Rent Ryse: Son of Rome for Xbox One
view large frontback

Ryse: Son of Rome

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

GF Rating
7.3

2723 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good

posted by zack13 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Dec 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the first game I played on my new Xbox One and I was not disappointed.

Pros:
Amazing graphics
Engaging story (cutscenes made it feel like I was watching a movie)
Execution moves are awesome

Cons:
Gameplay is somewhat linear
Multiplayer is a little disappointing

Overall, Ryse makes up for repetitive gameplay with beautiful visuals and gory finishing moves that will keep the player engaged. It is definitely a must-rent, but if you have to buy it, I would wait until the price goes down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ryse Son of Rome

posted by Metallica0 (BEAVERTON, OR) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First things first I would like to say what a gorgeous looking game this is. I know there have been some mixed reviews on this game so I'll keep mine short and sweet. If you like bloody games, fun combat and bloody games this one is for you. The combat in the game does get a bit repetitive but in a good way I mean cutting off an arm or a head maybe legs was cool. Controls I feel worked well, enemies unfortunately where recycled through the game so you beat the he!! outta the same characters. Games very short only 8 episodes. I recommend the game give it a try, short bloody fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Stunning Visuals, Boring Game!

posted by RawBott (PITTSBURG, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game's graphics is unlike anything I've seen before. Honestly, looking at this graphics all I kept saying was "I can't wait to see what the Xbox can do 2-3 years from now". I've played NFS Rivals, Ghost, and NBA 2k14, but Ryse hands down takes the 10/10 for just the graphics alone.

All graphics aside, the story is very basic. Kind of like, "boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy meets girl again, boy keeps girl". There are no surprises, or anything that makes you say "Whoa! I wasn't expecting that!". It's just a very basic game. It will come to no surprise when I say I finished the game on "Normal" in less than 5 hours. It's extremely short.

The controllers were easy to get used to since you honestly perform the same moves over and over and over and over and over until the game is done and over with. Honestly, within the first 5 minutes I was fed up with pressing the same freaking A (to block) and X (to hit). Muscle memory didn't stand a chance since my fingers took over that part.

I gave this game a 7 because of how repetitive it was. It got boring in the first hour. I honestly just wanted to finish it to get to the end to see what happens. All visuals aside, I don't recommended for $60 bucks or even $30 bucks because of how short it was. I say this is a definitely a must rent and only becomes a must buy if it hits $19.99. At that price, I would buy it just to have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Graphically amazing - Average gameplay

posted by Staples (LINCOLN, NE) Oct 7, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ryse was a release title for the Xbox One, and it's a great example of a game that was designed to showcase the graphical and processing power of a new system.

The game looks absolutely amazing. The environments look practically like watching a BluRay movie. The animation is smooth and fluid, and the lighting is spot on for the most part. Some of the pre-rendered cutscenes can actually be hard to distinguish from live video.

The gameplay is average. A lot of folks have griped about the monotony, and they're not entirely wrong about that. There isn't a lot of variety to the gameplay, and there are a few minor (but noticeable) bugs. I even had the game crash to my dashboard once.

The game includes a half-hearted attempt at a character development system, but I found it mostly confusing and pointless.

The campaign is very brief - I might have taken six hours or so. I haven't tried the multiplayer, but given the ho-hum options available for different attack styles and combos, etc., I can't imagine it would be all that gripping.

Having beaten up on the gameplay quite a bit here, I have to add that it's not really terrible. Learning the timing of your blocks and parries is absolutely essential - you can't win without it - but it is a little bit rewarding, as your own skill at the game gradually improves and you become even more of a hard case.

Overall, the game is definitely worth renting, but I'm glad I didn't spend $60 (or even $30) to buy it new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A poor imitation of the Arkham series

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) May 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I remember hearing this was originally meant to be Kinect game, and now that I've played it, it feels like they had that in mind. The game might look pretty. It is one of the best looking games on the new generation of consoles. But this is also a good example of graphics not being everything. This is easily the weakest launch title I played -- and I played Knack.

If you like quicktime moments and insanely repetitive gameplay, and you want about a five hour game with really no reason to play through it again (other than masochism and gamerscore) this is the game you've been waiting for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by gamerstar_rgn (DEXTER, MO) Mar 8, 2014

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When protagonist Marius Titus lowers a foe’s defenses and goes in for the kill, the speed of the fray slows to a crawl, giving us a good look at why Ryse: Son of Rome will simultaneously draw gawking glances and be rendered unappealing.

In this measured moment, we see Marius’ segmented armor shift with the contortion of his body, the cloth beneath it rippling as he raises his arm, and the skin on his face tightening as his mouth opens in a furious rage before he slits his opponent’s throat. This spectacle is every bit as breathtaking as it is brutal, standing tall as a showpiece of next-generation technology. But what hand did the player have in this execution? Little to none.

All of Ryse’s final blows are delivered through timed button presses, prompted by flashing colors on the victim’s body. These visual cues represent the colors on the controller’s face buttons. Successfully hitting the correct sequence rewards the player with the choice of additional experience points, a damage boost, health replenishment, or Focus. The only penalties for hitting the wrong button or not hitting a button at all are a lower rating and less of the aforementioned rewards. Marius won’t botch the kill, and the opponent won’t counter the attack. This entire animation sequence is scripted and it’s going to play out exactly the same no matter how much you interact with it.

Since experience points are valuable and used to upgrade Marius’ health, Focus meter, and projectile supply, it’s in the player’s best interest to initiate these execution sequences and play the awful little game of Simon Says. This leads to the tiring monotony of watching the animations play out. While many of the execution animations repeat in standard combat circumstances, some battlefields do allow the player to initiate an environmental kill. Marius will slam someone against a rock and send his sword through them, drown a downed soldier in a shallow pool, toss an attacker off of a cliff, and use a wall o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Showcase for Next-Gen Graphics

posted by TheSnowGator (OMAHA, NE) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

When Ryse was first shown, it looked promising. But, in the months and weeks leading to the Xbox One release, I was apprehensive about Ryse because of reviewers suggesting the demos they played were not great, but mediocre. I can assure you that my experience was much better than expected.

Gameplay- It is somewhat of a button-masher, as reviewers suggested. However, the in-game cinematics are very entertaining, especially with exexcutions. The player movement was smooth, but the controls get a little quirk outside of hacking and slashing. The online play is surprisingly effective, but it feels a little sluggish if one of you is lagging. As for mission objectives, it is VERY linear 5/10

Story- The story does have holes and some question marks, but overall, it is entertaining. If you enjoy history, then you will appreciate the historical undertones of the game. 7/10

Sound- I loved the sound of Marius running through the environment, and the noise of swords meeting each other in combat. The music is great, too, as it gives you that feeling of watching classic movies that centered around ancient Rome. 8/10

Menu/Interface- The menu seems a little confusing; you will be able to understand what is being portrayed, but the layout of some of the menus seems to be a little awkward. The in-game interface and HUD is clean and does not get in the way of your view...except for when objectives pop up. 6/10

Graphics- Last but not least, the graphics are the pride and joy of this game. Definitely the best graphics ever seen in console history, everything looks spectacular and smooth; the frames are impressive, too. The environments are wonderful to look at, and you might find yourself gauging the atmosphere rather than fighting enemies for a while.

Overall, this is a definite must-play if only to experience the graphics and next-gen potential. Is it a must-buy? I would say no. But, it is a definite must-rent and must-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RYSE

posted by pauly37 (SULPHUR, OK) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Game looks great.
Its just another hack n slash, its the graphics that keep you playing.
QTE elements get old, to execute somebody you have to press RT when a skull appears above their head, their body then shines blue for you to press X or yellow to press Y. get the combo right, which is not hard at all , you'll execute them.
But you'll overlook it because it looks so good.

1.1GB update to play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG WOW!!

posted by silverpanda (MANTECA, CA) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This games graphics are really good, I say dice better step it up because crytek got them beat this time maybe. Its not that repeatitive, only the people who analyze games too much would say it is its a sword combat game what to you expect, people didn't complain over injustice, or mortal combat and you do the same thing over and over. best exclusive for xbox one so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repetitive. Medicore.

posted by Blazer (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Nov 2003

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game looks pretty, but has some of the of the most boring gameplay I've experienced in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice graphics. Controls were rather frustrating.

posted by ADowske (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game looks awesome. But the controls were very poor, often no responding the way you intended. Very short title. They intend for you to play through more than once, but what's the point? Definitely a game worth renting, but I don't recommend a $60 purchase for 5 hours of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

family of gamers

posted by tjsgamers (LAKE WALES, FL) Mar 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is great rent why?
grades 0-10

Story: 6.5 overall well done but didn't get much of an emotional feeling. could have given a lot more historical facts.

Gameplay: 7.5 combat n environment interactions way mostly smooth but after a while of progressing throught the game turns into quicktime button mashing.

Looks: 8 it looks sweet but views are blocked by character placement at times. looping bodyparts was interesting.

Overall: 8 decent game but was completed in few days .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun slasher type game.

posted by MrBearhug (ESSEX, MD) Mar 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had completely forgot about this game when I finally got my xbox one. I rented it, and after an hour of play went out and bought it. WIth all games, things will get repetitive. If that bothers you, then you might not like the content as much as I do. I won't touch details of the story since you can read all about it, but I enjoyed it. I think the game mechanics are amazing. Reminds me of the fighting in Sleeping dogs. With good timing, you're a monster, and one bad misstep and you can be done.

Online play is much like the regular game, so if you enjoyed the story you'll enjoy the arena and such. Shelf life is about 6 months depending on how fast they bring out new content hence the 9 rating. They would need to add a lot of content relatively cheap ( season pass may be worth it), but I can't judge the future. Please Rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Deeper than reviews let on

posted by M204 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Some of the reviews I have read lead me to belive that Ryse was just a hack and slash game. After putting some time in the game I found that you can absolutely button mash if you just want to get through the combat. That's not too sophisticated. HOWEVER, if you take the time to learn the combat mechanics, it has depth to it. And the reward system alows you to choose how your character will look, level up and carry out attacks. Not to mention this game is very stylistic and beautifully rendered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

next gen is here

posted by SPOOCH (SOLEDAD, CA) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this game is so freaking awesome and I cant believe how beautiful it looks wow!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eye Candy

posted by SauceMoney (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 21, 2014

Member since Dec 2007

Outstandingly beautiful game. The combat system is simple and the finishing moves are eye-poppingly gruesome, although it can get repetitive after a couple chapters. Definitely worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet Game!!!

posted by ThaddeusSR (PONCHATOULA, LA) Oct 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

It's been a while since I've played through a game from beginning to end. This has been the best game I've played in years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Next-Gen but Disappointing

posted by Smerfdude (FLANDERS, NJ) Oct 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2007

Little more than a graphics flex to me. Beautiful visuals but cliche-feeling story and extremely stale and redundant combat at the beginning of the game prevented me from playing past the first few missions. Co-op was fun but shortlived. The gladiator multiplayer is decent but unoriginal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Beautiful, but boring

posted by Dirtybird296 (MARIETTA, GA) Oct 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

The game looks amazing. Just beautiful. The gameplay is good, but incredibly repetitive. Once you've played 10 minutes, that's pretty much the entire game just in different locations. Overall enjoyable experience, just don't expect top much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't listen to hate

posted by jrguy95 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Oct 2, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I passed on this game because it got a lot of hate when it was first released. Im just now playing it and the game is pretty good. The story was nice even though the ending kind of disappointed. The combat was repetitive but simple and fun. I actually enjoyed the QTEs. The game was also beautiful. One of the best xbox one games out there. I would recommend this game to any xbox one/Pc users

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game!

posted by brootalgiant (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Highly recommend playing this game. Graphics are absolutely ridiculous, only time i wish i had the kinect to do the commands but didnt ruin the game for me using the button commands. The story line is really good and the slow mo special attacks really make this game alot of fun. I gave it an 8 because there is room for improvement. Wish there were options for more upgrades amd some open world concept involved. But take a break from a first person shooter and try this game out, worth renting with the selection for xbox one right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and Absolutely Beautiful

posted by thebat411 (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Sep 25, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

I don't think there's a game on Xbox One that can match the grapahics of Ryse. This is how every game should look on these newer consoles. Besides the graphics, the story was good. Like most games in this genre, I found myself talking smack to the enemies. And even though this is one of those hack and slash games, the button functions are super easy. I hate games that have hundreds of different combinations to remember. It was cool at first when game consoles added more buttons to controllers, but at this point it's like taking a memory quiz each time you play. The game is fun playing a second time around at the hardest setting, but just make sure you have almost everything upgraded. I was missing 10 upgrades, so it was pretty hard in the beginning, but it's getting slightly easier now that I'm toward the middle. I definitely suggest this game. I believe you'll find it fun and worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth your time

posted by Jeramiah (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Sep 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2008

Don't rent this game. Really campy gameplay, terrible story. graphics are the only good thing. It is has a joke of leveling up system, that only has 4 levels. Most of the upgrades that you get don't even make sense. Oh and there is in game gold that you can buy with real money. I thought that was only on Apple IOS games but I guess Microsoft wants to cash in. Worst game I've played on the Xbox one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth it

posted by xSaydieBearx (WOODINVILLE, WA) Sep 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Myself, my boyfriend, my brother, and anyone else I've really known that has tried Ryse didn't like it. It didn't meet expectations at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RYSE SON OF ROME A GREAT ROMAN SOLDIER STORY

posted by consoleteller (MILNESVILLE, PA) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

THIS GAME IS ONE OF THE BEST ROMAN FIGHTING STORY GAMES IVE PLAYED IN ALONG TIME I CANT REMEMBER A GAME LIKE THIS ONE EVER ON THE 360 IF THERE EVEN WAS ONE ITS NOT A RPG GAME WHICH WOULD HAVE MADE THIS GAME PROBABLY MORE INTERESTING AND TIME CONSUMING THEN THIRD PERSON BUT ITS STILL A GREAT GAME AND THE STORY IS DEFINITELY ONE OF THE BEST IVE PLAYED IN AWHILE ASIDE FROM YOUR EVERYDAY SHOOTER'S OF COURSE BUT ANYWAY BACK TO THE STORY IT TELLS OF THIS GENERAL WHO GOES THROUGH A TRAGIC SENERIO THAT CAUSES HIM TO SEEK REVENGE FOR WHAT HAPPENED AND IT LEADS HIM ON THIS INTERESTING JOURNEY THROUGH ROME AND OTHER PLACES THE GAME IS DONE SO WELL YOU WOULD THINK YOU WERE IN ANCIENT ROME FIGHTING FOR ROME AND ANOTHER GREAT THING ABOUT THIS GAME IS THE WAY YOU CAN KILL PEOPLE YOU CAN HACK OFF ARMS AND LEGS BUT NOT HEADS WHICH WAS KINDA DISSAPOINTING BUT STILL THE KILLS WERE AWESOME AND YOU UNLOCK SKILLS AS YOU PROGRESS THROUGH THE GAME AND GET MONEY TO UNLOCK DIFFERNT EXEXCUTIONS AND STUFF LIKE THAT WELL I HOPE YOU ENJOYED READING THIS AS I ENJOYED TYPING IT I HOPE YOU PLAY THIS GAME I THOUGHT IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST EXCLUSIVE GAMES TO COME OUT ON THE XBOX ONE BUT THATS JUST MY OPINION TRY IT OUT FOR YOURSELF AND SEE IF YOU AGREE OR NOT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse