Rent Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny for Wii
view large frontback

Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.5

294 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

To "sprout or not to sprout".

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

There is a drastic change to the "farming" in this runefactory compared to the rest of the series. You don't hoe, plant, or even water your crops. Once you find and revive a petrified island you place the monsters(up to 5) that cultivate certain crops onto the island. Then your character uses a wand on the planting points to produce sprouts(the resident monsters determine which plants sprout). I have tomatoes(summer), potatoes, strawberries(spring), and toyherb flowers all growing on the same island even though every other Harvest moon game I've ever played seperated the crops by season. Otherwise, the actual gameplay is similar to other games in the series(except even fishing is a crafting mini game like the cooking, forging etc. in the frontier game). There is a bulletin board in the inn where you can accept quests(only one at a time but they can be canceled and there is no limit but time as far as how many you take on in a day). The board also tells you the weather for the next day, rumors to look into, and what items are selling well(most profitable) that day. Unless you need money for something, you should save anything you grow, find, or make until the board tells you to sell it. Supposedly you can get better deals or more money, the higher your friendship is with someone. There are also several sales during a month(even on the price to upgrade your house) that you should wait for before making any major unnecessary purchases. You do have to keep monster cookies on hand if you have tamed monsters, though. Despite the map, you might get a little lost at first(even around town) but unless you're even more directionally challenged than I am, you'll get a feel for it fairly quick. Over all, I think this is a great game, even though stick in the muds(me included) will still miss the traditional farming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pedophile Priest Grossed Me/Kids Out

posted by WoMensan (MIDLAND, TX) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

The game started off halfway fun, but one of the first characters you meet is a priest who goes gaga (complete with hearts and smitten look) over your young teen boy character. Me and the kids looked at each other grossed out. I thought that would possibly be it, sort of game start up "joke", but each time you have to deal with the character its the same. The rest of the game might be awesome, but after a time or two of that we quit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it!

posted by temarifangirl12 (SUMNER, WA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Instructions Unclear, but Immersive

posted by fenicks100 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I played this game for about 35 'game days', which was playing pretty regularly for a couple weeks. There's a lot to do on any given day. Between maintaining your relationships with townies, building your skills, and keeping your monsters & crops, it often feels like there's not enough time in a game day to take adequate care of all those elements.

I hadn't played any Rune Factory games before this one, but I had played a few versions of Harvest Moon, which is really similar. If you've played Harvest Moon, you'll recognize a lot of elements: adding to your house, crafting/cooking, building relationships with people in town, fishing, festivals, etc. This game does add a battle element that I'm not entirely sure works. The monster system seems like an incomplete concept that just got thrown in.

In terms of actual gameplay: the graphics are beautifully rendered, and the controls are pretty straightforward, although navigating the items and equipment gets pretty annoying at times. The icons are tiny and the joystick is really touchy when you're in your rucksack. I started getting pretty frustrated when my rucksack was full, and I had to do a lot of back-and-forth from rucksack to storage.

I do like that you build friendships with everyone on the island, regardless if they're a romantic target or not, and also that there is a menu that shows your level of friendship with each person. It makes that element of the game less opaque than it usually is in Harvest Moon.

Bottom Line: If you like Harvest Moon, try this one and see if you like it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tantilizing Time Killer

posted by Auralee (GREENSBURG, KY) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game is a good time killer. While the diss-proportionate RP to time available in a day (or even a period of time passing in which it restores automatically) is missing... and it's cut scenes can not be skipped making restart a pain in the... the game play itself and the concept of character relationships, economy, story and environmental management interwoven with the whole RPG style battle play makes this game highly enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for those who like harvest moon

posted by JessicaPerez (HIALEAH, FL) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Not the most fun of games to look at so anyone watching it will be bored to tears. However, the story line is interesting and I loved playing this game. Love the farming system and weapons!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I really like it!

posted by Arielle08 (VALLEY SPRINGS, CA) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I have this game and this is the first Rune Factory that I have played. My sister told me about the games because she has played them before and I only owned Harvest Moon games.

Well, when I played it, I totally fell in love with it! Its cool that you get to take care of monsters and have them do your farming, but sometimes its hard to get them tame. Plus, I wished that some of the temples would be easy. Other than that, its a great game so far!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »