Card Games

posted by McCloud (ROME, GA) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Okay, against my better judgement, I decided to rent this game and boy do I want to shoot myself right now... This game sucks, so time for me to start telling you why.

The storyline is really terrible. You play a kid at a school for card battling and out of nowhere people start disappearing and you have to climb a big building and defeat all the duelists on each floor to use the elevator. Yu-Gi-Oh! GX anyone?

Ok, so for all of us Capcom vs. SNK fans out there, this is the biggest flaw in the game... When you enter battle, there are no cinematics showing your favorite fighter fighting your opponent. You just get a generic little thing where my card might shoot your card. The gameplay is BORING!!! There is no strategy, just collect gems to send out more fighters, the stronger the fighter the better chance you have of winning, no power-up cards, just card fusion so you can use 2 cards to take on 1 and take your opponents HP little by little. That's not strategy, it's just completely lame. Oh and when you are not in battle... you can't control on where you walk, you just select an area and he goes there for you. Personally, I like exploration so I knocked points off for this.

Music sucked, sound-effects sucked, just about everything in this game was awful... but in its defense I have played worse games in my life time, so I tried to cut it some slack as far as card battle games go, there are just better games of this genre so I HIGHLY recommend you look into Metal Gear Ac!d 1 or 2, or Yu-Gi-Oh for the DS.
I cannot recommend this title to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay game for a card game. Too bad the bug ruins

posted by desktop (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

too bad the bug ruins it. I would loved to keep this game for 12 and change but with the major bug the game isnt worth 5 bucks. Im shocked gamefly is selling broken games. They recalled them all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Potential Never Realized

posted by JAlexander (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

At first glance SNK vs Capcom seems like the perfect way to remember the diverse characters and history of games from 2 longstanding videogame companies. But once the nostalgia wears off, you're left with a barely competent card game and an obtuse user-interface that hinders gameplay.
The graphics are visually dull, the card artwork itself is nice, but the animations are unappealing and frequently recycled.
The game make a valient effort to use the touchscreen as much as possible, but the controls could have been much more streamlined and better laid out.
The gameplay itself takes a while to grasp, but the card-game mechanics have nothing really unique or compelling to make the sucessive battles more interesting than the first few.
The game contains a few minor bugs, and one huge glitch that makes the final battle impossible to finish and save. Suffice to say that neither replay value nor the production value is very high.
Ultimately, this is a game that held a lot of promise, the first SNK vs Capcom game in nearly a decade, one that could have revitalized the entire brand. But poor implementation and a lazy card system smothered this game past mediocrity into the realm of just plain bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gold Wrapped in Trash

posted by Hubris (AUSTIN, TX) May 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I'm torn with how to react to this game: at its core is a fairly competent if simplified card game with a certain degree of challenge and customization. It doesn't take long to pick up, but a while to actually master, and too much rests on who wins the opening die roll sometimes. On top of that, sometimes you simply go up against opponents who feel too difficult to actually beat. All of this aside, the actual card game is fairly enjoyable.

Which is why its frustrating that it is presented so poorly. Beyond just the now infamous game-breaking glitch, the awful translations, repetative sprites and simply boring storyline, the whole thing just smacks of laziness. This no-frills approach has become SNK's trademark as of late, and its very discouraging that a game that has such a good core is packaged so horribly. In a sense, I really wish that this game would come out as an actual card game rather than me having the struggle with the second-string digital package that SNK provides here. Still, good for a few hours until the structure drives you absolutely mental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

SNK vs. Capcom Csrd Fighters DS

posted by Lanser (PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY) May 8, 2007

Member since May 2007

When you think of a good card game, you usually dont think SNK or Capcom. There is a good reason for this. First off, SNK vs. Capcom is visually as dull as an episode of NOVA. And the gameplay is serverely flawed. There is a force system that determines how you deal or use your cards that will have you immediately burning like 5 of the six cards in your hand.After that youre only dealing with like 1 card at a time. There is also a totaly cheesy story fit with all the characters you really couldnt give 2 you know whats about. I'm sure there are other good portable card games out there, but this just isnt one of them. I was going to buy this game but thanks to Gamefly all i have to do is send this piece of junk back to them. THANKS GAMEFLY!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD BAD translations.

posted by belmont (CONCORD, CA) Apr 28, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

The translations in this game stink! The card attributes and effects are so poorly translated at times you can't even guess what they'll do. Good luck with that! It's a shame cause otherwise the game is fun. I will probably return this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »