Rent Rygar: The Battle of Argus for Wii
view large frontback

Rygar: The Battle of Argus

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.2

512 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Rygar smash... constantly

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Feb 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Rygar: The Battle of Argus takes a good idea and drives it into the ground. Some things go well, but it essentially falls apart in the end.
First, the good news. Rygar's trademark shield of death on a chain works very well here and being able to smash most of the environment is a nice (if repetitive) touch. You get three shields throughout the game and can upgrade each to level three. You'll also collect mystic stones by exploring the landscape which upgrade your weapons' abilities.
Now for the bad news. Rygar is plagued with technical issues. The camera hates you. Fixed camera angles will remind you of the original Resident Evil. The game doesn't know what viewpoint it wants to represent. And sometimes, the view you really need is off the screen completely.
Contact sensitive latching targets, sketchy movement controls and bad jumping sink a game that had promise.
The game has a story and cut scenes which don't help the experience. Boss battles range from "just keep on pressing A" to "how the #$&% do I hurt this guy!?" And all the slashing and smashing gets repetitive quick.
If you do like the game, you can unlock Hard and Legendary difficulty settings, which you'll need to extend gameplay. Once through on Normal takes about five hours.
The game offers you a gladiator mode as well, which is basically an arena battle system. Utilizing the Wiimote motion controls, this is functional and almost easier than conquest mode. It's very short and simple, but adds to gameplay.
The Wii could really use a good action game. That's one of the reasons Rygar is so disappointing: it could have filled a much-needed niche in the Wii library, but doesn't. You can skip this one and wait for something better to come along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good looking only last so long!

posted by purelg98 (MORRIS, IL) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Being a big fan of the original, I couldn't wait for the release of this one. Unfortunately, the wait was way too long and the playing way to short. Although the graphics were beautiful and the gameplay ok, the 4 hours it took to complete the game left me wanting more. Sure you can play gladiator mode or one world mode to beat your times, but still a maximum of ten hours or so and that's all you can squeeze out of this diskarmor. If they make a sequel, hopefully they do, I hope they make it at least twice as long, three times would be ideal. If you need something fun to keep you busy on a Saturday afternoon get this one, but wouldn't buy it just rent, beat, and return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The "Battle of Argus" that should be avoided

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

The titans in this game are ones to forget; they're out to take over the world from humans and gods alike.
In Rygar: the Battle of Argus, you play the title character. He's armed with a Discarmor, a massive Yo-Yo that kills many enemies, sometimes with ease.
During your journey, you can pick up two more Discarmors, and each one can be made more powerful by trading in points. These points are orbs found by defeating enemies or by destroying some structures.
But let's face it, all I did here was beat up bad guys while wandering about the game board.
There's nothing wrong with a good beat them up game, but Rygar isn't a good beat them up game.
The fixed camera is the first problem; going from one area to the next can be very jarring as the camera switches from ground level to an overhead shot and back.
The camera can also hide possible exits because you can't move it at all.
Another problem is the mapping system is not very well done. In the second level known as the Fields, the on screen map vanishes and I'm left wandering about, looking for possible exits. Getting lost is very easy to do here.
Besides, every level plays out the same; look for key to open door, then open door, then go through open door, then repeat again - and again - and again. The key hunt gets really boring really fast.
Later in the game, the makers make me wander through the earlier levels to search for some power so I can open a door, and that's when the game stops being boring and starts getting on my nerves.
It's a good thing there's the Gladiator Mode where I can take my frustration out on the bad guys. But even that got boring after five levels.
Rygar: The Battle of Argus needs a better mapping system, better level designs and a mobile camera. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worthy of Rygar title

posted by Rippdogg (FERNLEY, NV) May 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible. I had high expectations because the original for nintendo was pretty cool. This game is so boring that I would rank it as the most boring game ever! Dialogue sucks and dispite the lame control scheme you can easily just cruise through the game. The sad thing is Nintendo keeps putting out poor executions of games and its going to cost them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Maybe I should have tried it more.

posted by Cellian80 (TAMPA, FL) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't get past the first boss....Not because I couldn't beat it...but because I couldn't handle the horribly awkward camera angeling....The whole thing was a rip off of God of War... I didn't like it..maybe I should give it another shot..I might make another review if I play it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ehhh.

posted by BkGamer (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly the game in my opinion is a mix betwn Prince of persia(4 ps) and God of War. Liked and beat both those games but i still think this game is weak and needs more improvement. Sorry but i expected better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

my kind of game

posted by tjs381 (ATCHISON, KS) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I really liked this game, the only down fall is that I beat it 6 hrs. This is what I would get for my young son of 12.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rygar: The Battle Of Underwhelming

posted by flipvega (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I was very dissapointed in this game. I got all the way to the end and never beat it. Everything was wrong from the get go. Glitchy camera angles, bad voice acting, bad dialog and there is no real explanation of the controls or speacial abilities. I ran around for like half the game trying to figure out what those colored dots floating in the sky were. A rental for kids but not for hardcore gamers. What a way to destroy a classic NES game. My rating is 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rygar

posted by yahsta101 (AUSTIN, TX) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

it was ok. kind of reminded me of the first nes Ver. maybe might add to the collection for only 9.49

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gladiator Mode

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

The main game isn't bad, but I rented this for the gladiator mode. In gladiator mode you can move around, jump, and block, you have only 3 one-shot attacks which are executed by moving the Wiimote in a corresponding fashion. All you do in this mode is fight wave after wave of enemies while restricted to a square arena. Just a good, simple game of arcade survival.

I was pleased with this mode. For one thing you do progress through different backdrops, so that at least adds some audiovisual variety. Second, you do sometimes take a break from the square arena to fight bosses from the main game, which was a real treat, I was not expecting that. Third, the motion controls work well and are fun, though of course it would have been better if there were combos as there are in the main game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Graphics.

posted by Nellaf (BROOMFIELD, CO) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Great graphics. Decent game play. But thats it. Lame monsters. Semi scripted boss fights. I will admit I only played 1/3 of the way through maybe its better as you go along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste your time

posted by bez111184 (READING, PA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I got this game in the mail today, played it for about half an hour and immediately sent it back. I had gotten to the first boss battle, and was already bored. If you do choose to rent this game, just mash the "A" button and occasionally block. It gets really old, really fast. The graphics are very good for a Wii game, but the voice acting and story are just incredibly simplistic AND poorly executed. Rygar smashes over and over again, but this is a one-trick pony that needs to be sent to the glue factory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

rygar :the battle of argus for the Wii

posted by userfriend (CEDAR HILL, MO) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

the game overall is horribly bad it's out dated for a newer game it is the exact same as the one for playstation2 game play has limited movement minimal attacks just very repetitively boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad Camera angles

posted by hillbilly2 (RED OAK, TX) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

Well first off the games is really boring then the camera angles, are terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a good Wii starter game

posted by DarkLadyPh (MONTCLAIR, NJ) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

After quickly hitting the mute button as soon as the cut scene played, I could effectively ignore the horrible voice acting and maybe get into the game that has a horrible storyline so far. I mean, everyone is an awesome fighter gettin' in good with a princess, right?

Took me a few tries to beat the first boss
1. because I couldn't figure out where to stand, 2. because Rygar wants to face in every direction except but the direction of the enemy. This seems to be universal with the Wii's controls as I had the same issue with regular enemies.

So, onto the game. Hopefully.

I then tried a number of times to get onto a ledge (a half hour's worth in fact) only to find out I'm not supposed to get there until later in the game.

Well that was fun... Get into the second "dungeon" area and I get to an area that consists of "hop", "knock down a column", "walk across column";"hop", "knock down a column", "walk across column".

Except after 20 minutes of falling down and having to walk back up, I just put the sleeve back in the game.

Bad camera angles that change constantly even during jumps that make what was once forwards now backwards is insanely frustrating. I cannot battle the controls and the camera angle at the same time. Perhaps the PS2 version is less clunky, but I couldn't stick with it long enough to get the second weapon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

First Time Playing this Series..

posted by castarr24 (SEMINOLE, FL) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I noticed that this series has a few games out but this was my first time playing one. I gave it a 6 out of 10 because of its storyline and character strength.

However, I'm a true Zelda fan and I know I can't compare it to the Zelda series but I don't feel this game was a great RPG game. You're limited to what you can do in the game and your weapon is an armored frisbee... Ok? Again, I don't know much about the series but I would be willing to try out the previous games if I can find them. I would start with those first. If you start with this game you'll probably feel disappointed like me. I'm willing to give the series another try. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Thumbs down for this GOW knockoff!

posted by TheCoyote7 (Santa Fe, NM) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I played Rygar for a total of two hours, hoping the whole time something different would happen. But it didn't. Every minute was more of the same...and it was...awful.

The first few minutes of the game involve a cinematic that's supposed to explain the plot. Well, it doesn't really. What plot it does have is befuddling and disjointed...not to mention having terrible dialogue compounded by terrible translation (this is something to be tolerated throughout the game itself as well). Once the game starts, the first thing one notices is the way the camera operation occurs. The game rapidly switches from angle to angle as you traverse the levels, and while this can be adjusted to, at some points it gets frustrating (after switching screens at some points, the control you're holding down now reverses your direction, so now you're headed the way you came!).

The second thing you notice will probably be....I've played this game before! More accurately, you've played something incredibly simliar...namely, God of War. The weapons and fighting style is indistinguishable from the incredible game it's attempting to emulate (swinging out with a chain? Not very subtle). The similiarities end there, unfortunately.

Lastly, the puzzles were rather drab, and in some cases just dumb- one such was a small tunnel, and you had to travel across the dungeon to find a statue (?) that gives you the 'skill' to slide, which you can then use to get through the tunnel.

All and all, the game gives you the feeling of having been designed by a 12 year old with an over-active imagination, but a total lack of originality or creativity. Definitely one to avoid!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Deja Vu from the PS2

posted by Vidiot (KIRBYVILLE, MO) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2004

BEWARE PS2 OWNERS: If you have ever played Rygar on the Playstation 2, this is the same game on the Wii. Don't waste your time on this unless you have never played the PS2 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste Your Time!!!

posted by FireStang (HOUMA, LA) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

First off, this game is on the Wii for crying out loud. You would think a game revolving around throwing a giant disk around would be a little more interactive. It's not. There is no movement of the controllers involved, just typical button mashing. If I wanted to mash buttons, I'd be playing PS3 or 360. I actually feel dumber after having played this game. Please think of your brain cells and just let this one fall by the wayside. I played this game for about 20 minutes on the day it came in and had it back in the mail less than an hour later. Don't waste your life, time, or money on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best game out there but i give it a 5

posted by emachines (WATERTOWN, NY) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

Its ok game not the best the Bosses are the best part of the game. Play the game if your bored

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by ck0007 (PINSON, AL) Feb 7, 2009

Member since May 2007

This game is pretty fun. The only downside is the story is short(took me around 3 1/2 hours). But the bosses are equally balanced not to hard or to easy till you face Cronus. I had the game on easy and this boss is unbelievably hard unless you have alot of health restores and resurrections. Also the story line isn't all that great but i just ignored it and enjoyed the game its self.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Long "Development" for an Old Port; AVOID It!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Feb 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

I was waiting since launch for this game. I saw the review on Xplay and said it cant be that bad and I waited so long I will take a chance; Yes it is! It had potential; but the story is basic, the camera is mind numbing bad, the textures are average, the enemies are to easy, the map is useless and the all levels are the same. Even the "Gladiator" mode was silly and suffered the same issues. For $18/month and only about 4 games this was a waste of a slot. Get Eternal Darkness for the Gamecube (I still have it since launch); that game is worth so much more today then this garbage will every be. Tecmo; you were good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »