Rent Rune Factory: Frontier for Wii
view large frontback

Rune Factory: Frontier

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

1243 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A+

posted by integrity1 (ANGOLA, IN) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

49 out of 49 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of the harvest moon series. I got the game because what the description told me was that it was kind of like Harvest Moon plus a mix of fighting. I wasn't too into it during the first 10 minutes but now I can't put the controller down. the one thing i don't like about it is that for the first few game months, it's impossible to clear your land of the tree stumps and giant boulders. you must first raise enough money to buy a forge area and a level 2 forge, then find some silver, so you can upgrade your ax and hammer. but after you play for a while and you have time to sample all the different ways of making money (fishing, cooking, forging, farming, fighting, etc.) you can go full fledged into one or more of these. Then after upgrading your house to include a second floor with room for a double bed you can settle in, by taking a wife out of the twelve girls that reside about the village, each with there own personality, looks, and origins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rent It Soon Factory Frontier

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

29 out of 30 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

I've been waiting for a good, unique RPG to come to Wii, and Frontier definitely fits the bill. Although progression through the story is slow, it has a good combination of fighting and farming. There is no end to the things you can do in the game, so do what you like. Search for a bride, make a lot of money, cook, make weapons, make potions, fight and tame monsters. All of these things are possiblities. This is a good game for garden-lovers, animal-lovers, cooks, blacksmithes,etc....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rune Frontier

posted by Cowguy (WENATCHEE, WA) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

27 out of 29 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

A little slow at first, but it got good fast. It might take a little while to get used to the Wii format, but make as much as possible use of the minus menu. The crops are easy to grow, water , sow ,and harvest. The dungeons and Whale Island are not very hard, but getting monsters to come to your farm is. Runeys put an unusual twist on things, but they are useful all in all. Stumps and rocks fill your farming land fast, so tilling every square of land may be a good idea. Forging and chemistry are fun,[ but only when you have all the necessary ingredients]. I enjoy this game A LOT and I believe it will just get better as it progresses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another day in paradise

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Oct 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rune Factory is a series that gets compared to Harvest Moon quite often. That's unfair because I don't like Harvest Moon and Rune Factory: Frontier is very good.
True, these have some similarities. Both are RPGs centered around farming. However, Rune Factory takes things a step beyond by adding combat and dungeon-crawling. Better yet, your farming aids you in dungeons and vice versa.
It adds some unique twists on the Harvest Moon model as well. Instead of buying farm animals, you tame monsters in the dungeons who give you milk, wool and eggs. Some animals can be used as mounts and others can be trained to perform tasks like watering your garden and harvesting crops. That's right: Rune Factory found a way to take the tedium out of Harvest Moon.
And there's so much to do. You have a bunch of skills to improve. Farming, lumber, fishing, hammer are joined by weapons, magic, crafting, forging, etc. The war trophies and treasures you find in dungeons allow you to improve both farm tools and weapons as well as equipment.
Overall, the combat is simple, but effective. And by continually unlocking dungeons, expanding the story and moving through seasons with the other residents of the town, the game stays fresh.
Now, there are still some flaws. There are way too many load screens. Since your A button controls your tools and interaction, you'll often end up in a dialog box with a monster ally while trying to smack your enemy. There are still tedious activities to perform. Also, if you want to cook 25 pickled turnips, I don't know why I have to select it from a menu 25 times (there should be automation for these things).
I hope Xseed makes another Rune Factory for the Wii. With less load screens, deeper combat, better presentation and automation to streamline tedious activities it could be truly remarkable. Then again, you might still be playing Frontier when that title comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Harvest Moon without the Repetitiveness

posted by Tobikun (PITTSBURG, CA) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a major fan of the Harvesy Moon series and RPGs I decided to add RF:F to my Q and I must say I love it. RF:F remains true to its roots as a farming game but the dungeons and monster bashing keeps the game from being way too repetitive as was a problem with most harvest moon games. Yes it is slow in the beggining but it gradually gets better once you get the hang of things. Now onto the true reviewing style.

Graphics: 8/10 The graphics on this game are pretty flawless. the vibrant colors really add to the gameplay experience. Not to mention most of the adult characters don't look like children as they usually di in HM.

Sound: 9/10 the music for this game is solid. Also the addition of voice over work is done quite well.

Overall Gameplay: 8/10 the gameplay was fun and enjoyable as well as smooth. Although it doesn't make full use of the motion sensor tech in the Wii the controls themself are really easy to figure out.

All in all I loved this game and will definitely purchase it when I save up the money to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive, yet engaging

posted by tip2k1 (COCOA, FL) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was my first rental from GameFly, and also the first "game" game on my new Wii. I generally like rpg games, but I find this game repetitive, which is something that I do not like. The storyline was uninspired.

Yet, for some reason the game was engaging. I spent the better part of a straight 24 hours playing this game, and yet feeling like I got nowhere in it. The flow of the game was not intuitive, nor did I find any in game help from the characters. I had to turn to the GameFly help/FAQ section to figure out what I was missing, but that did not even help my enjoyment of the game.

At the end of my many hours, I was not left wanting more, I just wondered where my day had gone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best Harvest Moon title in years

posted by Alanias101 (ALBANY, NY) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a huge fan of the harvest moon series since the beginning, and while I love the series I have to admit it had gotten a bit stale in recent years. I had heard about the Rune Factory games, but had not played one until this release for Wii. Needless to say, I was blown away!

Presentation: Top notch. This is the best translation and voice acting of any Harvest Moon/Rune Factory game and it shows. No more bugs or goofy translations here.

Graphics: Magnificent! It has a nice muted color palette, and has a consistent graphical style. The anime portraits do a lot to endear you to the characters and everything looks very polished.

Music: Very good. Different parts of town have different music and all of it fits great. Everything matches the low key style of the game.

Gameplay: Variety is the spice of life! Focus on farming, or dungeon crawling. Whatever is your favorite aspect of the game. Unlike normal harvest moon where the grind might get tedious RFF gives you plenty to do so no one thing gets very old.

Replayability: Finding everything in this game will take you a long long time so there's plenty of value here, especially for a rental.

If you like Harvest Moon but have been bored with the series in recent years definitely give this one a shot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Game if You Know What to Expect

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of the Harvest Moon series (which I am), this is an excellent game. The game is primarily a Harvest Moon style game with farming, pursuing love, farming and fishing with light dungeon crawling thrown in.

Emphasis on LIGHT dungeon crawling. The RPG aspect is not the main focus of the game so if you're looking for an action packed RPG, then you will be severely disappointed.

I thought the Rune Factorys for DS were lacking and I didn't get into them that much, but I really enjoyed the Wii version. Very enjoyable game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A must play for fans

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I personally only liked one harvest moon game and that was the GC one a Wonderful Life. I saw this and thought oh my god a spinoff.......but i rented it and i was amazed at how fun and new it was i mean fighting and farming what could be better right.....maybe farming and a gatling gun. Anyway this game built upon harvest moon and i can say its worth a try, i loved it but it made me want to go back and play the GC harvest moon, this wasnt a game for me but like i said you can go into dungeons and fight and even make the monsters your pet, the only thing i disliked is your RP bar which will evntually take all your helth out for every swing you make. But if you you liked harvest moon adn you like fighting try this game i recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Time Consuming

posted by LuckyBuck (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the only reason should get this game is if you are a fan of the game and series. And if you are, then just go out and buy the game. it is very time consuming, the days are long and there is a lot to do.

The game has a lot of replay value, so just buy it. Do not rent this game unless for some reason you want to try this game out because you have no idea what Harvest Moon or Rune Factory is.

I enjoyed the game but realized soon into it that there was too much to do and not enough time. This game may take you 100 hours, so just go and buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by sithbush (Creston, OH) May 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Frist it was ok then after 10 min i wouldn't get off of it. the thing is i cant get to the bosses, the fighting is good, getting monsters is hard, like the wolf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad.

posted by LuigiLove (CLEARFIELD, UT) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game... At first. On my first file of it, I didn't know anything about the Runeys, and completely ruined everything. I started over, and got much farther, paying attention to the Runeys all the time. But soon, the Runeys just got too tedious to bother with. Eventually, the mere thought of having to get on and fix the Runey Distribution filled me with dread. It completely ruined the game for me. I would have loved it, and probably finished it, if not for Runey Distribution. Hopefully they make a second Rune Factory: Frontier, but without Runeys, and with some other improvements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rune Factory Frontier (Wii) (USA)

posted by lucindaosb (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Mar 30, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game held a lot of potential, it had many aspects that brought it into more harvest moon style of game play. However the Runey system totaly ruined the game. You have to waste most of your time everyday on moving Runeys around to make them balanced in every sector. If you let the runies go out of control nothing will grow. Take away the Runey system this game would be better then any of the past Rune Factory's. However with the system in play it is by far the worse game released as of date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

to slow

posted by underwoods (ENID, OK) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

this game is a very slow based rpg not that great in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

a game that made an effort, but not for everyone..

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Aug 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

This game is sloooow unless you find yourself truly intrigued with the game's layout and unlimited secrets hidden in order to get ahead in the game. It's not a straightforward game, that's for sure.

If there's anything good about this game that taught me, it's that it is more or less meaningful getting up at 6am every day, and that the saying "the early bird gets the worm" is fairly true.

But you can't go on through this game without referring to the Wiki, and that to me is a big strike in the game. Another thing that was a big strike was the fact that the synthesis and forging menu for anything you tried creating was definitely not easy to understand, nor was it well made.

There are endless small flaws that you will easily find in the gaming experience. The AI, the level design, the combat system, the overall flow of the game...they all just fell flat for me.

The game could be pursued in a huge depth for those hardcore gamers who like games such as this one, but like I said, you won't get too far without the Wiki, and who wants to refer to a Wiki to figure out where the jigsaws go to the puzzle?

It was a nice approach by the developers, and the first glance of the game was nice, but I will say it's Definitely not for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Farming + Dungeons = Awesome

posted by MicNinja (BALDWINSVILLE, NY) Feb 6, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Rune Factory: Frontier is a very addicting game! Without realizing it, I would spend hours just planting turnips and crawling through dungeons.

In the beginning you start to collect tools that are needed to grow your crops. It takes a while to clear your land and you will be growing a lot of turnips but once you start to collect and save money, the games storyline really starts to open up and develop.

I will most likely buy this game but as a rental, it takes too much time to develop a feel for the game.

PROS:
-- Great graphics
-- Very Open Based
-- Beautiful Cut scenes
-- Hours and hours of game play
-- Choose to follow the story or to be an excellent farmer

CONS:
-- A lot of loading screens
-- Cut Scenes are too short
-- Unnecessary Wii Remote movements
-- Maybe a little TOO open-based, no real guidance on how to move the storyline along

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

confused

posted by JellyBean30 (SHELBY, MI) May 18, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game Confused Me quite a Bit... I couldn’t figure out how to get a hammer or an ax and I kept getting lost in the village... thank god for the return home option. Also I don’t like how you have to fight the monsters it would be better if they didn’t run all over so you could actually hit them... also there a lot of loading screens witch drives me crazy, they don’t last long but there’s ALOT of them ... All in all this is an ok game but it feels like you don’t really get no were.. It did not hold my attention... It’s supposed to be like harvest moon but harvest moon is way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

slow slow slow

posted by loto128 (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) May 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

I'll be honest, I didn't play very long. I was a huge Harvest Moon fan, so I thought I'd give it a shot, but after just over an hour of having practically no direction, beginnings to a storyline, or really anything to grab my attention, I decided to send it back.

I tried a couple of fights too, which involved clumsily swinging a garden hoe at some generic goblins, hoping they stand still long enough while you swing, anchored in one spot for a few seconds, and was completely underwhelmed.

The only thing that kept me mildly interested was the rate at which your tools seemed to level up. Not much reason to keep playing, though.

Overall, don't recommend, unless you've got a considerable degree of patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i hated it

posted by lilly2399_2_5_9 (TYLERTOWN, MS) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

First of all it has a terrible beginning, also it doesnt tell u what to do, there are to many things u have to do before u can marry a girl, and u dont get to raise animal no all u do is befriend ugly little monsters and that takes forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best rune factory!!!

posted by haos8897 (NEWBURGH, NY) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This is the best rune factory that I have ever played the game is a little hard to follow but its still the best.

I recommend this for: casual and hardcore gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty good just not that good

posted by gamey1 (REXBURG, ID) Oct 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

the game is stunning I couldnt beleive how much it was like Harvest Moon but it had a little clunkers like that the soil will lose fertillity when you dont plant in it and that it was very confusing it was just not that great I guess

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Beautiful, but Frustrating

posted by Nicekitty (NEWARK, DE) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The game is beautiful, expansive, with moments of extreme fun mixed with frustration. There was so much to do. I loved the combat in the ruins. I loved taming monsters. I loved all the things I could gather, even if I didn't quite know what to do with them yet.

I was frustrated with how short the day seemed. If I couldn't find who I was looking for, I felt like I was wasting time like crazy. When I got to the Runey system, I lost patience. I read guides about it on the Internet, and it seems like a game of numbers. You can't skip it, because the prosperity of everything depends on them. I didn't want to be bothered.

If the game was affordable, I would buy it and try to work through the frustrations. I think there is lots of fun to be had and so much content to do that I could see spending months trying to win. For now, I'll pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What is up with Xseed?

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Sep 20, 2011

Member since May 2010

This game would have ranked higher if the price wasn't so much.. Don't get me wrong this is a good game, but I docked the one point off due to the price. $60 for a USED game is a bit steep! So the question of the century is now, "How do you move most of the population of an entire town?!" To which the awnser is " Have the crazy-lady move without saying a word, to her boyfriend(who also is the only farmer in town!) that would make him follow after her.. This is what happens when Mist leaves on a trip suddenly, and does not even give a "by your leave" to Raguna... What happens you ask? Well, most of the cast and crew of Kardia moves in soon after, but it is the women that move... You can see where this is headed can't you? Raguna isn't just a farmer, but apparently he was also Kardia's most qualified bachelor!! No, the men and married women stayed home in Kardia, but man... Bianca, Tabatha, Rosetta, Mary, and even Melody all have moved(or eventually will move) to the land of Trampoli and are apparently determined not to let Raguna get a away... What can I say? He is apparently popular.. (ya think?)
Rune Factory has move to your Wii, and yes, the Wii Classic controller is compatible! It is not without its problems, though...
For starters, There are a few translation issues.. like Rosetta says, " I came from the town you stayed at last.." When she could have said, " Hi, its me! Rosetta from Kardia!"... other problems like how you apparently have to deal with the Runeys(not explained in the manual, or how some of the humor, and jests are not exactly kid friendly even though the game is suposed to be for everyone.. The price was a little too high, but that was because the game was discontinued.. I think Natsume could have done a better job than Xseed when it comes to this game.. Not a Bad game, actually it is quite good in fact.. Try Before You Buy!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

sorry

posted by gamereaper1 (JENNINGS, FL) May 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

im sorry but i must say that this game isnt at all fun. you walk around and do nothing time passes and new people come around wow. so exciting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rune Factory Frontier!

posted by mysticxradiance (LAKE FOREST, CA) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I really really love Rune Factory <3 . In general this game is under appreciated. Which is sad, because it combines all of my favorite video game elements into one game. It’s an RPG which features: farming, fighting, forging weapons, crafting armor, taming monsters, fishing, marriage, quests, etc. This is a game which also has high replay value!

Rune Factory Frontier is not only extremly entertaining, but it is challenging when you want it to be and relaxing if you choose it to be. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse