Rent Ryse: Son of Rome for Xbox One
view large frontback

Ryse: Son of Rome

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

3032 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good

posted by zack13 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Dec 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the first game I played on my new Xbox One and I was not disappointed.

Pros:
Amazing graphics
Engaging story (cutscenes made it feel like I was watching a movie)
Execution moves are awesome

Cons:
Gameplay is somewhat linear
Multiplayer is a little disappointing

Overall, Ryse makes up for repetitive gameplay with beautiful visuals and gory finishing moves that will keep the player engaged. It is definitely a must-rent, but if you have to buy it, I would wait until the price goes down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Stunning Visuals, Boring Game!

posted by RawBott (PITTSBURG, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game's graphics is unlike anything I've seen before. Honestly, looking at this graphics all I kept saying was "I can't wait to see what the Xbox can do 2-3 years from now". I've played NFS Rivals, Ghost, and NBA 2k14, but Ryse hands down takes the 10/10 for just the graphics alone.

All graphics aside, the story is very basic. Kind of like, "boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy meets girl again, boy keeps girl". There are no surprises, or anything that makes you say "Whoa! I wasn't expecting that!". It's just a very basic game. It will come to no surprise when I say I finished the game on "Normal" in less than 5 hours. It's extremely short.

The controllers were easy to get used to since you honestly perform the same moves over and over and over and over and over until the game is done and over with. Honestly, within the first 5 minutes I was fed up with pressing the same freaking A (to block) and X (to hit). Muscle memory didn't stand a chance since my fingers took over that part.

I gave this game a 7 because of how repetitive it was. It got boring in the first hour. I honestly just wanted to finish it to get to the end to see what happens. All visuals aside, I don't recommended for $60 bucks or even $30 bucks because of how short it was. I say this is a definitely a must rent and only becomes a must buy if it hits $19.99. At that price, I would buy it just to have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its pretty, just pretty.

posted by hookahman (JESSUP, MD) Dec 3, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I usually play a game all the way through but I cant stay interested. People are saying the story is great but its your typical vengance story. The fighting mechanics are cool, yet repeatative. I will say it is beautiful. If you love roman empire stuff, you will like this game. The strategic aspect is cool and accurate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

perfect rental

posted by OhBoy88 (BRONX, NY) Dec 1, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Excellent graphics very good combat. Short length which makes it a perfect rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful graphics and fun!!

posted by darththomthom66 (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Nov 11, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great story although short i would rent but a definite play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Graphically amazing - Average gameplay

posted by Staples (LINCOLN, NE) Oct 7, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ryse was a release title for the Xbox One, and it's a great example of a game that was designed to showcase the graphical and processing power of a new system.

The game looks absolutely amazing. The environments look practically like watching a BluRay movie. The animation is smooth and fluid, and the lighting is spot on for the most part. Some of the pre-rendered cutscenes can actually be hard to distinguish from live video.

The gameplay is average. A lot of folks have griped about the monotony, and they're not entirely wrong about that. There isn't a lot of variety to the gameplay, and there are a few minor (but noticeable) bugs. I even had the game crash to my dashboard once.

The game includes a half-hearted attempt at a character development system, but I found it mostly confusing and pointless.

The campaign is very brief - I might have taken six hours or so. I haven't tried the multiplayer, but given the ho-hum options available for different attack styles and combos, etc., I can't imagine it would be all that gripping.

Having beaten up on the gameplay quite a bit here, I have to add that it's not really terrible. Learning the timing of your blocks and parries is absolutely essential - you can't win without it - but it is a little bit rewarding, as your own skill at the game gradually improves and you become even more of a hard case.

Overall, the game is definitely worth renting, but I'm glad I didn't spend $60 (or even $30) to buy it new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A poor imitation of the Arkham series

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) May 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I remember hearing this was originally meant to be Kinect game, and now that I've played it, it feels like they had that in mind. The game might look pretty. It is one of the best looking games on the new generation of consoles. But this is also a good example of graphics not being everything. This is easily the weakest launch title I played -- and I played Knack.

If you like quicktime moments and insanely repetitive gameplay, and you want about a five hour game with really no reason to play through it again (other than masochism and gamerscore) this is the game you've been waiting for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by gamerstar_rgn (DEXTER, MO) Mar 8, 2014

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When protagonist Marius Titus lowers a foe’s defenses and goes in for the kill, the speed of the fray slows to a crawl, giving us a good look at why Ryse: Son of Rome will simultaneously draw gawking glances and be rendered unappealing.

In this measured moment, we see Marius’ segmented armor shift with the contortion of his body, the cloth beneath it rippling as he raises his arm, and the skin on his face tightening as his mouth opens in a furious rage before he slits his opponent’s throat. This spectacle is every bit as breathtaking as it is brutal, standing tall as a showpiece of next-generation technology. But what hand did the player have in this execution? Little to none.

All of Ryse’s final blows are delivered through timed button presses, prompted by flashing colors on the victim’s body. These visual cues represent the colors on the controller’s face buttons. Successfully hitting the correct sequence rewards the player with the choice of additional experience points, a damage boost, health replenishment, or Focus. The only penalties for hitting the wrong button or not hitting a button at all are a lower rating and less of the aforementioned rewards. Marius won’t botch the kill, and the opponent won’t counter the attack. This entire animation sequence is scripted and it’s going to play out exactly the same no matter how much you interact with it.

Since experience points are valuable and used to upgrade Marius’ health, Focus meter, and projectile supply, it’s in the player’s best interest to initiate these execution sequences and play the awful little game of Simon Says. This leads to the tiring monotony of watching the animations play out. While many of the execution animations repeat in standard combat circumstances, some battlefields do allow the player to initiate an environmental kill. Marius will slam someone against a rock and send his sword through them, drown a downed soldier in a shallow pool, toss an attacker off of a cliff, and use a wall o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Showcase for Next-Gen Graphics

posted by TheSnowGator (OMAHA, NE) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

When Ryse was first shown, it looked promising. But, in the months and weeks leading to the Xbox One release, I was apprehensive about Ryse because of reviewers suggesting the demos they played were not great, but mediocre. I can assure you that my experience was much better than expected.

Gameplay- It is somewhat of a button-masher, as reviewers suggested. However, the in-game cinematics are very entertaining, especially with exexcutions. The player movement was smooth, but the controls get a little quirk outside of hacking and slashing. The online play is surprisingly effective, but it feels a little sluggish if one of you is lagging. As for mission objectives, it is VERY linear 5/10

Story- The story does have holes and some question marks, but overall, it is entertaining. If you enjoy history, then you will appreciate the historical undertones of the game. 7/10

Sound- I loved the sound of Marius running through the environment, and the noise of swords meeting each other in combat. The music is great, too, as it gives you that feeling of watching classic movies that centered around ancient Rome. 8/10

Menu/Interface- The menu seems a little confusing; you will be able to understand what is being portrayed, but the layout of some of the menus seems to be a little awkward. The in-game interface and HUD is clean and does not get in the way of your view...except for when objectives pop up. 6/10

Graphics- Last but not least, the graphics are the pride and joy of this game. Definitely the best graphics ever seen in console history, everything looks spectacular and smooth; the frames are impressive, too. The environments are wonderful to look at, and you might find yourself gauging the atmosphere rather than fighting enemies for a while.

Overall, this is a definite must-play if only to experience the graphics and next-gen potential. Is it a must-buy? I would say no. But, it is a definite must-rent and must-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ryse Son of Rome

posted by Metallica0 (BEAVERTON, OR) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First things first I would like to say what a gorgeous looking game this is. I know there have been some mixed reviews on this game so I'll keep mine short and sweet. If you like bloody games, fun combat and bloody games this one is for you. The combat in the game does get a bit repetitive but in a good way I mean cutting off an arm or a head maybe legs was cool. Controls I feel worked well, enemies unfortunately where recycled through the game so you beat the he!! outta the same characters. Games very short only 8 episodes. I recommend the game give it a try, short bloody fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RYSE

posted by pauly37 (SULPHUR, OK) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Game looks great.
Its just another hack n slash, its the graphics that keep you playing.
QTE elements get old, to execute somebody you have to press RT when a skull appears above their head, their body then shines blue for you to press X or yellow to press Y. get the combo right, which is not hard at all , you'll execute them.
But you'll overlook it because it looks so good.

1.1GB update to play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repetitive. Medicore.

posted by Blazer (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Nov 2003

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game looks pretty, but has some of the of the most boring gameplay I've experienced in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice graphics. Controls were rather frustrating.

posted by ADowske (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game looks awesome. But the controls were very poor, often no responding the way you intended. Very short title. They intend for you to play through more than once, but what's the point? Definitely a game worth renting, but I don't recommend a $60 purchase for 5 hours of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

family of gamers

posted by tjsgamers (LAKE WALES, FL) Mar 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is great rent why?
grades 0-10

Story: 6.5 overall well done but didn't get much of an emotional feeling. could have given a lot more historical facts.

Gameplay: 7.5 combat n environment interactions way mostly smooth but after a while of progressing throught the game turns into quicktime button mashing.

Looks: 8 it looks sweet but views are blocked by character placement at times. looping bodyparts was interesting.

Overall: 8 decent game but was completed in few days .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun slasher type game.

posted by MrBearhug (ESSEX, MD) Mar 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had completely forgot about this game when I finally got my xbox one. I rented it, and after an hour of play went out and bought it. WIth all games, things will get repetitive. If that bothers you, then you might not like the content as much as I do. I won't touch details of the story since you can read all about it, but I enjoyed it. I think the game mechanics are amazing. Reminds me of the fighting in Sleeping dogs. With good timing, you're a monster, and one bad misstep and you can be done.

Online play is much like the regular game, so if you enjoyed the story you'll enjoy the arena and such. Shelf life is about 6 months depending on how fast they bring out new content hence the 9 rating. They would need to add a lot of content relatively cheap ( season pass may be worth it), but I can't judge the future. Please Rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Deeper than reviews let on

posted by M204 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Some of the reviews I have read lead me to belive that Ryse was just a hack and slash game. After putting some time in the game I found that you can absolutely button mash if you just want to get through the combat. That's not too sophisticated. HOWEVER, if you take the time to learn the combat mechanics, it has depth to it. And the reward system alows you to choose how your character will look, level up and carry out attacks. Not to mention this game is very stylistic and beautifully rendered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG WOW!!

posted by silverpanda (MANTECA, CA) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This games graphics are really good, I say dice better step it up because crytek got them beat this time maybe. Its not that repeatitive, only the people who analyze games too much would say it is its a sword combat game what to you expect, people didn't complain over injustice, or mortal combat and you do the same thing over and over. best exclusive for xbox one so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

next gen is here

posted by SPOOCH (SOLEDAD, CA) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this game is so freaking awesome and I cant believe how beautiful it looks wow!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ryse: Son of Roam

posted by Travis_HSW (BIG RIVER, CA) Dec 15, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Ryse: SOR is a beautiful third person action game that allows you to fight hundreds of Barbarians to get the man who had your family killed. A Generic story that has been done many times. Only thing that makes it not completly dull is the little twist at the end. "No worries not giving it away." The voice acting is Serpurb in this game as well as the animation. Very good stuff. The combat is a bit repeditive with simple color coated push button game for combat finishers. Only thing that dosen't make combat a complete bore is the Burtality of the finishers. there so Satifing that you don't mind seeing the same ones over and over. There is a nice verity of levels to but near the end there is a arena level it it just felt forced in the game to me. Even tho is was enjoyable it threw off the pacing of the game. The detail in the levels are inpressive along with the charaters. Years down the road this game will still impress to new comers. You can upgrade you health and force meter. On easy tho I never used the force, which slows time down and make you swing like a mad man. The game was easy enough I never needed it. I didn't play the multiplayer for I wanted to get this out for another game before Christmas hit. I heard from friend it is fun with friends to play it. You unlock new armer and weapons as you level up in it. Ryse Son of Roam is made for people who like Roam and there type of belife. Something keep it from being great but it is worth renting or even buying at I think 25$. There be times it is so real your get pumpted up yourself, and the voice Kenict works well on it. The Brutality of the combat is so satisfying. I give Ryse a 7.5 out of 1O, Since I can't do 7.5 i'll round it off to an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty game boring story

posted by MoneyMatt95 (BRONX, NY) Dec 13, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

The only good thing about this game are the visuals. The combat gets extremely repetitive and the story is very lackluster. Good rent. Got bored very fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome

posted by Lubensg (DAVENPORT, FL) Dec 12, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

This game is awesome but,it is just too short the fighting skills is unbelievable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by mykeyB (ROYERSFORD, PA) Dec 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

So, after the LONG install process I was able to finally play RYSE, and this game has KILLER graphics. One of the best looking games ive seen on the xbox one so far and ps4!

The controls are a little clunky, and same with the camera work at times, but all in all the combat is simple, repetitive and fun! Nothing like slicing a guys arm off!!

I will most likely run through this game just to see all the gore. Basically a poor mans God of WAR :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth renting

posted by Gamerson (BEAVER FALLS, PA) Dec 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

Fairly solid story line. Good combat system(resembles Assassin's Creed). Good graphics. Pathway is 100% laid out ...so if you like sandbox this will be annoying Fun multi-player but gets old after a while. Not much customization. Very little replay. Once you beat it, that's probably it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Piece of Crap

posted by charlesp24 (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Nov 29, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

The game looks amazing but the story is very vague, and the combat very one dimensional not to mention frustrating as taking on more than three guys with such simple combat becomes brutal. Sent back before I finished the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RYSE SON OF ROME

posted by charlesO (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 29, 2014

Member since Aug 2006

RYSE OF ROME is one of the best games I have played in all my 35 years of gaming, its not the most complex game and it moves along pretty quick its only about 5 hours long without playing any multiplayer. But I enjoyed every hour it gave me. looks amazing, plays great, most brutal game when it comes to sword play I have ever seen. Cant wait for RYSE 2. Come on guys work your deal out so you can get started making another awsome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse