Rent Rune Factory 4 for 3DS
view large frontback

Rune Factory 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

128 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

More good changes than bad

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Oct 10, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm only in the 1rst season but there is very little farmland to start with and what there is, is grouped by four instead of nine plots. As in the 3rd version, there is soil quality but there is also an easy solution(a compost bin where you place various grasses). I've defeated 3 dungeon bosses so far, yet still only have access to one little 4X4 dungeon field. Thankfully there are plenty of wood, grass, and stones laying on the ground everywhere else. One of the nice things about this game is the ablity to plant several seasons worth of crops at the same time. Rather than multiple harvests, there is the ablity to pick a certain number of crops from the same plot at once. How many depends on the crop and the harvest report(favorablity of crops during a given week). Another nice aspect is the ablity to stack different levels of items together(except for cooked items and fish which don't stack at all). There is the option of using your "princess points" to increase your backpack size or even build various storage such as refrigerators. I can be very forgetful about whether I have bought something such as furniture so I don't like the ablity to buy multiples of things like stoves and forges, though. I LOVE the seperate backpack storage for magic and rune ablities. I hardly ever use them and they would just clog up my storage. I think you can also sell them in this version. Another problem I had with the last game was the waste of recipe bread because I used it while my level was too low. This game doesn't allow you to eat it unless it's high enough. I love being able to do more quests per day as I successfully complete them. It's great that something accomplished before taking the quest(buying furnishings) counts toward completion. If you're like me you may forget what your last mission was but, if so, all you have to do is check your desk for a reminder. Over all there seem to be more pros than cons to this game and I've barely even scratched the surface.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fishing Horse Man Will Not Date Me

posted by Molechan (BOZEMAN, MT) Jun 13, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loooove me some Rune Factory. I regret to say I didn't have the patience for the main Harvest Moon series and it's simulation shenanigans. I like my escapism to remain pretty far removed from real life, so when I discovered the more actiony fantasy variant some years ago and got my sweet Casanova wooing on with the bath house lady while stopping global domination via Captain Planet powers, I left Kardia slightly frustrated with turnips but otherwise completely enthralled.
Three more games and a multitude of spinoffs later, not only do we have a bigger world to overload with turnip seeds, not only have your new neighbors reached a level of weirdness containable only by the benevolence of an equally bizarre dragon god, not ONLY can I finally play as a GIRL from the very start of the game, NOT ONLY-
There are simply too many improvements to count. Farming and crafting have been made far less complicated to figure out so as to allow more time spent questing and shmoozing and less time swearing at your crafting table. You can date multiple characters in the same save file and get to know them before pledging your life to one or the other, and marriage requirements seem a bit more obvious than past titles.
This ties in to one of my leading complaints, however. It's obvious the more attached the romantically available characters become to you that not much change in dialogue occurred between the boy and girl MC paths. EVERYONE wants a piece of your hot Earthmate body, doesn't matter who. There's blushing all over the place. Cherry blossoms. Bento lunches. All the girls wanna be my Prince. Not a terribly huge gripe, but a noticeable one.
On the other end, I felt like I zoomed through the world saving story sections pretty fast, compared to RF1 where it took me several seasons just to get through the first cave. Maybe the game mechanics have been simplified a wee too much. Maybe I just sucked more back then.
It is a mystery. Like Horse Man's heart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

That. Intro.

posted by CasterShells (WIGGINS, MS) Oct 14, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I felt like I was watching a movie, albeit a very bland and boring one. You get no control over your character and you constantly have exposition thrown at you over and over and over and over. Just when you think the game is about to start, you get more uncontrollable scenes where your character chit chats on while you watch. The sound it makes when someone talks is a slight annoying noise that got old very fast as well.

You get about 5 seconds of play time every now and again, be it a dialogue choice or a small bit where you can move around, not like it matters because it goes away far too quick.

When the game DOES finally start it is so long winded that even after hours and hours of playing you haven't DONE anything. For a game that is supposed to be about dungeon crawling and 'farming' it takes itself FAR too seriously and spouts endless exposition at you making you wonder why you are playing a book.

I like reading, I love story, I love story based games, but I do not think it should take over a half an hour to actually take control of my character, even in an RPG.

It had nice sprite art and the combat seemed like it would be nice. There was a also quite a bit you could do once the game did open up. But the incredibly long intro coupled with more long winded scenes made the game more or less unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

They went bankrupt?!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 11, 2014

Member since May 2010

I own this game and it is pretty good definantly worth a rent.. If you like harvest moon and you like Rune factory then you owe it to yourself to check this out.. The plot is the same that most rune factory games start out with.. Really, you have guess what amnesia, what is with their obsession with amnesia and the rune factory series really? Neverland programing went bankrput or so i hear which is sad.. i I guess if you repeat enough your game enough people get tired of it... If you like life simulation games and top down dungeon crawlers this will definantly would be worth the trouble.. One of the draw backs this game tend to share with harvest moon is doing fam work, which you would think would be boring but it really isn't since you can explore the dungeons or chat with you neighbors, but it does a heck of alot better than farm simulator... Well check it out and see if you like it.. TRY BEFORE YOU BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could Be Better

posted by WolfBain (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

The game series is good but how it is being playing is actually not that great, was thinking it would be more entertaining then it was when I got it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game :3

posted by KouOkami (TUCSON, AZ) Sep 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I want to see more like this, I love harvest moon type games and I really enjoyed the fact there were monsters and such in the rf series. This game was fun, challenging and well while I finally beat the end game there is still plenty to do for me after it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Buy, don't rent.

posted by spacepeguin87 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 10, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Let it be said, the name of my review does not reflect on the quality of the game. I got this game as my first foray into the Rune Factory franchise and I gotta say that I was very pleased with this game. The farming system was very reminiscent of Harvest Moon (with good reason) and the battle mechanics surpassed my expectations. The dialogue is where it suffered for me. I became disinterested in many of the characters after playing for a while. Many (in-game) days I'd find myself watering my crops and then going straight to sleep to pass the time. As for challenge, I played on the highest difficulty and found the game sort of easy, until I got to the third arc and suddenly became overwhelmed. All that aside, I really enjoyed this game and played it a ton (over 120 hours). Now, for the reason of my title... I've had this game in my possession for well over a month (getting close to two months). This game is a completionists dream(or nightmare). There is so much to accomplish I could have kept playing this game for another month easily and still not have 100%ed it. Due to the time sink this game is, you'd be getting more out of this game just buying it and having another game besides this shipped to you. Thus, buy it, it's worth it, but not worth renting through Gamefly. If you're looking for a quick turnaround game, this is not it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun game, and a bit repetitive

posted by Nukaazul (MOSELEY, VA) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Rune Factory is an immensely fun game and a big time sink. There is several things to do in this game. You can farm, do dungeons, interact with the towns people, do events, and the list goes on and on.

As a dungeon crawler it does a good a job on the combat , you're able to have two abilities with your choice of weapon. Each weapon has a couple of differentiating attacks. The abilities can be found across the world, and there is SEVERAL of them.

The dungeons are fun, but a bit repetitive. Sometimes I will just skip monsters if I'm allowed just because I don't feel like fighting them. (Which isn't a bad thing)
Bosses are a hit and miss, you have some fun boss battles, while others are extremely easy. Overall, I think they did a decent job.

Farming has decent depth on it. You're able to control the growth speed, and other contributing factors to your crop with stuff you can buy from the store or find in the world. Some crops grow better in Spring, some grow better in Winter. It has a lot of different vegetables and flowers to plant, water, and grow.

There is also a lot of role-playing in the game. Talking to the villagers, can be very interesting..Learning their personalities, how they converse between each other, and their back stories.
There is a lot of events that happen during the hours you play this game. From simple fishing and cooking competitions, to seeing whos pet is the strongest in a battle.

Overall, it's pretty addicting, and a worthwhile game. They blended dungeon crawling with farming very well to create a fantastic role-playing experience. There is just too many things to do in the game.
(I didn't even list everything, theres cooking, blacksmithing, crafting, and just more and more)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by sammie27043bat (NEW BRAUNFELS, TX) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

RuneFactory4 is by far the best one so far. (In my opinion). Be a prince or princess, fall in love, harvest and plant crops, plan festivals, and so much more features!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »