Rent SBK Superbike World Championship for Xbox 360
view large frontback

SBK Superbike World Championship

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
4.2

351 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome simulator

posted by killersrt (RIVERVIEW, FL) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are in to games that are realistic, this is the game for you. I can't stand games where you can take an apex at 120mph and slam on the brakes mid-turn and just simply slow down. The in depth tuning and tweaking of the bike and the multiple levels between arcade and simulation style put this game at the top ranks in my book. I haven't had the chance to play online (barely had the time to start a quick race in 1 player), but I'm sure it's just as good. If racing in a pack isn't right for you, you have the option for time trials alone or even little side missions to accomplish. Definitely worth the rent, and possibly, the buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quality race sim

posted by Gromm27 (ANN ARBOR, MI) May 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall I found the gameplay of this particular title to be excellent. It's always been my opinion that graphics and physics engines will make a break any racing simulator. The developers got it right on this one. The controls are very responsive and seem to actually conform to the bike settings that you can select in the gargage. For example, if you use harder compound tires on a track that is more suited to medium or softer compound tires you'll find yourself a slippin' and a slidin' all over the track.

I really enjoy the depth of racing the game lets you get into. The abilty to actually race an entire weekend that's set up around the basic SBK weekend is fantastic. It's almost more fun that going for the Championship....almost.

If this game has a draw back it's the lack of being able to create your own character. True, it's a lot of fun to tear around the Ducati Circuit as Troy Corser and win the championship, but it's even more fun to BEAT Troy Corser at the Ducati Circuit for the championship as myself. I mean seriously, isn't that why we play video games in the first place? To create avatars that can do all of the things that we can't do in real life? This is one of the high points of MotoGp 08, at least for me and hopefully this will be addressed in SBK 2010.

Overall, this is a great title that I highly recommmend for anyone who loves two wheel racing. Shoot, it's a great title for anyone who just loves to race. If the developers can tweak a few things here and there, this could be the start of a beautiful franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The ultimate bike racing experience.

posted by id0licious (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

PROS:

1. XBOX Live! With bikes. Need I say more?

2. Fantastic bike handling. Can be incredibly hard the closer you go to the simulation side; however it has at least 4 pre-made settings (you can make a custom set as well) from Basic (easy)to Extreme Simulation (very hard).

3. Sense of speed. It's there, and it's good.

4. Framerate. While I've seen some slowdown in replays (seems like a vsync issue to me), racing against the AI provides a solid 30fps at all times. Load times are also decently quick (I've installed to the hard drive - no comment on playing from the disc).

5. True SBK feel. It feels very similiar to Superbikes 2001. The realistic feel returns successfully. This is a GREAT thing.

6. Customizable. You can completely tune your bike to however you desire. This tuning is deep and directly affects the handling of your bike. It is immediatly noticeable when you alter settings and then go for a practice run. There is an advanced setting (for the players who know what preload, etc. actually is), and a normal setting which gives you a sort of 'slider bar' to adjust certain aspects of the bike.

7. Adjustable difficulty. When I say that, I don't mean the included AI driver skill level. You can adjust nearly every aspect of realism when it comes to your bike. These include riding aids, lean assistance, etc. The list is long, and even has such things as bike damage and rider health.

CONS:

1. Trackside details. Compared to some other racers, the trackside details are somewhat lacking in this game. As in there isn't much to look at outside of the track, not that the things that are there are bad looking. HOWEVER, if you're playing this game as you should, you are rarely going to be able to take your eyes off the road, especially at 150mph+. So, this is a non-issue, and I really think the tracks look more realistic this way.

Summary:
SBK returns to the US (finally!) and it does so with grace. Bike fans beware - this game may get you hooke

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than Expected

posted by UrbanMerc (VICTORVILLE, CA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Let's just get to the point. This is a MUCH better game than reviews let on. They knock the game for being somewhat 'sterile'. Well, what do you expect? It is a racing game based on Superbike? You are racing against other bikes on tracks, not running from the cops on the street. This game is a great first attempt at giving you that Superbike experience.

Now, don't get me wrong. I do have a few issues with the game. First, the graphics could be a bit better. Not so much the bikes and riders, they pretty much nailed that part. But the paddock girls... WHEW. The off the track stuff is pretty low budget when it comes to the eye candy. The sounds are serviceable, but just miss their mark. Also, what is up with the achievements? Points for finishing last 5 times? Points for retiring due to damage 10 times? Who came up with these things anyway? I thought achievements were supposed to be awarded for accomplishment, not failure? Also, I won an online race, and I didn't get my 'win an online race' achievement? What's up with that? As I said, I have a few issues with the game, but in all, it is a solid first attempt for this series. It is definitely better than Moto GP 08 for sure.

This game, in my opinion, should be an 8.2. Most of the people giving this game low scores are people who don't know how to ride anyway, so just ignore them. The pit stuff between race sessions is better than just static screens. The riding model and physics works VERY well. I will definitely be spending some time with this game over the coming months. If you are on the fence about this one, then jump on off and buy yourself a copy. I just bought mine after thinking about it for a while. This game is probably the best value you will see this year. Thirty dollars is a STEAL for this game. I've paid more for less polished crud than this. I am pleasantly surprised by this game, and I am sure you will be too if you are a motorcycle fan. Now if I can just get a few people to make up an online session.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not all it is cracked up to be.

posted by templar69 (JOHNSTOWN, CO) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think some of the reviews here a re a bit over the top. This game does lack good sound quality visual impact beyond the bikes and riders. The track detail could have been better and the daylight effects were the worst!!! I have never in my entire life seen sunlight shine off the tarmac and create glare!!! Also the positioning of the rider's head in relationship to his body. I found it utmost annoying when in the POV mode that when my rider wheelied or entered a corner his head position and there fore vision tilted on axis to the bikes position...ask yourself this.When you tilt your head does the world tilt too? Not at all as a matter of fact your eyes and brain compensate. Also the POV when behind the screen. Instead of looking forward down the track to see where you are racing too. The majority of the image was over the front wheel looking into the track.

I love to race on two wheels and have for quite sometime and found this game to be nothing like a real rider would view the track. The mechanics of the bikes and the physics of the tracks were well done. But it is all mute point as vision is key and thats why I scored the this game so low. You have to see what you are doing and clear vision is a good thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

sbk, was not what i thought!!!

posted by jamesbell90 (ELGIN, IL) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

i was expecting a clean and smooth super bike game. it wasn't! you have to turn to hard and it is almost like it doesn't follow the direction you want it to go. very poor controller to game movement. was one of the worst motorcycle games i have played. i rented this game cause i ride a "KTM RC8" track bike, on the track and the game isn't even simulated to real speculations in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Overly complicated for the casual gamer

posted by DrKnow (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

The gameplay was just ok to me. Graphics are pretty bland, but it is just a racetrack. Controls were also easy to grasp and get a feel for.

However, once you go around the track a few times, that's pretty much it. Nothing else to the game.

I found the game extremely unforgiving where if you make even a slight mistake, you're pretty much out of the race. Realistic and very frustrating.

There is a bike customization area where you seem to be able to tweak a lot of bike settings, mostly stuff I didn't fully comprehend or understood how the settings would mix with each other. I'm certain that a bike enthusiast would love the tweaks and technical details, but I do not really play games for that level of realism, I was escapism.

If you are a speedbike fan, I'm sure you will love the game, but anyone else who just wants to play some racing would probably look elsewhere.

I played for an hour, ran a few tracks, then packed it up to send back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It was like playing the first MotoGP only worse

posted by Bentbird (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

i was so disappointed in the game. A lot of potential but failed in every way a racing game could. I can only hope they improved with the next version.

The one thing that amazed me more than anything was that not a single person was playing the game online.

Did I mention I was disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very niche, but very good.

posted by Ntjordan (PRESCOTT, AZ) May 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Ok, this game is a bit dense, but if you get into it, there is some amazing racing to be had. You kind of need to be both a motorcycle nerd and a videogame nerd to get into this, but if you give it a little time it is really very accessible. With the bike realism on basic it doesn't take long to get pretty fast.

The graphics are good, if a little bland. Bikes and riders look great, but the tracks are just that, the tracks. There is no detail to speak of, but you wont be looking around much rest assured.

The riding physics are pretty much second to none. On any difficulty they feel rather realistic, and do about as good a job as a videogame can do of recreating the feel of riding. That is to say, not much, but better then most. The only real problem is that on simulation or higher, the throttle response on the controller is not entirely accurate, so it can get difficult to keep the rear tire hooked up. Not a huge problem, it just doesn't feel quite as crisp as some racing games.

Online is quiet, I am lucky enough to know another person with the game, but so far I have raced him and only him. There are other people on the leaderboards, but I never see any of them. It's a shame, because this game really shines online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »